Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2015
We got in about 11 AM and were able to get a all-inclusive wrist band about 12:30 PM so we could get something to eat and drink as we traveled all night. We were able to get into the room about 3 PM. Worked out okay. They watched our luggage and we changed into cooler clothes as we traveled from Iowa. Wait staff and bar staff are just great. Always smiling and are not afraid to talk to you. Cleaning staff was excellent also. We had a great stay and will probably think about going back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kansas city

Family vacation in p.v.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Samba vallarta is a small family oriented resort with a great staff. The beds were very comfortable and the staff allowed us to check in early and check out at noon but let us stay for lunch. We took advantage of the kayaks, boogie board, bikes and many table games. We fit in with all the families with out grand daughter, but if you are wanting an adult hotel this might not be the best fit for you. On the down side,6 of the 8 of us that went had gi issues for 24 hours. We have been to pv many times and never got sick. I think the kitchen cleanliness could improve with cleaner plates and silverware. Take away the sickness and it was a wonderful trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC, Canada

Older hotel, right on the beach

Posted Jan 9, 2015
The staff made the experience just that much more enjoyable. Older hotel but they kept it very clean. We had one of the cleanest beaches around.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Ok hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: The small courtyard
Cons: Rooms' comfort, quality and presentation of food, and show area outside
Location: Not much besides the beach
This hotel is a bit far from Puerto Vallarta and outdated. It caters mostly to local tourists and families. Buffet food was ok, but the a la carte dinner is better if you reserve in advance. The rooms were ok but outdated. The swimming pool isn't deep but kid-friendly. The evening shows are ok but chairs are very limited.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orange county, USA

nice pool and staff, hotel itself is mediocre

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Cons: the rooms and food
hotel is small and dated. great for families. get what you pay for. has potential if they update the rooms and provide better food. very little entertainment at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Don't believe the ads/reviews - very disappointing

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Not a whole lot - the staff was friendly enough but understandably non-cooperative when we said we wanted to cancel
Cons: Truth in advertising
Location: Secluded - not much around
The hotel advertises great comfort and service with great pictures - please don't believe it. It is located in a secluded place far from any activity - that was the first thing the reservation clerk himself told us. The facilities are old, the rooms are bad, the bathrooms are run down. The buffet is a meager with hardly any variety. We were so disappointed when we saw the place, that we immediately canceled our reservation upon arrival and shifted to another hotel in Puerto Vallarta. We lost a lot of money - they charged us for 2 days of stay. Please beware!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Great family-friendly resort.

Posted Dec 30, 2014
We just returned from 10 days stay at Samba. I have to say that we stayed in quite a few all inclusive resorts in Mexico that were more upscale properties, but we absolutely loved our Samba experience this year. We had a suite, it was spacious and clean. Bathroom could use a bit of upgrading but everything was functional. Beds were surprisingly comfortable, which is not usually the case in Mexico. Maid service was great. Food at the buffet was simple but plentiful. They have two sit down restaurants on property that were simply delicious. The best part of the hotel is the beach, it was fabulous with plenty of shade. Since this is a smaller property there was always plenty of space and chase lounges at the beach at all times. Resort had a lot of Mexican travellers but we didn't mind that, our kids made friends with them and learnt quite a few Spanish words. Staff is fantastic, very attentive and personal. We loved this resort well enough to stay again next time bypassing more upscale resorts. We like that it was smaller and more personal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

buen hotel cerca de la playa

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: instalaciones, comodidad, cercania con la playa.
Cons: tiene area de oportunidad en la comida, los platillos que ofrecen pueden ser mas
Location: Tiene acceso directo a la playa, a pocos kilómetros hay centro comercial y un pequeño pueblo para consumo de curiosidades y actividades deportivas.
Buen hotel, con buen servicio e instalaciones, el todo incluido esta excelente si buscan un lugar para descansar y estar de lleno en las instalaciones del hotel. cuenta con 3 restaurantes y 3 bares. Ademas cuenta con una alberca muy amplia para niños y adultos, actividades deportivas, en general esta muy bien,.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC

Will stay again

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: It is small and intimate and close to the beach. If you have forgotten something in your room you are only a short walk back to your room.
Location: Jump on a bus (which comes right to the front gate) and ride into PV on a Sunday night and take in the activities (family night with lots going on).
This is a small hotel where staff gets to know you after a very short time. They are very pleasant and would do anything for you. The rooms are older but clean and comfortable. From the time you are met at the main entrance till the time you leave, you feel you are with family. There are three restaurants, two sit down and one buffet, depending on hotel capacity, all or only two will be open. The food is good, the drinks are all top shelf and poured however you like them. There is beach service from about noon until 5pm and the fellows there (Ricardo and Salvador) really hustle. Bartenders Fermin, Martin, Jose and Jesus go above ensuring you get the exact drink you want.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CO

Perfect vacation

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Everything. The view was outstanding. From our balcony, was to huge pool, and a little beyond that the ocean.
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: The armed police at the resorts entry, which I thought would be frightening, but was actually reassuring. Hotel was clean, and right on the beach.
There were families, like mine, and single people and couples. Everyone was having a great time. Plenty of things to do. There was a group of people from the hotel in charge of activities. From beach volleyball, dance lessons, pool games, always something great to do. You never had to wait for drinks, they saw your hand empty and they filled it. Security was always present and helpful if you needed it. They had piñatas, soccer games, something every hour, ending with karaoke, dances, and clubs at night, all at the resort! They brought in vendors for you to buy things, great prices. No need to go anywhere. Food for everyone, all the time. They supply bottles of water. I can't think of anything bad to say, except,....don't to the city tour. I thought it would be good to go off the resort, but I regretted it the whole time. They take you to places the tour people arrange with their friends for you to buy things from. Everyone on the tour hoped to go to some shops, nooo, they took us to high end shops no one wanted to buy from and ended in a tequila "factory" which was someone's house, and forced us to eat there, because we were all starving. The food was awful and overpriced. But, we had no other choice, they wouldn't leave until we ate. The tour was suppose to be done by 2pm. We finally got back to the hotel at 6pm. No one was happy.