Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Horrible hotel but close to the beach

Posted Jun 24, 2014
As soon as I arrived I had a bad feeling about the hotel. The hotel staff need better customer service skills. There was no explanation on anything from the front desk service clerk. They pretty much told me here is your key these are your beach towel cards and sign here. It wasn't until later only because we had to inquire about things such as the free wifi password , what our package consisted of and the option of using the safe. Also don't expect a tour of the place. You need to explore the "amenities" yourself. The only thing good about the place was the fact that it sits right off the beach and the maids keep the room clean. One last thing, the AC unit was not cooling the room at all we had a better chance of hoping for a ocean front breeze.
3 out of 5
by juan from WY

Was ok, could have been higher quality for a suite

Posted May 14, 2014
Service was not worth what we paid as an all inclusive. Quality of room was bad for a suite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very pleasant week

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Location: Great area with lots going on.
All five members of our group (2seniors,2 middle aged and 1 college student) enjoyed the food, wonderful service and great beach, as well as perfect weather. We had planned to enjoy local restaurants for dinner, but went out only once, since we enjoyed the hotel so much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to beach and restaurant

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Beach front
Cons: Tile floors every where makes it noisy and everything echo's up and down the halls
Location: This was the best part. Many restaurants and bars to choose from and an awesome area to really experience the Mexican culture and ways.
The hotel was clean and close to beach and many restaurants and bars. The room was on first floor with a nice balcony overlooking the beach but right off lobby area and was very very noisy. Bedding cleanliness was a little sketchy and they never changed the sheets the whole week just made up the bed and cleaned daily. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, nice pool areas. Overall rating average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from alberta

Great Location

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Always a pleasure to stay their! Friendly and smiley staff! Rooms are clean!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eric from Santa Rosa CA

Great Location

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for 12 nights. Read a lot of posts about it being bad A/C, older building ect. The only negative we had was we had to wait 2 days to get a room with a king bed. Other than that it was great. A/C was cold enough and was great white noise. We got up every morning walked down from the 6th floor and right on to the beach. Everything is within walking distance, except golf. Employees were friendly and responded quickly when we blew a fuse. The only thing we did not get was the towels folded like animals! Maybe next year. We will be going back as soon as we can!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from Winnipeg, Manitoba

Location, location, location

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Location, view and staff
Cons: Internet (wifi) is not stable or strong. If the wifi was improved and avalanche in rooms that would make our stay perfect.
Location: Olas Atlas is voles by with many great restaurants to check out. The Malecon is not far away and a great place to walk every day.
San Marino is located in the heart of old town Puerto Vallarta. With the new pier completed the views are spectacular. The good has been good as well as the bar. Definitely a place to come back to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Toronto

San Marino is a great time!

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly Staff, Location
Cons: For an All Inclusive Resort, at a 3 star rating, its fantastic
Location: its walking distance to everything, the boardwalk, the clubs, the bars, the restaurants, the pier! its all at your finger tips
The San Marino hotel is a great place to stay. First time in PV and I felt like home. The staff are amazing, from Pedro on the front door, to Emanual the Bartender, to Alex the Breakfast and lunch guy, and Arturo the dinner guy. so friendly and so attentive. The food got a bit repetitive by the 8th day, but there are so many little restaurants and place to get food off the resort, at a great price eating was never a worry. Room was great, we upgraded to a JR Suite looking over the ocean, and it was wealth worth it! The view and sounds of the water, just breathtaking!. We will be going back very soon and will say at the San Marino again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gaetan from Halifax, Nova Scotia

Old Vallarta downtown

Posted Mar 13, 2014
This is an older hotel and is a very good value for the price you pay. On the beach, downtown, full of restaurants, bars, entertainment within 1-3 minutes walk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Winnipeg

Good value with excellent location

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, location on beach near pier are highlights of this hotel.
Cons: Dinner selections could be expanded and perhaps have different offerings in the two different restaurants.
Location: Walking on the beach, going on the water taxi to Yelapa, going to restaurants, shops and nightlife nearby. This hotel has a great location!
San Marino is a good basic hotel in an excellent location. I've stayed there many times. It is near the pier and the gay beach as well as ample restaurants and nightlife nearby.