Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Relaxed Parents from Vancouver

Romantic vacation away from the kids

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Service - Fabricio, who greeted us, and Ricardo, who served us our romantic dinner on the beach, topped the list to make our stay perfection!
Cons: Internet connections - we couldn't get a constant signal in our room.
Location: You can walk to the Malecon, but we took a taxi there and back.
My husband and I left the little ones at home with the grandparents while we lapped up the luxury at Secrets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Sacramento, CA

Always great!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: All rooms have an ocean view. We had a jacuzzi on our deck. Room service was quick; we had them bring us coffee every morning. The staff was the best.
Cons: This is a very minor complaint: we had tons of lights everywhere, but didn't have enough light in the bathroom to do makeup or read in bed comfortably
Location: Great massage place out the entrance of the resort, go left! Got an hour-long couples massage for $25 each! Six dollar taxi ride to go into town.
This was our fifth time at a Secrets Resort, though the first time here at this resort. Secrets is always wonderful. The staff was exceptional, remembered your name, and they were always upbeat. I can't count the number of times we heard staff say, "I love my job!" The resort is impeccably clean. The food and service were top-notch. We stayed in the "Preferred" building which really didn't seem to offer that much. Sure, there were snacks always available, but there was plenty food everywhere. I will say the bartender there made exceptional drinks! We saw whales while standing on the shore in the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by teacher from Houston

GREAT all inclusive resort

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Spent 6 days at Secrets with some friends and had a very nice time. Hotel is beautiful with all of the typical all inclusive amentities. Food was very good to average and the room well kept up. The city was just a short cab ride away and there were always hotel cabs available.
2 out of 5
by Howard from East Coast

Very Disappointing!

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Spa was excellent
Cons: Food quality, beach set up, limit selling rooms for $199 to convention groups which attracted a bad crowd
Location: Bad location in dirty area... our view point on the beach was of a run down abandon building, which you will NOT see on Secrets website!
We had high expectations for Secrets Puerto Vallarta because we heard some great things about their other resorts, but it was VERY disappointing and would NOT recommend. OVERALL: An overflow of loud obnoxious guests who would get so wasted, scream, yell & curse around the pool & beach 24/7. BEACH: We were hassled non stop by vendors trying to sell us junk on the beach (hats, bad jewelry, etc). They would whistle at you and ask you every 5 minutes to buy something, even if you were taking a nap. The vendors would stand in your direct view of the ocean all day long and bother people and the hotel did nothing about it. The hotel shows comfortable chairs in their pics but the chairs were uncomfortable plastic chairs with no padding. directly next to the hotel is an abandon hotel and complete eye sore. The property around the hotel is run down and dirty. The beach waiters were not very good either, 1 of them was very rude despite our steady tips. The food on the beach is lousy too. ROOM: The room had a constant musty smell to it that would not go away. Very small balcony. The shower was nice and good bed. FOOD: The food was not very good, we have had way better at other all inclusives. Room service messed up are order everyday for breakfast and would constantly forget things. Food & coffee was most of the time cold, but delivery was always in 35 min or less. The restaurants are 3 star quality.
Comment from
Jan 13, 2014
Howard, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It is disappointing to know we did not meet your expectations and regret any inconveniences had during your visit. Rest assured we will be looking into the matters mentioned. Unfortunately there is not much we can do about the Pacific Ocean. When at our resort we cordially invite you or any of our valued guests to please contact the concierge / receptionist the instant any challenges occur. All of our guests are very important to us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Mauricio Martinez General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by amarjeet from TORONTO

Secrets

Posted Feb 20, 2014
it was nice stay at this resort.. food was great.it was first time we been to Mexico. resort shows are great. we had dinner on the beach. it was amazing. overall very happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous resort on the beach

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Exceptional service. Beds were so comfortable, I have a bad back and was worried I wouldn't sleep, but I slept like a baby!
Cons: Don't like being hassled on the beach by the locals selling things. Can't they be kept away from the resort area?
The most amazing resort I've ever stayed at. I will only be staying at Secrets from now on! We plan to go back every January! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Very comfortable and pleasant.

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: Good atmosphere, helpful and accommodating staff, variety of restaurants and lots of sport and entertainment activities.
Cons: No opinion.
Location: Very good location with a quiet portion of the see-front. Not too far from down town one one side and the marina on the other.
Only positive experience. The only issue we had was that they were very adamant to deny us Expedia Elite upgrade in spite of our observation that the hotel was not full. (This observation is not new to us: we never got an upgrade with our Expedia experience).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Benj from Portland, Oregon

Nice, clean all-inclusive resort.

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: Food, drinks, location, staff, rooms, pools.
Cons: Wifi network needs to be a single network, not half a dozen diffent networks. Internet speeds need to be much better.
Location: Short taxi (or long walk) to downtown.
My wife and I stayed 10 days and had a wonderful time. We have stayed at other all-inclusive resorts, but this is our favorite so far. Food was good both buffets and restaurants. Rooms were very nice. No wrist-bands! The wifi was poor, and that is probably our only real complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San iego, CA

Nice little Secret!

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: Very classy, no pressure, very accommodating and professional staff!
Cons: They have heard this for 2 years...Even on the eight floor we could hear the rooster crowing from 4 am until....every day. The bed was too firm for me
Location: close to the airport, 20 minutes. $6 ride to Malecon, lovely sand art, sculptures, rock art (fascinating), loads of shops and restaurants, cafes.
This hotel was recommended by a friend. It was our first experience in Puerta Vallarta. The hotel is amazing! Absolutely beautiful with a staff to match.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014