Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Mar. 28 to April 11

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Food, rooms, service, staff in the Market Café in particular were wonderful. I also found the live entertainment in the lobby a very nice touch.
Location: Puerto Vallarta has a lot of culture. Live music, art walk, lots of restaurants, fishing, and other adventures.
It is a beautiful hotel. The food was excellent and the service was very good. I would like to see some sort of voucher system whereby you could purchase a drink for a friend visiting you on the beach. I understand an unregistered guest cannot enter the hotel and I would not expect that but the option to purchase a drink would be great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

Great location. Stunning views!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Staff is excellent. Hotel is perfect! Great pools, great views. 15 mins from the airport. Would highly recommend. Our only complaint was the food. The al a carte restaurant food is mediocre at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

Nice hotel close to town

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Great resort, very clean attentive workers amazing food. Only complaint is the rocky beach, but not the resorts fault.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Redondo Beach, CA

Perfect getaway

Posted Apr 12, 2015
I booked this trip last minute on Expedia. I was traveling solo and liked the idea of an adult only environment but I was a little concerned that this hotel might have a 'couple only' vibe. It turned out that I had one if the best vacations of my life. I met fantastic singles and couples. The vibe was a perfect mix between peaceful and fun. The food was extraordinary the service was world class! The entertainment was very very good. No timeshare meeting pressure (thank goodness) only a respectful invitation that I declined. I would highly recommend Secrets PV with no exceptions. I will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Beautiful hotel, great staff and service resulting in a fantastic holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great stay!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Great ocean views from every room, beautiful rooms. Excellent food Great swimming pools
Cons: Internet in guest rooms Guests not hanging on to the pool swim mattresses, even when not using
Location: PV has a great downtown. Check out the Malacon, the Wed. night art walk, and the local bars and nightly entertainment.
Hotel rooms are spacious and deluxe. Beds are very comfortable. Only a couple of minor complaints. First, would be the inconsistent internet (have found this at other locations) in the rooms, but it is better in the lobby and the internet Cocoa Café. Second, the musty smell of the room (also have had at other Mexican resorts), but open the balcony doors and enjoy fresher air and a beautiful view. The food off the menus or at the buffets is excellent! Loved the Market Cafe. I don't like the "long pants" rule in several of the restaurants as the weather is very warm, and many men have equally nice dress shorts that should be accepted. They enforce the rule, so some in our group didn't go to the Japanese restaurant or the Bordeaux. Great drinks too. I would skip the Mexican Fiesta as it seemed a little disorganized and the food average. We never went to the evening shows as our group prefers to go into town and enjoy the local bars and clubs like Cuates y Cuetes which has great local music, especially jazz.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles , CA

Not 5 Stars, But Good Deal For the Price

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The beach, when we could get a place, and easy access to any desired service.
Cons: Truly crowded. people would come out to the beach or pool and put towels down, not to return for hours, while others looked in vain for a place to sit
Location: Easy access to town and all amenities. Staff was extremely helpful in getting transport and telling you what to pay.
We stayed last year (which brought us back), but unfair to compare the 2 trips because by a fluke we were upgraded last year to a great suite. It was like having our own villa overlooking the city, bay and beach...truly lovely. This year we paid more and stayed in a regular room, with a great view of the sea...no complaints, other than a (tiny) gripe about the slow elevators everywhere, since we were on an upper floor. Beach was good, but busy. Be there EARLY! With one exception, the lobby and room staff were friendly and accommodating. The interesting exception was the reception desk. Check in help couldn't wait to get rid of us and couldn't have been less interested in providing a decent welcome.This attitude was repeated each time we visited. Fitness room was adequate, many ongoing activities if one chose to participate, all the free drinks and food anyone could want. We particularly enjoyed the freedom and choice at the Market Cafe for breakfast and lunch,buffet style with every kind of food you could hope for, and service staff there was the best....couldn't do enough. Other restaurants, except Italian (see below), had decent to mediocre food, but staff was all friendly and helpful. The Italian restaurant was rude each time we tried to get in (they wouldn't take reservations and the wait was always 30-45 minutes), and when we finally did go, the food was only OK ( already out of the entre one of us wanted) and the staff was about as unfriendly as the whole atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Canada

Superb Adults Only Resort

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Love this resort and our room was spectacular with our own pool. Jose (pool) attended to our every need and knew exactly what drink we wanted next and we never had to wait on anything with him. He deserves a huge raise! Our 8 days went by way too fast and we would love to go back. Juan our bellhop was so polite and also couldn't do enough for us. Loved the whole Secrets resort, however did not like the pressure to attend their "sales/vacation/rental/etc. We were very surprised to find out about this as we never thought for one moment we would be staying at at Secrets, paying the price we did, to be somewhat pressured into attending their "pitch"! We OWN two resort timeshares through Hilton and we are more than happy with Hilton! After all we only have four weeks a year right now that we can vacation, and Hawaii is our choice to do this with our family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Super hospitable staff

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Cons: The wifi in the rooms is very unstable.
Only rating a 4/5 for hotel staff because of the 90mins 'tour' that they encouraged us to participate in. It was a marketing technique, whereby they would try to get you to sign up as a preferred member. However, the 'tour' went on for 3hours instead. Out of the multiple staffs that we were made to talk to, one staff was pretty pushy. Apart from that, my experience with this hotel was fabulous. From the hospitality of the staff, to the food and the facilities. In the resort, there are four buildings in total: Now Amber Preferred, Now Amber, Secrets and Secrets Preferred. We were told that guests staying in Secrets were given access to every part of the hotel, while Now Amber's guests were only limited to Now Amber's facilities. My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to be placed in Secrets Preferred although we booked a room for Secrets (mini upgrade). The room was extremely cosy and clean. It was also very spacious, with a jacuzzi in the balcony, and a bathtub and shower in the bathroom. There's two sinks, so there's no need to fight over who gets to wash up first. Also, the room has a "secret box". This "secret box" is just a space that allows room service to place your food in there so that you do not need to be disturbed. The resort also has an entertainment team. They will engage you with all sorts of activities such as handicrafts, aerobics etc. And they're all free. There is also a chess board and table tennis table at the pools.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas ,Texas

Great vacation resort .

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Great design, very clean, very upscale, outstanding view, superior wait staff, great entertainment, great food and drinks.
Cons: The air regulation in the room could be better. Always seemed damp, floors always had moisture in evening hrs.
Location: Location was good , not far from airport, accessible to nearby shopping and boardwalk sightseeing .
Great experience . Fantastic view of the ocean and the grounds from my room and all the restaurants. The food,drinks, and the superior service off all hotel staff was outstanding .