Ratings based on 574 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago Il

Great Resort by the Beach

Posted Oct 18, 2014
The resort was beautiful. We had a great stay here. The staff was very friendly and really helped make the stay that much better. The room was spacious and had a balcony that over looked a flower garden. Even though there aren't any rooms at the resort that over look the ocean all the rooms look at something nice. We would recommend this place to anyone looking to go to Punta Cana.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Typical poor internet service

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Outdoor facilities, pools, beaches etc
Cons: Customer service, Room furnishing we old and worn.
Location: Fairly remote
Another place that advertises free internet service in all rooms, when in reality the internet service a hit of miss situation. It was considered a joke among most guest I spoke with. My purpose to travel to this resort was to relax and spend a lot of time working. After check in I demanded to speak with the general manager and told them I demand internet or I would go to another resort. After considerable effort the was a router/modem installed in my room. but still had many problems through out my 2 week stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

PERFECT

Posted Oct 16, 2014
The most memorable experience! We will never forget it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Glad we had access to Catalonia

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Housekeeping staff was awesome. Don't like being harassed by guys in white shirts trying to get us to see a time share presentation. Restaurant staff overall was great. Didn't like not being able to wear swimsuit to restaurant on the beach. Power went out in room and they fixed it quickly. A/C in room but doesn't get as cool as we like- but still cooler than outside! Beach was ok, but tons of seaweed in beginning of October. Excursions expensive but necessary because a week is too long to be stuck at resort with nothing close by.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland,Ohio

Nice getaway but some disappointments

Posted Oct 10, 2014
My favorite part was the no reservation part. Very relaxed atmosphere. Ruben at the Mexican place was my favorite and Carlos at the pool bar always worked hard to keep the drinks flowing with a smile. Our first room was hot. We asked to switch and they promptly switched us. The second room smelled musty and everything was damp. You could hear water in the air conditioning. It created a moisture even on the sheets. The property itself is very well kept. And with 3 pools with 3 different atmospheres makes for a good time. Overall it was a nice getaway just wished the drinks were stronger and the room was better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, Ga

Quiet & Close to the beach

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Quiet, relaxing & romantic setting. Close to the beach, very friendly staff & beautiful grounds
Cons: Use bleach to clean/wash sheets
Location: Stayed on resort
The resort was very nice! It's close to the beach & nice & quiet. It was nice to relax at one of the 2 pools on our side, a quick walk to the beach or go right next door to the pool at Catalonia Bavaro. Staff members are very friendly & helpful if they can understand English. Our room was very muggy & molding smelling though. The A/C wasn't very cool & our ceiling fan would only work on ultra mega slow speed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Place, Friendly People.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
My husband and I just returned from our visit for our honeymoon! We loved our stay in the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. The location and amenities were great! The hotel staff were friendly and always helpful! We loved that their was a person to book excursions for us in the lobby! Our only complaints were that the beds were pretty hard and the AC did not always cool the room well! There was also a lot of seaweed on the beach but that was out of their control! Overall, it was a wonderful place and we will be back! Also, Edward, the bartender, was our favorite..he was amazing!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

True paradise

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The entire place was like a dream, the rooms were beautiful, the landscape was appealing. Every place you went was clean and fresh.
Cons: Take away the seaweed barrier from the edge of the beach. Too much returned during the tide, making the water unpleasant.
Location: Everything you need was onsite from shows to shopping to a health unit. But there was shopping and adventures a short bus ride away.
The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were like looking into a fantasy. The entire place was immaculate. Very clean, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The pools and beach had sufficient amount of seating and towels for all of the guests. The seaweed was the only bad thing about the beach. There was too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great service. No complaints. Fabulous.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Resort very open and the sister hotel was included for food. Lots of choices on where to go for breakfast, lunches and dinners.
Cons: Staff allow you to know that the tour not mandatory, rather encouraged.
Location: We stayed on the resort and had a great time. However, there were lots of options for excursions.
Very nice stay. Just know that you do not have to take the tour with the hotel because the staff may ask you more than once. We would head back to the same place again. We went for our Honeymoon and it was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisville ky

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Only thing I would have liked to be able to adjust my room temp a little lower. But the room was very clean and the house keeping was excellent