Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Madison, WI

The Sunset Plaza is in a class of its own!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: I really liked everything!
Cons: At times, Food could be a bit warmer. Everything else is perfect.
Location: Location is great, central to everything. Downtown is amazing.
The Sunset Plaza was my recent heaven on earth! It is beyond belief for cleanliness and comfort, but the service is above and beyond. The staff is happy to serve you and get you whatever you need. They watch out for you and get up from their desk to open the lobby door for you and will even go to the elevator to push your floor button in the case of carrying your coffee or cocktails in your hands! Lois our waiter was Amazing each and every meal he served us was exactly what we wanted. Our drink waiters at the pool were wonderful, and happy to get whatever you wanted. The food is great. The only problem ever was we occasionally were served the food at cool or luke warm temperature instead of hot. We mentioned this to our waiter, and he corrected it without hesitation. The adult pool is quiet and beautiful. There is always a cabana or chair available. I will return again, I loved staying here. The rooms are cleaned twice daily and at night the turndown service with chocolates on your pillow. The staff goes to the extreme 3 times per week to set up barbeques, beautiful linens, soft lights, by the ocean, on the grass etc. It is different every time! The spa is amazing with free massages by the pool during the day! I booked a massage and it was wonderful. I booked another service, and they were late by 15 minutes, so I was offered a massage for 25 minutes for free. They make sure your are happy!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas (but British)

All Inclusive

Posted Apr 18, 2015
We were a group of 8 girls just wanting to chill at the hotel and go out in the evening. All inclusive was perfect for us (no splitting checks!). The breakfast / lunches were al la carte and delish (no buffet yay !). We ate the first night in the hotel for dinner but wish we had gone out - they put on a show which probably suited the majority of guests but the meal was an outdoor buffet - I didnt enjoy it but I am a bit of a debbie downer on buffet food anyway. It was a short ride downtown (100 pesos) and there are some great restaurants. Its not the kind of walk you want to do so a taxi is the way to go. The staff were AMAZING - attentive, kind, chatty but not in your face. They certainly added to the rating above. There is also an adult pool with a number of beds and cabanas overlooking the beach - free kayaking and great deals on massages either indoor or outdoor. A few of our group had an outdoor massage and said it was one of the best they had ever had. Not too many children but they were in the pool with the swim up bar and sat at the bar too ! During the height of the season Im not sure how irritating that would be if you are traveling without children but then they do have the adults only pool where you get waiter service. Our guy Oliver was simply great. The rooms were nice - but they did come with a butler (or man friday) and you can order aromatherapy scents for your room at night from a menu - nice touch. We enjoyed it and would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great all-inclusive beach front hotel.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff with excellent service. Horacio was great at organizing events for kids.
Cons: More variety of Mexican food like burritos, different kinds of tacos instead of just fish, chimichangas, etc.
Location: Between airport and a half hour walk from downtown. The best excursion I've ever been on was the Outdoor Adventure with mules, zip lines, waterslides.
Beautiful, clean, hotel on beach with excellent, friendly service/staff. Two restaurants (one is Italian/Mediterranean) and a cafe to choose from but they do change their menu and also offer barbecues 2-3 times per week. The food is not buffet style and is higher quality from other all-inclusive resorts, but would have liked a wider variety of authentic Mexican food and fruit (mostly steak and seafood). They offer show/entertainment 1-2 times per week, so not every night like some other resorts. Free kayaking is offered for about an hour around noon, but they also have scuba lessons, jet skis for half-hour, para-sailing, and banana boat rides on the beach that you can purchase. The resort grounds and lobby was not nearly as large as some other resorts such as Melia or Velas that we visited, but still very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego ca

Great view

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Wonderful place very relaxing very nice and I will be returning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

4.5 out of 5 stay

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Staff and the hotel itself.
Cons: Maybe some music or entertainment by the pool.
Very nice hotel to stay at. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. Food was better than expected. Service was very good. Right on beach so that was nice but we mainly stayed by pool. Was on a bachelor party so the place was a little too mellow for our taste but nice. More of a couples hotel. I'd stay again, just with a girl next time. Also the beer they serve is lower than a light beer in alcohol content. So if your looking for an inclusive that will get you some buzz this won't be it. Although I'm happy my crew didn't realize this till the last day. Ha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

March 2015 - Great 5 year anniversary trip!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Staff was helpful and friendly, rooms were comfortable, hotel and grounds well maintained, relatively nice beach for the area, kid-friendly, etc.
Cons: Food was good, just not great - especially dinners. Breakfast and lunch were better. Rooms were a little sparsely furnished.
Location: Mall and grocery shopping very near by and in easy walking distance. Everything is short cab ride away - downtown easily accessible for ~$5 taxi ride
Super clean, updated resort with great staff. Family friendly with adult-only options. 10 great days at Sunset Plaza - thanks Javier and staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great rooms and views

Posted Mar 21, 2015
The suite we had on the 10th floor was one of the best overall rooms we have stayed in Mexico or Caribbean. There looked to be a recent renovation and everything worked great, from the AC to plumbing and all newer furniture and amenities. The huge patio was fantastic. The overall resort is really pretty small with limited food options - really only one during the day and a decent italian place at night. OK for a short stay, but not enough if you are there for several days or a week. I don't think we would to all-inclusive next time since the hotel is so close to town with many great eating options for dinner. The pool was nice and clean. The "adults-only" hot tub area was not really enforced, and seemed like a bad idea since it was really not advertised that way in anything we read before the trip. Beach is small but fine for this part of PV. I think this was ok, but we would not go back. Mostly just because we prefer a variety of places to try out. With the info above I would recommend to someone. The staff was great and the overall quality of experience was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Sunset Plaza has everything to spend a wonderful vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Smaller hotel, non-smoking, heated pool!

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Cons: Have a help-your-self fruit bar available all day... with chips/guacamole. Allow the kids to use one of the hot tubs!!!
We just spent 8 nights here with our two young kids, 5 & 7. The hotel is on the very south end (just a 5min drive from Old Town PV) of the hotel strip and not surrounded by monstrous resorts. I didn't realize the whole hotel is NON-SMOKING!!! which was so wonderful. I chose this hotel mostly because the pool was heated, which was SOOO wonderful! It wasn't hot, but comfortable to be in all day. Only one day when it was overcast and windy did my kids get cold. Heads up! The hot tubs are for adults only, which we didn't know and needs to be changed! I did take my kids in once. Amazing kids club and Gloria is WONDERFUL! Small enough hotel that my kids were comfortable walking around themselves. The kids club is right by the pool and full of great activities. The grounds are beautiful, open, lots of grass and palms and beautiful unobstructed ocean view. It was a very quiet hotel with mellow music playing during the day that most of the time you didn't even notice! It was wonderful. Rooms were beautiful, patios were large with beautiful views. Beds, pillows & linens (bath towels too!) were nice, clean, soft and felt new. The food was ordered off a menu. This is not my preference but went with it because the heated pool was more important!!! The food was good.The Italian rest has a dress code for men! Closed toe shoes, pants and shirt. Seems silly. They did have other options a few nights which were enjoyable. They did have great steaks, which for Mexico is incredible!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: no long lines because of the small amount of total people around
Cons: a lot of noise between rooms
Staff is very friendly and helpful. All rooms have a good view of ocean. Food and service is great. All inclusive is the way to go.