Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sioux City, Ia

This resort is dishonest and low class

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: THEIR HONESTY AND INTEGRITY
I reserved this resort and after reading some disturbing reviews I tried to cancel my reservation with in 30 minutes of making it. They refused to refund my money which indicates how desperate they are and how very low class this organization is. This indicates how they will treat any situation and how badly you will be treated at this place. Go out and read the reviews before considering this resort. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Nice Beach access.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: We liked the fact that it was a smaller accomodation.
Cons: The pool side chairs were hard to come by. More Chairs are needed.
Location: A Two block walk to the grocery store, Pizza Hut, McDonalds (Free WIFI). Banking Machine (English)
Disappointed that there was no elevator to the 4th floor in Building C . Had to carry luggage and groceries up 4 flights of stairs. The building is also on the street side and very noisy during the day and night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta Canada

Close to Beach...

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Restaraunts
Cons: Better communication when booking on line or through Expedia with tourists, and complete honesty of what you can & cannot provide.
Hotel itself ok..good restaurants, but I booked it three months prior to my arrival, and the request I specifically made for an Ocean View was denied upon arrival, stating the 'tower' on the fourth floor was the only one available.. I would have appreciated hearing that in my correspondence previously, as I'd have made alternate arrangements, the traffic noise was so loud, it kept us up most of the night..DON'T stay in the old part facing the road!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Very pleasant resort, nice beach, well kept.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Not too big, not too small. Nice layout, not high rise
Cons: If the world-wide problem of not enough sunbeds could be solved................
Location: A few decent restaurants walking distance and a quick taxi ride into town for a bars, restaurants etc.
Very helpful staff. Food in the restaurants was OK.....but there are loads of other places within a ten minute taxi ride into the town. Great family location.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Not worth the money (avoid time-share)

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Room cleanliness, staff tried (but failed many times) to be helpful, nice facilities.
Cons: If you ever stay with the Villa Group (hope you won't), avoid the "free tours" like us, it's likely a move to try to sell you time share very hard.
Location: Location is nice, close to the beaches. You'll have to take the bus to Centro to do most of the interesting stuff, so it's not ideal.
We booked a 5-day stay at the Villa del Mar (part of the Villa Group) and we paid well over premium --in part because it was part of the new year's week. The staff tried to be helpful and informative, although so informative that we were dragged to this time-share event (below). The room was always impeccable and the room service is beyond reproach. Facilities are good. As a funny note, I added a comment like "Free fruit?" more as a joke than anything else and they did delivered with a small plate of two or three slices of fruit every day. I thought that was a nice detail. Hot water was, sometimes not even warm. No matter how much we waited for the water to heat up, we were cold some times. This reminded me of when I used to stay in hostels. One day we were locked out for more than 40 minutes because the door's card reader ran out of batteries. We had to go to the front desk (which is not close, since it's located in Villa del Palmar) 3 times in order to have someone to fix it. Now the juicy bit. After checking in, we were greeted by a concierge, Africa, and ran us through the usual walk-through. She offered us a free lunch, all we had to do was to attend a tour showing us another hotel. Long story short, it turned out to be a bunch of very pushy people (Mike and Herbie were almost OK; Jim on the other hand was extremely pushy) trying to sell time-share. It made us feel uncomfortable. On the day of the check out, we saw "Africa" with another name tag. Not reassuring.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Suficiente.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Hotel con lo básico, es suficiente. Aunque el personal es ligeramente distraído.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom White Rock, BC, Canada

Close to beach but

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Time limit on use of facilities. Quiet time is 11pm. Use of pool and hot tubs is 10 pm. Took time share walk thru but was up front that we weren't buying anything but got guilt trip for them spending money for taxis, breakfast and etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aspen

I love my time there

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: Decorations in rooms to modern.
Location: Easy walk to shopping at plaza Carocol and WalMart or downtown. Great resturanfs close by.
Great location, friendly staff and quiet at night. Not a place for party animals! Miguel, Claudia, Allan,Jose and at night Patty were very efficent and made my stay fantastic. The staff at the breakfast resturant are also great. Rooms very claen and the resort was safe thanks to the security staff. Bellman very helpfull and know every thing about the town and will help with everything. I will spend more time there. Easy walk to services ans stores at Plaza Carocol across the street and 20 min walk to the Malicon. All in all a great resort
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Clean Quiet

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Clean Safe on the Ocean
Cons: Room Renovations to Start, Staff Counselling is a Big One!!!
Location: Close to Down Town, on the Ocean, Close to Groceries
Bar and restaurant staff very pushy about having outlandish tips, to the point of trying to degrade very Rude! I tip for service I get and in a buffet the service is limited! The cleaning staff is Great and I showed it with Tips! The check in staff do not like Expedia customers as they said we buy and so get the cheapest rooms. The bartender could use a lot of schooling as the drinks are very poor not only all inclusive but the ones you pay for also! Water pressure is always changing and also the temp when showering. All in all a clean place safe and close to Down Town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2014
the first night we were there our toilet overflowed. the refrigerator made a very loud noise all night. we had to go to the bathroom all the way to the lobby all day the next day because the repairman that came to fix the toilet had to remove it. when I talked to the front desk and asked for another room, they were not helpful. finally, I asked for the manager and they miraculously found another room that was not completely finished. the whole hotel was in remodeling mode. there was a lot of noise from cement mixers everywhere and hammering. the room that they moved us to had holes in the ceiling from lights that still needed to be put up. we paid for a pool or ocean view and this room did not have that. we ended up with a tiny view due to a palm in front of our balcony. there was no indication of construction going on on the expedia website when I made the reservations . it was a very disappointing stay. when they actually did move us they had to repair outlets that had wires hanging out of them. we had to wait two hours in the hallway while they removed the lock and replaced it with another because they couldn't get the door open. as I said it was a disappointing stay. we sit on the balcony a lot and expected a nice view but that is not what we got.