Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very pleasant week

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Location: Great area with lots going on.
All five members of our group (2seniors,2 middle aged and 1 college student) enjoyed the food, wonderful service and great beach, as well as perfect weather. We had planned to enjoy local restaurants for dinner, but went out only once, since we enjoyed the hotel so much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to beach and restaurant

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Beach front
Cons: Tile floors every where makes it noisy and everything echo's up and down the halls
Location: This was the best part. Many restaurants and bars to choose from and an awesome area to really experience the Mexican culture and ways.
The hotel was clean and close to beach and many restaurants and bars. The room was on first floor with a nice balcony overlooking the beach but right off lobby area and was very very noisy. Bedding cleanliness was a little sketchy and they never changed the sheets the whole week just made up the bed and cleaned daily. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, nice pool areas. Overall rating average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from alberta

Great Location

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Always a pleasure to stay their! Friendly and smiley staff! Rooms are clean!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from Winnipeg, Manitoba

Location, location, location

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Location, view and staff
Cons: Internet (wifi) is not stable or strong. If the wifi was improved and avalanche in rooms that would make our stay perfect.
Location: Olas Atlas is voles by with many great restaurants to check out. The Malecon is not far away and a great place to walk every day.
San Marino is located in the heart of old town Puerto Vallarta. With the new pier completed the views are spectacular. The good has been good as well as the bar. Definitely a place to come back to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Toronto

San Marino is a great time!

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly Staff, Location
Cons: For an All Inclusive Resort, at a 3 star rating, its fantastic
Location: its walking distance to everything, the boardwalk, the clubs, the bars, the restaurants, the pier! its all at your finger tips
The San Marino hotel is a great place to stay. First time in PV and I felt like home. The staff are amazing, from Pedro on the front door, to Emanual the Bartender, to Alex the Breakfast and lunch guy, and Arturo the dinner guy. so friendly and so attentive. The food got a bit repetitive by the 8th day, but there are so many little restaurants and place to get food off the resort, at a great price eating was never a worry. Room was great, we upgraded to a JR Suite looking over the ocean, and it was wealth worth it! The view and sounds of the water, just breathtaking!. We will be going back very soon and will say at the San Marino again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gaetan from Halifax, Nova Scotia

Old Vallarta downtown

Posted Mar 13, 2014
This is an older hotel and is a very good value for the price you pay. On the beach, downtown, full of restaurants, bars, entertainment within 1-3 minutes walk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Winnipeg

Good value with excellent location

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, location on beach near pier are highlights of this hotel.
Cons: Dinner selections could be expanded and perhaps have different offerings in the two different restaurants.
Location: Walking on the beach, going on the water taxi to Yelapa, going to restaurants, shops and nightlife nearby. This hotel has a great location!
San Marino is a good basic hotel in an excellent location. I've stayed there many times. It is near the pier and the gay beach as well as ample restaurants and nightlife nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Winnipeg

Great location for a low priced basic hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2014
I've stayed at the San Marino many times. The highlights are the location is excellent and the staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic and don't come with a lot of amenities. I always choose the all-inclusive package as I like the breakfast a lot and enjoy being able to get water and drinks as desired. The lunch is good too and when they serve the guacamole, it is even better. In the first couple stays at the San Marino, they had guacamole available all afternoon and I really appreciated that - I hope they bring back that offering. Dinner is fine once or twice and then it becomes rather repetitive. For dinner I would often go out with friends as there are lots of excellent dining options nearby - I would recommend anyone staying there to do the same even if you've paid for all inclusive. What could they do to improve? Renovate the rooms and bathrooms. Provide more towels, soap, shampoo, etc. Keep the bar open past 10 pm (maybe 11 pm would be better). Have better dinner options or use both dining rooms and have a different theme in each every night. Would I come back to the San Marino? Yes, I know what to expect and I am satisfied with it. For someone looking for a 5-star hotel, this isn't the place for you. If you can handle a good priced, great location 2.5-star hotel, then it's great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by leslie from british columbia

Great location best thing about this hotel.

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Location. Very friendly guests.
Cons: Beds could be more comfortable.
Location: Right by the pier, lots of restaurants and shops nearby.
We stayed here for four days; our first all inclusive experience. Beds were hard--but we asked for, and got, eventually, a foamy that helped a lot. Food was better than expected but got to be kind of boring. Lots of noise from the street, but it's right downtown, what can you expect?
2 out of 5
by Ricardo from Montreal Canada

Great disappointment

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Staff was great, the view, and the beach oh yeah location
Cons: redo bathrooms better beds and pillows
Location: anything you want,
First room dirty bathroom scary, beds hard, moved us after complaining 2 days later, better room, shower glass door painted brown, toilet would have to be flushed five times before empty, lost water 5 times during stay, food was cold in buffet, only hot food was omelets cooked in front of you, only 2 toasters (residential ones) for all site. It is too bad because of great location on beach in old town. we took the all inclusive and went out for supper all but one night. No meals a la carte available. All this place needs is a bit of remodeling and hot food and it would be great, Great view 3 pools. really disappointed.