Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Honeymoon

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Great Resort. Basically every room has an ocean view, with higher levels having a little better views. 1st for views aren't much, but you do have your own swim out pool which is nice for when you meet new people and get to use that swim out pool at night when the main pools are closed. Do yourself a favor and stay in the Preferred Club, worth the little bit extra money. Tell them it's your Honeymoon before you arrive and get some nice little extras during your stay. If you can put up with an hour or two "presentation" (sales pitch for Vacation Club) you can get some nice Free stuff during your stay. I recommend their Spa; check out the hydro therapy treatment, it was pretty sweet. The food was good, with a nice selection of different restaurants on site. All the staff members were excellent and go above and beyond to make sure you have a great time. Whether getting drinks all day by the pool, walking on the beach, meeting great new people from all over the world, or going out on different excursions (try the extreme adventure zip lining one - awesome) everything about Puerto Vallarta and Secrets was simply amazing. Didn't want to leave, and can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jeffersonville, IN

Perfect Honeymoon Getaway

Posted Sep 25, 2014
This location was wonderful. The staff members were very pleasant: always helpful, smiling, and respectful. There are also several restaurant and bar options, which added to the variety of our all-inclusive package. The view from our room was great. Also, the room was very clean, with updated and modern features. I would certainly recommend this resort...especially for those needing a relaxing, romantic getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Nice all inclusive close to downtown

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Quite a nice hotel. Beach was nice. Food and service were very good. Staff in the restaurants and bars are outstanding. Really kind and attentive. Check in would have been prefect except for the wasted time when they pass you off to the "coupon" man. They try to upsell you on a presentation from their vacation club. Also the internet and their app does not work at all. Talked to several other guests who couldn't get it to work. I phoned down and left a message that the internet and wireless did not work. They never returned the call. But when you ignore the coupon and upsell, everything else was very nice and worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quite possibly the best hotel/vacation ever

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: best/sexiest room I have ever stayed in. Shower big enough an elephant, very comfortable king bed. giant bathtub and go preferred and get that jacuzzi
Cons: improve buffet a bit
Location: area is close to airport and male con. very safe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Would rebook in a heartbeat!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Rooms were terrific! Nice pools! Incredible service!
Cons: Clean the rocks out of the beach; do something about the wasps at the pool bar, and the hawkers on the beach, please!!
Location: Really good location - close to (nice walk, if not too hot outside!), not too far from the marina, so easy to access tour boats, and 15 mins. from air
This is probably the nicest all-inclusive we've ever booked! Check-in was efficient,and staff very friendly and helpful, , from the bell-hop who gave us a tour of our room when he delivered our luggage to the bartenders, and front desk personnel, and the waiters at the a-la-carte restaurants --- the service was amazing, the junior suite was really lovely, and the hotel located really close to dowtown P.Vallarta, so it was easy to catch a bus to take a look around. One side of the hotel was 18 plus, and the other side, for families, so it's a hotel that caters to everyone. Entertainment in the evenings was pretty good. The only things I didn't like - the beach access to the ocean was, unfortunately, really rocky, so not many were venturing into the ocean to swim --- and the hawkers set up their beach umbrellas directly in front of our beach loungers, and blocked our view of the ocean, facing us in their chairs, and remaining there for the entire day! Otherwise, we really enjoyed this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Secrets stay

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The staff was very accommodating. The hotel is very beautiful.
Cons: The vendors on the beach should have to stay away from people trying to relax on the beach.
Location: The location was good for shopping and resturants outside of the resort.
The hotel was wonderful. My only complaint was there were too many people on the beach trying to sell you things. They should only be able to stay down on the beach and not come bother you in your chairs. Pants were required for men at a few of the resturants on site which is a little ridiculous when the weather is 90 degrees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice all-inclusive

Posted Aug 1, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at Secrets. We went for our honeymoon for 10 days. We enjoyed the pool and the never ending supply of drinks! We tried quite a few restaurants and most of the meals were great (seafood buffet wasn't a hit). It would have been perfect except that our room was on a side that they were doing construction on. Each morning we'd wake to drilling, hammering or a saw. I should've asked to move, but didn't. Overall a great place to stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the money but a few disappointments

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: beach, pool, hospitality of the staff
Cons: seperating from the NOW to make it a real adult only and keeping the rooms cool and no sales presentations!
Location: Puerta vallarta tour company was excellent..we did the buy 2 get one free through our expedia representative who was great..
We did get a good deal for a top of the line resort because it was off-season..The restaurants were all 4 star but some were in the family side so not truly an adult all inclusive resort..One side is Secrets adult all inclusive and the other side is family the NOW resort where many of the restaurants were located along with the entertainment so wasn't a truly adult all inclusive..The other negative thing was upon arrival we were offered a $150 discount if we went to a presentation..They provmised it wasn't time share and would only take 90min..It wasn't time share but selling vacation club and we were there 5 hours!! We were interested but in the end ended up not buying because it was high pressure sells..we kept saying no and then they would come back with another offer..very disappointing 1st day of our trip..the beach was great..the pool was wonderful..the staff was great..our room was beautiful but hot!! The AC never did keep it cool..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Excellent Resort, right on the Beach!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The friendliness and of the staff.
Cons: Having a larger room service menu would be nice, though there are many options currently available.
Location: Everything is close and the concierge desks are happy to arrange any excursion you may want. Right on the beach you can rent jet skis and parasail.
My wife & I went here in July for our 15th anniversary. The staff was absolutely exceptional! Always more than ready to help with anything and everything we needed. The entire resort was incredibly clean and comfortable. Our room was cleaned daily and the beds turned down each evening. The food was great and the pools were clean and very well maintained. The view was amazing and we will certainly be going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All inclusive 'Adults Only' AAA Rating

Posted Jul 9, 2014
We stayed at the Secrets resort, which is all-inclusive Adults Only resort in Puerto Vallarta. Friendly staff, clean hotel, and few food options. Only down side: fewer food options for those with dietary restrictions.