Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Spring Break with the family

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The beach was wonderful, the staff was fabulous, the pool area was very nice with plenty of chairs, and there were plenty of included activities.
Cons: The food, the ventilation of the hotel (it could get musty) and the check out time for kayaks, etc. It would be nice to be able to use earlier.
Location: Location is a little isolated but that is fine with us. We tend to stay on property. Location for the beach is the best.
We spent 6 days at the Samba Vallarta. We arrived very early the day of our check in and were very pleased that a room was ready for us. We could not obtain our all inclusive bracelets until noon, but that was understandable. We were just thrilled after an all night flight to have a room. The ladies at the front desk were quite pleasant and our room was great. Although we wanted a double/double suite, they said there were none and we got a king instead. The location of our room was so good we didn't try to change. I got the impression they simply have no double/double suites but that is an option when reserving so I may not have understood. As with previous reviews....that food is ok, not fabulous. However, you can always find something to eat. Breakfast was very good and the reservation restaurants were good. The buffet was okay....I would like more salad and fruit but there was enough to satisfy. My family goes more for activities, the beach and the atmosphere so we were fine with the food. The staff was great....always very friendly, smiling, helpful with Spanish and quick to get whatever we needed. The beach is amazing. The sand is very soft and you can walk forever. We took out kayaks, boogie boards, rode bikes (take the pump from the towel stand to pump up your tires), played ping pong and pool, and spent lots of time at the pool. Chairs were always available at the pool which was great....no getting up at the crack of down to get one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Deb from Wisconsin

NICE----

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The staff, the ground were well kept.
Cons: Bathrooms could be a little up dated.
Had other family with us including two young grandchildren. Just the right size that we didn't have to worry about losing them. Though there were some children around did not hear any disruptive behavior at any time. The grounds were extremely nice and pool area very clean and staff members were most helpful. Very friendly. Very nice for family.
2 out of 5
by washington

Nice pool, bad hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2014
The hotel room was dirty and smelled like sewer. The room is super noisy and you can hear people up at all hours!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from Samba

Great pool!

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: It was always clean. There were plent of staff cleaning all the time. Bathrooms could use some update.
Cons: Update bathrooms.
Location: North of the airport about 25 min taxi ride.
The staff was great! Wanted to please you all the time. The food was average and could have used a litle more spice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

family friendly hotel next to the beach

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: smaller, helpful staff, all inclusive
Cons: air conditioning in room
The all inclusive hotel was great. There was always food to eat or snack on. We could check out boogie boards and other water toys to play with in the ocean or pools. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from San Francisco

Small resort, family style,

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Family style resort, good food and clean environment. Staff was friendly and helpful
Cons: Beds and pillows
Location: Taxi ride was a different rate each time we would go to town. We visited Old Town and went to a restaurant called El Patron, it was amazing.
We had a great time. Food was very good. We had a great experience with the concierge Cesar, he was most helpful in recommending places to go and planning our excursions. We had the Expedia rate rooms, the beds were firm and the pillows were not great. There was a mold issue on the first level of rooms noted. We would go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MC from Surrey BC, Canada

We keep going back

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: We really enjoy the "no rush" environment. It was also nice not to have the vendors come up to you on the beach, the normally left you alone.
Cons: Activity staff need to have good equipment and keep up on maintenance of their nets since they are always in the sun.
Quieter, smaller place but great beach and friendly staff. Been to this resort a few times now. They need to start updating the beds for a more comfortable sleep though. The recreation staff, are always fun and want to make sure you enjoy yourself.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay, but only okay

Posted Mar 30, 2014
The hotel was clean and pleasant, but the food is okay at best and the service is mostly only okay as well. The highlights are the social convener, Manny, and one of the outdoor waiters, Salvador, who really carry the place.
3 out of 5
by Danni from Green Bay, WI

Beautiful grounds, service and food not so much.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Grounds were upkept and beautiful. The beach was amazing. There was ample chairs for lounging around the pool and beach area.
Cons: Buffet was lacking and favoritism for those who tip well and repeat guest was very apparent when trying to sign-up for the restaurants.
Location: There were may opportunities for excursions.
The grounds were beautiful, scenery amazing and beach clean and majestic. The hotel lobby was nice as were the public areas, however the rooms stayed in left something to be desired. They were outwardly clean however not maintained very well. Marble in the bathroom was stained, mattereses very hard, bathtub caulking was blackened and looked to be caulked over many times leaving a very sloppy and unclean feel. The first room we stayed in had cobwebs over the entry and the door was caked with dirt around the handle and key entry. The third day our key did not open the door, it took 3 hours to gain access with the maintanence staff having to access the room next to us and remove the window to our room to open the door. We then moved to a different room which exibitied the same lack of maintanance (no upgrade allowed for our troubles). There was absolutely no sound proofing, we heard every word from the room next to us, anyone in the hallway and in the common area on the lower level. Food:You are allocated 2 bottles of water a day and then you have to pay in the store. DO NOT drink the filtered water as you will feel like you have the flu and be running to the bathroom. Buffet was terrible, sign up for the restaurants for better food, however, favoritism is prevailent for repeat guests and those who tip well. Overall, I will not be returning to the Samba.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by D from Iowa

Small resort perfect for families

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Spent a week during spring break with 3 children under 10 yo and it was perfect! We had a ocean view suite and it was amazing! Food was very good but there was not too much variety, but again, for us it was just right. Staff, what can I say? They are unbelievably pleasant and always attentive to our needs. Our special thanks to Ricardo, Samuel, Salvador, Carlos, Reyes, and of course, Israel from the restaurant. They were amazing and always had a smile in their face for us and our children. Would definitely recommend and absolutely going back.