Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
It was great vacation and would visit resort again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Missed our flight and tried to extend stay one more night but the manager wouldn't give us a good deal or discount. But expedia gave us $50 credit and we stayed at another hotel. Food was ok. Better if you reserve at the restaurant. Staff was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Wonderful full ocean views from every room!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: This is a smaller hotel, relaxing and quiet with many free activities for young and old. Check with the activities director he is so nice.
Cons: Possibly a ceiling fan on the balcony
Location: A small tourists shopping area just across the street and a short block down that we walked to from the hotel. Lots of free activities at hotel.
This is a wonderful resort/hotel for all ages. We can't say enough how pleasantly surprised we were with the everything from the view, the food, the service, the cleanliness, and all the staff. The staff were absolutely the best; polite, accommodating, always smiling and happy, they knew you by name, the servers at the pools and restaurants were so great, always checking I f you want more drinks food etc. they make you feel "first class". (A few of the names we remembered that were just wonderful were the manger Gabriel, hostess Teresa, servers Elroy, Victor, Saul, Omar, the server at Lucianos and many others that we can't remember some of their names.) Our butler Reuben was fantastic! He was always available to assist with any need, even came to check on us at the beach with things to do, and went out of his way to make our stay memorable. They literally spoiled us the entire time we were there. They greeted us with champagne and cool hand towels, on a warm day after a long flight it was really appreciated. The food was great, presentation was fantastic (kudos to the chefs!) equal to many high end restaurants. You order off the menu, no buffet, so it is always fresh and hot and delicious. A must is the special coffee at Lucianos restaurant! The food at all three restaurants were very good, and of course the swim up bar also. Their are several pools, one for adults only, an infinity pool, and a kids pool, all are right near the ocean to enjoy the view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Aspen, Colorado

Amazing hotel!!!!

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: I like that every room has an oceanfront view, we had one of the deluxe suites and the deck was huge, super comfortable beds and 2 bathrooms!
Location: The hotel was right on the beach and you could hear the surf 24/7! We took a taxi ride into Old Town and walked along the board walk, awesome!
This all inclusive hotel more than exceeded our expectations!!! The room, the food and the staff were unbelievable! Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Nice 4 1/2 stars hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2015
We definitely will be back, there were some details the staff went out their way to help,great food in all restaurants,luciano was great,over all good experience, thanks to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Resort!

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Food, cleanliness, pools, staff.
Cons: Perhaps better sound insulation in the rooms.
Location: El Malecon, Vallarta Adventures trips from the marina, etc.
We had a terrific time here. I would highly recommend the all-inclusive package, it made it much easier; 3 meals a day and open bar the whole time. The staff is very helpful, there are several things to do on site, the food was great and there is direct access to the beach. Also only a short cab ride from the marina and el malecon. The rooms were well cleaned and cozy, and the in room safe made us feel more secure about our valuables. Our only complaint was that for whatever reason there was something that would cause a loud banging here and there. Not sure if it was pipes or siding or what but it was a bit annoying; not enough to be problematic however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great Hotel in Puerto Vallarta

Posted Jun 22, 2015
We celebrated our 14th anniversary and hotel staff went above what we expected to make it memorable! Room was amazing with ocean and city views! Staff and people were very friendly and pleasant. We plan to return next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: The staff at Sunset Plaza goes above and beyond to accommodate guests' needs. Servers are very prompt and attentive. Front desk staff is friendly.
Cons: There is some noise around this hotel. Early morning and late night music/partying was somewhat annoying.
Location: Parasailing, kayaking, jet skiing on site. Short cab ride (70 pesos) to fishing, scuba, snorkel, sailing, etc.
This is a nice, smaller resort with convenient access to downtown as well as the marina/excursion area. This hotel is not a "party" resort nor overly family oriented. It is a good place for young-middle age couples who want to have a laid back time. The hotels around Sunset got fairly rowdy at times with loud music and cheering. It didn't particularly bother us, but I could see it causing a problem at times. The adults only pool is a definite plus, although finding an available cabana was sometimes challenging. The food is ok, I would give some things 3 stars and some 4, but it was enough variety for 5 nights. We did eat off the resort twice and that was a nice change. Drinks are pretty tasty but weak, but they will do whatever you request so doubles, extra shots whatever are always options. If you're looking for fine dining/cocktails this is not the place. The service is excellent, the staff is friendly. Definitely tip them, they work very hard in the hot sun all day and tips will keep your service prompt. We enjoyed some of the spa treatments- massages and scrubs. The massage area overlooking the beach/ocean is really cool. They also offer pretty good spa specials.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mo

Nice resort close to downtown

Posted May 11, 2015
Stayed 5 nts in early May. Great experience in a smaller resort. I liked that the AI restruants didn't have a buffet and we ordered from a menu. The staff were always great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Staff was exemplary.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Service, cleanliness, spa, pool areas (separate for children.)
Cons: Food
Location: Downtown Puerto Vallarta is minutes away. ATM is close by. And, hairdresser is within walking distance.
Everything about this hotel was great with the exception of the food. Very mediocre. I would not get all-inclusive again. Good enough for breakfast and lunch but falls short of the many terrific choices and experiences in Puerto Vallarta.