Ratings based on 1,441 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, OH

Great relaxing super friendly stay

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Hotel is really beautiful, staff is over the moon, super friendly and so wanting to make you feel like home and super helpful. The hotel has wifi avaliable around the entire hotel which was really nice. The room was stunning! very nice, roomy and comfortable!! Very nice stay. The only two things why I didn't give it a rate 5 was 1 the beach was wavy and I really like really calm beaches...didn't help that it rain several of our days of our short stay The second thing was the bed...I could not get used to the bed and feel really comfy in it. Food was outstanding, mini bar in the room was great and all inclusive as well. Lots of activities to do during the day as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Resort is Aging

Posted Dec 19, 2014
There comes a point in the age every resort that it needs a lot of maintenance attention. Some of the resort was being renovated while we were staying there. Would rather go to a newer resort next time that was all open and the sound of construction during the day was not present.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida

nice hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: the entertainment was good
Cons: the casino is way to small and no crap table
Location: there is nothing to go to unless you want to pay 30 dollars each way, some of the sights like zip line riding is 11/2 hour ride one way
the only thing they should improve on is there food, and clean up the shower area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom TORONTO ONTARIO

OUR WEEK AT THE EXCELLENCE PUNTA CANA

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: THE PEOPLE AND ROOMS WERE VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE
Cons: INDICATED ABOVE
Location: NEVER LEFT THE RESORT TO VENTURE
WE HAD A GREAT TIME: GREAT WEATHER, GREAT STAFF AND MET GREAT PEOPLE. DESPITE THE FOLLOWING: * COLD FOOD AND LIMITED SELECTION * CONSTRUCTION ZONE NEAR OUR ROOM (LAST BUILDING BY THE WAY AND LONG WALK - 12) (not informed prior to trip) THUS THE "THREE" RATING * NEED MORE STAFF TO SPEAK GOOD ENGLISH
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2014
We had a great trip for my bday long weekend. The service at the French restaurant was impeccible. They made my bday dinner special from the first glass if wine to the beautiful dessert. The entire staff was always happy and always greeted you with a smile and hello no matter where you were. I would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Nice hotel, all-inclusive, close to the beach, has nice park with wild animals (e.g. flamingos, parrots, etc.).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Excellent

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: How clean it was and how nice the service was.
Cons: Later hours for the pool.
Location: it was great, it was not next to another resort.
If they were not waiting on you they we cleaning. Unbelievable how nice this place is. Only one complaint is that I wish the pool would have been open later. Otherwise everything was excellent and my husband and I plan on going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Lovely grounds, great amenities, beautiful beach.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: The staff were all courteous and friendly from the moment we arrived to the moment we departed. The grounds were well kept and pleasant to explore.
Cons: The king size bed could be plusher. Better warning and information about daily fumigation for mosquitos. The tennis courts all need resurfacing.
Location: I didn't explore much beyond the compound but loved long walks on the beach. Also enjoyed a visit to a nearby ranch during the organized bike tour.
Excellence Resort was recommended to me by a friend and am very glad my partner and I went. We thoroughly enjoyed four nights and five days of carefree living! All our needs were provided for by the hotel and its fabulous staff. Had perfect weather for many of our favorite activities - tennis, swimming (in the sea and the pools), beach walks, yoga (on the beach!), a bike ride and reading and birdwatching on our personal hammock, overlooking a serene garden filled with beautiful palms and other tropical plants. Star gazing and watching the moon rise on the Atlantic, to the tune of waves rolling into the shore was truly divine. The entertainment was fun and the Circus show was frankly, amazing! Dinners on the beach were particularly lovely and provided nice opportunities to meet and talk to fellow guests. In general, the food was not exceptional but it always hit the spot and provided plenty of variety. Also important to me: there were decent meal options for vegetarians.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Good but not excellent

Posted Dec 13, 2014
We had a wonderful 5 days of weather, and service from the staff. The issues were the aging facilities, a running toilet and no room upgrades available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Excellence Punta Cana

Posted Dec 11, 2014
i highly recommend The Excellence. The resort thought of everything. They were kind and courteous. Anything we wanted, they provided. The resort was spotless. We would definitely return.