Ratings based on 1,299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Everything was great. No problems and the staff was great,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Not one of the newer resorts, but my wife and I had an excellent time. It was our 10 year anniversary and was more than we had hoped for. Would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really great resort!

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: I love the staff, everyone made you feel so welcome and was there to help with any little thing.
Cons: When we visited, there were several strong storms that came through making the whole resort incredibly slick. Be careful.
Truly enjoyed my stay at Excellence Punta Cana. The staff was fantastic, the food was good and the views and facilities were amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from College Station, TX

Happily surprised

Posted Sep 8, 2014
4 days 5 nights Excellence club junior suite garden view Food was very good. Only a couple of things I didn't like, not because they were poorly executed, but because I just didn't like that dish. Therefore, I just ordered something else and ate every bit of it. Staff was always helpful and friendly. They worked hard to ensure we were having a good time. I would highly suggest the excellence club upgrade. Our stay would have probably been just fine without it, but having access to the more comfortable chairs on the members only beach, private check-in, the members lounge, and the overall level of service made it extremely enjoyable. Overall, I was happily surprised with our vacation. It was just as enjoyable as our honeymoon five years ago at another resort, and at a quarter of the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Gratuity included?

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Food was ok at best.... The service was ok as long as you tipped good.... Gratuity is supposed to be included, so I thought. The mosquitos were the worst part! If I managed to come back without the West Nile Virus, malaria, or any other diseases it will be a miracle! The first night the room above was leaking water down into our bathroom instead of moving us they thought it would be better to keep us in the room.... Oh yeah, when you arrive to the airport expect to pay $10 a head to enter the Dominican... Maybe the United States should follow this practice, I believe it could used to secure our border... In summary, it sucks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Compact resort with good beach

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Beach was good. Probably because of location, but the ocean was never calm with big waves. But still enjoyable. Restaurants are excellent.
Cons: Our room air conditioner never cooled our room properly and we were hot for a week. Staff tried to fix but never did get temp below 80 inside.
Nice resort on the beach. We enjoyed the restaurants, particularly the tapas and French restaurants. Also enjoyed that we didn't need reservations for dinner thereby making our schedule more flexible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great all inclusive resort

Posted Sep 6, 2014
First time at Excellence resort in Punta Cana. Great experience. Food was much better than reviews indicated. Did Excellence Club upgrade which was nice. Shows were just OK but entertaining. Staff amazingly friendly. Top shelf booze in room which you can swap to your liking. Highly recommend for an all inclusive. We had ocean view suite which was beautiful with amazing view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Excellent all-inclusive resort!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The restaurants (Spice and Toscana were the best and we tried them all!) and the Mille spa (absolutely flat out amazing)
Cons: Pest control to combat the mosquito problem.
Location: We didn't leave the resort because we didn't need to -pool, spa, ocean, beach were at our disposal and our honeymoon suite was epic.
My husband decided on this resort for our honeymoon for a number of reasons but mostly because of the all-inclusive factor. After reading lots of reviews we decided to take the plunge and we're incredibly happy with our choice during the stay. The food was excellent and the choices went above and beyond what we were expecting. The staff was amazing, and the excellence VIP club upgrade was incredibly worth it, especially as they take care of you from the moment you get there and let you hang out in the VIP lounge until your room is ready. The spa was definitely worth the money and the excellence club beach was great with covered four poster beds available if you got there early enough in the day. The only complaint we had was that, with the rain we had a couple of days in our trip, there were Mosquitos everywhere and everyone was getting bitten to death. We couldn't use the jacuzzi hot tub on our balcony because every time we would go out there we got bitten. There probably should be some sort of pest control application every day to combat this situation but we realize that that's just nature! All in all we would recommend this resort to anyone looking to relax and be waited on!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Excellent at all

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The beach was ok and the pools were nice.
Cons: Pretty much everything.
Having stayed at a few other Excellence resorts elsewhere, this one falls way short of the mark of excellence. I would definitely tell anyone if going to Punta Cana, stay elsewhere. The staff isn't friendly, the food isn't good, and you will get eaten alive by the mosquitos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Overall, a great experience.

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Great amenities, good food, friendly staff, never had a long wait to be seated at any restaurant on the resort, and plenty of pools/bars/restaurants.
Cons: Comfort of the beds.
Great vacation. The only drawback was the ferociousness of the mosquitos. An absolute must is to have insect repellent when you travel the Dominican Republic . The staff was great. We only had one occasion when the waiter did not accommodate a simple request during dinner service. I will definitely return.