Ratings based on 930 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

What a Palace

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Great service
Cons: Another bathroom closer to the beach
Location: We did not leave the property
We did this as a surprise for my wife's 60th. The hotel treated her like royalty. Great food at the buffet, the Steak House was very good and Krystal was 5 star. Great room with an ocean view alternated between the pool and the beach. We will be back!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom addison

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. The service was ecvellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Great hotel: everything was awesome

Posted Jan 23, 2015
I love the food there. All the staffs are very friendly. The location is not very convenient. Shuttle buses finish early evening. We had to catch taxis to get back to the hotel from the town every night. But overall, everything was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, could be better

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Overall we enjoyed our stay. The staff was awesome! There were plenty of options for food on the buffet. We really enjoyed the Gourmet Restaurant. The tortilla soup in the Mexican restaurant was amazing. Drinks were plentiful and they had high end liquor - Don Julio tequila and Appleton Rum! The beach was on par with Negril, Jamaica. You could walk for a mile in both directions. Boogie boarding was included and we enjoyed the waves. Disappointing points: We had requested a king bed (my husband is 6'4") and were given two full size, not a very romantic setup. Housekeeping was inconsistent with our towels - one day we had 5 bath towels the next day only 1.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SHELBY TOWNSHIP MI.

Posted Jan 16, 2015
GREAT TIME, GREAT FOOD, EXCELLENT STAFF TRULY A LITTLE PARADISE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Softer pillows
This is our second time staying at the Riu Palace Pacifico..... The Atmospere is amazing, the staff is incredible and the food is wonderful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Nice hotel, nice beach, service could be better

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: The pool, the beach right in front
Cons: Waitress at the restaurants (specifically the buffet), need to treat everyone the same way. Lifeguard Jonatan was also too rude addressing us.
Location: The Malecon in Puerto Vallarta is a little too far, but if you're adventurous, it's always nice to go either at night or during the day
My family and I stayed 4 days 3 nights at Riu Palace. Hotel is really nice and clean. Awesome and huge pool. Too bad they don't have a separate pool for kids (5-7). The only one that's shallow enough has a bar right in the middle of it, which makes it unattractive for two things: one, smoking is permitted and two, many people stay by the bar drinking all day long. Food is descent, nothing spectacular, but a good variety. They have five restaurants, but you need to make reservations in four of them. Unfortunately, we were only able to eat at the buffet, because we tried to make reservations on our second night and everything was booked for the next four days, which makes me think if you want to eat there, you have to make your reservation before you arrive, unless you're staying for a whole week. Can't complain about the beach, really nice. They let you borrow surfing boards for free, so that's an added bonus. Service was okay. Bartenders were all nice, always ready and fast to serve you. Room service was also good. But the service at the restaurant was a little different. I don't want to say that they choose and pick depending on your skin color, but that's how I saw it. Several occasions I noticed when a white couple was looking for a table, waitress will come to them and even took their plate out of their hand to sit them. But that never happened to us. A few times we even had to look for our own table. Not that I want or need them to serve me, but that was noticeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, Wa. USA

Great Holiday Vacation spot!!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: We loved the pool area and the service staff expecially Flor and the pool side bartenders. They all seemed eager to please.
Cons: We thought it seemed strange to alow kids in the bar area, especially in the pool. More families with childern than we expected.
Location: We enjoyed "Rhythms of the Night" and the "Malecon" in downtown, but please adventure out and take the local bus to downtown it is quite fun.
My wife and I arrived on Sunday for a 10 day stay and could have stayed another 10 days. The staff did a wonderful job meeting all of our needs. The room was a delight great ocean view from the 8th floor very quiet overall. The beds were comfortable and all the amenities beter than expected. We ate at 3 of the 5 resturaunts and enjoyed all of them, but a speical tip of the hat to the morning and evening crew in the buffett who all did a suberb job meeting all of our needs. The steakhouse and Mexican specialty resturants were also first class in quality and service. We got good advise about traveling to and from downtown and thought the local bus service was pretty good and interesting to say the least.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Guadalajara

Nice hotel poor arrangements for dining

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The hotel and rooms are above average - very clean and well maintained
Cons: Reservations in the a la carte restaurants. The way the restaurants are being book shuts out people arriving for up to 3 days. I find this unfair.
Arrived at the hotel on Dec 30. Couldn't reserve an a la carte restaurant until Jan 3. New Years Eve reservations were a disaster. We were a party of 4 and had to have a table for 2. Food was no different than any other night in the buffet exempt for the added cold seafood items which were still on the buffet 3 days later and not smelling great. I have stayed at this hotel a few time and this was the first time I felt disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room and location but bad service.

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Great room, views, location.
Cons: Service. Both waiting staff and front desk. Riu at Los Cabos was much better compared to this location when it came to quality of service.
No complaints about the room, the resort quality or the location. But service was bad. Waiting staff were not responsive. Took too long to clear plates, respond to requests. Front desk and maintenance guy kept bouncing back and forth our room key access issues. Took us multiple trips to the front desk in a single day to change the room key every time it stopped working. Their answer was that it happens and reissue another key.