Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach California

Nice hotel, pools, activities, food etc.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Stayed here with my 3 kids. They loved everything in this hotel, specially the shows and the pools. Swim up bar was the best. Tony, Rio and specially Pedro will take really good care of you!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan Beach, California

Nice

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Good for the family and groups, verry good space and close to the beach, i wish a better internet connection and more tv chanels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Wonderful stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We stayed at this resort in May. The check in was very easy and quick. No problems at all and front desk was friendly. We had a partial ocean view room and this was also very nice. It overlooked the beautiful courtyard where something was always going on. The food at the buffet was very good as are all the buffets at any of the riu properties we have stayed at. If you cant find a few things you like you are too picky. (imho) We didnt spend much time in the pool area as wife is a beach person. The beach was awesome no complaints here. I cant say enough about the service from all the workers from housecleaning to bartenders all were excellent. Over all a awesome time at Riu Vallarta!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Not what I expected

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Overall my experience was decent but definitely not what I expected. The hotel was too big and crowded for my liking. The beach water was very muddy, not very inviting. The food was bad, especially the soft drinks, coffee, burgers, hot dogs, pizza, ketchup, waffles, and much more. You only got bottled water in your room. The beds were terrible, super hard and uncomfortable. I literally got bruises on my hips. Next time I would definitely pay more for a better hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington twsp, Nj

Rui Vallarta Mediocre all inclusive

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We are a family of 4 and we stayed at the Rui Vallarta for 6 days in early August. Our experience there was a 3-3.5 star rating. The hotel in general needed some updating but in general was it is in good repair but the staff was constantly cleaning the floors. The front staff is unfortunately not the most friendly and should take notice that at check in refreshments should be offered to everyone and not only select guest's. Also the Rui Vallarta needs to give more than one key per room and by the way there is no card keys but actual room keys. The buffet had abundant food but the all the drinks and coffee there were watered down. The cappuccino machines were all broken except at the sports bar and The Flamingo Steak House. The sit down dinner at Nirvana was really an Asian buffet and not truely a sit down. The staff at the buffet did not provide the best service because they were understaffed and could not handle the volume of people when they were seated. The buffet would run out of random things like maple syrup for days. The pool areas was clean but there were some guest leaving dirty diapers on the ground which I found to be disgusting. Our room was oceanfront and mostly comfortable and clean but there was one day the cleaning staff didn't clean our room and they took the tip we left that day for them. They didn't clean the room until after 5 pm until we inquired about it. We had better service at the adult swim up pool/bar but this required gratuity. Overall only 3/5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great service and nice view to the beach

Posted Aug 10, 2014
The hotel went above and beyond to make guests feel welcome. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Understaff

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Good workers and the food is great...majority is mexican food.the room is outdated pillows are bad..we wanted two beds and we got two full size beds Put together. Very understaffed for restaurant and hotel cleaning. .two days I saw a cup in the planters. You do not get taken care off.you get ignored at the restaurants and pools
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles,ca

Drinks are plentiful , food is doubtful

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: All inclusive so didn't need to worry about tips or money.
Cons: Restraunts need a lot of work.
Location: Never left hotel, but ocean was not clear.
Pro: clean room, super friendly staff, pleasant entertainment , drinks plentiful but don't expect quality liquor. Don Raphael buffet was consistently good, however I worried about all the hands touching the utensils and sometimes being put into the food. Beach swim able but water is brown with lots of seaweed. Waiters walking around beach and pool were always friendly and willing to get what you want. Cons: beds are hard, and walls are thin. You will know when someone is on their honeymoon. Explain that to your kids. 2 of the 3 reserved restraunts was terrible, the flamingo and nirvana. Pool was nice, but you have to be up early by 9:00 to put your towel on a good lounge. That was not relaxing, I did not want to be up early. Umbrellas for beach are not part of hotel so you have to pay $10.00 for day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Nice hotel, terrible service!

Posted Aug 1, 2014
The personal was not friendly at all, they were expecting tips at all the time, when we arrived they didn't offer a drink and on our way out the front counter staff didn't said a simple thank you for staying. At the beach the service was horrible. I will never stay at any Riu again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Hotel employee stole camera

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Hotel employee stole camera from our backpack in front of our eyes. Disappointed, never had anything like that happened before. Beware.