Ratings based on 1,674 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Clean beach; accommodating to a fault.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The people, the people, the people. The food is good too.
Cons: Anything more would mean that I died and went to heaven.
Location: The immediate beach is rough and a lot of fun. But if you walk 1/2 mile in either direction, the water is calm, almost flat and a beautiful aquamarine
After 12 years at the same hotel, the only changes have been favorable. The pleasantness of the employees is unmatched.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Texas

Right on the beach - really good food

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: We really liked the food at this hotel - and the pool - and the beach - and the small casino was a nice touch too.
Cons: Improve the WIFI - communication with staff was difficult at times (something we had not experienced at other Excellence locations).
Location: We stayed on the property the whole time - this was a trip to just relax.
First off - to save yourself an hour at the airport - definitely purchase the tourist card BEFORE you leave for the Dominican Republic - it is only $10 - and make sure, when you arrive at the airport, that you get in the much shorter line for those who have already purchased the tourist card. The Excellence Resort has very nice facilities and it is right on the beach and it has many activities throughout the day - it also has a small casino for additional evening fun. We found the French and Spanish restaurants to be quite good and were only there for four nights (should have stayed seven nights - trust me) so we did not hit all the restaurants - and we did use room service the first two nights since we were worn out from the days' activities. We also used the Excellence Club but likely would not do that again - it allows you access to a small exclusive club and has drinks and small food - and we had used the one at Playa Mujeres and liked that one - but this one was just not worth the additional cost. Rooms were nice and clean. Access to the pools and beach was very easy. The beach is not on a bay so the waves were quite strong but still we had plenty of fun in the very clear and perfect temperature water. Wifi was free and everywhere on the property but there were times when it was difficult to get a good connection. The group I traveled with really liked the Michael Jackson show that was part of one evening's entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with excellent staff/service

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: see above considered the excellence club worth the money.
Cons: Tasting of the wines for sale in the club or general area like the cigars
Excellence is a great property. We enjoyed our stay and would go back. The food is well above average for an all inclusive and some dishes were excellent recommend the grill and the Tapas restaurant. It was very relaxing there and the beach is beautiful. The staff is very friendly and willing to go the extra mile. The Dominican people really seem to appreciate any effort at speaking Spanish. It is billed as a couples destination and that is a bit of an understatement. There were essentially only couples there. It is quiet but has activities if you want them in pool and beach. The circus show and surprisingly the Michael Jackson show were excellent. We heard others complaining about their resorts on some of our excursions but we really had none. We took our adult "children" and were OK but would have enjoyed seeing some peers. The liquor available was top shelf but the included wine was only fair but drinkable. They had better wines for sale but were moderately expensive and most were Spanish or Chilean wines that I did not recognize. We did try one that was excellent on our last night. We would have gotten on more evenings but would have added significant expense to the trip. Overall very nice trip and recommend the property. It is an excellent value!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015
The rooms and facility were very well maintained. All of the staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful. Most of the bartenders and waiteesses/waiters were less than thrilled to be there and did not interact with customers very well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great getaway

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Hospitality, food, facilities and price were excellent. One suggestion get better pillows. Ones I had were to flat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Very relaxing, attentive service and multiple options for eating and drinking. Beautiful property. The bedrooms need ventilation as there was a bit of a musty smell due to the humidity in the air.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Fantastic Adults ONLY resort!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Cons: Reinforce peace and quiet around the room areas. A couple nights our neighbors were VERY LOUD and RUDE until 3am.
The resort is well kept and beautiful. Despite the fact that the staff works long hours they continued to be happy and very accommodating. The food choices are very diverse and although I would not call the food gourmet it was overall very good. At 57 years old I thought I might be the oldest person there but it was a various mix of people of all ages from all over (mostly from the United States though). The pool was is beautiful and there is enough room for everyone to secure their little piece of space around it. There are areas poolside that are very quiet so if you are one that wants to nurse a drink and read you can do that. As far as the beach, although a lot of seaweed washes ashore daily the staff seemed to be out there daily picking it up. There are ample lounge chairs on the beach as well. Since the resort is a distance from Punta Cana (at least a 45 minute drive from the airport) there are no solicitors trying to urge you to buy something while you're trying to relax. I would definitely recommend this resort and would definitely return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not that great

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: not much
Cons: alot
Location: to far from the airport
we were not happy did not like is't to little for the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Resort

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Everything was Excellent could not ask for anything more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NC

Just what we wanted

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Room size for the oceanfront was great. I was treated well by the staff.
Location: I highly recommend the VIP snorkel and lunch at the Westin, top notch, the crew were involved, knowledgeable and entertaining. No more than 15 people
Adult only no kids....Superb beach and pool. Great room and place, some of the staff are English challenged but overall communication was not an issue. Food quality/taste gets the only hit, besides my complaint of Pinot Grigio not included in the upgraded membership, additional cost of $35-40 for a standard bottle of Cavit, unacceptable and why the overall score is 4 stars.