Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 day vacation

Posted Nov 15, 2014
We stayed there for for 5 amazing and relaxing days. Our second day there they had a turtle release!!! We stayed in one of the one bedroom suites. Gorgeous, clean room with an amazing view. The staff was very helpful and kind. Our butler, Refugio, was the best!! He was very attentive to our needs and offered many times to make our stay comfortable in any way. Nestor and Diego were extremely helpful. They helped us get cabs and find great places to eat and visit downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Living the Dream!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Everything suited me perfectly
Cons: There is some loud music coming from the resort next door, but there is nothing they can do about that and it is my only small complaint.
Location: Puerto Vallarta is a great town. I enjoyed wandering in the downtown and romantic zones.
I stayed for five nights at this resort and I can't wait to return. Everything was perfect. The resort is only four years old and it is kept immaculate. My room was amazing and huge (I had a one bedroom suite) - it would have easily suited the needs of a family. My highest praise has to be for the staff. They are all friendly and helpful and they really do go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. Housekeeping also does an amazing job - the best I've ever seen. The objective of my trip was for rest and relaxation, so I spent a great deal of time at the pool. It was an absolutely beautiful setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eugene, Oregon

The Perfect Hotel in Every Way!!

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Larger bottles of water for sale onsite.
Location: Steps from the ocean's edge!
My husband, one year-old daughter and I stayed at Sunset Plaza last week and had the best experience! From the staff to our room to the hotel pool and amenities, we could not have been happier. They truly have the most friendly and attentive staff I have ever experienced at any hotel. My highest recommendation!!! Thank you so much Sunset, Plaza and staff:) With love, Megan Michael and "Francisca"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Great location fantastic service

Posted Oct 15, 2014
We had a terrific experience at sunset plaza on our honeymoon. Everyone there was always ready to help and were all incredibly accommodating. Great service, great food and drinks. Nice quiet atmosphere, mostly adults. The room service is great too for all inclusive packages, can't wait to come back someday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, Mn

Excellent hotel, great location!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything!
Cons: NA
Location: Location of the hotel was excellent IMO. Restaurants, shops, and massage places were all were all within a few minutes walk.
The hotel is pretty much brand new and extremely nice. The suite I stayed in was absolutely huge and luxurious. The balcony alone was probably 250 sf. The room had a kitchen, living room, hot tub (not a bath tub with jets), 2 bathrooms, and everything else I needed. The pool areas are immaculate and we spent a ton of time there. We did not do the AI, but ate at the hotel several times and I thought the food was great. I wouldn't hesitate to book the AI option in the future. The staff at the hotel paid a high attention to detail and were extremely nice and helpful. They were all glad to help with whatever you needed. There was one particular employee named Refugio who I found especially kind and helpful. He was such a nice guy and always made you feel right at home. I look forward to seeing him when I return to the Sunset Plaza in the future. The location of the hotel was excellent IMO as it was close to everything I needed. Restaurants, shops, convenient stores and massage places were all within a few minutes walk and the Malecon was just a $5 cab ride away. I've been to many resorts in Mexico and the Sunset Plaza is a great place. I would gladly recommend it to friends and family!! Thank for the great vacation Sunset Plaza!! PS- Try Mama Rita's pizza. It's great and footsteps from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom salt lake city, utah

Nice. Modern. Perfect size and quiet.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Thanks to butler Refugio. Attentive and professional. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Saskatchewan

Nice beachfront hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: cleanliness, friendly staff, fitness room
Cons: maybe adding entertainment certain nights
Location: close to the malikan, and many excursions to choose from!
It was a wonderful 6 day stay at the Sunset Plaza Hotel. Very nice, clean, good food, good fitness facility, nice pools. An adult pool which was very nice and cozy! Staff was awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Cons: Improve workout facility with more room to do weights and more options
Staff were very friendly, they were very accommodating especially with the food preparation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Relaxing Getaway

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Ww were treated so well fromthe moment we walked through the door until the moment we left! Highly recommend this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ada, Oklahoma

Beautiful view & excellent staff!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I came here for a medical surgery & stayed in my room most of the time. The room was very nice, clean & comfortable. I could lay on my bed & look out the big glass door & watch the ocean. You could hear the waves crashing on the shore, like having a relaxing cd playing. I loved it & would revisit here again.