Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good Location

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: See old Friends
Cons: I think I told You already
Verry friendly Staff but checking in still slow and never get the Room you want until you complain and then have to Move.Waisting every bodys Vacation Time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Belle River, Ontario

Great location on the beach

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, immaculate ground keeping and landscaping.
Location: 10 minute ride into town on the Malecon (taxi - $5.00, bus - 75 pesos (approx. 50cents).
The Villa del Palmar is conveniently located in the Hotel zone -on a bus route in either direction. We enjoyed having the kitchenette has an option for breakfast and quick lunches since we did not opt for the all-inclusive. Grocery store (Soriano) is within walking distance and Sam's Club and Walmart are also only a couple of bus stops away. As stated in other reviews, beach is small but we found it accommodating. Chairs on the beach are limited and hotel is still struggling with people reserving so early in the morning and then not showing up to use their chairs until later in the day. Hotel attempted to direct staff to free up chairs that were reserved without being used, but it was minimal impact.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Modern colorful Resort

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Cute modern studios, nice and clean room. very respectful and fun staff. Beautiful beach front view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Walking distant to grocery store, new restaurants in the area, always friendly.
Cons: WiFi
Location: Great location if you are a walker.
Love it in Puerto Vallarta, great location. Have stayed at this resort for many years and will return again. Nice improvements have been made in the past year!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom winnipeg Canada

Don't allow smoking !!!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Nice grounds, resturant not so nice..my husband ordered the roast beef and turned it back it was loaded with fat and unable to cut it.
Cons: The lounge problems..guest put towels on them as early as 6 am, some have both poolside and beach saved, they sit vacant for hours.nothing is done .
Staff were great, obviously enjoy working there.the smoking on the balcony was so disgusting, there should be no smoking allowed on the premises we woke up to the smell early in the morning and during the night, couldn't leave the doors open on the balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Nice very clean
Cons: Lounge chair fairness
Was not made aware of the no cash policy. And the inability to use a lounge chair by tthe pool or the beach. People would put their towels on them to reserve them but would be gone all day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation to remember

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The resort has everything you need right there: restaurants, pool, beach, shopping.... They have an all-inclusive plan which can make things easier.
Cons: The attitude of the front desk help and communication about the activities taking place at the resort.
Location: Airport is very close. shopping nearby. Downtown and Malecon are great shopping spots. The City tour allows you to see areas outside the resort.
A much needed relaxing vacation is what we needed, and that's what we got. The resort is beautiful and clean. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, except the front desk for us. Everything you need is on the property or near by. Beware though, they say that you cannot "claim" pool chairs or beach chairs but people do. Just ask the staff or servers and they'll be happy to try to help you! You can shop while sitting on their small beach area. Vendors are always coming by. I love shopping so I didn't mind it. The vendors are nice though. If you don't want something they won't force anything on you. But if they know you are interested then of course they'll try to show you a few things to sell something. You can always negotiate the price too. We had a one bedroom suite overlooking the pool and being able to see a little of the beach area. The view is wonderful and relaxing. The room is cozy with bright colors. We had the all-inclusive plan which was great for us. We didn't have to worry about prices or paying then or later, or worry about how much we ate or drank. I know all-inclusive isn't for everyone. It would be good for someone going for the first time or just wants to relax at the resort. They have theme nights that are included in the all-inclusive plan. It was an amazing place to stay for our first visit to Puerto Vallarta.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Parksville, BC

Great location.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Beach and pools. The room was fine.
Cons: Free wifi! More lounges.
Location: Good location right on the bus route to town. Lots of restaurants a short walk towards town, and Sorianas grocery store is 5 minutes away.
The room was fine, although it's always nicer to face the beach than the mountains. It would be nice to get coffee every day and not just the first. In this day and age, you shouldn't have to pay for wifi at any hotel! I know it's always a problem, but almost all the beach lounges are taken by towels before 8am!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Check in is way too long more than 30 minutes. People crowding at the counter, the mixed up rooms different buildings then asked for or expected.having to move rooms to get the correct one. And getting my last name wrong even when asking me for a survey.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Room

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Location on the beach close to marina downtown short taxi ride.
Cons: Redo Air flow in room
Location: Lot of good restaurants nearby lot of activities on the water and in the mountains.
The room air conditioner blew all night across the sleeping area made it very uncomfortable. Resulting is catching a cold.