Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo

Beautiful hotel and fantastic beach location!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
I just returned from a 4 day stay at Villa Estancia where I went with my two young kids, husband, and mother. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely return. We especially liked the use of the neighbor resort, the Flamingo, which offered many pool activities that catered to kids and the pristine beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Formerly great hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Have been to this hotel 12 times since it opened. Was our favorite hotel in Mexico. The staff greets us by name when we arrive, including children, which always amazed us. However, last two times have gotten steadily worse. This time during our 8 day stay we were unable to get chairs at the pool on 4 days, finally learned to set the alarm for 7 am and go down to reserve or you won't get one. Hotel is over-crowded. Saw 11 people staying in one 2 bedroom unit. You just can't allow this, the hotel does not have facilities to accommodate this many guests. Went to La Casona for breakfast day 2, after being seated waited 15 minutes for someone to acknowledge our existence. Went to greeter/seater and requested a waiter to come to table, repeated this two more times over the course of another 15 minutes before we finally got a waiter, who seemed upset that we dared to complain after waiting 1/2 hour for someone to take our order. After waiting another 60 minutes for our meals to come out, cold by the way, we were presented with check for full buffet even though we ordered off menu. Cost was double what our order was. Waiter was frustrated that we didn't just pay and that we had the nerve to ask for a correct bill. Key card to our rooms failed on 3 separate occassions requiring us to go down 6 floors to lobby to have them re-magnetize the cards. We have always loved this hotel, but it's really gone down hill and I doubt we will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

It doesn't get any better!

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Location, pool, staff, restaurant, beach
Cons: Can't thnink of a thing
Location: Bucerias, beach toys, tennis, golf, swimming
The hotel is very nice - this was our 4th visit, but the staff is what keeps us coming back. You know the management is good when you see the same employees year after year! Excellent customer service and superb location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from CA

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Quiet, calm, lovely grounds.
Cons: Room service was spotty, often late (5pm) and forgetting to bring the promised safe and coffee for the coffee maker. Concierge service spotty too.
Location: Virtually nothing within walking distance, but an interesting town (Bucarias) with wonderful local restaurants a five minute taxi ride away.
Pleasant, quiet, attractive hotel with partner Hotel Flamingo next door. Excellent gym, lovely pool and hot tubs, attractive beach and beach chairs, and very nice Mexican breakfasts at adjacent Flamingo. Surprised and disappointed to find that La Estancia's only restaurant was largely indoors and had an Italian menu - this is not why we had come to Mexico! But there was a fine Mexican menu at the adjacent Flamingo which had large outdoor as well as indoor dining areas, which we enjoyed daily. Excellent taxi service and welcoming staff attitudes. Though we were a single couple, this was a wonderful hotel for families with young (and well behaved) children.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Very nice hotel just not for us...

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Beautiful. Peaceful. Good food and drink. Polite staff.
Cons: Too quiet for us. No activities for the kids. Restaurant always seemed short handed or just not managed properly (every meal took 1 1/2 - 2 hours).
Location: The only activity we did by foot was shop at Bucerias (market) about 1.25 miles away. It would probably be a good place to eat and hang.
We traveled as a family of 4 with 2 kids 914 & 8) for Spring Break and had an All-Incusive package with a 1 bedroom suite. We have been to Puerto Vallarta Many times (almost every year for Spring Break). We chose this hotel because it was the best Value when we booked. It had VERY good ratings (#1 in Nuevo) at the time. Overall, we really don't have any complaints or negatives, it just wasn't very Fun for us or the kids. Its a more High end resort and therefore quieter. Food and drinks (premium liquor incl in All-Inclusive!) were good but really there were not daytime activities. We were able to go to the neighbor hotel next door (Flamingo) which had everything we would have wanted (we would consider staying there if we return to Nuevo) including 3 restaurants (no premium liquor incl at this hotel). The room itself was Gorgeous; full beautiful (roomy, granite, SS applicance...) kitchen, HUGE master bath with jacuzzi tub and separate shower (double vanity) - Really large and beautiful! The balcony was nice, however, it was shared with the next door neighbor so we weren't able to leave our doors open when we weren't there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury and service

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Service, condition of property
Cons: I would prefer to complete fewer surveys after meals at the restaurant on site, and survey results should not be immediately reviewed by staff.
My spouse and I and 2 kids ages 8 and 11 stayed here for 9 nights. We upgraded to a one bedroom suite upon arrival and it was large and beautiful. The on-site restaurant food was consistently fantastic, and I was particularly please with the low acid fruit plate on the breakfast menu. With the all inclusive package we enjoyed complimentary access to the adjoining resort as well. Staff are all friendly and eager to please. The property is very clean and well maintained inside and out. Mixed drinks such as pina coladas are not syrupy sweet as is often the case elsewhere, and our cans of beer ordered poolside and on the beach came in their own mini ice buckets with sliced lime on the side!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

March 2015 Trip

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
This was our 3rd time here and we love it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Nice quiet resort on the beach...

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Great resort, not cheap, but I wish it had more restaurants, but I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Edgar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Beautiful hotel, but not the same service

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: It smells great! They spray Jasmine and the lobby is beautiful.
Cons: If renting VRBO rooms through Expedia is common, my reservation did not indicate. I had "regular" rooms twice before. There is a difference.
Location: Bucerias is a great little town & is a short walk or cab ride. Spa is nice, couldn't get dinner reservations, but I could pay extra for a massage.
I've stayed at VLE three times. This time, there was a huge crowd of golfers that were placed here due to issues with their original hotel and the once "personalized service resort went into feeding & housing the masses. Not expected for the price I paid or when compared to the visits before. Even though I had "all inclusive" that in years past consisted of ordering off the menu & a latte made to order in the morning, it was replaced with a breakfast buffet, an urn of mediocre coffee in the lobby, staff in the restaurant that was short on help so it was slow and disappointing. I couldn't get a dinner reservation (didn't have to make one in previous years) any time before 9:00pm. The pool staff was so short staffed and many had "training" on their name tags, I never had the same guy twice. An hour would go by before they would walk by again. My hotel room was a VRBO room, not what I had expected & not nearly as accommodating as a non VRBO room…no full length mirror, shampoo & bath shampoos & shower gel generic, no ice bucket - or chance of getting one. a cracked coffee carafe to make decaffeinated coffee that was next to cracked coffee cups. My view did NOT include a view of the ocean, it's a shared balcony, so in order to see the sunset or see the water, I had to go on my neighbors side of the balcony which of course, was not possible since they were there too. Many of the staff remembered me & shared stories. They too were struggling with accommodating everyone.