Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boise, ID

Good and bad impressions

Posted Dec 12, 2014
There was a rather long process for check-in and then we were told to come back in 30 minutes for the second part of the process. Beautiful ocean views from our two rooms and the room decor was very nice. Toilet base had not been cleaned. Beach had not been cleaned of seaweed on the edge of the water like other hotels we stayed at on this trip. My shower took at least 15 minutes for the water to heat up and my friend never got even lukewarm water in his shower the two days he tried (it was reported the first time and the staff didn't seem to have an answer other than saying it takes 2-3 minutes to warm up). Very loud music from 10 to midnight at one of the activities run by the hotel made the partying guests happy but me not so much since I had to turn my TV way up and still struggled to hear it over the music. Nice yoga activity in the morning. Pool water was not heated and too cold for most people to swim in. This was the same with other well-rated hotels I stayed at in the Dominican Republic and was disappointing - guess I'm used to the many heated pools in the US. The hotel had a few okay gift stores - glad for that since the tiny town where the hotel was located did not look like a safe place to walk and didn't seem to have much if any shopping for visitors.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom fl

Great room, but horrible food.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The master suite was great. Irwin, the vip beach waiter was very friendly & accommodating.
Cons: The food.
Location: Location was fine, only 20 min from the airport.
We had a master suite with VIP privileges. The room & location were great. I would rate the room a 4 or a 5, but the food was so bad that it took the overall rating down to a 2. If you're from the US, you will be extremely disappointed with the beef. All cuts of beef were very tuff. I couldn't even eat the hamburger. I won't go back to the Dominican.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Shady Action

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location is the best part of the hotel, you will overlook a lot of faults due to location.
Cons: LANGUAGE BARRIER
Arrived 11-9-14 Booked a Grand Suite Ocean View,was given a ocean view non suite with no explanation. I never question the room I was given until we went to our friends room the we booked with and discovered what a Grand Suite Ocean View looked like. I then question the VIP staff at check in, and they told me that they would not have a Grand Suite available until the next day, they over booked the rooms. My issue is that, while it is difficult to be the one on the outside looking in, but I was never told I was not in a Grand Suite room until I questioned them about it. They then told me they had overbooked. If I never asked, wonder what room I would have gotten? The language barrier is the most difficult issue. Be advised, the extras that are promised with the Grand Suite deals, are difficult to obtain, unless you continually remind them that you did not receive certain items, then the language barrier comes back into play, ficious circle.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Room to old and furniture and leak air condition

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Food ok , staff very friendly. No free wifi, no phone in room.price very expense for the service.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom miami, fl

Staff is not very attentive and not accomadating

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Bad experience with the check in process, put me in incorrect room when I had reserved for 2 beds, air conditioner in the room did not work, had to ask various times and nothing was done until I demanded a different room next day. Their a la carte reservations were limited and they were booked fully by noon. Their night entertainment was not that great either
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Worst Hotel I've been in the DR

Posted Sep 29, 2014
I am a frequent traveler and I have stayed in more than 10 hotels in the Punta Cana and Bavaro area. This hotel has by far earned the title of the Worst Hotel. Let's start with the manager and staff, they are just there as puppets and are not helpful at all, leaving aside that they are always in a bad mood. The food is terrible, had to go out to find something to eat since the food is undercooked and flavorless. The areas are clean but you will received a hard as rock bed and a poor quality water to drink unless you are on the VIP area in which you receive botteld water. Beach Is not the best but it is acceptable. Pool has a doubtful cleanliness since you can see some mold areas. They love to charge for most of the drinks and there is no cell reception in most areas, my guest they dropped the signal in purpose to charge for Wifi. I will never returned or recommend to this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Honeymoon September 14, 2014

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The grounds were well kept and very clean. The pools were well maintained and I love that I can walk out my room to the pool. beach water was dirty not clear as others in the area. The shows were great, not many English speaking staff. Take plenty of medicine for diarrhea and upset stomach because the food is awful and they cook every in grease and pork is served a lot and chicken was under cooked.. Don't like the idea you have to make reservations for dinner that is all inclusive. Rooms need a lot of updating kind of stuck in the 80s but clean.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by barbarafrom be live punta cana

paying attention to location of room

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
They gave me a room farthest from everything. key did not work have the time..nor hot water...noisy construction...guest services were not friendly...no offer to change room unless I pay more...very dissatisfied
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Muy buen hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
No me puedo quejar, atenciones e instalaciones buenas
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Just ok

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Arrived to the hotel at 2pm, check in starts at 3pm. Had to wait. When you arrive in the airport you will rarely see a computer. These people work old-fashioned everything is on paper. They don't have your reservation on computers but on envelopes. I paid for the ride to the hotel on Expedia , the had to go through envelops looking for me. Once on the hotel after the wait they asked for the Boucher of the reservation, again no computer. I had to go to a room log on my email to print it. After all this they told me that my room wasn't ready. I had to go around the hotel for 20 minutes come back to get the key to the room. When I got to the room the cleaning ladies were working in it. They told me that they would be done in 15 minutes. I just went ahead and layed on the bed. Besides this the staff is rellyy friendly. The guys on the main bar are really cool.