Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All inclusive 'Adults Only' AAA Rating

Posted Jul 9, 2014
We stayed at the Secrets resort, which is all-inclusive Adults Only resort in Puerto Vallarta. Friendly staff, clean hotel, and few food options. Only down side: fewer food options for those with dietary restrictions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

their spa service was a disappointment

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Nice facility for the spa. But realized it too expensive for the experience we got. My husband and I had a couple massage during their 2 for 1 promotion for $198. We selected a 50min deep tissue massage followed by a 30min reflexology. The massage therapist need more experience on their detail skill pressure points (or hand skills?). We felt worst after getting the massage. My lower my aches more than I first went in. I've experienced the same similar service else where many times and I can definitely tell the the masseur I had was definitely not a professional. I was disappointed with that part of my stay in this hotel. Other than that, all other services were superb! Would definitely recommend this place but definitely not their spa service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

The Preferred Club and swimout pool are amazing

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Cons: I have seen nicer hotels, rooms could be bigger for the price
Location: close to airport, we have been to the area lots and were only there for 5 days so never left the resort!
We just stayed in a swimout room it was amazing, love the Preferred Club, the daily pringles and m&m's and coronas were a nice touch as well. Great bar staff, love the blue floating devices to lay on daily as well. Def would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Best staff ever... Seriously.

Posted Jun 21, 2014
We just stayed in the preferred club for our honeymoon and I'd definitely say it's worth the extra few dollars a night even though the entire facility is immaculate. The pools are clean and there are plenty of cabanas. The main lobby bars are nice with huge patios sitting on infinite ponds, looking down over the resort pools and beach. The preffered club bar is small and classy with top shelf liquor and a buffet of finger foods and treats from breakfast to 10 or 11 at night. Breakfast in the cafe is buffet style and as good as any of the local resort or winery buffets here in California. The Mexican restaurant was my favorite. It's different than most CA Mexican but it's delicious. The pre-Asian place was tasty, and definitely well prepared, but very safe. We didn't make reservations to sit at the teppan table so I can't really give it a full review, but if you have regular access to good sushi or Thai, it may be unexciting for you. The walk up poolside buffet is simple, but perfect to grab a little something throughout the day at the pool. The included 24 hour room service was awesome, and besides stale french fries, the food provided was great. We didn't eat at any of the other places but I assume they're great as well. This is our first all inclusive, but we've heard that this company sets the bar and I believe it. I see no reason to stray away from AMResorts for our next Mexico trip. P.S. Canopy River zip line tour is super rad and the pickup spot is a 1min. walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Coquitlam

Very nice, a few issues.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
We booked through Expedia. It was tough to get the price we wanted and were totally happy with. The prices seemed to vary by 500$ or so within a given day. The resort itself is beautiful and the food was good. Pools were warm and not overly crowded. The major complaints I have are that the rooms smelled musty due to the humidity. Perhaps our filter on the AC needed changing. Also everything in the room felt damp. It was quite warm and very humid outside though. The other complaint for me was that the WiFi was horrible. Seemed to randomly work and randomly not work. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this resort . It was very beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon

Posted Jun 2, 2014
This resort is top notch! My wife and I had a blast and everyone is so friendly! Two thumbs up!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco, CA

Nice Secret hotel, but.......

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: All inclusive, preferred suite service, friendly staff.
Cons: Food
Hotel is conveniently located 15 mins south of the airport. Just like other Secrets resorts, staff at Secrets Vallarta Bay were friendly and helpful. Food was decent but not as good as the ones in Cancun and Cabo, a Stayed at the Preferred suite but due to the tower's orientation most rooms will only have partial view of the beach, though the beach was definitely a bit disappointing. I would rank this hotel behind Secrets the Vine and the Secrets Marquis Los Cabos.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Disappointing

Posted Jun 1, 2014
The hotel was listed as 4.5 star hotel, but it was barely a 2 star hotel. Our room smelled horrible, it was very wet and dirty. Our safe did not work, despite asking 2 times to be looked at. (no one ever came). Imagine your cash/passports/ipads/etc. unprotected while you are not in the room. The bartenders/waiters all conveniently forgot everything you asked for, forcing you to ask multiple times. The weather was good and the food was ok, probably the best thing about the resort. It was disappointing for what we paid for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Washington DC

Best for couples

Posted May 21, 2014
Hotel design and activities are best for couples - if you are single or with friends, consider a different place. Hotel staff and facilities were fantastic! Buffets were good; a la carte not as good. Beach area was limited - will consider staying in Nuevo Puerto Vallarta next time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

go now!!!

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: maybe an extra couple of towel hooks in the room so you can hang your fluffy white house coat. first world problems, ha
Location: marina is awsome, if you want to go fishing go to the marina and ask for manuel!! you will have a wonderful day
i never wanted to leave! I read the reviews before i left out of curiosity and if you are the same as me ignore the only few bad ones as they are probably from people who can never be pleased or like to find something bad in everything, glass half empty people. This hotel is amazing and the staff are great! Try the buffet at lunch where you can have cooked to order lamb chops, bacon wrapped filet mignon, ribeye, salmon, prawns or ahi tuna. Exquisite is all I can say. they will make you a smoothie of your choice and they have a make your own ceasar stand too!! You must book for the tepanyaki and you should not miss this! They have thought of everything! This place is unforgettably wonderful!