Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cali

Makes u feel like a local 😀

Posted Aug 6, 2014
This hotel is located in old Vallarta, it's setting is not a modern one, but yet, it's a comfy one, all the staff there were great, this includes the housekeeping, front desk and the owner, they all were very helpful and friendly. My kids and I enjoyed our stay, we would walk out and walk or drive around to the different business that were close by, across the street of the hotel there was a little store/restaurant, there wasn't much variety but the good was good and the place is clean, this was convenient for us because we constantly went on day tours, so, we would eat right before we headed out to explore, there is also a laundry mat next door to the little store/restaurant that charges by weight, they wash, dry and fold your clothes for a small fee, this was convenient, too, it saved me the hassle of returning from vacation and having loads of laundry to do. I have no complaints about the staff or hotel, but the only inconvenience was having to search for parking on the street, there's a bar downstairs, directly next door to hotel and it was usually those patrons that would keep the street parking spaces occupied, it's seemed like that bar was open 24hrs a day...lol I met the owner of the bar, she was a Canadian woman who was very respectful, we would try to just say hi and zoom by their door, sometimes the strong odor of cigarettes irritated me and I didn't want no stinch of it on my clothes. I would def recommend this hotel, because I would def return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Do not recommend

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Not nice, have to pay extra for air conditioning no pool outdated not the best location. Bed was hard and I didn't actually stay there I ended up switching as soon as I could. I had to pay 70 pesos per night extra for air conditioning.. Should be a given. Do not recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Good for the cost

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Done
Cons: Would be nice to have a do not disturb sign for door Building construction is such that noise echoes around building especially from lo
Location: Done
Clean Little noise but it was second week of April Good location a few blocks from beach I interesting neighbour with friendly bars Made mistake of not getting room with outside window Excellent internet Lots of hot water Had a continental breakfast Building old and a little run down Basic with comfortable beds. Has an area on roof for possible meetings
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel very old

Posted Apr 17, 2014
The lady at the reception on arrival wasn't terribly efficient at finding the booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from Edmonton

Tradicional Villa Del Mar - Romantica Area

Posted Apr 10, 2014
I recently stayed at the Tradicional Villa Del Mar in March/April 2014, and was pleasantly surprised to discover a clean and reasonably priced hotel in the central romantica area of Puerta Vallarta. The staff are extremely helpful, polite and eager to please. My room was cleaned every day, and the floors throughout the facility are scrubbed each day. The rooms are very basic and the bathrooms are small, but you do have a private bathroom for a very reasonably priced stay. There are a number of Canadians and Americans that are long term stays at this hotel who return again and again, and they too are friendly and helpful showing you where to eat and where to shop etc. Available are suites with complete kitchens if you wish and there is also a rooftop area to sit at a picnic table, complete with beautiful terra cotta pots with flowering plants surrounding you! There is free wifi availalbe and the reception is best on the rooftop patio as well as in the lobby. In addition, there is free coffee in the morning on offer in the lobby area each day. I highly recommend eating a fish or shrimp taco at Marisma's just a couple of blocks away, and why not go to the Boutique Theatre also a few blocks away. Great location for walking the Malecon each morning and later in the evening to catch the wonderful sunsets! Don't forget the $1 beer (12.5 pesos) at the Cheeky Monkey or Seaside Monkey - both on the Malecon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sylvia from oregon

Friendly Mexican hotel for a mother daughter trip

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Close to local markets, beach, island park and public buses. It can be loud at night with trucks rattling by on the cobbled streets. There is also a sport's bar below which had some street noise one weekend night. Staff helpful with directions. Small bottle of water provided each day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lui from Vancouver Island

Good location

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: price was very good
Cons: elevator would be nice
Location: Convenient location close to town, Malecon, Starbucks and busses
Very quiet 2nd time staying here would recommend to others many english speaking retirees in area close to english speaking sportsbar pub close-bye places to eat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Hellbender from Ontario Canada

more than I expected

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: The balcony! Internet connection was great
Cons: I had no issues
Location: Location was perfect for night life, and restaurants
Location is excellent to get the real PV. Not much of a beach person, and love living in with the Mexican people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean-Francois from Maxville, ON

A last minute choice that turned out confortable

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Close to great restaurants, shops and Los Muertos beach, the Malecon, etc.
Cons: The bathroom are quite small and need to be upgraded and the water pressure is minimal
Location: Close to just about everything
Given my trip was a last minute decision, this hotel turned out OK as a place to go sleep. Though my initial reservation was for a room with one bed, I upgraded to a room with two bed 24 hours prior as a friend decided to accompany me. The first night though Expedia confirmed availability, there was only a single bed room (#25) that was quite small and dreary. We were able to get a room (#22) with two beds for the rest of our stay which was better, as the two beds were in two small adjoining rooms which provided for privacy. Not a luxurious place however clean and the staff very nice. If it is a place you intend on going to to sleep, shower and change then it is good for that as it is quite inexpensive and about a 15 minute walk to the beach which provides ample opportunity to encounter small restaurants that have great food at quite good prices and little shops to meander in, often not seen or experienced when you stay on the main streets on the romantic zone
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Francisco from Boston, MA

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is only ok. Good price, but the location wasn't great. You can find other places in Vallarta for a similar price and facilities with a better location.