Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2015
It was a very disappointing place. the room was disgusting, I have pictures if you are interested. Very uncomfortable and we left early because of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Excellent Waterfront Location

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: The waterfront location on the southern portion of Malecon couldn't be better.
Cons: Updating the rooms would be nice, particularly the bathrooms in the Standard Rooms.
Location: The Pier is literally in front of the hotel. Great for getting water taxis to various points of interest. Also, close to many good restaurants/bars.
We have stayed at the San Marino on 8 occasions. The staff are very gracious and accommodating. Although the Standard Rooms are dated, the maids do a thorough job of cleaning the rooms. The food was better this time than it had been on prior occasions and had much more interesting presentations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Friendly, Clean, great location on beach

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Friendly good service. Clean Food is much better than 9 years ago when I first stayed here. Great location on nice beach Modest rooms, nothing fancy, but good value for all inclusive ( Clean !) One complaint: not enough lounge- chairs, and like many hotels, have a stupid system where guests can line up at 6 am to reserve their chair on beach or pool by leaving a towel there. Many lounge- chairs sit dormant for hours while the rest of guests are s--- out of luck
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need to be renovated
Location: Great location
Beds are VERY hard. We were overlooking the street and very noisy all night with bar music, car alarms, and loud people in the street
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom quebec

san marino

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: tres tres situe dans le vieux vallarta
Cons: la nourriture
Location: tres vivant et achalande et securitaire
tres bien situe dans le vieux vallarta bonnes installations buffet mediocre
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for price

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Location is the selling point for this hotel. Beds were not comfortable at all and the bathroom was impossible to keep clean. And though the restaurant staff was great the foods really wasn't good. Again the location is the best part; right on the beach and perfectly accessible to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego,CA

Great location

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: the location,and very clean.
Cons: needs new beds!
Location: beach,restaurants,nightlife,sunset pier in the heart of all.
The location was great,the room was very clean,excellent housekeeping staff.The bed needs updating,and the room is tired and also needs updating.For the location and price it is a good value,however next time I will request not staying on the north side,room 226 was to low,and a lot of noise on that side from the street.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

Needs Help

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: update the rooms, get rid of the pigeons, better food, the same day in and day out. More quiet areas for sitting. Another idea, a few smaller tables
Location: on the boardwalk, lots of places to eat which you will want after 2 or 3 days of the hotel food.
Black mould on Bathroom ceiling (#418) foul smell to room, Pigeons walking on tables while trying to eat meals, room very dark and dated, beds terrible ( no mattress just box spring), pillows like sleeping on a sack of rocks. Loud music baring from 10am to 8pm, no quiet place to sit and read. They say a 4star hotel, I would rate as a 1.5-2 at most. Staff was excellent and hotel clean but old section of rooms terrible
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Excellent Location

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Excellent location, fun activites
Cons: New bathrooms
Location: Excellent location, beautiful ocean view, in front of a pier. Near old village, many restaurants, bars, malecon, museum.
I had a terrific time in Puerto Vallarta. The weather, the people, the activites, were fabulous. The location of the hotel was a big reason I had so much fun. The rooms need some work, the drain in the shower, sink and toilet malfunctioned at times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sask, canada

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Junior suite was great, view was nice
Cons: Food was ok, but not much variety
Location: Excellent
Enjoyed the two weeks, staff were great, could be more beach chairs available