Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ada, Oklahoma

Beautiful view & excellent staff!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I came here for a medical surgery & stayed in my room most of the time. The room was very nice, clean & comfortable. I could lay on my bed & look out the big glass door & watch the ocean. You could hear the waves crashing on the shore, like having a relaxing cd playing. I loved it & would revisit here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Extremely disappointing and unaccommodating!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Some of the wait staff was really nice
Cons: The customer service
Worse customer service ever!!! We had previously stayed at this hotel and had an issue with someone trying to break into our room during the night while we were sleeping. We called down for security, but they never showed up to assist us!! The next day the manager apologized and told us if we would give them another chance and stay at this property on our next visit, he would take care of us and upgrade us to make it up to us. So we decided to give it another shot, plus this hotel advertises that it is an Expedia VIP upgrade eligible hotel. Even though the hotel was almost empty when we arrived, the management refused to give us the upgrade and argued with Expedia on the phone for more than an hour refusing to do so while we were trying to get checked in. They fought it tooth and nail!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A pleasant stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: room, hospitality...service...
Cons: Deliver free snacks in the bar in after hour drink as advertised...Improve the drinks,,
Nice ,clean and friendly staff,,Wish I could stay longer...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Great stay and an enjoyable area. The beach is very small, but if you plan a couple of excursions you have a great stay. Pool area is a great feature as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from jonesboro, ar

Nice folks, quiet stay

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The quiet atmosphere
Cons: Explain how the all inclusive works more thoroughly but once we figured it out we were in heaven.
Location: Loved the Islas Marietas tour with boat #1. A great fun day!
Loved everything about our stay. We loved getting to know the staff and the all inclusive plan. They are some genuinely nice folks and good at what they do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Butlers and administration - excellent. Restaurant staff - needs improvement.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by randy from las vegas

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: rooms and staff
Cons: pool service and pool bar amenities
Location: marina vallarta has some great eats sticky finger wings and fajita banana are our favorite places also vickis tamales downtown is awesome
we had a great time at the sunset plaza only a few things we did not like the main 1 being the pool bar we spend the majority of our time on vacation in the pool and would have loved to have either music or tvs or something at the pool there is nothing as a matter of fact they wont even serve you while in the pool even though there are seats in the pool at the bar area bartenders only stay above on the restaurant side plus there is no shade while in the pool the 2nd would be the food we do not ever do the all inclusive and the sunset plaza is one of the reasons why only 1 sit down restaurant (which u have to wear pants and shoes) and heard it wasnt very good and not much to choose from have better options around town for us and other people we had talked to while staying there on our 9 day vacation all were agreed on having better service and either music or tvs at the pool would make this a great place to stay we are in our 40's and dont like the whole teen party seen but this was a little to quiet even for us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dennis from Brownsville, TX

Paradise on Earth!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing
Location: There was shopping nearby, fast food, Gold's Gym and small sports bars.
From the location, to the setting, ambiance, staff, food, everything was great about this hotel. I will definitely stay here again! Well done, Sunset Plaza, especially the butlers David and Juan and concierge Selene - I couldn't have asked for better service from them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sharon C from Roseville, CA

Beautiful property and great service

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were greeted with cool towels and a cold beverage upon arrival and the staff went out of their way to see to all our needs. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was very spacious and gave everyone more than enough room to keep from feeling crowded. While we enjoyed our stay tremendously, the only complaint I had was the noise from the hotel next door. It appears they cater to the younger crowd as they have a daily DJ blasting music out at the pool. The noise level is okay if out at the pool at Sunset Plaza but if indoors, it feels as if the speakers are blasting right into your room. We did complain late one night and the staff immediately called next door and the music was turned down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Manon from Raleigh, NC

Absolutely wonderful experience!

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The pool, swim up bar, restaurants, rooms, views, easy accessibility, spa experience was excellent.
Cons: Move movie selection - but not a big deal.
Location: We went into town quite a bit and took the local bus and taxis. Bus was easy to use and bus stop close to hotel. The Malecon boardwalk was very nice
I took my daughter to Sunset Plaza in Puerto Vallarta for her college graduation and birthday. We had the best vacation we've ever had. The hotel is beautiful, easy to navigate, convenient to airport and Old town (great restaurants). The views from the balcony are fabulous and sitting and sipping a cocktail while watching the sunset was special. We stayed in a suite and I highly recommend that. They are so spacious and we loved having a kitchen to heat up left overs and have a quiet morning in. I only used the jacuzzi once - but it was great. Having two showers is nice when coming back from a day out. I can't say enough about this hotel and vacation location.