Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for the money

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The staff was excellent. Entertainment team was wonderful. Very accommodating and friendly.
Cons: The comfort of the beds is lacking. Normally I would say who cares, you're not there to sleep, but it starts to take its toll after a few nights.
Location: Location is secluded. If you're looking for that, more quiet and intimate, this place is perfect.
Pros - staff is awesome. Very helpful and friendly. Food was great. It's the same thing everyday, but it was good. Fish, grilled pork chops and chicken breast. Tons of fresh fruits and local fare. Having a soft serve machine in the snack bar/restaurant was awesome. When you have a 3 o clock hankering for some ice cream, it's nice to be able to help yourself and scratch that itch. Cons - Beds are hard. Sleeping was uncomfortable over time. The gym is old. One treadmill worked and that was about it. Overall, for what you're paying this place was great. I would absolutely go back and tell my friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Good place at a good price

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: good food but after a few days it gets boring, they need to change the menu more often, more variety,.. staff is great
Cons: Need to put some restrooms closer to the pool, not nice for the elderly to have to walk all the way to a restaurant,
Location: very nice and quiet place in Vallarta
Nice place, took my father to celebrate his birthday and he had a good time, the waiters were nice enough to give him a cake and sing a happy birthday song,.. one bad thing is that it gets really noisy at night on the theater, they need to turn the volume down a few notches
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

If you had no other choice..

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The staff in the dining and pool areas.
Cons: The bed. If no way to correct except with a "foam" to put on top, make sure its the same size as the bed! Entertainment in room such as dvd player.
Location: Area was nice and clean. Lots of shopping in the area.
We were in a Jr Suite. Uncomfortable bed, when asked for another, we were provided a foam to add on top of the mattress, little did they tell us, it was smaller than the bed so technically our feet and head (if not supported by the pillow) is "hanging". Bought a $33 towel that disappeared after housecleaning finished with our room (I'm sure unintentional) but when I notified hotel (Thur) not until I demanded an apology from the General Manager (3 days AFTER initial complaint and night before leaving) did I get a response/minimal attempt to rectify the frustration of the situation.. But by then, the hotel had already left a foul taste in my mouth. To spend so much for a vacation and to have you feel like they just "dismissed" a customers complaint just ruined it for me. That's poor management if workers don't understand how one response small or big could make a difference.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Beautiful hotel view from the room

Posted Aug 31, 2014
My fiancé went to celebrate getting engaged and had an amazing time!!! The entertainment staff was excellent as there was a different activity each day at the pool and the shows at night were excellent. The buffet food was great as I filled up on mussels... Mmmm so good! Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Definately worth the money!!!! Very happy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Big hotel chain, minor disappointment

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The shows, the pool area. Easy access to the beach and that there were no vendors. The staff.
Cons: The wifi access.
Location: Location is beautiful but not much around the area. The RIU Jalisco is five min. walk
Overall, the hotel seems nice, but there are some issues. What saved it from getting a lower score was the staff. They are all pleasant, helpful and eager to please. The food was good except for the specialty restaurant, Flamingo's, which left much to be desired.The food was lukewarm and it took forever to be served. We actually all thought the buffet was better. As for the rooms, the coffee maker did not work, and the hair dryer practically fell of the wall when I tried using it, and the towels were frayed and starting to tear, at least the ones they replaced in my bathroom. Finally, for an all-inclusive hotel, I was surprised and disappointed that they do NOT over room service at all. I have been to two different all-inclusive chain hotels and that was never an issue. Also, the use of wi-fi for only an hour and a half in the lobby is ridiculous. Plus, they hand out the pass codes to anyone because we were gone for most of the day and when we tried using it later that evening we couldn't log on because our time had expired?!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Jorge the bartender. Very nice guy very attentive and always there to help.
Cons: Housekeeping can improve. They didn't clean our room one day
Location: Vallarta adventure
Experience was ok. I expected more from the Riu. The buffets are over rated. Food was not the best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach California

Nice hotel, pools, activities, food etc.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Stayed here with my 3 kids. They loved everything in this hotel, specially the shows and the pools. Swim up bar was the best. Tony, Rio and specially Pedro will take really good care of you!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan Beach, California

Nice

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Good for the family and groups, verry good space and close to the beach, i wish a better internet connection and more tv chanels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Wonderful stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We stayed at this resort in May. The check in was very easy and quick. No problems at all and front desk was friendly. We had a partial ocean view room and this was also very nice. It overlooked the beautiful courtyard where something was always going on. The food at the buffet was very good as are all the buffets at any of the riu properties we have stayed at. If you cant find a few things you like you are too picky. (imho) We didnt spend much time in the pool area as wife is a beach person. The beach was awesome no complaints here. I cant say enough about the service from all the workers from housecleaning to bartenders all were excellent. Over all a awesome time at Riu Vallarta!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Not what I expected

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Overall my experience was decent but definitely not what I expected. The hotel was too big and crowded for my liking. The beach water was very muddy, not very inviting. The food was bad, especially the soft drinks, coffee, burgers, hot dogs, pizza, ketchup, waffles, and much more. You only got bottled water in your room. The beds were terrible, super hard and uncomfortable. I literally got bruises on my hips. Next time I would definitely pay more for a better hotel.