Ratings based on 782 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Vacation - Sept 19-25, 2014

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Employees, room, cleanliness, friendly, helpful
Cons: The food is average. The bar at the pool should be open as long as the pool is open, which should be longer. More room service choices.
Location: Not much to do close to the hotel. PV is a $25 taxi ride each way. Airport is $20 each way.
Hotel staff was above excellent! Thanks to Blanca in customer service for making our trip the best! and Janet is an awesome server in the buffet. This hotel is excellent if you want laid back and have the staff meet your every need. They even use premium liquor (not watered down). The entertainment could be improved except for a singer on Sunday night was really good. Buffet had good food and plenty of variety.The steak at the steakhouse was not good, but the steak at the French Italian place was excellent (weird). The room was wonderful; great view, quiet, peaceful. The bed is a little hard, but still comfortable. They put a pad on the bed that crinkles when you move (like plastic), but they removed it as soon as I asked. Room was kept clean and re-stocked all the time. Room service is available 24/7, although the menu is very limited. One complaint would be that they close the pool at 8 but they close the pool bar at 6. Both should stay open longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Was ok ocean view Excellent .

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Comfort Excellent for families all day have relax on the beach and the pool, just let you know 3 times same hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Loved our time there. Very nice, clean, attentive staff. Meals were great. Drinks were great!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Hotel was on the beach, not groomed. .

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Hotel food was mediocre. ..nothing to bragg about, seafood was overcooked and the same choices every day, they didn't have high end chefs or even mediocre, not a lot of vegetable choices..well, if you like them soggy! The restaurants were the same experience and the breakfast was a little better. The food off the resort was 100 times better! The food that cooked on the beach pool area was good! Drinks were somewhat watered down, but people seemed to be loaded! A lot of older people over the age 60....turn down early! Go off resort for turning it up! Also, the top grade Tequila.,..Don Julio was probably in a imitation bottle to create an illusion, even the unopened bottles! So, that probably goes for other top shelf spirits too! The bartenders in the resort sports bar had an attitude except Octavo and one other guy...can't remember his name. There was one individual. ..possibly a super visor that saw me walking out of the lobby door and ran towards the door to get out first...and let the door shut on me! I was surprised at that behavior. ..not sure what that was about...I have one guess though..but I won't go there! Personally, I would stay closer to town...that way taxi fare isn't that expensive. ....and you have lots of food choices and places to go, and experience the real Vallarta!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guanajuato, Mx

Great hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: my room had a little cigarrete smell and the spa need improved
Very confortable, all the people there were great. I would like a bigger pool. The food was delicious and the service was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

RIU ROCKS!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
We had an awesome time. This resort and it's delivered big time. I never expect these resorts to be as good as what is advertised. But the Riu Palace Pacifico delivered big time. Our expectations where exceeded in every department. The food was excellent. The staff was top notch. Very attentive and polite. The resort was beautiful and very clean. These folks really take pride in what they do. We will be visiting again someday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

We had a nice time at the resort.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
The staff was great loved the bartender abraham. The room and tub was smaller than the riu palace in aruba that we went to last year. There could of been more food to choose from at the buffet. Make sure to take plenty of sunscreen & off. Currency exchange is a must if you want to gift shop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everett, WA

Clean, well cared for and good looking hotel.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Actually was very impressed by their activity/entertainment team. They kept people engaged during the day and great shows in the evening.
Cons: Beds and pillows, i had sore neck for couple of days getting used to those. Mattresses are a little of harder side, not your regular pillow tops.
Location: If you there you have to visit Las Caletas. Worth every penny and great place to scuba dive. Perfect for couples. Tequila tour - BRING BUG REPELLENT!!
Had wonderful experience all 5 days i was there. Enjoyed their room service, activities and all facilities. Great food in both buffet and restaurants. Activity team did wonderful job during the day and wonderful shows at night. Bar tenders were on top of it and made you feel welcome no matter of tips or not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
We had an excellent stay at the hotel, everyone was friendly, the food and service were awesome. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Sep 4, 2014
The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. The hotel has all the amenities one would expect from a resort. I would recommend it highly.