Ratings based on 637 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bayamón, Puerto Rico.

My great vacations

Posted May 17, 2015
I stayed for 6 nights and I liked a lot the hotel facilities, the staff at the front desk were so friendly as well as The maintenance and restaurants staff. The room was clean and comfortable and the beach clean and there is a lifesaver on duty during day time. They have 6 restaurants, but I liked better the Palmasol buffet restaurant, the food is ok and the waiters were amazing they were very friendly and so serviceable that surprised me especially Miss Cenny and Mr. Carlos Obispo. Overall I really enjoyed my stay at Barceló Dominican Beach Hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lower class of hotels

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Japanese, Italian and Spanish restaurants were VERY good with large portions. Nice large, clean pools.
Cons: Change up the snack bars. Pizza was never open. Got very tired of hamburgers & weird pink hot dogs. Activities NEVER happened as listed on the board!
Location: Do the dune buggy excursion. It is amazing and you get to swim in a cave. Decently priced 4+ hours for $55USD.
We stayed at Barcelo Dominican Beach for 6 nights. It was an okay hotel. It wasn't necessarily bad, just nothing special at all. Beware, do NOT come on the weekends. We stayed Weds-Tuesday. During the week it was nice and relaxing, and on the weekend it was like they bussed in all the locals for day passes. The pools were packed with rowdy kids. I've never seen so many 6-10 year old kids "twerk" in my life and it was a little disturbing. Late afternoon the public bathrooms were completely filled with young girls with their makeup and clothes scattered all over the counter tops getting ready for the night. This is how we figured out they must just come for the day on the weekends. I would not come on the weekend again. We stayed in building 7, which was a renovated room. I am scared to see what the un-renovated rooms look like. However the cleaning staff was very good and always leaving us with a clean room, clean towels and a stocked fridge of water and pop. The drinks were good, however you have to know what you want as they do not have any mixed drink menus. The staff was very friendly, except they barely spoke english. If we did not have our spanish speaking friend with us, we would be lost. This is a resort definitely aimed at more south americans rather than Americans as all of the shows, etc were not in english either. All of the restaurants were very good except for Brazilian I would not recommend. Buffet was ok but repetitive. Snack bars were terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pennsylvania

Awesome place to visit

Posted May 12, 2015
Loved the staff ,food was great!!!' Entertainment was amazing ... It's relaxing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom west bloomfield MI

Terrible beds and pillows and shower tub .

Posted May 6, 2015
So we were very surprised the rooms were very old furniture very old beds and very bad condition over all and we stayed in a mid grade room , beach was nice and wether and the staff that's it . as for resort not worth the money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Barcelo Dominican Beach

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: I liked the staff's hospitality and the effort they put into getting to know us. I liked the effort that the hotel put into providing a great time for
Cons: I'd definitely wouldn't mind a wifi spot to be able to contact the people that one meets through-out the day/night.
Overall it was excellent! Next time we go back to D.R, we're definitely staying over in Barcelo Dominican Beach again. There were lots of activities to do during the day, great entertainment during the night, and overall the staff and the food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Food was amazing, beach was beautiful, Pools were great, the place to go if you want to relax. Only issue we had was there is a lot of waiting time inbetween activities especially in the evening. But besides that great place!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

Nice beach but nothing else

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Service was horrible. Did not get room I paid for. Bed uncomfortable. Jacuzzi broke and took 3 days to fix it. Very little water pressure in shower. Buffet tasted the same everyday regardless of theme. Maid services were minimal. Expected a lot more for price and upgrades.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Nice people the work there . Food very good .

Posted Apr 8, 2015
I have a nice time there, whit my family ,I love the atencion. People who work there is always happy . Wifi is no good is to expensive. Is very clean , we love the music every night , the show is very nice .kids friendly. I love the place .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Beautiful location great staff. Beautiful beach

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Our first rooms in block 98 were uninhabitable ! By second day we were moved to block 7 where the rooms were at least respectable ! Resort grounds are beautiful food at the buffet and specialty restaurants was overall good . Service in every department including restaurants and sports bar and security was excellent ! Coffee shop amaxing touch . This resort was very ethnic if you are comfortable staying in a more North American environment go to another resort . If the rooms were upgraded even slightly ( ie a real minibar small flat screen tv, nicer bath towels ) than I believe ratings would be better . These are small things renovate the rooms everything else was perfect !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Ideal Budget Resort

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: The night entertainment is fantastic. Beyond fantastic. The beach is beautiful, as is the Honeymoon Dinner on the beach (expect to pay for this)
Cons: In my specific room, the room above flooded their bathtub and leaked through the ceiling into our bathroom. That would be the major complaint.
Location: Within walking distance of numerous shops/malls/nightlife/car rentals.
For a budget resort (All Inclusive) on the beach, its hard to beat Barcelo. The beach is genuinely beautiful, night and day. The food is not luxury food so if you are going to be picky, this is not the place for you. The food will not get you sick, but it will not be the best tasting food you have ever had. The local people are very trusting, almost in a creepy sense, in regards to buying things from them. They will usually let you take the merchandise and bring them the money later. The hotel does let local people sell items in the actual resort on the Sunday (not sure what other days) and they can be a bit overbearing to your generic "Middle Class Family". If you have never experienced the culture of the Caribbean or Latin America, it may come across as very rude and aggressive to you, but they mean well and are trying to make a living just like anyone else. The hotel staff seem very responsive, but I was lucky to be traveling with someone who spoke fluent Spanish. If you only speak English, you might have a little difficulty in regards to getting things done (unless you are an experienced traveler and don't take no for an answer). If you are planning to purchase form vendors, keep in mind, the airports sell similar products at much lower prices, unless you are capable of dropping the vendors prices very low. If you don't speak Spanish, expect to pay more. That's just how it works.