Ratings based on 1,581 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hilliard, Ohio

Great stay

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Nice vacation without any kids...food was average at best, but we pretty much expected that and were not upset by it. Would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom ontario canada

PERFECTION

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location.....dining.....staff.....fantastic accomodations...and great entertainment
Cons: I don't think so
Location: Location is private so no armbands etc are necessary. We stay at the resort but there are many tours etc available for those who want them.
The quality of service is fantastic. The resort is beautiful. Dinner is all a la carte and there are no reservations required....which is wonderful.....and eight restaurants to choose from. We have been to the Excellence Punta Cana 5 times and plan to return next year. Once you find the best......why keep looking!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jacksonville, FL

Excellente!

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Use the smoke machine less in the shows.
Location: We did the Outback Safari Adventure and really enjoyed it. There is a lot more we could have done but chose to enjoy the resort.
We have been to several all-inclusive resorts and the Excellence has been the best! The grounds are absolutely beautiful and well-maintained. We read so many reviews comparing resorts and this one seemed to be recommended time and time again and now we know why. Some of the reviews complained about the food but we found it to be great. The breakfast and lunch buffet had more than you could ask for and the restaurants were great. We especially liked Chez Isabelle and The Lobster House. We didn't get to try Spice but several guests said it was wonderful. The ocean on this side of the island is indeed rough but so beautiful to look at from your beach hut! The pools were awesome, one "party" pool and one quiet cascade pool. Be sure to stake your claim to your beach/pool chairs with a towel in the morning so you get a good spot! The evening shows were wonderful, great performers. We did one excursion, the Outback Safari Adventure that took us into the mountains (not for those who get carsick) and showed us the "real Dominican Republic" and that was great! We learned a ton about the history of the island. The staff is very helpful and quick to please. We will definitely visit the Excellence again, maybe at another island as we heard they maintain the quality at all their locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Exceptional hotel with delicious food

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Food, availability of facilities, cleanliness, friendliness of staff
Cons: Don't make tipping a thing - have it included in the price.
Location: A bit far from the airport but worth the drive, it is expensive though $70US per way.
Friendly staff that made you feel welcome although you do feel a need to constantly tip for service. The food was exceptional at all the restaurants with great unique variety. Facilities were almost always available, and I like how cabanas are included you just need to be able to get one (first come first serve). The bar and restrooms were easily accessible. The pools were lovely with a great design. The night time entertainment was great. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. There were no mosquitoes at this resort compared to another one we were at. The water at the beach has a lot of waves at the time we went, but beautiful beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

The Best Vacation!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Cons: If I had to change one thing, I wish the disco would have opened before 11 PM.
Location: There were little shops on the beach and stores on the hotel property. There were also daily excursions available.
The staff was so accommodating and polite. All services were timely and on point. When we arrived we were greeted with champagne and then our bags were taken to our room for us. The pool and beach drink service was prompt and they were always polite. The food was great and there were so many options of types of food to order at each restaurant. The rooms were fantastic! Plenty of space and comfortable beds with a full fridge of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. AND THE ROOM SERVICE! So many options and always available. It was one of the best times of my life.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great trip

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Staff was very accommodating
Cons: I did not have a bad meal, but food was not over the top.
Location: Pretty much stayed at the hotel, only three days and just went to relax.
First experience with all inclusive, Staff was fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay here!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
This place was top-notch. People are truly warm, happy and welcoming. Everyone went out of their way to make our experience there a great one. The entire resort is beautiful, clean and friendly. Food was plentiful everywhere, and very good. I'm a vegan and didn't have any issues finding many foods to choose from, and neither did my carnivore friends. There are resorts, and then there are resorts...stay at this one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom F

Great value

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Well done minus the food. Quality is lost in range. They have Asian/Mediterranean /Italian/French/ Mexican that was awful. I had to spit out my food on several occasions. The basics they are hard to mess up during breakfast was fine. Simple foods at lunch buffet was adequate. We had to eat a lot of pizza. Dinner was very difficult. Simpler the better
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Ga

Nice resort

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The resort was very nice but there were a few downfalls. -the bed was very uncomfortable with sheets that could not be higher than a 75 thread count and springs poking through the mattress -the food was extremely salty. I was with a large group and we all experienced food we could not even eat. Other than the salt issue, we were overall disappointed in the quality of the food. The Asian restaurant, Spice, was incredible! -there was a moldy smell coming from the nightstand. I had to lay with my head facing the other direction to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Medina, Ohio

Accommodations are Amazing

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Beautiful Location, The hotel grounds were beautifully landscaped and maintained. It is cleaner than clean, even the public area restrooms!
Cons: Some of the bar drinks were overly sweet. You have to find the right one for you or drink beer or champagne.
Location: There were plenty of excursions offered, including horseback riding on the beach and snorkeling.
The overall atmosphere and feel of the resort was luxurious and upscale. The hotel is beautiful. It is clean and spacious and comfortable. The pool is the cleanest I have ever seen. The beach is beautiful. The grounds are immaculate. Our room, which opened up onto the gazebo area with the ocean beyond was sensational. I could have spent as much time sitting on the patio outside my room or laying on my own personal hammock by the sea reading as I did at the pool. The staff at most of the restaurants is attentive and the service overall is very good. There is entertainment every night that you can attend or go to the sports bar and play pool or ping pong or watch you favorite team in the hockey playoffs. The casino is also open for the guest's entertainment. There are many restaurants and bars to choose from to fulfill every appetite. I will go back again without hesitation. Planning a trip with family for next year back to The Excellence.