Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Ca.

Unhappy stay

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: My cousin hosted an event in that hotel.
Cons: EVERYTHING IN GENERAL, SPECIALLY THE STAFF. IT WAS OVER 200 PEOPLE IN OUR GROUP AND EVERYONE WAS VERY UNHAPPY....
Location: The location was the only thing nice, I did enjoy the surrounding of the Old Vallarta.
I look at expedia pictures and review, but since we had an event in that hotel, everyone booked into San Marino. From the get go, everything was not a good experience. Many of us had an issued with the reservation, I had to actually show him a print out of my expedia reservation, luckly I had one. We had to pay a 100 pesos deposit for an extra key, because they only offer you one. We go to the room and see that motel 6 have better rooms. There was mildew and mold in the bathroom, also the room was very claustrophobic and we did not get a well rest because the sliding door to the balcony was thin, so you could here all the outside noise, the pillow and bed, very lumpy and uncomfortable. They have all inclusive, but the meals were nasty, we ended up eating outside the hotel, plus the waiters were not very friendly especially to some of our guest that had to pay for their meals, the meal price was 150 pesos for all you could eat, but it the food was actually good I would not mind paying it. I also had to pay a 500 deposit in order to use the safety box in the room, which is very smart for them, because if you happened to loose the key or the lock, plus the extra key to the room, 600 pesos would be extra pocketed for the hotel. They have security personnel which were very unfriendly and rude. WORSE HOTEL EVER, UNFRIENDLY STAFF AND RUDE. I GIVE THEM MINUS 1 STAR....
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Horrible hotel but close to the beach

Posted Jun 24, 2014
As soon as I arrived I had a bad feeling about the hotel. The hotel staff need better customer service skills. There was no explanation on anything from the front desk service clerk. They pretty much told me here is your key these are your beach towel cards and sign here. It wasn't until later only because we had to inquire about things such as the free wifi password , what our package consisted of and the option of using the safe. Also don't expect a tour of the place. You need to explore the "amenities" yourself. The only thing good about the place was the fact that it sits right off the beach and the maids keep the room clean. One last thing, the AC unit was not cooling the room at all we had a better chance of hoping for a ocean front breeze.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Christine from Minneapolis

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hard review to write. We had seven rooms for a family vacation and we're twice shut down from security guards. Both times at 9:30 pm . One time watching peacefully a World Cup play off game with five minutes left! Mexico was playing!
3 out of 5
by juan from WY

Was ok, could have been higher quality for a suite

Posted May 14, 2014
Service was not worth what we paid as an all inclusive. Quality of room was bad for a suite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very pleasant week

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Location: Great area with lots going on.
All five members of our group (2seniors,2 middle aged and 1 college student) enjoyed the food, wonderful service and great beach, as well as perfect weather. We had planned to enjoy local restaurants for dinner, but went out only once, since we enjoyed the hotel so much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to beach and restaurant

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Beach front
Cons: Tile floors every where makes it noisy and everything echo's up and down the halls
Location: This was the best part. Many restaurants and bars to choose from and an awesome area to really experience the Mexican culture and ways.
The hotel was clean and close to beach and many restaurants and bars. The room was on first floor with a nice balcony overlooking the beach but right off lobby area and was very very noisy. Bedding cleanliness was a little sketchy and they never changed the sheets the whole week just made up the bed and cleaned daily. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, nice pool areas. Overall rating average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from alberta

Great Location

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Always a pleasure to stay their! Friendly and smiley staff! Rooms are clean!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eric from Santa Rosa CA

Great Location

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for 12 nights. Read a lot of posts about it being bad A/C, older building ect. The only negative we had was we had to wait 2 days to get a room with a king bed. Other than that it was great. A/C was cold enough and was great white noise. We got up every morning walked down from the 6th floor and right on to the beach. Everything is within walking distance, except golf. Employees were friendly and responded quickly when we blew a fuse. The only thing we did not get was the towels folded like animals! Maybe next year. We will be going back as soon as we can!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from Winnipeg, Manitoba

Location, location, location

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Location, view and staff
Cons: Internet (wifi) is not stable or strong. If the wifi was improved and avalanche in rooms that would make our stay perfect.
Location: Olas Atlas is voles by with many great restaurants to check out. The Malecon is not far away and a great place to walk every day.
San Marino is located in the heart of old town Puerto Vallarta. With the new pier completed the views are spectacular. The good has been good as well as the bar. Definitely a place to come back to.