Ratings based on 1,307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

Posted Sep 22, 2014
We were nervous about the pool closing at 6pm but it wasn't a problem at all. It was nice to spend the day at the pool and then go clean up for dinner and the evening entertainment. Not a dull moment!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellente!!

Posted Sep 17, 2014
We had an absolutely wonderful time on our vacation!! While I fully believe those with a good attitude and a zest for life will make any situation work, in this case, there was nothing we could have asked for which would have made our stay any better! The hotel staff did everything within their powers to make our travel experience one which is best described as "Excellente!!!!" A special thanks to Johnathan, our Excellence Club concierge, as he was very attentive to every detail and went above and beyond in helping us feel welcomed and comfortable. This was our second stay at Excellence Punta Cana, this time ten years after we were first married at this same resort. My wife and I, as well as the friends traveling with us, felt the resort has definitely upped the ante and expanded upon what had already been an over the top experience. I would not hesitate to return to this resort and would certainly highly recommend Excellence to anyone considering traveling to Punta Cana.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

Amazing

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Everything was absolutely wonderful we were greeted with smiles and everyone was so polite. The service was great everywhere in the resort. Food pool and beach were amazing. We can't complain about a thing and want to return next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Great resort experience!

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Wow. This place! The room was large, well-appointed and clean. After a couple of days, they'd even customized our minibar, the number of towels we needed, how much incense we used, etc and they even put our balled-up wet bathing suits over our balcony chairs to dry. The concierge, waitstaff, front desk... Everyone made us feel super welcome. The grounds were gorgeous, the communal areas amazing. Everything about this place was top notch. The food, while not astounding, was fresh and varied. Drinks were flowing. The evening entertainment was a bit old-fashioned, but the lounge had good music and the overall atmosphere was festive. The pools were beautiful, the beach well-kept with ample chairs and towels. Overall, this place is worth every penny. We will definitely go back! My girlfriend has done numerous resorts and was a little jaded. I'd never done a package resort and was leary. We were both astounded by the effort and work put in by Excellence Punta Cana.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Everything was great. No problems and the staff was great,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Not one of the newer resorts, but my wife and I had an excellent time. It was our 10 year anniversary and was more than we had hoped for. Would recommend it to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Worst all-inclusive ever visited!

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The beach and that they had a lot of covererd beach/pool chairs.
Cons: Resort needs to be closed down and re-staffed with new employees or re-train all of the current employees on service, cleaning, food, bartending.
Location: I do not know, we like to relax at the Resort while on vacation.
First let me say that I wanted to love this Resort. We visited the Excellence (Riviera Cancun) September 2013 and we loved it so much that I convinced my husband to increase our vacation time from 7 days to 11 days.No offense to anyone, but if anyone gave this Resort more than a 1 or 2 star rating the reason had to be either: (1) this is their first time at an all-inclusive resort and they do not know any better, or (2) they have never been to a GREAT all-inclusive Resort. Our room was “wiped down” not cleaned was hair and stains on and around the toilet, sink, and tube. I had to request that my sheets and bedspread be changed the first night because they both were stained bed hard like a rock. The food at this resort was by far the worst tasting food that I have ever eaten at a Resort; it was NASTY not bland as some resort food can be because it is cooked for the masses. Most if not all of the food was really NASTY! The alcholic drinks were HORRIBLE and obviously of lesser quality and watered down they were all to sweet with no alohol.I have NEVER had such bad service at any Resort that we have visited, all-inclusive/ none all-inclusive. All of the staff with the exception of a small few catered to the Caucasian and Spanish speaking guest (neither of which categories we fit into). I counted for every 5 times a service staff member asked or provided a Caucasian or Spanish speaking guest service we were asked or provided service 1 time. A lot more to say not enough space.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Good place to stay. It grew on us

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The food (especially Chez Isabella's) The pool (swim up bar is the best) Beach amenities
Cons: Update the rooms a bit Be more friendly Either get rid of the casino or run it like a casino
Location: The horseback riding that is free. It's only about 30 minutes and is included with the resort. If you don't do a lot of riding, 30 minutes is enough
We've stayed at other all inclusive resorts before and at first we were a little disappointed. The facility itself is older and in need of some repairs. When we got to our room, it smelled a little like soil. I think the humidity combined with the garden area caused that. It was a clean room with an older (possibly 80's) decor but that didn't bother us. We're there to relax... Not critic the decor. The staff was not rude but not overly friendly either. They didn't become friendly until they got to know us and realized that we tipped. Once you tipped them, they would fall over to be friendly to you. The swim up bar was great! It was a great place to meet people and have some drinks. The food was probably better than any other all inclusive. The buffet wasn't great but they usually aren't. The Lobster House was 9/10 especially for breakfast... Spice was 9/10... and Chez Isabella's is a 10/10!! We either didn't visit the others or they were just OK. The shows were decent but nothing to write home about. If you're going for the casino, you're booking the wrong place. First, it is small with only a couple tables and the dealers were the epitome of unfriendly. It appeared that they all hated their job and didn't portray and atmosphere that made it fun to gamble.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
It is a second rate facility - not terrible, but not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Excellent.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
The flight on United Airline was terrible. You had to pay for everything from luggage check, to meals on the flight. However, the return flight was on Copa Airline and it was great! Punta Cana Excellent Resort was the best. The resort was paradise on earth!