Ratings based on 797 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great friends, great time!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Staff friendly, drinks and location
Cons: Desperately needs more bathrooms!
Location: Did not venture too far, took a taxi to a small village to shop
The Gucamole Restaurant was the best one. Also enjoyed The Peninsula that did not require reservations. The steak house needs improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise

Nice rooms

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pool fun but basic. Food ok, not great. Need better wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Excellent place, little far from downtown but fantastic facility! Friendly staff and spotless hotel. Definitely worth staying at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Hotel was beautiful. Nice location. Staff very accommodating. More drinks and food than anyone could eat/drink. Lots of activities. Bring small bills for tips. Gift shop expensive. Maid service so so- forgot clean towels and toiletries daily. Only real complaints are a lot of smokers everywhere and if you plan to go to bed before 12-1 am it is hard because of loud music. Otherwise everything else amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Grand hotel very elegant

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Hotel staff was excellent. Didn't expect it to be as nice as it was. Water was warm and beach was well kept. The weather said it was going to thunderstorm the entire time we were there, but it ended up being sunny 90% of the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasant Hill, CA

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: everything
Excellent, good location and service. Highly recommended, worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2014
This was a good all inclusive resort. It was easy to make reservations for dinners and the buffet was great. Some improvements would be to be consistent with making up the room, turndown service and refilling the mini bar. Having to ask a couple times to get this done was a bit of a hassle. The shows were good. The animation team did a good job trying to get everyone involved in activities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre resort for a reasonable price

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Small enough that you didn't feel like you were walking forever to get places.
Cons: Rooms could use updating-mattresses, linens and furniture. It looked like what someone thought was elegant in the 1990's...
Location: Zipline tour with Vallarta Adventures was the highlight of our trip
My fiance and I stayed here for 5 days in April 2014. We originally planned to go on a cruise but decided to be more economical. This was about 1/2 the price of a balcony room on an eastern caribbean cruise. I read many reviews and so I was expecting a 3 star resort, I felt I paid for 3 stars and I felt that I was at a 3 star resort. The food was fine-everything about the difficulty of getting reservations at the specialty restaurants in other reviews was true. Alcohol flowed freely and the activities were sparse. We did walk down to the cheaper version of Riu for lunch and their restaurant was right on th water which was beautiful, but there weren't as many choices. The resort was also much bigger and more kid friendly. Riu Palace was moderately crowded but it wasn't overrun with children or families. Crowd seemed to be mixed- Americans, Canadians, Mexicans. We went to one show...it was pretty pathetic but would be entertaining if you are old or had been drinking excessively.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but lacked security

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: I normally like the Riu chain
Cons: MUCH BETTER SECURITY
Location: Its a nice area, a bit out of the way
Management completely failed to control approximately 20 young man who over a 3 day period made everyone in the pool very uncomfortable. They physically dunk 2 of the staff while hitting another with a football, they argue with everyone around them and finally had a fight with one. Management finally had someone 'baby sit" them but that seems to be their only action. This is a family hotel resort not some drunk bar. I will not be back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a party all the time

Posted Oct 6, 2014
I was hoping for a quieter stay. They play loud music ( and not always good) and shows went on till late. If you desire this it should be fun. I also was not impressed by the restaurants ( but never made it to Krystal or the Japanese place). Definitely make reservations ASAP to get in. Staff was great 8th floor much better than 2nd- still could hear the shows. Beach and water were awesome! All in all I will stay at something smaller next time.