Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Hotel needs to review quality standards

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Very little
Cons: Management should stop trying to maximize profits and concentrate on quality and customer service
This will take much more than 50 characters. I will send a detailed letter to anyone who is interested.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Really nice family resort. Friendly staff, excellent entertainment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island, NY

Nice hotel and great for kids

Posted Jul 6, 2014
The hotel was very large but rooms were small. They were clean and the decor was nice (marble bathrooms, mahogany furniture). The kids pool was large and just a short walk to beach which was very clean. Food was very good and appealed to my picky eaters. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. One piece of advice.... Do Not do a time share seminar. Immediately off the plane and swept into one of those scams.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from San Franciso,CA

Had a good time

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The hotel court yard is very nice- lots of palm trees and plants- well maintained and clean.
Cons: The beds and pillows need a major improvement. A vacation is not a vacation if is hard to have a good ngt sleep.
Location: The location is good, but far if you would like to go to town. The beach is nice.
A family vacation- 5 nights- At Riu - We had an ok time, the hotel is nice- however the rooms are very small- we upgraded to double beds- ocean view- got two beds put together and a partial ocean view at the distance. The beds are HORRIBLE -very uncomfortable as well as the pillows- which were very flat. The sheets were not changed at all. The mini bar in the room was a plus, however, it was only refilled once during our stay. The food was just okay- nothing special- the service was not good at all. the staff seem to never smiled . We greeted people and got a forced response time and time again. The service at the bars took a long time. Every night there was a show- which the kids liked- The pools were always crowded . One very confusing thing is the additional charge for the pool towels card if one is not returned at ck out. Our stay was okay, it could have been better if the beds were a bit comfortable and the lines of people were not as long at the buffet restaurants-
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tess

Nice Hotel, Bad Food

Posted Jun 24, 2014
We LOVED our location at Riu Vallarta! There was always plenty to do and the drinks were awesome...and not stingy with the alcohol to juice ratio! The only thing I hated about the hotel was the food. Seriously, the food was absolutely terrible. You pay all that money for all-inclusive, pretty much just for the food, and I was not impressed!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Njeri from Dallas, TX

Nice hotel for family vacation.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Our room was spacious with a nice ocean view. The grounds are very well maintained.
Cons: The food stand in the Sports Bar. It becomes very disorderly when the bar is full.
Location: We did the ATV tour. We also went downtown which is very nice for shopping and dining. Took along walk along the "board walk". Tax services ok.
Pleasantly surprised when we arrived. After reading some of the reviews before our stay, my expectations were really low. The hotel grounds are very well maintained. The adult and kids pools were all clean. The food was in general average- the buffet was above average, the steak house below average. The room was clean, but don't forgot to completely close the balcony door- the A/c does not work if the door sensor is not activated. The staff was great. Overall very happy with the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Great location right on the beach, good pools, great staff.
Cons: Better alcohol, better air conditioning
Location: Bucarais, a local mexican shopping like a flea market .. is hopeless .. no point visiting there. Malecon (fisherman's wharf) is good.
It was super hot weather. Riu Vallarta is a great hotel to stay. Just that you need to choose the right time to visit there otherwise you will be deep fried in the humid weather. Best time is November to March. Great hotel staff. Great Food with lots of variety except that they use cheap liquor. Best whiskey is Red Label. Best vodka is Smirnoff. Best rum is Bacardi silver. Tequilla is cheap. Beer is very good. Pools are amazing and there are lots of activities. Entertainment is a big waste if you don't understand spanish. But if you do, its great. Overall, for the price you pay (which mostly would be less by couple hundred bucks) compared to Riu Jalisco or Riu Palace hotel next to this hotel, you get the service accordingly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2014
I thought the hotel was better. According with the pictures but is not as new as it shows in the pictures
2 out of 5
by Juan from Las Vegas

Nice beach

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: The beach
Cons: Make it more where people doesn't get bored.
Location: It was ok
This is was my third time at riu and this time I was very dissapointed I stayed at riu vallarta thinking it would be better than riu jalisco but not even close, shows, enterteiment people, and over all customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Riu meets my expectations, time and time again!

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: everything.
Cons: comfort of beds.
Location: nothing really. Had to take a taxi to go into town and such, but there wasn't really much to see their anyways.
Absolutely amazing! Beautiful resort, always something going on from games at the pool, to shows, and the sports bar is always open 24/7 with ok food and drinks. The entertainment staff was great, always had a huge smile on their faces, and was friendly and always tried getting you to do activities and such. The food at the buffets are good - nothing to brag about, but not horrible either. People do really like the food at the resteraunts though, I've heard great things about them but have yet to sign up to eat at one. The bar staff at the main bar downstairs outside the show are was amazing. I saw one of the guys take 6 drink orders from different people, make them and take orders from others at the same time never asking again what the people had asked for. Totally impressed. I would recommend this resort to anyone, had adult pools and childrens pools as well. Can visit the sister resort (5 minutes walk) as well.