Ratings based on 1,613 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great resort with outstanding service.

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: It certainly lived up to its name and lived up to every claim it made on its web site and any other advertising.
Cons: Some things in the suite were showing their age, but they were clean and well looked after.
Location: Did not venture away from the resort on this trip.
From arrival at the front gate, to the outside welcome then check in, the service level was second to none. Escort to the suite combined with a short tour was a great added touch. Other than the room showing its age a little, the amenities provided were comfortable and very clean. Mini bar was well stocked with a selection to please everyone. Pools were great, well equipped and the beach was even better. Breakfast and lunch buffets had offerings for everyone and the a-la-carte restaurants for dinner delivered an excellent choice of food for all tastes. The biggest recognition has to go to the staff and the customer service they gave which was a perfect 10. Service was genuine and friendly from every person at the resort no matter what their job. I would recommend the resort to anyone, it definitely lives up to its name.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, florida

Everything was excellent - but let me warn you..

Posted May 26, 2015
Amazing resort! Let me start by saying from the food to the hotel staff it was perfect - so here are my cons which the reviews did not mention. This resort is located at the very end of Punta Cana, it's a ways from any of the nice clubs (night life) in Punta Cana or gas stations. Make sure if driving and you need gas stop before approaching the resort - I promise if not you regret it. This is resort is NOT for SINGLES or groups to have fun - it is designed for couples. Couples only. That being said NO MUSIC, NO ENTERTAINMENT. This was one of my biggest factors. Pool - closes at 6:30pm, first resort that I experience pool closing this early. Swim up bar - super disappointed. Where it's located it's not comfortable at all. It's like hidden. Nothing compared to the other resorts in Dominican Republic. Overall if you are looking for a really quiet, honey moon type of resort this is your place! Very relaxing, gorgeous views. I recommend staying in the lower levels by the pool area, they have beds right in front.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best vacation we've ever had

Posted May 25, 2015
Hands down the best place we've ever been and we travel a lot..... Highly highly recommend it!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Annapolis

Hotel Stay

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: the people were the best
Cons: The building is getting a little worn and air conditioners could work beterr
Location: Never left the resort.
Hotel was extremely clean and the staff was excellent. Restaurants were all very good with the breakfast being outstanding. Bar supervisor Daniel H. was one the nicest people your ever meet and made you feel like he new you forever. The beach area was very clean and no one was out there selling stuff to bother you. Pool area again was very clean and the gardens were beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Beautiful, luxurious resort

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Beautifully maintained, attentive staff, luxurious accomodations, plenty of activities.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We only left the resort once for a bike tour, otherwise so happy to stay on the resort.
Loved it!! Would highly recommend for couples. Plenty of activities, or just relax, either way, you will have a fantastic stay. The staff is so accomodating, everything is beautifully maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

The Name of the Resort Says It All

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: We loved the food and drinks. Everything was fantastic.
Location: The resort is pretty far from the airport, but it was worth the drive. We chose to go snorkeling at another resort and had a fantastic time.
My boyfriend and I stayed at Excellence Punta Cana from 5/13/15-5/20/15. We had an awesome time. The room was amazing. It was clean and spacious. The staff was fantastic. They were all very friendly and helpful. They also put on some really cool shows at night time. There was always something to do. The drinks and food were delicious, as well. We plan to go back! I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking to relax and have a good time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma

The service was amazing!

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: It is beautiful, clean, great beach, and the staff is so nice, friendly, and willing to help. The umbrellas provided came in handy.
Cons: The see-through shower/bathroom is romantic, but it doesn't provide for much privacy. DVD rentals should be included.
Location: It's a long drive to get anywhere off the resort, but there is beach horseback riding at the resort that is awesome!
We went the Excellence Punta Cana for our anniversary. We were immediately impressed with the resort and the staff as soon as we arrived. We were greeted with cool washcloths, champagne, and "Welcome Home" greetings. The Bellboy who carried our bags to our room walked us through all the features of the room, room service, the minibar, etc. He didn't rush anything and was very thorough. Most of the staff smiles and says hello when they pass you on the resort. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming and always willing to help. Our stay wasn't without hiccups. We had an issue the first night with our bed, which wasn't discovered until late. The front desk staff was super helpful and understanding and got us moved to another room with no issues. We rented a movie one night and our DVD player wouldn't work. Again the front desk staff sent someone immediately to help us and got us a DVD player that would work. I don't expect everything to go perfectly, and when it didn't, the help and service we received to make the issues better was phenomenal. Like I said, we were celebrating our anniversary and reserved our special dinner at the Lobster House. They have a section where the seating looks out to the beach and ocean. Our special table wasn't set up there, but I asked to be moved, and they did and reset everything with a smile. The entire time I felt well taken care of, safe, and important to each person who worked there. We will definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma

Excellence is truly "Excellente"

Posted May 17, 2015
Just returned from our honeymoon at Excellence and we are both very pleased. We have been to other all-inclusive resorts and while they were good, the facilities and the fact that it wasn't overcrowded was great. Even if the hotel was at capacity, which it wasn't, it would not disappoint. There were plenty of restaurants (9) and none required reservations like other resorts which can be a pain. Plenty of pool area so you're not shoulder to shoulder, the pool water was well balanced with chemicals and not over chlorinated. The beach was private, so you dont have a packed beach with people from other resorts. One note is that the beach is on the Atlantic Ocean, so the tide was constant and the current gets to moving pretty good in the afternoon, so you need to be aware of your swimming capabilities and make sure you don't go way too far out. It would be best to stay in the pool area if you start to get too toasty. The staff was very courteous and kept the grounds very well kept. We were there for 5 nights (suppose to be 6, but weather made us miss a connecting flight) however, there was plenty of the resort that we didn't get to fully explore and you could easily spend 10 days and not feel like you are repeating dinners and activities. We were the Excellence Club Junior Ocean View Suite, which was nice and the benefit of having our own concierge and being able to go in to grab a quick snack, espresso, or drink from 7am to 11pm close to our room was nice. Overall great place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis, In

Fabulous honeymoon

Posted May 17, 2015
We loved our stay at excellence. The food surpassed all of the previous resorts we stayed at either in Mexico or Jamaica. The hotel staff is friendly and willing to always help. The grounds are gorgeous and the beach is beautiful. We will be traveling back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Really all around a good investment

Posted May 13, 2015
Location was perfect, the beach was a short walk away from room the staff were kind and willing to help in any way. The weather was perfect which allowed us to enjoy each day