Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom São Paulo - SP

Resort custo Beneficio com ótima praia

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: A praia, equipe do hotel.
Cons: Instalações dos quartos, princialmente bainheiros e ar condicionado.
Location: O resort está localizado em uma praia maravilhosa.
Ficamos 5 dias no resort Catalonia La Romana também conhecido como Gran Dominicus. Pontos negativos do resort: Maioria dos problemas são decorrentes das instalações/manutenção dos quartos. Passamos por dois quartos do resort com problemas na manutenção, banheiros com portas que não fecham corretamente e cheiro de esgoto, muitos insetos e pernilongos (dedetização não parecia estar em dia), teto do banheiro caindo passando vento do ar condicionado. Pontos positivos: Ótimo atendimento pela equipe do resort. Variedade de comidas. Praia! A praia é simplesmente perfeita! Resort custo beneficio, recomendo pela praia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nice

Magnifique, paradisiaque!

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Superbe hôtel (encore mieux que sur les photos) très bien entretenu, ambiance chaleureuse, bonnes activités. Excellent voyage rien à dire!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly professional staff, good animation.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Internal bar"privilege" with very honest rates.
Cons: beer from draft
Nice location, nice atmosphere; relax and with fun. Good food at the buffet. Cold beer in bottle will make it perfect. Great animation staff
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Hit or miss

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: the food was great especially the lobster dinner on the beach
Cons: the rooms and the service
Location: i did not leave the resort but had intended to. however, i was told that the things to do around the resort were really far away
resort was a hit or miss food was great drinks were great but the rooms are out dated and we received no supplies in the room, we heard some people didnt have hot water and that the a/cs didnt work luckily we did not have that issue service at some parts of the resort were great and others they seemed annoyed to help out also a lot of people pestering for you to see their timeshare offers beach and water were beautiful nightclub was awful the music was awful. the lobster dinner on the beach was the best really beautiful private and romantic, the public bathrooms were filthy and the spa services facility appeared from the outside to look awful but the massages were actually great, when you are in the gift shops they hound you which was very annoying, also if you dont get to the beach early enough very tough to find beach chairs, no services at all on the beach, pool was nice and a lot of activities for kids
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Overall a great holiday vacation

Posted Jan 5, 2015
We spent a week over New Years to 2015 in this Catalonia hotel and overall had a really good time. The grounds, beach and pool are great and the staff is friendly. The food (especially the buffets) were a bit of a mix, some good stuff but a lot of not so good food. The room (standard) was spacious but not very comfortable - the bed was really hard and the bathroom really old and awkward. We ended up paying more to upgrade to "privileged" and that room was a lot better, and we got access to a beach front bar/restaurant that was really beautiful. We wish they didn't have this type of segmentation of guests. The resort was really nice overall and very family friendly. Our 3 year old loved it there and the staff was so nice to him. By the end of the vacation, he knew at least 3 of them really well and they them by their name. They loved him. That really made things great for us. The New Years eve party was a lot of fun, great music, champagne, shows, and a really big party. We had a great time.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cherry Hill , NJ USA

very good location but very poor services

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: superb location with white beach and emerald water nice romantic dinner on the beach at reasonable price
Cons: service not up to the level of the price and "exclusivity"
Location: very good location with nice excursion opportunities
small room with two queen beds for a very high price safe did not work, after 4 times repair and three calls in one hour I had to give up flush toilet water often did not work had to rush before the dawn to get (maybe) decent spots on the beach pizzeria restaurant unfriendly and self service very high price for poor quality trip to sanoa poorly organized , had to wait 90 minutes wet to return to hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

incredible position

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We stayed at Catalonia for one fantastic week. The place is amazing, the room was good, clean, comfortable. Good food. Wonderful the position, the beach, and the sea. I will go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best beach in comparison to neighboring hotels

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Beach area.
Cons: Too many smokers around. It would be nice to allocate a separate place on the beach for smokers.
We had a wonderful vacation. No complaints, just a pleasant experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK

OVERBOOKED. NOT THE VACATION I PAYED FOR.

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: PROXIMITY TO AIRPORT. DIVE SHOP. BEACH. CLOSE TO SAONA AND CATALINA ISLAND EXCURSIONS.
Cons: BOOKING AND ATTITUDE
THIS HOTEL AND FOOD ARE AVERAGE. I VACATIONED HERE IN APRIL AND REBOOKED MY DECEMBER VACATION BECAUSE I AM AN AVID DIVER AND THERE IS A GREAT DIVE SHOP ON PREMISIS (GRI-GRI DIVERS).THIS AREA HAS GOOD DIVING, WHICH I HAD RESERVED AND IS IN CLOSE PROXIMITY TO LA ROMANA AIRPORT AND EXCURSIONS WE PLANNED. AT CHECK IN THEY TRIED TO CON US BY SAYING WE WERE BEING UPGRADED TO A 5 STAR HOTEL(CATALONIA PARK ROYAL) IN PUNTA CANA. NOT UNTIL WE REFUSED, WERE WE TOLD THE HOTEL WAS OVER BOOKED AND THEY HAD NO ROOMS. WE ARGUED FOR 1 HOUR TO NO AVAIL. PLEADED TO STAY IN A HOTEL NEARBY BECAUSE OF DIVES AND EXCUSIONS PLANNED BUT WAS TOLD NONE AVAILABLE. SO WE WERE BUSSED OVER AN HOUR TO PUNTA CANA. HARD TO BELIEVE WHEN RESERVATIONS ARE CONFIRMED. OUR TIME IN PUNTA CANA WAS NOT THE GREATEST. AFTER GETTING TO THE ROOM, IT TOOK 3 HOURS TO GET THE AC,TV AND SAFE TO WORK. THE BEACH WAS LOADED WITH SEAWEED AND UNSWIMABLE. I LOST 4 DAYS AWAY FROM WHERE I PAYED TO BE. I ONLY GOT 2 DAYS OF GREAT DIVING THANKS TO IRIS AND BERLIN AT GRI-GRI DIVERS. WE DID NOT DO ANY OF THE EXCURSIONS WE PLANNED. SO THINK TWICE BEFORE BOOKING THIS HOTEL. I KNOW I WOULD NOT CHANCE IT AGAIN.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY

You will get what you pay for......

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Beautiful beach area
Cons: Rooms need a BIG update. Everything (tile on the floor and walls, shower etc...) are very old looking.
Hi. When you choose to stay at this resort try get privileged room bc regular rooms are horrible. The biggest problem for us and our friends ( 10 more people) was terrible smell from septic. The food was very simple and drinks wasn't tasty, main lobby looked very poor.Some nights we didn't have hot water . Nothing excited..Also was not much to do at this resort for teenagers. BUT the beach area was AMAZING. We did stay in many resorts at DR before with much better costumer service so i wouldn't recommend you to stay at this resort.