Ratings based on 570 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

Nice beach but nothing else

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Service was horrible. Did not get room I paid for. Bed uncomfortable. Jacuzzi broke and took 3 days to fix it. Very little water pressure in shower. Buffet tasted the same everyday regardless of theme. Maid services were minimal. Expected a lot more for price and upgrades.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Nice people the work there . Food very good .

Posted Apr 8, 2015
I have a nice time there, whit my family ,I love the atencion. People who work there is always happy . Wifi is no good is to expensive. Is very clean , we love the music every night , the show is very nice .kids friendly. I love the place .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Beautiful location great staff. Beautiful beach

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Our first rooms in block 98 were uninhabitable ! By second day we were moved to block 7 where the rooms were at least respectable ! Resort grounds are beautiful food at the buffet and specialty restaurants was overall good . Service in every department including restaurants and sports bar and security was excellent ! Coffee shop amaxing touch . This resort was very ethnic if you are comfortable staying in a more North American environment go to another resort . If the rooms were upgraded even slightly ( ie a real minibar small flat screen tv, nicer bath towels ) than I believe ratings would be better . These are small things renovate the rooms everything else was perfect !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Ideal Budget Resort

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: The night entertainment is fantastic. Beyond fantastic. The beach is beautiful, as is the Honeymoon Dinner on the beach (expect to pay for this)
Cons: In my specific room, the room above flooded their bathtub and leaked through the ceiling into our bathroom. That would be the major complaint.
Location: Within walking distance of numerous shops/malls/nightlife/car rentals.
For a budget resort (All Inclusive) on the beach, its hard to beat Barcelo. The beach is genuinely beautiful, night and day. The food is not luxury food so if you are going to be picky, this is not the place for you. The food will not get you sick, but it will not be the best tasting food you have ever had. The local people are very trusting, almost in a creepy sense, in regards to buying things from them. They will usually let you take the merchandise and bring them the money later. The hotel does let local people sell items in the actual resort on the Sunday (not sure what other days) and they can be a bit overbearing to your generic "Middle Class Family". If you have never experienced the culture of the Caribbean or Latin America, it may come across as very rude and aggressive to you, but they mean well and are trying to make a living just like anyone else. The hotel staff seem very responsive, but I was lucky to be traveling with someone who spoke fluent Spanish. If you only speak English, you might have a little difficulty in regards to getting things done (unless you are an experienced traveler and don't take no for an answer). If you are planning to purchase form vendors, keep in mind, the airports sell similar products at much lower prices, unless you are capable of dropping the vendors prices very low. If you don't speak Spanish, expect to pay more. That's just how it works.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Let me start by saying i was really worried about my stay after reading all the negative reviews but i was pleased with my stay.the staff def go out of their way to make you enjoy your stay ,hotel grounds were besutiful ,beach beautiful,food great lots of choices.great shows.the only thing is my room was just that a room .plain and uninviting .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom connecticut

sunshine relax

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: I loved the resort
Cons: Better cleaning of the rooms and they did clean them in the afternoons when we wanted to nap
Location: Would not recommend to exit the resort unlike you book tours but they are a bit pricey
Did not like the first room because it was damp.They moved us the next day to a great room with a view to the beach and pool. Forgot a couple of things in the old room which they located for us.We were in building 7 which was very quiet and very close to the beach and pool and furthest from the college spring break scene. The staff was amazing.We loved the buffet food which had lot's of healthy choice of tropical fruits and vegetable and great fruit juices.There were 6 ethnic restaurants with decent food. It was very relaxing and just a lovely resort..not too large ...just the right size to relax for a week by the beach and catch up with reading.People complained about the water pressure in the showers in the room but being mindful of water usage it did not bother us that much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

perfect for college spring breakers!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
just me and my friend (girl) went with hopes of finding other groups of college spring breakers to make friends and hangout with...and that's exactly what happened! we had so much fun (drunk every day), participated in their dance contest, went to a few clubs off of the resort as well as the discoteque on resort, and the booze cruise aka party boat is a must!!! it was the highlight of our trip. I would definitely go back here again :D
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Happened to be there during spring break, not a very relaxing time. Our room was the farthest from the beach as possible and our deck overlooked the busy street. Horns blowing, loud music. There was hardly anything for food choices at the buffets. We didn't eat much during the entire stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: firing the current staff and start over
Hotel was run down and my room was dirty ! The staff were the worst ! I could not even get a drink during my meals. There was a lot of time that there was nothing to do. The worst was that they had outside vendors who came in and you were harassed to come and look at their tables and buy something - at times they blocked you to you looked at the things they were selling
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Radhames Martinez, Hotel Management
Dear Client, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We would like to start off by apologizing if you experienced poor service and issues during your stay. We appreciate you sharing your opinion and feedback in regards to the room condition and service; you may rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration when we review areas of the hotel that require improvement. We hope you would be happy to learn that we are in the process of planning a future renovation; maybe you would be willing to pay us a repeat visit later on, at which time we promise to do our best to better accommodate you. Cordially, Radhames Martinez Manager Barceló Dominican Beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aumsville, Oregon

Awesome staff awesome location.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Fausto, Delvis, and Yoiri C. from the buffet were awesome. James was our favorite entertainer. Always smiling and always high energy. We know this is a 3 star resort, but we felt like 5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Radhames Martinez, Hotel Management
Dear Client, Thank you for posting a superb review of your stay at the Barceló Dominican Beach Hotel. We are pleased that we could make your time with us as relaxing as possible and we could offer the comfort you deserve. Thank you for the lovely remarks you have made about Fausto, Delvis, James and Yoiri. We are glad their excellent service attitude contributed positively to your overall visit. The team at Barceló Dominican Beach Hotel is looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay as a returning guest. Cordially, Radhames Martinez Manager Barceló Dominican Beach