Ratings based on 765 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Service was good. Food was very good.

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Had a great time. Wish there was a little less seaweed in the water and on the beaches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Ana in Guest Services is great, if you need help ask for her!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey/USA

definately NOT a 4 star resort unfortunately

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: proximity to airport-20 minutes, taxis were prompt/on-time, bartenders were attentive & friendly
Cons: proficiency in english, better orientation to grounds, need to improve quality of food/restraunt service, make guests feel like high end resort
Location: near golf if interested
Let me start by saying I NEVER give a bad review, have traveled extensively, have been to DR before. while the staff was very pleasant, they speak very LITTLE english, even in key positions (front desk, hostess, waiter/waitress). We had limited orientation to the hotel grounds upon arrival and were given a Brochure/Map of Royal side only, and in spanish too! We went back to front desk 3 days in a row for an English brochure, and we were told they were all out. We had to ask for a map/brochure of the Catalonia/family side on our 2nd day, since it was never offered (and the resort is very large). Mini bar was nearly empty upon arrival (2 beers/2 waters only). We ordered extra pillows from "pillow menu" and they never came. Every meal we ordered, in almost every restaraunt was also incorrect. (overcooked steaks, under cooked eggs, given french fries when mashed potatoes were ordered, no bread, etc.) Overall the food was average & NOT consistant. We also were not a fan of the "card system" to obtain towels, if you lose your card you never get a fresh towel. I will say relaxing environment by the pools, but no activities, even those scheduled were often cancelled or closed, and our stay was during peak season in march 2015. The best thing I can say was the weather was beautiful and our rooms were always cleaned. Hot water in the shower was an issue any time between 12-2pm, it was cold water only & when we informed staff, we were told we should try again later.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Pool bar and dinners at the main restaurant off the lobby.
Cons: Bar staff at the beach.
We just returned from 3 nights here and 4 nights at another all-inclusive. In comparison, this was pretty disappointing. Our major complaint was the staff and their inability to provide a good drink or food in a timely manner......not 30 minutes after you order. Drinks on the beach were awful and if you didn't flash a little cash when specifying your drink preference then you got a roll of the eyes! Comical! We laughed it off but seriously for the money we paid and they don't have top-notch bar staff??? It was so inconsistent. The bar staff at the main pool by the lobby were great. Couldn't figure out their reasoning - wouldn't you have great bar staff everywhere? Overall the property is beautiful. They have a lot of staff people taking care of the property. Rooms are very comfortable but the bathroom is in need of some updating. The staff in the lobby are so nice...but on the beach? Not so nice! Food was pretty good. Nothing to rave about. Avoid the salads and use bottled water to brush your teeth. On the bright side, the beach is very nice with plenty of loungers in the shade. The beach has some sea weed at the shore but that didn't bother me. Its the ocean! Plus we noticed them raking it up quite often. They do the best they can. Loved the walk out on the reef! Wish I had a water proof camera for that. The water is beautiful and refreshing. We will definitely return to Punta Cana but not this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom saginaw michigan

Nice place so long as you know it is one of the ch

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: right on the beach...clean and comfortable...lots of food options...staff very nice...good value for the price
Cons: the place would be terrific if they did not go out of there way to sell you a vacation membership/time share...that totally sucked
Nice place as long as you know it is one of the cheaper places to stay on the island. Good if not great food and a very nice staff committed to making your stay pleasant. Rooms a bit dated but clean and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

It was good

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Advice that I could give need more music around the pools and on the Hall ways felt like it was to quite all the time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Nice Hotel and beach

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Room was spacious and clean, food was great, beach was nice. Very relaxing.
Cons: A lot of the staff did not understand English so at times it was difficult to communicate. Employees in the lobby keep bothering you about excursions.
Location: Good location, short ride from the airport. Did not leave the resort.
We had a good experience staying at this hotel. I would definately recommend it to others. The room was very spacious and definitely clean. Food was great - we mostly ordered seafood. Beach was nice and the water was warm- a lot of seaweed was washed up on shore but they had people there constantly cleaning it up. Our favorite restaurant was the one in the lobby where you check in - Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner there was excellent. Also, the pizza by the pool was very good. We definately like the adults only side better than the family side. It was very quiet and relaxing, and there were no wait times to eat. I loved that the hotel had its own little shopping area with t-shirt shops, liquor/cigar store, and a mini mart. There were a few things that I wish I would have known on our first day there- that the hotel staff does not tell you:1. if you want a good spot on the beach, you need to go out early in the morning to claim it - between 7:00am and 8:00am. 2. You get your beach towels from a stand that is on the beach. 3. We did not need reservations for any restaurant on the Adults only side - If you want to eat in any restaurants on the family side, you need to make a reservation at least a day ahead of time - it is very busy over there. 4. You can check in any time, but you cannot get in to your room until 3:30. 5. That there was a shopping area - we did not find out about this until our last day there. 6. You do not get a map of the entire resort-only of the adults side
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Our trip was wonderful,but they need to be able to give change to the guests. We want to tip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet Hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Hotel is for adults only. My husband and I are on our late 20's and we were the youngest two people in the hotel. This hotel is great for relaxing. However, you also have access to the family hotel and you can go there for more fun ambiance. The food is good on the adults only side, not so much on the family side. The room was comfortable and very nice. We had a bathtub inside the room. Very romantic, however, the sofa and the pillows smelled bad. I assume people lay down wet. We asked for new pillows twice in three days. Overall, great experience. Very good drinks. Very good service. Great experience overall!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fine resort in Punta Cana

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff, and excellent food.
Cons: See comments above.
Location: We stayed at the resort the whole time, so didn't experience other activities in the area.
Everything about our stay was great, with one exception. We were unable to enjoy a quiet dinner as the small asian restaurant near the pool because of overly noisy drinkers at the outside bar beside the restaurant. Since there are other bars available, I suggested to the hotel staff that they close that bar at 7pm so that diners don't have to listen to loud drinkers during dinner. The food was excellent, the staff were most accommodating, and the facility was clean and well maintained. We will return.