Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL, USA

Great Small Resort Amazing Staff Views and Seafood

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Room was amazing. We received a suite which is basically a beautiful 1 bedroom two bath apartment with great views. Staff was top notch. Views
Cons: Maid service would arrive a little later in the day. Sometimes after we got back to the rooms from a mornings activities.
Location: Plenty of little shops nearby. Malecon is a 25 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride. 65 pesos.
This was our first time traveling to Puerto Vallarta, I am not normally an all inclusive guy but my wife wanted to go this route because she was more into relaxing. I agreed on the condition that we go into town at least once a day. Sunset Plaza was the perfect compromise. From the moment you walked in the staff was incredible. I have traveled all over the world and have to say this was my best experience. Although not a ton of choices the food was very good and the seafood in particular was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Great quiet beachfront

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Cons: Soundproofing the adjoining door.
Great relaxing quiet location. If pounding music and pool parties are your thing don't come here. Don't have a lot to add to the other great reviews. The only negative was the noise coming through the door to the adjoining room. As we had the one bedroom suite it wasn't an issue for us, but could be on the other side of the door. Everything else was fantastic, will go back and bring our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boise, ID

Second Visit

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: I love the fact that this hotel is small - 100 rooms. Nothing is crowded and the service is amazing.
Cons: As I said above, we will be going out to eat on the nights with only a buffet as an option. I would love to see more Mexican food on the menu.
Location: If you don't want to leave the hotel, they have events/activities during the day (food demos, kayaks, yoga) as well as a spa.
We visited the Sunset Plaza two years ago and had a wonderful vacation so we decided to come back this year. The rooms all have unbelievable views of the ocean where you can see whales and dolphins. Upgrading to the suite was well worth the extra money. The staff is out of this world. Everyone was professional, helpful and extremely friendly from the managers to the maids. On our first visit, we did not purchase the all-inclusive package. In the evenings, would ride a cab into town for dinner. This time we decided to do the full package and we don't regret our decision. One of the reasons we chose to try an all-inclusive package was due to the fact, during our first visit, they never served a buffet This has changed. The buffet, at the Western-themed event, was awful. This was our only bad experience at this hotel. Overall, the food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor, Ontario

The Perfect Resort

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: It is new and modern. The location was excellent - easy to get to the malecon. You could always find available chairs near the pools.
Cons: We loved the complimentary coffee and pastries in the deli, it would be nice to cover the pastries to keep flies away.
Location: Location was excellent you could walk downtown or take a 5 minute bus or walk the other way to Walmart and the beautiful new mall.
We enjoyed this resort for two weeks. We did not take the all inclusive but still enjoyed many meals here as there are no buffets - all meals are a la carte in beautiful surroundings. The food was always excellent and nicely presented. The staff is friendly and professional. They have a few special nights such as romantic dinners near the beach and a couple of shows a week. They don't overwhelm you with shows every night and it is usually so quiet that the waves can lull you to sleep! Besides the fact that all rooms are oceanview and everything is modern and new this resort also provides a much needed service - guest laundry room. It is so nice to go back home with clean clothes in your luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Provincetown, MA

The perfect hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The service was amazing, friendly and helpful in every way. The food was excellent also with many choices. It was clean and quiet.
Cons: It might be nice to have outlets somewhere near the adult pool area so one could charge they're phones or lap tops.
Location: Very quiet location yet just minutes from downtown by way of bus or taxi. Shopping nearby as well as good walking areas.
I had an amazing stay at the Sunset Resort. The staff was great, the food amazing and the perfect location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Canada

Nice all inclusive hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The hotel was new or renovated. Beautiful rooms. We loved that there were separate pools for adults only and kids. The staff was very attentive to everything. Food was great, everything a la carte.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing!

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: They did everything right.
Wonderful staff, unique food! No buffets. Clean rooms and pools. I would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Could not be any better!

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Great location and walking distance to stores
We just got back from our stay for one week. Rooms are very nice, clean. Staff is awesome. We were on the 15th floor and had a beautiful view. All the rooms have a good view but the higher up you are the view is better and better. Food is good and the drinks flowed. They have most all premium liqours, Mexican beer, good wine. I will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Great location and well equipped suites.

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Suites are very well appointed and housekeeping is meticulous.
Cons: The kitchen needs work.
Location: Right on the beach, but grocery, salons and coffee shops nearby. Short cab ride into town.
Second visit to this property. Rooms and location are excellent. Food, however, is not. Also, I was disappointed at not being able to check out just two hours later than their checkout time of noon, having spent an entire week staying, and spending, at the resort. Unusual for a good resort to be unable to accommodate that minor request.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

A must stay while in Puerto Vallarta

Posted Jan 24, 2015
We stayed here for a week and everyday were amazed at the location, amazing views of the ocean from the infinity pool and the friendliness of the hotel staff. I would highly recommend staying here while visiting this Mexican city.