Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Rhode Island

It was nice and relaxing.

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Overall food was great which makes it more pleasant for the stay.
Cons: Shower system could be improved.
Location: Not much to tell, our point of visit was to stay at the resort to relax and have a good time which we did.
We had a great time at Catalonia La Romana resort, kids and the other family members that joined us also had good time and enjoyed the stay. Food was great overall which makes it more pleasant for the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome beach! Happy people...

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We had a group of 14 people at this resort for our wedding. It was beautiful and we had a fantastic time! The staff is friendly and always smiling. The grounds and the beach are amazing! Food is good in the buffet, delicious in the ala carte restaurants. The rooms are a bit older but gives it character. We love this place and hope to return soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Beautiful grounds

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The grounds were perfectly maintained, and the staff were wonderful.
Cons: Water pressure was very poor, and water heaters could be updated. Add coffee pots to all rooms.
Location: Beautiful location with lots of water excursions to choose from, as well as a casino across the road, and golf nearby.
The hotel grounds were absolutely beautiful, and there were plenty of activities to keep everyone entertained. The staff were fantastic. Spoke several languages and were very happy, helpful and kind. My issue was with the open air buffets in which birds were flying around, eating food and doing what birds do! The room was dated but clean, our only complaint being the very poor water pressure, and lack of hot water for 2 days, and no coffee pot in the room. I understand there are "Exclusive" and "Privileged" rooms that do offer in room coffee. Overall, not bad for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Nice resort on Bayahibe Beach in La Romana

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: The staff was phenomenal. The food was excellent, most of the time. The beach is great. The water is beautiful.
Cons: On a couple of occasions the food was not good. Trying to get a shaded spot on the beach was a pain - have to get up real early to reserve.
Location: The GriGri tour to Catalina Island was a joke. Avoid at all costs. Complete rip off.
Nice hotel with good prices. Awesome staff, good food, lots of things to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester, NH

Pretty nice resort on the beach.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: I liked the beach with its clean and warm waters, the pool which is great for the kids, the variety of food choices, staff's friendliness.
Cons: More umbrellas on the beach so one wouldn't need to rush at 6 o'clock in the morning to secure a place in the shade. Wi-fi could be better too.
We had a very good time with our extended family, from grand parents all the way down to the little ones. We enjoyed swimming, playing ping-pong, (watching) dancing lessons on the beach, listening to nice Dominican music.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Beach &pool areas were clean...no beverage service

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Budget friendly...kid friendly
Cons: Beverage service...disco....more umbrellas or palapas.
Location: There are excursions that one can do
The beach was pretty clean and they had sufficient chairs for guests. There was no beverage service to pool or beach area. The food was good but the night entertainment was basic....disco was plywood in the sand. Not comfortable to dance in at all. Also no bar in disco. A la carte restaurant was hit or miss...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Santo Domingo

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: the forest hotel and cleanin area
Cons: push electronic key en the doors
Location: excellent ubication
a good hotel and your different area, for example restaurant, show, entreteiment, the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

resort not deserved two stars!!!!!

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: never ever again Catalonia !!!
Cons: everything , resort not deserved two stars!!!!!
Location: resort not deserved two stars!!!!!
8 times in Caribbean and the worst resort I've stayed in , really bad food and restaurants , dirty bathroom and rooms, staff poor English-speaking , the kids club stuff speak only Spanish and Italian, dirty pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey USA

Nice hotel for the price.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Good value. Beautiful well kept grounds. Very good food with large selection. After staying there our second time we decided to reserve 7 rooms for 19 family members to celebrate our 50th anniversary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ma

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Great experience beautiful beach ,perfect location,nice hotel, good food very friendly and helpful staff