Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Uk,London

The best holiday

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Just came back from Punta Cana(Bavaro Barcelo Beach-Adult only).I had the best holiday ever and that start with Expedia beeing on time at airport.There is aswell a guy from agency that explain everything about hotel and excursions. Thanks Expedia for making everything so easy and unforgettable. Going back on March.-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brasil

Custo beneficio

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Este foi meu 3 resort em punta cana. Se voce levar em relação custo beneficio e uma boa escolha. O quarto é padrao "quarto hotel de praia". O room service nao e incluso no all inclusive ( a maioria é). Oq me deixou bastante irritado com o servico prestado foi em primeiro lugar, reservei e paguei por escolher o quarto "sun deck" no terreo e me colocaram no segundo andar em um quarto mais barato na diaria. E o pior foi o servico nos restaurantes buffet. Em TODOS, precisava pedir varias vezes as bebidas, pois ou nao me atendiam ou simplesmente demorava ate o ponto de pedir novamente.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2014
The hotel was very nice and the food was ok in terms of the general buffet restaurant. The other hotels were difficult to reserve and the rooms were clean and nice for the most part. The beach was very nice and they made it a point every morning to clean the beach and seaweed that accumulated on the shore. The food was OK and since I did not get a chance to make a reservation at the other two restaurants I am not sure that all the food was as mediocre. Anyhow, overall I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Midwest

Great Resort

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: See Above
Cons: Better music at the Disco ( played rap videos)
We have been here many times. The beach is wonderful, the food good, (lots of restaurant choices as well as buffet), live music (bands and a piano bar).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Like it !!! Cant believe there is so nice place on the planet ... People very nice and kind ,resort -beautiful ,I would go again !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Overall Hotel, Room was OK

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Santa Fe resturant was great. The Palace pool was awesome.
Cons: Updated bathrooms
Location: N/A
Had a oceanfront supeior room, when we got there hotel was over booked and we didnt get the correct bed. Bathroom shower is very small, sliding doors to go onto our balcony would barely open. Wasnt exactly ocean front we had a view of the pool then the ocean. Buffet at the adult only section was OK, nothing to write home about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NV

overall nice resort

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Pool, STAFF, overall upgraded/modern look of the facility, the beach is part of the resort and steps away from the rooms.
Cons: THE FOOD. Seafood was fishy and old tasting. Chez Gourmet was pretty good probably because it was gourmet week and all the food is featured there.
Location: Our expedia representative (Andy ROCKS!) gave us plenty of excursion options and tips that seemed exciting. Plenty of included activities at the hotel
We went for our honeymoon 11/15-11/22 and had a wonderful time! The amenities were very nice! We stayed on the adults only side but had access to the entire Palace Delux side. The pool was awesome and depending on what time of the day it was, not too hard to find 2 pool chairs to lounge on. Every bar we went to had an amazingly nice bartender. Intact, all of the staff was nice! From concierge to the janitorial staff and handy men. Always greeted you with a smile and "Hola!" (It was weird to come back to the states and not say "hola" to every passer by because we got so used to it). The beach was wonderful and just steps away from our room. We stayed at building 1 which is nearest the pool and the rest of the resort. I read on Tripadvisor that building 1 had mixed reviews because it was also closer to the entertainment at night (go to the circus show!). I didn't call ahead to request a building, so we were put there. And really, it was super convenient being that close to everything because I can't tell you how many times we forgot something or wanted to change real quick and had to head back to the room. Plus it wasn't loud at all because we were on the garden facing side. We hardly used the train (other than the times wearing high heels) and the resort really wasn't so large that you couldn't walk everywhere you wanted. Besides, you could burn off all that mediocre resort food (only down side). Overall a very nice hotel that was perfect for our honeymoon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Large resort

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Pools
Cons: Give free wifi
Location: Didn't go anywhere outside of the resort
Check in is brutal. Front desk staff are friendly but seem overwhelmed. Rooms are very nice. Breakfast is not real good, no decaf coffee at all, just instant coffee!!! Lunch buffets are good and the evening restaurants that need reservations are excellent. Drinks are plentiful and bartenders are not cheap with the booze when pouring. No free wifi anywhere which is terrible nowadays. $13 per day or $40 for a whole week. Pools are real nice, naturally. Overall a great resort, not excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom phx,az

It was okay

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Definetly not for the 20-30 yr old crowd...more for like retired old folks, alot of hidden fees and fine print when you actually get there, property was beautiful though, my ocean view room was pretty exaggerated....rooms were like typical hotel rooms nothing special...free mini bar in room..which is some peanuts chips and cheap beer and coke...andy at guest services was awesome though! Very helpful and personable !
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Concord, MA

The Resort is beautiful but I would never return

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The Resort itself was beautiful and well-maintained
Cons: Housekeeping needs a checklist or something, maintenance needs to follow up on their requests, the food was terrible and the drinks were inconsistent
Location: The beach and pool were so nice I did not leave the resort. You could book a Hobie Cat for the next day and you could rent a kayak that day.
The resort itself is very pretty and well-maintained; however, there is not much else good about it. The food at the buffets was almost un-edible. The A La Carte restaurants were not much better. I would recommend La Fuente and to pay an extra $15 more to go to Kyoto. The Smokehouse was okay too. They only have one red wine that comes all inclusive and it is terrible. Other mixed drinks were okay but were made different at each bar. There was no consistency. I had to call housekeeping everyday as they would take clean towels and not replace them. They would not replace what was in the mini-bar. I had maintenance come 3 times during my trip. 2 times for the tub and shower which were sort of fixed. Not for the long term. I had also lost several English speaking channels that someone came to fix and it never got fixed. I do want to mention Jose at the Mamey Bar was excellent. I also had an amazing massage with Maria at the U Spa which was a very nice facility. The gym was okay but could use a good cleaning. I would recommend having a sit down breakfast at the Golf restaurant to avoid the breakfast buffet. Lunch at Strikers is safer than the large buffets. Also, to leave Punta Cana is not a fun experience. You have to leave your hotel 3 hours before your flight because the lines are so long at the airport. There is no A/C there either. Overall, I am glad I went to Punta Cana but I would not return.