Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago area

Superb Customer Service!!!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: We loved the location, the service provided by the staff, the food variety, the pools, all the bars!!!
Cons: Some renovations would make this Hotel a powerhouse at Puerto Vallarta
The crew of Vamar sets the GOLD STANDAR for customer service! Our stay was one to remember for ever. We loved all the views from our room! Beautiful pool, the swim-up bar its great!! Food variety for every taste. But the most amazing aspect is all the employees at Vamar!!!! I wish i could recall and name every single one of them, but I can not.... Manuel, Alexander, Emmanuel, Jorge, Enrique, Alejandro (bellperson) Raul. The location is perfect, so many shops at the marina within walking distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alex from nc

Almost perfect

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: service was great.
Cons: the tv didnt work.
it was better that what we spect, friendly staff, good food, very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by verito from las vegas

Excellent customer service

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The rooms the Marina the pool
Cons: Wi-fi in rooms
Location: Excellent nice walks around the hotel
Nice all employees had nice attitudes and very friendly answer all my questions
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gerardo from California

It was good for the price...

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Vamar was a good first experience in puerto Vallarta...not sure if we would go back...the biggest complain was the hotel reps being to pushy to the point they were begging...trying to say they weren't a time share but acting worse than time share reps...
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Price is right for late night flight.

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Landed in PVR at midnight and wanted a hotel near the airport before continuing to my final destination. 1.1 miles away and pretty nice price included free breakfast. Don't expect "fancy".
1 out of 5
by BRUCE from VANCOUVER, BC

CHECK IN AND OUT BE PREPARED TO WAIT

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: CLOSE TO BEACH, ON THE MARINA, LOTS OF BARS AND RESTAURANTS NEARBY, CLEAN, MAIDS FRIENDLY AND APOLOGETIC. BIG BALCONY, BUT YOU HAD TO SIT ON THE FLOOR
Cons: DRAPES, COFFEE MAKER IN ROOM, CHAIRS TO SIT ON
Location: ON THE MARINA
CHECK IN WAS 30 MINUTES, CHECKOUT 1.5 HOURS IN LINE!! NO COFFEE MAKER, NO CHAIRS TO SIT ON, JUST SHEER DRAPES, WHEN THE SUN IS UP YOU KNOW IT!! NO MATTER WHERE YOUR ROOM IS, YOU HAVE A VIEW, BUT YOU ARE A LONG WAY FROM THE 1 ELEVATOR
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MaryAnn from Michigan

Love the resort!

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: Convenience.
Cons: All was good.
Location: Located in front of the marina which was a little town in itself. Ocean and another pool across the road which was also their property.
Have stayed at Vamar for the past 7 or 8 years. I give it a 5 star rating. The only regret with the dates we chose this year was a negative. It was the Mexican spring break which lasts for two weeks, therefore bus loads of families had arrived. Were told 8000 guests stayed at the resort....way too many people for my vacation get a way. Will choose other dates in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth from Rockford, MI

Great staff, beautiful ground, very clean

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Great staff, nice grounds, clean resort, great for all ages.
Cons: Softer beds! The bed was the only thing I didn't care for. Was really quite hard.
Location: Loved having the Marina on one side and the ocean on the other. It is really in a great location for anything we wanted to do.
Had a wonderful experience! The staff was great! Very attentive and eager to help anytime, going out of thier way for you. All speak pretty good English which is a plus for me! The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. They have outdoor games / activities for people of all ages. My favorite was the over sized Jenga game :) People just randomly move the pegs when walking by and every now and then you hear it crash. Five awesome pools on the property. Honestly, the only thing I didn't like was the hard bed. The room was very clean though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fam travel

Some times we rate with our hearts not with Facts.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Sometimes we are rate the property based on how they treat us and what we like or din't like. I will try to review this property with a little bit of everything. I rated this property a 3 Star I wish I can give more but it wouldn't make sense. Check in was nice and easy the hotel seems nice when you are walking in, the grounds look good too. The rooms and the neighbor hotels make this property not look nice at all. The property next to it was falling apart and it look very scary. Bed are not firm at all the kitchenette is very outdated. The views are great looking at the Marina and the pool. Now for the good if you want to go to Vallarta and feel like your in Mexico this is the place to go. The Mexican family having fun the food they have in the restaurants is authentic Mexican food. We love it the service was good they try to accommodate you as much as they can. The resort is divide in two section Marina and Beach
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Ron + Marie from PG

Noisy room in great location.

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Handy to all the Marina area has to offer, but we got the noisiest room in the hotel so did not enjoy our stay at all. After putting in ear plugs to drown out the bar people and music we climbed into bed and found it full of sand and hair. too late and too tired to complain, just slept on top. Guess the maids never changed the bedding from last customers. No chairs on the balcony, one chair in the room, so no where to sit. They cut the shower curtain too low so the bathroom flooded while I had a shower. It took 25 mins to check out of a room that was prepaid because " they couldn't find a certain piece of paper". We have travelled around Mexico quite a bit and stayed in many Mexican style hotels, this year the Vamar was the worst by far. Pick another hotel and have a better experience than we did.