Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, On

Expectations exceeded

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Condition of resort, staff service, food quality.
Cons: N/A
I was very impressed with both the state of the resort, staffing, and the quality of restaurants. I actually do not have one negative comment about our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Love their staff

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We had a great vacation time. The best about this hotel is the staff. They make you feel royalty every single moment. However, food is not their strength. Not even the restaurants with specialties. Go better for the buffet on site. But, you won't care since the beach is amazing, drinks unlimited and fun activities all day long. We even won a romantic dinner at the beach at one of their activities. We will definitely came back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh,pa

Time Alone with each other

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: How everthing was at your fingertips
Cons: An English speaking rep.at front desk or guest services.For you the inpatient
Location: Never left resort.Shows(2) each night,golf course, horses,beach,pools.And great places to eat.Track around soccer field and plenty of areas to run.
Had a great time place was great.Enjoyed every minute.Pool,beach,shows,food were wonderful.Staff helpful and yes at times were hard to understand.But I'm a coach and my kids(high school) I don't always understand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

My stay at the hotel Barcelo..

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Very helpful and friendly staff The hotel was very clean. Security on the grounds. Beautiful place.
Cons: I think that in the food sections, there were flies- not a lot, but I think that flies should not be around food since they carry germs.
Location: We went snorkeling, horse back riding and we took the PT mini cruise- had a wonderful time on all trips.
We stayed at the adult section and the staff was very friendly and they kept the Hotel very clean. The food was pretty good. We made reservation for every night to eat at different restaurant. Of cause this didn't cost us any money since it was all inclusive. The restaurants food was excellent. I would definitely recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it! Definitely coming back!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
The resort was awesome. Beautiful clear water, white sand. The hotel has thought of everything for you, really. Beach volleyball, beach soccer, water aerobics, outdoor pool and ping pong tables, live shows every night, kayaking, snorkeling, karaoke on the beach, night club, spa, sports bar and movie theater. The staff are super friendly. At the reception, guest service, spa, sports center and stores - the staff speaks good English. A little Spanish is necessary at the a la carte restaurants if you have any special requests for your food. The resort is huge and has a cute train that can take you between the Palace Delux and the Adults Only sections. Very convenient when heading to the disco in heels. The staff cleans the beach multiple times a day. Therefore, abundance if seaweed is not an issue. There are 7 restaurants to chose from for dinner. Only one downside to the whole resort: cannot say that the food was great (which we were actually very happy about). Coming from New York, we are pretty spoiled with our food. So we might have been overly critical. I found the different rice dishes at La Brisa delicious. Save room for desserts at Chez Gourmet. The rum/orange crepe was stellar! Overall, a fantastic experience. Definitely staying here if we were to return to DR.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Not all it's cracked up to be. Not returning

Posted Jul 15, 2014
I'm going to give you the hard and truthful facts from our experience. We went on our honey moon July 9-14. So I'll get right to it: Pros: food looks great. They present the food and decor nicely. Grounds were pretty well kept, beach water was great- a little seaweed but they clean it off the beach each day around noon, the pool was really nice and spacious, the ac in our room worked great as well, we did have an issue with the TV the first night but they sent someone right away to fix it. Cons: food was not what you thought it was going to be by looking at it, it either tasted gross or had no flavor, the buffets consistently had the same items ( I can understand that for breakfast, but not lunch & we got bored eating buffet for both breakfast and lunch because that's all there was), people don't really speak English well so brush up on your Spanish (luckily I speak a little Spanish which helped but I couldn't always understand them and they would get annoyed and frustrated at that), the adult resort was a total bore (nothing to do at night, you have to go to the other resort for restaurants and entertainment but there are TONS of kids running around. I didn't mind but some nights I wanted to enjoy adults without cranky and overly tired kids), the airport is total chaos. We arrived almost an hour late for our 4 hour window before our flight. We got to the airport 3 hours ahead of time and still had to run to our gate to catch our flight out of PUJ - Punta Cana airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Cancun Should Be Wary!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Beach / Pool / Service / Location
Cons: Add a swim up bar if possible
Location: About 15 minute ride to the airport, book a shuttle service. Beach activities available for a fee (boating, etc) flea market 1/4 mle on the beach.
We have been to many all inclusive resorts. Like most of you, we read the reviews and take them into consideration before booking. We had read that the food is bad, the service is terrible, etc., etc., etc., Let me tell you. The adult side is AWESOME! The beach is one of the best beaches that we have ever been too. A little seaweed on the shore (the rake it up daily), not a big deal. The grounds are immaculate. The pool is gigantic and has tons of loungers. We didnt make it out to the pool unitl 9 ish and even then the chairs were plentiful and easy to get. Bar service (Jamey) and the pool is perfect. The rooms are good, tile floor, big bathroom. We had a ground floor unit, building #5 and had a courtyard view which was nice. You can walk on the beach 250 yards to the right and go to the sister property and eat there, swim, drink etc. Walk 300 yards to the left on the beach and there are flea market type vendors you can go shopping at. Service in the restaurants was very good. Room cleaning was good. If you need something, just ask, they are very friendly and will help. The shows are too real good, but hey, its entertainment and helps pass the time. It is a quite, relaxing, resort. If you are looking for a party life place, go over to the sister property where there is more night life. I would return there to that resort without hesistation. Cancun should take note that the Punta Cana area will soon take some of their business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great outing in the Dominican Republic

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Great experience in a place I have never been before. Really enjoyed the all inclusuve concept. Food was great, a lot of variety. The room was to my liking as well. Very clean every day after maid service. The shows were very interesting. Michael Jackson was the best. Beaches were clean and very well maintained. Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property with close to the beach.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and very accommodating.
Cons: There were some hotel rooms that do need to be updated especially the bathrooms.
We went with a group of 6 couples for a celebration weekend. The rooms were neat and clean, however, some of the rooms do need to be updated. The property is fabulous with easy access to the pools and the beach and a very open air feel for the Caribbean. We enjoyed both the buffets, but the restaurants were top notch - even though we very late reservations. It was an easy walk or trolley ride to the adjoining hotel Barcelo Bavaro Palace - which had more pools, golf, casino and other activities (something for everyone in our group). It was a very relaxing and enjoyable trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami , Florida

July 4 birthday celebration

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Is been wonderful every time we go back to visit Punta Cana and stay in Barcelo Bavaro Beach this is our third year and still looking forward to our fourth year coming.