Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from Staten Island, NY

Close to beach, convenient

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Close to downtown, convenient
Cons: Internet access is not good, paid the $50 (US) and still had problems going on line. TV's are old style, with VERY limited programs in english.
Location: The weather was great, mixing with the locals was a nice experience, public transportation was easy and inexpensive.
The heavy push to sell (timeshare) was a big drawback...I went to PV to relax, not to buy a vacation package
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony from Chicago, IL

Great hotel in Great Location

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is an older hotel / time share. However, it appears to be in excellent shape. The room was comfortable, well appointed, clean, and extremely functional. Everything was in excellent shape. The staff was absolutely pleasant, accessible, and made our stay very pleasurable. Additionally, you cannot beat the location. Centrally located, it is convenient to shopping, dining, the airport and downtown. Cab fare to any of these locations was no more than $6.50 (USD). Better yet, take the bus for about $0.50 per person! I highly recommend staying here. In fact, I am thinking about making this an annual holiday tradition!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by WegaGal from Wisconsin

Villa Del Mar

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Since this resort is attached to the sister resort, there are a total of 3 pools, 3 restaurants, 2 large hot tubs. Close to the bus to go to town.
Cons: Not much can be improved, it is an older resort, but that makes it more Mexico!
Location: Location is great, walking distance to many things, small mall with small shops and Sorianna, bus stop to town right in front.
This was our third time staying at Villa Del Mar, this time it was a short visit, just 4 days, since we were staying at the attached sister resort, Villa Del Palmar, the following week. I must say, this is a little older than the sister resort, but it had a much larger kitchen in the deluxe studio than we ended up with in our 2 bedroom next door. Villa Del Mar is on the street side of the complex, but it is much quieter. It has the quiet pool, 2 large BBQ grills that seem to be used every day by someone, this side also has a large hot tub. There is a small grocery store in the complex, but a much larger one is about a half block walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cat from CT

lovely stay & great slide!

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
we spent one night here before our one-week timeshare started and ended up wanting to go back. Main reason: Our son LOVED the pool waterslide. but Mom & Dad liked the fish tacos & margarita specials. The staff was wonderful too: We left a library book behind in our room when we left & I assumed we'd seen the last of it. They found it & held it for us til we came back! Great service, bc lots of staff lots of places wouldn't have cared enough to do that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from Suisun City, CA

Great beach

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: beach, nice pools, good kitchen and bed was comfortable.
Cons: Lots of young folks came on weekends and it got noisy at night (all night). Limiting the number of people to a room might help keep the noise down.
Location: A benefit of being in the north hotel zone is there are fewer vendors. It's easy to hop on a bus to downtown or to the nearby walmart for shopping.
We stayed in the Del Mar which was fine. A quick walk through the rest of the resort to the nice, sandy beach. The water was perfect and very swimmable/floatable. Never had a problem finding a lounge chair to use and the palapas provided great shade. In the evening, sunsets were worth hanging around for. It was a very relaxed, friendly atmosphere in all and accommodations were very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Deborah from Bonneylake wa

Love this place

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
I've been here time and time again, great service, location, shopping mall across the street, kitchenette so buy groceries, save money, clean secure, safe, nice little deli with small groceries and breakfast, lunch etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from venice, FL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Awesome hotel s from h

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Great overall experience at the hotel but our trip as a nightmare because of EXPEDIA!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Funny from Los Angeles, Ca

Teh service and food was excellent

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Cons: the hours of the bar could be extended a little, and I will add mini bar in the rooms or room service hours extended
Location: There are a couple of very famous night clubs only a few blocks from it, if you don't want to go downtown
My partner and I celebrate our birthdates every year at this beautifull Puerto Vallarta, this hotel has plenty of entertainment and the food is excellent, the staff goes out of their way to get everything you desire from checkin to check out, they even have a hopitality suite in case your room is not ready or if your flight is much later then your check out time. If you have a chance check out the SPA and beauty salon their prices are very reasonable. We definately stay again at this hotel.