Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great location fantastic service

Posted Oct 15, 2014
We had a terrific experience at sunset plaza on our honeymoon. Everyone there was always ready to help and were all incredibly accommodating. Great service, great food and drinks. Nice quiet atmosphere, mostly adults. The room service is great too for all inclusive packages, can't wait to come back someday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, Mn

Excellent hotel, great location!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything!
Cons: NA
Location: Location of the hotel was excellent IMO. Restaurants, shops, and massage places were all were all within a few minutes walk.
The hotel is pretty much brand new and extremely nice. The suite I stayed in was absolutely huge and luxurious. The balcony alone was probably 250 sf. The room had a kitchen, living room, hot tub (not a bath tub with jets), 2 bathrooms, and everything else I needed. The pool areas are immaculate and we spent a ton of time there. We did not do the AI, but ate at the hotel several times and I thought the food was great. I wouldn't hesitate to book the AI option in the future. The staff at the hotel paid a high attention to detail and were extremely nice and helpful. They were all glad to help with whatever you needed. There was one particular employee named Refugio who I found especially kind and helpful. He was such a nice guy and always made you feel right at home. I look forward to seeing him when I return to the Sunset Plaza in the future. The location of the hotel was excellent IMO as it was close to everything I needed. Restaurants, shops, convenient stores and massage places were all within a few minutes walk and the Malecon was just a $5 cab ride away. I've been to many resorts in Mexico and the Sunset Plaza is a great place. I would gladly recommend it to friends and family!! Thank for the great vacation Sunset Plaza!! PS- Try Mama Rita's pizza. It's great and footsteps from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake city, utah

Nice. Modern. Perfect size and quiet.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Thanks to butler Refugio. Attentive and professional. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan

Nice beachfront hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: cleanliness, friendly staff, fitness room
Cons: maybe adding entertainment certain nights
Location: close to the malikan, and many excursions to choose from!
It was a wonderful 6 day stay at the Sunset Plaza Hotel. Very nice, clean, good food, good fitness facility, nice pools. An adult pool which was very nice and cozy! Staff was awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Cons: Improve workout facility with more room to do weights and more options
Staff were very friendly, they were very accommodating especially with the food preparation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Relaxing Getaway

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Ww were treated so well fromthe moment we walked through the door until the moment we left! Highly recommend this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ada, Oklahoma

Beautiful view & excellent staff!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I came here for a medical surgery & stayed in my room most of the time. The room was very nice, clean & comfortable. I could lay on my bed & look out the big glass door & watch the ocean. You could hear the waves crashing on the shore, like having a relaxing cd playing. I loved it & would revisit here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Extremely disappointing and unaccommodating!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Some of the wait staff was really nice
Cons: The customer service
Worse customer service ever!!! We had previously stayed at this hotel and had an issue with someone trying to break into our room during the night while we were sleeping. We called down for security, but they never showed up to assist us!! The next day the manager apologized and told us if we would give them another chance and stay at this property on our next visit, he would take care of us and upgrade us to make it up to us. So we decided to give it another shot, plus this hotel advertises that it is an Expedia VIP upgrade eligible hotel. Even though the hotel was almost empty when we arrived, the management refused to give us the upgrade and argued with Expedia on the phone for more than an hour refusing to do so while we were trying to get checked in. They fought it tooth and nail!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A pleasant stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: room, hospitality...service...
Cons: Deliver free snacks in the bar in after hour drink as advertised...Improve the drinks,,
Nice ,clean and friendly staff,,Wish I could stay longer...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Great stay and an enjoyable area. The beach is very small, but if you plan a couple of excursions you have a great stay. Pool area is a great feature as well.