Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great anniversary getaway

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Beautiful well kept grounds, hardworking friendly polite staff, good food, lots of entertainment. Only complaint was air conditioning in the room was not great. Maybe it was the humidity of August but room would not get cold. Overall good resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Cons: Check in accommodation procedures.
Hotel was easy to get to from the Santo Domingo airport and is only about and hour away. Hotel staff was pretty friendly but was mostly eager to please when they were tipped. Went there for a wedding and the event was beautiful and well organized. The staff during the wedding was very accommodating to my allergies. Check in was a little bit frustrating. We arrived a little early and were forced to wait until check in time to go to our room. All other resorts I have stayed in accommodate early arrivals.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Family trip

Posted Aug 16, 2014
I give this a hotel a 3 1/2 star. Overall, it was a good hotel. Everyone was super friendly and attentive. My biggest problem was the service at the bars and at the restaurants for dinner. One night we had to wait an hour just to be seated. There are several restaurants and they all had the same wait time. How is this possible? I realized that the restaurants lack in staff numbers making the service really slow. The food in all the restaurants was just ok. Nothing spectacular. I will likely not go back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great experience. Outstanding service.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We had a great time. One of the best resorts. Great food, staff was always very nice and helpful, rooms nicely clean, beach maintained and clean, pools beautiful. Activities every hour of the day. We have seen some shows that have international standards (one of them was by any standard the best show we have ever watched). I can go on and on with comments. If you want to go on vacation and have a great time THIS IS THE RIGHT RESORT. Don't waste your time looking for better place. If I had to pick from all the places I have been to go back, this would be it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Excellent hotel in a beautiful setting.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Just great, would certainly go back. Large resort with plenty to do, or if you wanted just relax and do nothing. Would recommend preferred upgrade but not essential.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice. Remote, quiet. Food quality needs attention

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Cons: Food quality.
Location: An excursion to Saona Island is a must.
7 Days, August 2014. Gave it 4 out of 5 rating, but really just shy of a 4. Vacation was good, not great. Accommodations are decent, about what you would expect. We had a nice ocean view (through the palm trees), overlooking the main pool as we requested. Maid was good, cleaned and tied up well. Good variety of restaurants, although food quality is lacking. If you are going to ask how I want my steak cooked, then cook it like that, don't give me a charred dead mess. Chicken was often overcooked and dry. Food in french restaurant was the best we had. A close 2nd was Mexican. Worst was Oceanview Grill, both due to the burnt mess as well as taking 45 mins to get main course after appetizers. Buffet as a default was decent enough. Desserts were average at best. Bars were good, and for how busy they were service was quick. Plenty of wasps to deal with though. Beach was very good. Nice blue water fronted by palm tress. If you head to the left its a bit more quiet and calm. Reservation of chairs is a problem though. Many towels spread on empty chairs early in the morning. If you want a prime spot you need to get your towels on their early and then go to breakfast. Getting up early on vacation is not my first thought. Entertainment team is visible, but not in your face. Daily entertainment is present if you want to participate. Nightly entertainment was decent enough, magic show was our favorite. Overall a good vacation, a relaxing beach vacation as desired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Good experience. Large hotel and There were a lot of kids there. 3 large pools and none were adults only. Hotel staff could of been better about bringing drinks to you on the beach/pool area. Overall good rating. I would return, but probably at a time when most young kids were in school.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Great people, even if you can't understand them

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Preferred club privileges and facilities were definitely a step up, the beach was awesome, and the staff was very helpful.
Cons: The food was pretty bland, the menus were confusing, and the rooms should be checked COMPLETELY (cough, mini bar, cough) before new guests arrive.
Location: Right on a white sandy beach with clear water. What else could you want to do but spray on some sunscreen and jump in?
Wife and I went down to the DR for our honeymoon. We purchased the Preferred Club upgrade, but didn't do any honeymoon package. The resort is very nice looking when you pull up, and the initial greeting staff can speak pretty good English. Everybody greets you with "Hola!"; some say it more cheerily than others. We were escorted to our room - the pictures on the website are very misleading to what room you're actually getting. Our room was comfortable, but definitely not as spacious as the pictures had made it look. A few things that really bugged me - first, when we walked into our room, we noticed that two lightbulbs were missing... not burnt out, but actually missing. Who steals light bulbs?! They had maintenance up to our room about 15 minutes after we called the concierge who replaced the bulbs. Secondly (also when we walked in) the mini-bar had not been refilled and in fact had empty, used bottles in it from the previous guests. I again called the concierge, and within the hour they had the mini-bar refilled. It seems like common courtesy to me to refill the mini bar before the next guests move in, but that's just me. Lastly, the rooms were connected by a set of doors, and this made for some really late nights for my wife and I. The guests in the other hotel room had children with them, and they did not go to bed at any sort of a respectable hour. I knocked on their door a couple times, but to no avail. Other than those things, this hotel was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Unpleasant experience

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Excellent employees
Cons: Expedia sold me a product other than which I received
Location: excellent locations
We arrived at 1.30 AM and the room was a disaster with the air conditioning broken, moisture on the floor, the stuffy bathtub, broken curtains, the broken TV control, mattress with a wire on the outside. Without being able to sleep we complain and we moved to a perfect room. why?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Went for a wedding, our service was excellent! Beautiful room and grounds. Will definitely be back!