Ratings based on 514 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver BC

Beach front hotel family oriented

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Buffet didnt have much variety, addition of too much sugar on their meals. Don't go there with teenagers, they will get bored. Only activities they manage for them, was the beach volley ball once a day. You feel stuck in the hotel, no stores or little village walkin distance. We have to take the taxi, bus was 45 min. Only bonus was the long flat beach (+ 15km). Ocean was shallow and warm too in March.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Love everything about it! My window view, the pool and the easy access to the beach. Can't go wrong with the the bartenders especially Cirillo he was great. Had an awesome waiter by the name of Carlos... I will return again for sure. Food was delicious and all staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB, Canada

Nice swimmable beach.

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Beach was really nice. The sand was nice and soft - the closer you get to Bucarias the coarser it got.
Cons: This is a very noisy hotel.Thicker, solid core doors with closers attached to them so they can't slam would go a long way in cutting down the noise.
Location: Turtle nesting sanctuary is just down the beach so if you are lucky you can release some turtles at sunset for 31 pesoes - cheap!
Stayed at the Samba from Feruary 22 to March 4th 2015. A good, reasonable, clean hotel. A very good deal for budget concious travellers - you will not be dissapointed. Easy walk to Bucarias via the road - the beach seemed longer and is tough on the feet the closer you get to Bucarias.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC

Great place very friendly

Posted Feb 27, 2015
We had an amazing holiday. Beautiful setting, amazing beach, with the most accommodating staff. Every employee bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed. Amazing customer service.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

Old rooms but great pool and beach

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: I really enjoyed the sports and activities put on by the staff as well as the efficiency, friendlyness of every staff member!
Cons: Food was average at the buffet, but too similar day and night. The Mexican menu requires more options! The ambiance of the rooms!
Location: Lots of dining options nearby; Ciao, Fajita Republic were excellent! Bucerias is a great town to walk around, and visit!
Location of this resort was exactly what we wanted and expected. Close to bucerias, long beach to walk in either direction, with nice sand and access to ocean. The resort is an older resort, and t is apparent is through the rooms and outdoor amenities. At first we were given a room with a balcony facing the staff parking lot/RIU hotel which disappointed us however the friendly and accommodating staff were able to move us the following day to a room with a balcony facing the pool and ocean which was great since we had a 2 week stay! The rooms simply caught us off guard as the walls are all completely bare, and the mirrors in both the room and bathroom are rusted and quite old. Lamp shades are quite rusted as well due to the moisture in the rooms. This also gives the rooms a musty smell if the doors aren't open. Besides the rooms, the outdoors is lanscaped and kept in great shape. Grass is beautiful and manicured daily. The bikes to rent are quite rusted and older, the shuffle board paint is peeling, simply needs a bit of TLC, however we still used them and everything was fine! By the pool washroom there was definitely an odour from the septic system that was constant. Around 9 pm every night by the show area, there was a 'burp' in the septic system where a terrible odour would arise as well. Didn't last too long but caught lots of peoples attention!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Very old!

Posted Feb 20, 2015
This is my first review ever! Samba was not what the pictures revealed. I walked into a room with very low ceilings (hit my hand a few times and I'm only 5'5). There were old looking vents in the room and what appeared to be mold around the vent. The sink had rust and the mini fridge was in the bathroom on the counter. Leaving anything in the room gave it a very limp/damp feel (passport, paperwork). The food was not as good as I hoped, although I did get full. There were tons of stews and it all had a Mexican feel to it. Oh yeah, the bed felt wet and smelled sour. The alcohol was being poured heavy yet I didn't even get a buzz. Not a single buzz in 4 days drinking all day. I felt bloated from all the sugar in the drinks. There was no jucuzzi and the resort is very small with no real amenities. The WiFi was helpful and free as promised. It's about a 20 minute ride from the airport. Attended dinner at one of the restaurants at the resort and the food was much better. Salvador was amazing and friendly!!! There were gnats always at the dessert table and near the pastries put out by the coffee. All in all I would not back there, but for the money if you want all inclusive and don't mind it being quite old and out dated......have at it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta, Canada

Great, friendly place to stay!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Beachfront Location, Choices of food, STAFF!, Clean decent sized pool, lots of seating pool side and beach, good drinks
Cons: A/C in our room didn't always work, didn't always have hot water, toilet wouldn't stop running
Location: 20 mins from Puerto Vallarta, 5 mins away from Vallarta Adventures excursion meet up area, Bucerias is a short taxi ride away for great shopping
Loved our time at the Samba Vallarta! We stayed 1 week. The staff were incredibly attentive and you didn't go more than a few minutes at meals to get something to drink, staff constantly made sure you had everything you needed. Friendly people there that loved to chat with you and really cared about its guests and had great pride in their resort. Location was excellent - right on the beach! Lots of room at the pool side and beach, no fighting for spaces. Buffet was always a bit different each night, even as a picky eater I always found something to eat - they also NEVER ran out of any of the food. ATM machine outside of the hotel has issues - I recommend avoiding it. The hotel isn't brand new by any means, but is kept impeccably clean, wherever you go during the day someone is always tidying and keeping the place clean. AMAZINGLY KIND AND ATTENTIVE STAFF!! We had a bit of trouble with our AC, a couple nights we had no hot water to shower and the toilet acted up. Great place for the price we paid, and its not too far from Puerto Vallarta and the meet up points for excursions. This was a hidden gem of a resort, reviews we seen everywhere had us nervous but it was overall a great experience. A smaller place, which was nice, you weren't crowded by people all the time. This is a family friendly resort, there are many kids, but that never bothered us as there was a shallow part of the pool where kids could play as well as a kids club with activities to keep them busy
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Not the best place I have stayed in Mexico.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Really nice beach. Nice pool.
Cons: Rooms could be cleaner and some roof work could help with rain water on floors.
Location: Beautiful beach. could walk all the way to Buserius. Great for boogie boarding and water activities.
Was a little disappointed with the hotel.Not very clean and not well cared for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Great staff, and beautiful beach

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: This is a small resort the staff get to know you, they make you feel welcome, and comfortable.
Cons: Activities! Very basic activities were offered everyday but more fun would be had with more variety....bingo, contests, crafts, dance lessons.
Location: The resort is about a $20- $25 cab ride from almost all activities and tours. I thoroughly enjoyed walking to Bucerias, only a 30- 45 min walk.
We were very happy with our stay at the Samba. The staff is what made this hotel a great place to stay. Always happy, courteous, and helpful. We enjoyed the food (although we ate a few meals in the Italian restaurant) We enjoyed the many entrees offered at each meal, always finding something we enjoyed. Drinks were good and plentiful, and always served with a smile. The only down fall with our stay was the lack of activities...and variety of entertainment during the day (maybe try bingo, dance lessons, painting, contests). During a (rare) rainy day a few games were available (although lacking some pieces), definitely some activities should be planned..eg bingo, and other games for groups. Every night the pool bar would close from 6:00pm until 11:00 pm, very upsetting to quite a few guests. Two other bars were available but closing the pool bar probably should be changed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Vacation at Samba

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Staff were really great and attentive. Hotel clean and mostly in good condition. Food was okay but not much change in menu on a daily basis. Quiet hotel. Nice for families and guest wanting a 10pm sleep time. Not for party people. Overall good experience.