Ratings based on 828 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2014
I had fabulous time. Perfect location, dinning, entertainment, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2014
My husband and I got away for a couple of days and we couldn't have chosen a better place , we had a great time . Everything was great , will go back for sure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, Oregon

Once you Riu, you will repeat...

Posted Nov 23, 2014
This is my 4th trip to a Riu and my 2nd trip to the Riu Palace Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta (Nuevo Vallarta). The hotel is beautiful, comfortable, clean, and accommodating. One week is never enough, but two weeks is plenty. A few pieces of advice from a frequent visitor in Mexico: 1) Believe your friends who say "do not drink the water." The hotel provides unlimited bottled water, so no worries, but even the hotel room bathroom mirror notes not to drink the water. 2) Bring Pepto Bismol and Imodium. Good chances are your stomach will need it at some point from the multiple and various foods you consume. Trust me, bring it. 3) Bring sunscreen. You will be in the sun for many hours, otherwise why go to Mexico? 4) Bring bug spray, IF you plan on leaving the hotel. If you only stay at the hotel and on the beach, you should be fine. Though you may get bit a time or two at the hotel, you will get attacked by bugs if you go on any adventures. Bug spray will prevent the attack. 5) Bring Tip Money. It's "all inclusive," sure, but tip the staff (a dollar or two) when you get food or drinks. They make an average of $6-$10 wage per day (yes, I said PER DAY). Be a good person and tip a little. Plus, they are more attentive to those who do tip. 6) You don't have to know Spanish, because the staff knows English. But, learn the very minimal (Hola, Gracias, etc) Spanish. 7) Be Kind. You are not a King or Queen, so don't act like the staff are servants. Treat everyone with respect & kindness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SF, CA

Great hotel with excellent service!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Riu Palace is truly like being in a palace and the staff treats the guest like kings and queens. The place is immaculate - they are constantly cleaning and polishing the facility. The staff exudes excellent customer service particularly ...Mario and Diana - entertainment staff, Abraham is one of the best bartenders, that makes the most creative drinks in an entertaining manner and Ana and Francisco provides great poolside service! Most guests we met have been returning to the Riu Palace every year for the past 5 - 10 years. This was our second time and we will be back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: friendly; great service; food excellent
Cons: entertainment; need a disco
plenty of quality food and drink, with prompt and friendly service.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Worth, TX

Nice hotel by beach with nice sunset.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Service, kitchen staff, pool, beach, lobby, food, it was mostly wonderful.
Cons: Room security and cameras for guest safety. There were no cameras in the hallways or outside the building hotel, only in the lobby.
Location: Other resorts, golf courses, few small shops.
Experience for the first few days were excellent. People were nice, hotel was kept clean all the time, and the food was wonderful. Tour guide were a great help in picking events. On the day before our departure, I left my camera to charge on the table as we left the room for dinner at the hotel. We closed the door as we left the room. When we came back to the room, everything looked fine as when we left it. Then I looked for my camera and it was missing! The charger was still in the plug but the camera was missing. I looked through the entire room, under the sheets, behind the cabinets, under the towels and couldn't find it. We went to the front desk and open a case for the missing item. They sent a security person up with us to check the log file on the door but their device didn't work correctly at that time. So the security person said they will be back at 7am the next day. So he left and I closed the door and enable the dead lock. In the morning I woke up at 6:45am waiting for them. I heard walkie talkies but decided to wait for a knock on our door but it never came. Later at 9am we went to breakfast and back to the front desk to check on the current status. They said that they came by the room that morning and said that our door was open with the dead lock enable. They were unable to do anything else. We were disappointed and frustrated. We packed up and went to the lobby to waited and talked to the tour guide, and he told us this wasn't the first time he heard this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Absolutely fantastic, without a care in the world!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Literally everything. Seriously.
Location: Saulita beach is about a 45 minute drive and well worth it! Closer to the hotel there are two other Rui resorts which you can eat/drink/play at too.
The best vacation we've had! The resort is beautiful, the food is amazingly good (most especially at the ala carte restaurants, which were off the charts), and the service is consistently 5-star which impressed me the most of all. It's entirely all-inclusive, even room service and minibar... I literally left my wallet in the safe the whole 5 days we were there and never spent a penny. There are cheerful and helpful employees EVERYWHERE and you are pampered and waited on from the moment you arrive. The views of the beach are excellent, the nightly entertainment is good, every room has a jetted bathtub (and some have big hot tubs out on their balconies!) and it's just an overall fantastic experience. We're already planning our return visit!! One tip, however: be sure to make your reservations for the ala carte restaurants in advance of your visit or they'll be very hard to get. Each restaurant seats only about 42 guests, which means those seats are competitive to come by at a resort with probably well over 1000 guests!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WA

Great value

Posted Nov 17, 2014
This hotel is the best all inclusive for the price. The resort overall is great. Pool, room, restaurants, lobby, were all fantastic. The staff was awesome and always friendly... Especially "Sam the man". The drinks were good but the food was just average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom SF, CA

Great for Couples

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Cons: The beds were a little uncomfortable. Would be great to have a turtle tour via the hotel/resort since it is what Nuevo Vallarta is known for.
Location: Went on a snorkeling trip to Marietas Islands and it was great via Eco Tours - small group of couples and very friendly.
All inclusive trip for couples. Wonderful staff. Best hotel/resort along the beach in Nuevo Vallarta. Main buffet restaurant was great. Krystal was the best specialty restaurant on site. Only complaint was the bed was not the most comfortable. We stayed 5 nights and it was the perfect amount of time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Great food. Staff is great.
Cons: More restrooms.
Too many little kid this trip even in bar areas and pool bar area. Food is great and staff is excellent. Beds are pretty hard.