Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

March 2014

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Close to beach, old town.
Nice, small place. In early March 2014, construction was underway on the building next door and lots of noise, during the day only. This appears to be primarily a gay hotel although that does not seem to appear directly on their website. Staff was very helpful in making alternative arrangements.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brice from Seattle, WA

I'll Be Back!

Posted Apr 3, 2014
This was--I'm guessing--my 20th or so visit to PV, but my first stay at Villa Mercedes. It was great! I always stay in the Romantic Zone or old Vallarta and NOT the resort area because I want to feel like I'm visiting Mexico, not Miami, when I'm in PV. Accommodations can seem a bit rustic viewed with American eyes, but the service is authentic Latin American joy. Villa Mercedes, located in the heart of the Romantic Zone was no more than 100 steps from the beach and a dozen really good restaurants--including the one in the hotel. It's a few blocks from the diverse night life, and a block off of Olas Altos with all of it's cafes and shops. All of it very safe and very friendly. The hotel has a very intimate feel--I don't think there could be more than 25 rooms--and the staff is very friendy and helpful. Even though I'd like to see better locks for the room doors, I felt very secure there. The room was clean, comfortable, and inviting, and the bed was very comfortable--unlike their neighbor hotel across the street where beds of nails have been installed! Villa Mercedes has my hearty recommendation. I'll be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by American from Dallas, TX

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2014
All staff members extremely courteous and respectful. Bathroom size was a bit smaller than expected, but room was clean and comfortable. and close to the beach :)
2 out of 5
by M. from New York

Not warned about construction noises next door!

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Mid-December first-time visit, up the 4 flights of steps to a very nice one-bedroom (with small patio & kitchen but no views). Location is good to Playa de los Muertos & blue or green chairs. A block or two to all restaurants, farmers market, Caffe del Mar (great coffee house on Basillo Badillo with sculpture to buy). The next morning the terrible construction noise began at 8am (Mon-Sat) and ended at 6pm. Not happy. Pool area was not usable because of construction dust & paint. Bought our own tissues, paper towels to clean extra dust. Two of us in the room had to share only one door key (ugh). We moved the microwave on top of the stove because that's the only usable 3-hole plug. When the new owners finish the place, I suspect it will be a very enjoyable small hotel. The construction is not their fault but neither Expedia nor the hotel warned us - and we had been in direct email contact with the hotel before we arrived. Not acceptable. Ask about construction before booking any hotel in the Romantica Zona. This area, however, is still the best combination of vacation and living in a local home-town. Nice people everywhere you go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robyn from San Francisco, CA

this is a cute little place...

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: close to the beach, super friendly staff, big windows, and nice clean pool and each room had at the very least a little mini-kitchen w/fridge.
Location: one block to the beach, close to blue chairs and some fun nightclubs. we even discovered a brewpub! try "nu" for late nite dining, right on the corner
we loved it! nice, bright rooms with good A/C and only steps away from the beach. this part of town is fun with a lot of good bars and restaurants, some cool shopping and lots of friendly faces.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Henry from Toronto, ON, Canada

Villa Mercedes Has More Than Just a Great Location

Posted Feb 16, 2013
Pros: Great location, comfortable room/bed and pretty quiet.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Close to the beach, restaurants and shops.
We booked the Villa Mercedes online for our first trip to Mexico strictly based on its proximity to the beach, not really expecting much else since it was so reasonably priced. The location was indeed terrific but we were pleasantly surprised at the comfort and the amenities at Villa Mercedes as well. The room was clean, nicely decorated, had a comfortable kingsize bed and suited our purposes perfectly. The bathroom was fine and we the small kitchenette with mini-fridge very convenient. Manuel & Betsy at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly. The pool although quite small and unheated was a great place to take a cool dip in after a long hot day. The wireless worked well but only in the front and near the pool, which actually is much better than having easy access from your room, as after all this is a vacation. We'd stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert

Ok for the price

Posted Feb 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The junior suite has a strange layout and a few things were wrong about it: some missing light bulbs, a broken coffee table, very old fixtures. Moved to a studio room (smaller) after one night was much more satisfied. Wifi doesn't work in the rooms. Everything else was as advertised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Seattle

Clean and Simple

Posted Jan 20, 2013
Clean and simple room. The staff were very friendly and always helped us with our words in Spanish, gave recommendations of where to go. I liked that it was off the main strip of hotels: It was quieter. Easy, short walk to beach and all the restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by PV regular from United States

Definitely worth it--but I got a half-price deal.

Posted Dec 17, 2012
Pros: Location, price (expedia half-price deal)
Cons: No safe in room. Door locks were push button type, not deadbolt.
Location: Great location, close to the beach.
I don't spend much time in the room, so I don't focus on this so much. WiFi was weak. No phone in room. Water pressure and temperature were average (weak, sorta warm) for smaller hotels. AC in my room didn't work, but I didn't ask to change as the ceiling fan is great and perfect for me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roberto

Classica Mexicana

Posted Dec 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
If there is a phrase to best describe this Villa it is "classic Mexican". The really good stuff about this small hotel is the management is attentive and on top of day to day operations. The room was very clean, they give you a large 5 gallon jug of aqua purificada (very nice). The one air conditioner in the suite worked very well and kept the bedroom cool. Location is very central in the Romantic Zone of PV. Thus, many good restaurants and bars are an easy walk. The down side is present as well. Upon entering the room, the proprietor informed us that the other air conditioner did not work, so the living room & kitchen were not conditioned. Wi-Fi did exist but was not powerful enough to penetrate the dense walls implying that we had to do our surfing in the very pleasant pool area. We visited right after Thanksgiving so the crowds were minimized. Yet, the street noise was very perceptible. The refrigerator supplied kept things at a tepid coolness, definitely not cold. All the above small things add up to the general rule of thumb for cheaper Mexican hotels. "We have all these things in our room, but they may not work". Unfortunately, the rates were not that much less...