Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Beautiful resort

Posted Aug 9, 2014
I have nothing but positive remarks about this resort, their staff, and activities. Beautiful ocean and a really friendly staff! I would highly recommend the island excursions that they offer as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Restful, Pleasant Stay.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: I loved the food, the grounds were beautiful, well maintained. So many flowers and trees. It felt cozy.
Cons: The smell of fertilizer or something was a bit unpleasant on the grounds. But hey that is nature, no biggie.
Location: Bayahibe is small village on the coast. Alot of nature to look at. Horseback riding, small trips along the coast, and tours to island saona must see.
The rooms were adequate nothing extremely fancy. But I am not picky. Clean towels and everything was clean. We were on our honeymoon and they made fancy displays with the towels for us. We felt very welcomed and were very satisfied with all the staff. Washing your clothes was expensive so we decided to wash our own clothes and hung them on our balcony to dry. No biggie. Water, coffee, beer and soft drinks were provided in small fridge in room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not like this place

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The grounds were great well-manicured most of the staff was friendly and help full, the beach was great.
Cons: Upgraded the rooms. More things for kids to do at night instead of them hanging out at the bar with their parents late at night
Location: Country side was somewhat great nothing near by
1st let me say that this resort is not in Punta Cana it is on the country side (it is in Bayahibe) which is about 1hr away from Punta Cana so for Expedia we were missed lead at where we were staying at.When we booked the rm, we were offered a free upgrade to our rm, which we selected, but didn't get.The grounds were well well-manicured most of the staff was friendly and help full, the beach was great.1st off when you check in, and the front desk hands you a door key to your rm and not a credit card style key, that is your 1st clue that the rms are not updated.The bathroom has no door to it so if you are staying with your family you will only have a door to the toilet only and that area was so small also when you close the door your knees are hitting the door so if your or a tall person you will be very uncomfortable on the toilet trying to handle your business. The shower was so so so small (maybe about 2.5ft round) only one person can fit in it, and if you’re overweight you will be very uncomfortable in the shower. We only had one garbage can in the entire rm.The rm came with no info book on how to find or use anything such as make phone calls check your vm, connect to the Wi-Fi, etc.The refrigerator noisy all night we had to keep the ac on just to drown out the noise from the refrigerator which served as our mini bar that only had water in it for an all-inclusive resort with no liquor in the mini bar.They need more things for the kids to do at night the pool closes which
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mount Vernon,ny

Great vacation

Posted Jul 28, 2014
First of all we booked a package that included air and hotel. Our first hotel was "Capella at Juan Dolio" but when we arrived and check the facilities I asked expedia to switch me to a different place and we pick this one which is almost a 1 hour 30 min. drive from the airport. This hotel is great! It's an all inclusive. The food is fresh and delicious; it has 1 buffet style restaurant and 3 a la carte that includes Mexican, Italian and western (kind of like outback ). And 2 other bars that serve pizza and crepes. Also, they have another restaurant in the beach that serves lobster and offered a romantic dinner (candles and everything ) right at the shore! They have a lot of activities in and outside the resort. The staff was very nice, courteous and helpful. In overoll I enjoyed my stay and I'm planning to return with my whole family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2014
First and foremost the entertainment team was absolutely excellent there was never a dull moment and tons of activities to partake on. We had the privileged package and the room was excellent and in the front where you can see the pool and ocean. Food was buffet style and pretty good and if you are privileged you get to eat at their a la carte restaurants which were great. This is a lovely hotel for couples and families. Would definitely reccommend if you are looking to relax and not be surrounded by 40 other hotels. This area is very secluded and private making it excellent to relax and have a good time with your loved ones.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

great resort but avoid the sales department

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: Avoid the sales department. They will offer you a free gift and waste your time trying to get you to buy future vacations rigged to their advantage.
Everything works well at this resort, when you call the desk and ask for something they come promptly. The food and drinks are good quality and not generic buffet food and leftovers. But the sales department wasted our time and would not let me take a copy of their contract to my lawyer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St.Louis, MO

Fantastic Getaway

Posted Jul 13, 2014
After reading reviews we decided to go with the privilidged honeymoon suite. I do have to say that if you go getting privilidged is a must. Just having the option of eating at the "terrace" restaurant was worth it. The grounds are very well maintained and all of the staff is great. Every night they had something different going on around the pool bar. The only negative I could say is that pushiness of wanting you to join in on activities. We went to relax, so if we say no then accept it. They really really wanted you to join in on all activities. Overall a great destination for the price. Food was good at breakfast and lunch buffet. Although we almost ate at the terrace everyday for lunch.(it's right on the beach). The Italian dinner was pretty good. The Mexican restaurant was so so. The pizza at the pizzeria was really good. We didn't try the rodeo steakhouse. The beach was Amazing! Clear water hardly any seaweed. The staff cleans the seaweed off the sand ever morning unlike the surrounding resorts. If you walk along the beach you will notice it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Close to nice,pleasant beach.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: beach,weather,staff
Cons: little dated.I recommend giving special place in the beach for smoking people as well non smoking room cant share door with smoking room.
Location: taxi from la romana airport to resort is $30-35
I stayed in standard room.You can upgrate for privileged room there for $25.I am not sure that i can add something new in my comments.I admit that beach is nice,water is clear and warm,staff is friendly and helpful,food is ok.I was in Punta cana,Puero plata but beach in La Romana is the best.Majority of tourists there are europeans and local people.Lots local tourists come during weekend with plenty kids.Its getting noisy.i understand that kids supposed to play ,run,etc but sometimes they are very irritating.One more disadvantage is smoking.Smoking is allowed everywhere.i ordered non smoking room.In the villa where i stayed, two different families have door between rooms.Smoke pours from their room to mine which is not fun.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Untrustworthy staff who stole from us!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Pretty and the beach was nice! Food at the Tapas rester aunt was awesome!
Cons: Customer service especially with some of the bartenders and wait staff. I get how miserable they can be with the paltry salary but come on!
We had 1000 in cash and two pieces of expensive jewelry in the safe that were stolen from us by the hotel staff. Could have been maintenence workers, security, or the maid. Our AC broke and needed to have some work done so they needed to be in the room for a few hours along with security. They told us we weren't required to stay as they did the work. When we returned and tried to get into the safe the next morning our password had been reset and we couldn't get in. We called security who responded and opened the safe using nothing but a simple Allen wrench to unlock the face plate and reset the safe. The property employees were not accomodating in anyway and treated as liars first and foremost searching every inch of our room and us for almost an hour trying to find the stolen property as though we made it up. We were disgusted with their lack of concern. All we were told was "sorry" and that it was impossible for someone to get into the safe even though we watched security open it up with a simple Allan Wrench. Its a shame because the property itself was very nice the beach amazing… Yet the whole trip was ruined with this one incident and a staff as a whole who didn't seem to really care. STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Poor customer service

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We paid for a transfer to the airport and was forced to pay again as the hotel pit is in the wrong taxi- the hotel took no responsibility, it left a stain on our holiday. Other than that We had a fantastic stay, great hotel close to the beach