Ratings based on 527 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Great hotel, super nice staff

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Big hotel and great staff, everyone was nice with us. It is a complex of two hotels and guests staying in the adults only part can enjoy of both hotel facilities such as all the restaurants, all the pools, the casino and all activities within the two hotels. Would definetily go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Rochelle, New York

Ver y nice hotel!!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Had a great experience. The resort had a little bit of everything. The staff was very kind and generous. Definitely going back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, especially if you tip.
Cons: Ask if people are interested in the vacation club instead of deceiving them to get them to the sales office for the pitch.
Location: The dunne buggy excursion was tons of fun. I also enjoyed the speedboat/snorkeling/scuba excursion.
We booked a basic room (superior suite) and that is exactly what it was... basic (compared to other all-inclusive 4 star resorts that I have stayed at throughout the caribbean). The room looked nicer in the pics online; however, the resort itself made up for the room. Besides the room, the other information that I would like to share is: Beware of the guys in the front lobby wanting to "take you on the cart for a tour of the resort", wanting to "make an appointment to talk about upgrading your room", or offering you a complimentary gift (bag or dominican pack). They are actually taking you for the vacation club sales pitch which they say takes one hour, but it takes more like 2 hours. The adults only side is a bit too calm and laid back, the other side is much more lively, has better restaurants, and has a better beach. You may want to pack your own wash cloths. It took 3 days for us to get wash cloths despite numerous requests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

"Tour" is a straight line to the time share office

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The wait staff in the restaurants and pool (Especially Genenova) where fantastic. The drinks were very good and there was plenty of room at the pool.
Cons: Quit pushing the vacation packages! The temp in the room never got below 85 deg. AC never worked. Other guests said the same for their rooms.
The pros: The staff at the restaurant and especially the pool were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are ok and the drinks were over the top good. They don't hold back on the alchohol. The food was simply OK. The cons: You are constantly being hounded about taking a tour of the resort. Tour means a bead line to the real estate office where you are asked about your contact info and income brackets. They are selling vacation packages or time shares. I don't know exactly b/c we left when the sales pitch started. Fortunately, the girl talking with us was very up front and let us go on our way. Adding insult to injury we waited nearly 30 minutes in the lobby to be taken on this tour when we could have been at the pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

An enjoyable getaway, but ….

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly Staff
Cons: Food and room prep before guests arrive
This was my boyfriend and I's first trip together and well, lets just say I will do a bit more research and planning before I pick our next vacation spot. With that said here are a list of my pros and cons… Pros - Friendly hotel staff, fast service, good food and drink options, and nice pools Cons - Room sheets smelled upon arrival (had to call the staff to change the sheets), the bathroom was tiny and didn't flush well, the people that give you the "15 minute" (2-3 hours) tour harass wayyyy too much and I had to break out my New York attitude for one of the guys to leave us alone. You're NOT obligated to go on any tour after you check-in with the receptionist - I suggest avoiding these salespeople at all costs. We spoke to a number of couples who got suckered into the tour and said it was a waste of time. We did the romantic dinner on the beach which came out to 55 bucks a person …honestly, save your money and eat at Cata Tapa and order a nice bottle of vino. We did not have the energy to go on any excursions - the sun literally sucked the life out of us while laying out catching some rays by the pool. If I would have done any of them, it would have been a water excursion like the sharks or dolphins b/c it was way too hot to not be somewhere near water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Beautiful hotel, everything close.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The hotel was beautiful, the grounds were really beautiful. You got 2 hotels for the price of one!!!!!
Cons: Some of the breakfast food needs to be cooked longer like the bacon & eggs. Make a certain spot for the people who smoke....
Location: Only went to the flea market to by souvenirs, make sure they take you to the flea market and not their expensive malls.
The hotel grounds were beautiful and the staff was nice and helpful. It was nice that you could visit the other hotel on the other side, which was in walking distant. You could eat & drink on that side as well...the entertainment at night was always on the other side. The rooms are just like what they show you on the website... some of the furniture in the rooms needs to cleaned. Our room had a lot of moisture, which made it have a smell., they gave us a dehumidifier, but the smell never left. The towels were dingy, they made need to use more soap, to get them a little whiter or throw them away. The food was ok, you had plenty of choices to eat from between the two hotels...the only thing that was not included was seafood...such as lobster or shrimp, which should of been. We did not have any problems getting a drink, and usually when drinks are free they are watered down, but their drinks were very good and strong. The beach was nice and the pool with pizza.....Overall the hotel was nice...Would go back this hotel..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Loved it.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Only one usable pillow per person. Loved room. Bathtub was awesome. Loved hammock. Slight damp smell in the room and no drawers to store undies n bikinis. That was frustrating. Had to leave a lot of items in suitcase. :0*(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Food, Pool
The food as amazing. You are able to eat at this hotel as well as the neighboring hotel Catalonia Bavaro. The pools are great. Staff is very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2014
I had an amazing time!!!!! Would definitely stay here in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Our stay went well. The staff could be more friendly. The rooms need to be updated. The grounds are beautiful. Overall a great vacation though.