Ratings based on 362 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice resort at a reasonable price.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The service and the food.
Cons: Upgrades the furniture.
Location: The bus stop is close by the entrance and it will take you to nearby restaurants and stores.
I just got back from Punta Cana and I am very happy with my stay at Barcelo Dominican Beach. I don't normally write reviews but I wanted to express my satisfaction with this resort. The staff was always friendly and helpful. I am a picky eater and I thought the food was delicious, unlike other resorts I have stayed at in Punta Cana, this resort serves authentic Dominican food. I've stayed at another resort where they have Dominicans cooking European food and it comes out really gross and it makes you sick to your stomach. I felt that everything was close by and there was no need to walk far to get a bite to eat or go to the beach. I read a lot of negative reviews about this resort and I was expecting the worst but that was not the case. I highly recommend this resort if you want to be comfortable and not break the bank.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by BarceloDominicanBeach, Hotel Management
Dear Client, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are honored you chose to stay with us and really appreciate all of the kind words you have for our resort and staff. I know that our staff members genuinely want our guests to have a fantastic time while visiting. Your praise is much appreciated. We certainly look forward to seeing you again and thank you again for taking the time to write your review. Cordially, Radhames Martinez General Manager Barceló Dominican Beach
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Room always felt sticky and was wet and the air conditioning never stopped going off. Hotel staff was wonderful and food was good. Everything but the room was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by BarceloDominicanBeach, Hotel Management
Dear Client, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We thank you for you wonderful remark toward our staff service, though I am sorry to read that the room was less than ideal during your time with us. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to make a future stay with us exceptional. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. Cordially, Radhames Martinez General Manager Barceló Dominican Beach
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Try not to go during the weekend

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location - beach
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Parasailing, snorkeling, massage
The room was dirty with leaks, bad shape. Got another room -- much better! The best part is the beach, since the hotel is literally on the beach. Food is so-so. The place had a nice vibe until the locals from Santo Domingo came in for the weekend. A zoo. Hotel staff is generally professional and speak many languages, but some will try to flirt and make inappropriate comments. I went alone and felt safe at all times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by BarceloDominicanBeach, Hotel Management
Dear Client, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We would like to inform you that it is hotel policy to sell day passes to locals, as well as foreigners, who wish to enjoy our facilities for a day. It is important to outline that this is a regular procedure in most of the all-inclusive resorts in the world. We can assure you that this does not affect the services that we offer to the guests staying for a longer period. We will be revising your comments with our management staff for necessary measures to be implemented, in particular your comments toward the behavior of some of our staff members in order to avoid our customers from perceiving misleading attitudes from our personnel. I hope you will consider staying with us again so we have the opportunity to make your next visit exceptional. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. Cordially, Radhames Martinez General Manager Barceló Dominican Beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

NO glitz and glamour. Just relaxing

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: location and staff
Cons: It is an older facility.
Location: Everything you need is a walk away
Always have a great time here. Had some friends join us this time . They had a blast as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by BarceloDominicanBeach, Hotel Management
Dear Client, Thank you for the positive review it is great to read that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed the Resort, we are confident that you will be delighted with the attentions our staff will provide you next time you visit us. Thank you again for your kind comments and we are looking forward to host you in our property again. Cordially, Radhamés Martínez General Manager Barceló Dominican Beach
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good if you are on a budget

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: The food
Nothing to really brag about the resort, if you are looking for a beautiful beach and place to crash on a budget than this is it. It's not fancy and the food is okay. The staff is very good and they go out of their way to make you happy. Our room was changed 4 times within 2 hours of checking into the resort. The staff was very helpful in making us comfortable. I would recommend this place if you are on a budget.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by BarceloDominicanBeach, Hotel Management
Dear Client, We thank you for your kind comments toward our friendly staff, furthermore we would like to express our gratitude for sharing with us that besides any particular situation you may had with the rooms, you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We assure we will be looking into your comments in order to provide our clients with a wonderful stay. Thank you again for your kind remarks and we hope to have the occasion of receiving you in our property in the near future. Cordially, Radhamés Martínez General Manager Barceló Dominican Beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the hotel,views,beach , staff,and activities

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The hotel was great.. I loved the palm trees and beautiful walk ways. The staff was great! So polite and friendly. An inclusive vacation worth taking. Activities everyday , buffet and restaurants free! And alcohol free as well. It's was great. Will be going back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by BarceloDominicanBeach, Hotel Management
Dear Client, Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our Team to be friendly during your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cordially, Radhamés Martinez General Manager Barceló Dominican Beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Get Away!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Right on the beach! service was friendly! Just need to speak a little more English. Food selection was WOW!
Cons: Room upgrades- flat screen TV, microwave, wash cloths, drinks are too sweat!!! Casino did not open, security to stop those nagging beach hustlers.
Awesome time! Beach party was the bomb! Wish I could have stayed longer, but money ran low and I didn't want to use the ATM because it would have given me peso's not US $. But overall I would come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by BarceloDominicanBeach, Hotel Management
Dear Client, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay as our valued guest here at the Dominican Beach. We pride ourselves on delivering our guests an enjoyable stay and providing a great value. We look forward to having you as our guests again in the near future. Cordially, Radhamés Martinez General Manager Barceló Dominican Beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Westminster, MD

Tropical resort close to the breathtaking beach

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: I loved the tropical design and atmosphere of the resort, and the beach front location is perfect.
Cons: Get rid of the peacocks and dinner reservations. Clean the beach DAILY and get the trash inside the pool islands.
Location: All excursions pick up/drop off at the hotel. We went to Monkey Land, Saona Island and Horseback Riding, plus a vacation presentation at Hard Rock!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by BarceloDominicanBeach, Hotel Management
Dear Client, Thank you for the positive review it is great to read that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed the Resort, we are confident that you will be delighted with the attentions our staff will provide you next time you visit us. Thank you again for your kind comments and we are looking forward to host you in our property again. Cordially, Radhamés Martínez General Manager Barceló Dominican Beach
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Great facilities, beach, and entertainment!! The rooms need upgrades ( old tv, cracked tiles) but hardly spend time in the room. Great friendly staff and the food was great!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by BarceloDominicanBeach, Hotel Management
Write your comment.Dear Client, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team works tirelessly to ensure you feel valued and appreciated. We are delighted you found pleasure in the service and our Restaurants. We have also taken note of your comments toward our rooms, which we will be revising with our management team. We appreciate all your feedback and on behalf of our team we look forward to welcoming you back. Cordially, Radhamés Martinez General Manager Barceló Dominican Beach
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Jacuzzi had hair all over the place a the water stunk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by BarceloDominicanBeach, Hotel Management
Dear Client, Thank you for sharing your impressions of our hotel. We do apologize if you found any area of our property to be not at its best. Please know that your comments are being reviewed by our management team as well as our associates so that we can address any matters you have expressed here. We hope to see you again to fully impress you. Cordially, Radhamés Martinez General Manager Barceló Dominican Beach