Ratings based on 907 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, N.Y.

Great with a few exceptions

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Service,very friendly.attentive. WEATHER! 3 specialty restaurants very good.
Cons: Steam rooms and sauna and steak restaurant.Better lounge chairs,uncomfortable
Location: Nothing near at all
Steam room mens,and sauna has not worked for 2 YEARS !!! Countless complaints gets us nowhere. Dinner buffet not good. Steak specialty restaurant like eating in a cheap diner,with tough steak. Otherwise everything else great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz, CA

Posted Dec 17, 2014
very clean, good food. Good shows, entertaining and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

All inclusive, nice hotel and beach

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Very nice, staff is super friendly and hotel is well maintained. They need more bathrooms for pool and beach areas they are far from both.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Amazing! Will go back for sure! Alcohol selection was not bad and food was an A+
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento Ca

Amazing staff

Posted Dec 14, 2014
The hotel and staff were nice. Plenty of options for food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely a 4 star resort

Posted Dec 13, 2014
I think the only thing holding this place back from being a 5 star resort is the pool size and maybe the restaurant quality. We had an absolutely splendid time here, the rooms were amazing, quiet, plenty of AC, and cleaned every day. The staff were fantastic, always ready to help and answer questions, often going above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. The food was delicious, if not what you would call 5 star quality (easily 4 star), it was well prepared, cooked thoroughly, and there was always a huge selection of things for any meal. Oh, and room service at any time (included)? That was great too. We are already planning our next trip to come back here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City, Mo

Very nice

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Wish they had a pool for kids. We walked to the RIU resort just down the beach so our daughter could play on the water slides. Our resort's kid club never appeared to be open and we never found the playground pictured in photos. Otherwise, was an awesome place. Good food, nice room. We had to call a couple of times to get the room cleaned despite having the "please make up room" sign on the door all day but the staff was polite and prompt at responding to requests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Sunshine and Margaritas

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Nice Beach. A lot of shaded lounge area
Cons: Higher quality alcohol
Nice property, relaxing atmosphere, decent food, and the right price what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom iowa

Beautiful hotel on a beautiful beach

Posted Dec 11, 2014
This is a beautiful hotel. The location is about 20 minutes to the airport and sits on a beautiful beach. The sand on the beach is much softer than the hotels closer to downtown. The food is great and the staff is fantastic. The big con for Riu hotels is the bedding. I have stayed at several Riu's and the pillows are always flat as pancakes, the sheets are rough and the mattress pad makes crinkling sounds. I've stayed in about 20 AI resorts throughout Mexico so I know that it's not typical. For an upscale resort, Riu really needs to invest in their bedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Had a wonderful time. Went to a wedding and enjoyed the hotel and spa and food was amazing. Loved it!