Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great Hotel in Puerto Vallarta

Posted Jun 22, 2015
We celebrated our 14th anniversary and hotel staff went above what we expected to make it memorable! Room was amazing with ocean and city views! Staff and people were very friendly and pleasant. We plan to return next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: The staff at Sunset Plaza goes above and beyond to accommodate guests' needs. Servers are very prompt and attentive. Front desk staff is friendly.
Cons: There is some noise around this hotel. Early morning and late night music/partying was somewhat annoying.
Location: Parasailing, kayaking, jet skiing on site. Short cab ride (70 pesos) to fishing, scuba, snorkel, sailing, etc.
This is a nice, smaller resort with convenient access to downtown as well as the marina/excursion area. This hotel is not a "party" resort nor overly family oriented. It is a good place for young-middle age couples who want to have a laid back time. The hotels around Sunset got fairly rowdy at times with loud music and cheering. It didn't particularly bother us, but I could see it causing a problem at times. The adults only pool is a definite plus, although finding an available cabana was sometimes challenging. The food is ok, I would give some things 3 stars and some 4, but it was enough variety for 5 nights. We did eat off the resort twice and that was a nice change. Drinks are pretty tasty but weak, but they will do whatever you request so doubles, extra shots whatever are always options. If you're looking for fine dining/cocktails this is not the place. The service is excellent, the staff is friendly. Definitely tip them, they work very hard in the hot sun all day and tips will keep your service prompt. We enjoyed some of the spa treatments- massages and scrubs. The massage area overlooking the beach/ocean is really cool. They also offer pretty good spa specials.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mo

Nice resort close to downtown

Posted May 11, 2015
Stayed 5 nts in early May. Great experience in a smaller resort. I liked that the AI restruants didn't have a buffet and we ordered from a menu. The staff were always great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Staff was exemplary.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Service, cleanliness, spa, pool areas (separate for children.)
Cons: Food
Location: Downtown Puerto Vallarta is minutes away. ATM is close by. And, hairdresser is within walking distance.
Everything about this hotel was great with the exception of the food. Very mediocre. I would not get all-inclusive again. Good enough for breakfast and lunch but falls short of the many terrific choices and experiences in Puerto Vallarta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hallsville,O

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted May 11, 2015
The hotel was big enough but small enough that you could find the people you were traveling with. The food and service was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very nice hotel

Posted May 9, 2015
Very nice hotel. We were there for a week and had a lot of fun. It is about 40 minutes walk from downtown or $7 taxi. Right on the beach. The ocean is not the greatest but it's swimmable and the sand is soft sand compared to rocks at other hotels. Food is good. Very little portions but if you are on all inclusive you can order as many plates as you want. The only complaint is there is not enough variety of restaurants. Small, quiet hotel. Rooms are nice and clean. Unfortunately they all connect to the next door room with a door and the door is not well isolated so you can hear your neighbors but it might be the same in an other hotel. I would definitely recommend. The weather was just amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel to relax

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The rooms were amazing. The staff was very friendly.
Cons: The food was not all that great. Too much pressure for the time share presentations. People hogging the cabanas all day. Not enough deep pools.
Location: The location was alright.
I had a wonderful time. It was worth getting inclusive to get the endless drinks. The food was not that good or the orange juice. The staff was super friendly but too aggressive to get you to go to a time share presentation. The rooms were big, clean and had a wonderful view of the pool. The suites were awesome as well. I think at least one pool should have been deeper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

The Sunset Plaza is in a class of its own!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: I really liked everything!
Cons: At times, Food could be a bit warmer. Everything else is perfect.
Location: Location is great, central to everything. Downtown is amazing.
The Sunset Plaza was my recent heaven on earth! It is beyond belief for cleanliness and comfort, but the service is above and beyond. The staff is happy to serve you and get you whatever you need. They watch out for you and get up from their desk to open the lobby door for you and will even go to the elevator to push your floor button in the case of carrying your coffee or cocktails in your hands! Lois our waiter was Amazing each and every meal he served us was exactly what we wanted. Our drink waiters at the pool were wonderful, and happy to get whatever you wanted. The food is great. The only problem ever was we occasionally were served the food at cool or luke warm temperature instead of hot. We mentioned this to our waiter, and he corrected it without hesitation. The adult pool is quiet and beautiful. There is always a cabana or chair available. I will return again, I loved staying here. The rooms are cleaned twice daily and at night the turndown service with chocolates on your pillow. The staff goes to the extreme 3 times per week to set up barbeques, beautiful linens, soft lights, by the ocean, on the grass etc. It is different every time! The spa is amazing with free massages by the pool during the day! I booked a massage and it was wonderful. I booked another service, and they were late by 15 minutes, so I was offered a massage for 25 minutes for free. They make sure your are happy!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas (but British)

All Inclusive

Posted Apr 18, 2015
We were a group of 8 girls just wanting to chill at the hotel and go out in the evening. All inclusive was perfect for us (no splitting checks!). The breakfast / lunches were al la carte and delish (no buffet yay !). We ate the first night in the hotel for dinner but wish we had gone out - they put on a show which probably suited the majority of guests but the meal was an outdoor buffet - I didnt enjoy it but I am a bit of a debbie downer on buffet food anyway. It was a short ride downtown (100 pesos) and there are some great restaurants. Its not the kind of walk you want to do so a taxi is the way to go. The staff were AMAZING - attentive, kind, chatty but not in your face. They certainly added to the rating above. There is also an adult pool with a number of beds and cabanas overlooking the beach - free kayaking and great deals on massages either indoor or outdoor. A few of our group had an outdoor massage and said it was one of the best they had ever had. Not too many children but they were in the pool with the swim up bar and sat at the bar too ! During the height of the season Im not sure how irritating that would be if you are traveling without children but then they do have the adults only pool where you get waiter service. Our guy Oliver was simply great. The rooms were nice - but they did come with a butler (or man friday) and you can order aromatherapy scents for your room at night from a menu - nice touch. We enjoyed it and would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great all-inclusive beach front hotel.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff with excellent service. Horacio was great at organizing events for kids.
Cons: More variety of Mexican food like burritos, different kinds of tacos instead of just fish, chimichangas, etc.
Location: Between airport and a half hour walk from downtown. The best excursion I've ever been on was the Outdoor Adventure with mules, zip lines, waterslides.
Beautiful, clean, hotel on beach with excellent, friendly service/staff. Two restaurants (one is Italian/Mediterranean) and a cafe to choose from but they do change their menu and also offer barbecues 2-3 times per week. The food is not buffet style and is higher quality from other all-inclusive resorts, but would have liked a wider variety of authentic Mexican food and fruit (mostly steak and seafood). They offer show/entertainment 1-2 times per week, so not every night like some other resorts. Free kayaking is offered for about an hour around noon, but they also have scuba lessons, jet skis for half-hour, para-sailing, and banana boat rides on the beach that you can purchase. The resort grounds and lobby was not nearly as large as some other resorts such as Melia or Velas that we visited, but still very nice.