Ratings based on 1,131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Resort

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Everything about this place was good. Staff were friendly and aways looking to help. Beach was beautiful. Only wish the food was better. Was OK but not what I had hoped for from a 5 star resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from New York

Beautiful resort

Posted Apr 23, 2014
It was a very relaxing & beautiful resort. There is a lot of entertainment if you like. If not you can just enjoy on your own.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by vince from pennsylvania

Had a wonderful time

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: no problems
Location: walk the beach. I never left the property.
all restaurants were great. No wait. No reservations needed. Bars and room had all premium liquors. Presidente beer was good. I took the private transportation to and from the airport. Didn't have to stop at all the hotels. 35 minute drive to the hotel. Beautiful ecological park on the grounds. Adults only. No need to reserve chairs at pool or on the beach. Large palm tree plantation next to property with another beautiful beach and calm waters. Shows every night . Disco, casino. 24 hour room service. Last restaurant open to 2AM. Dominican night on the beach. Managers cocktail party. Pool soire party.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Excellent! Better than expected!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
This was our third time at an Excellance Hotel, first time in Punta Cana. Slightly older resort and the rooms were in need of some updating. However the beach, service and grounds could not have been better. Food was fabulous and every dinner was impressive. Looking forward to going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

25th Wedding Anniversary

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Attention to detail, great staff, the bartenders, you can have as many towels as you want, the food was very good and the cocktails delicious!!
Cons: Rooms slightly outdated, but not there to sit in the room ;)
Location: We stayed on the resort. Hubby went deep sea fishing and had a nice time.
This was our 25th wedding anniversary and we had a fabulous time. The resort is absolutely beautiful and they put a great deal of thought into detail and making sure their guests are pampered and well taken care of. The activities everyday are unique and fun and you can participate or just lounge. We will definitely return. Couldn't have asked for more! Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tyler from florida

Lives up to the name

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Went for my honey moon and loved every second! Can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff

Posted Apr 13, 2014
I strongly recommend this resort. I loved that it's adults only. The staff go way out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. My only negative comment is that the beds are way too firm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Not sure why everyone rates them so highly

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Nice staff, large clean beach with rough water. Oddly decorated rooms but comfortable beds. Alcohol is plentiful but they should spend more of their resources on food, because it's flavorless. Would not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jon from Indianapolis, IN, USA

As advertised, high service level, clean, fun

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Pool, beach and entertainment.
Cons: The transfer process, they just use a taxi service, the driver drove significantly over the speed limit and passed on double yellow line roads.
Location: Stay on the property, plenty of enjoyment to be had there.
Great stay, lots of fun, clean, good food, good service, no high pressure sales for time share or other things. Just a relaxing fun place to be. Beach is clean, beautiful and peaceful, tons of room at the pool. Entertainment in the evenings was outstanding, the Brazil and Circus shows are way better than I expected from entertainment at a resort. Only thing to be prepared for is that it is almost the furthest resort away from the airport so allow plenty of time to get to the airport and through security and customs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Westchester County, NY

Wonderful Resort

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Cons: The food. And the wine was terrible. Even with Excellence Club, there is no wine upgrade. I understand they are working on this.
My husband and I just got back from staying at Excellence, Punta Cana. We had such a nice time and the place is really beautiful and clean. Staff are friendly…give or take a few who you can tell really don’t want to be there. Our room was lovely…room 7601 Excellence Suite with ocean view was fantastic and spacious. My only complaint about the trip and I understand this is the case for anywhere in DR, was the food. It just tastes so strange and different from the States. It’s not bad, it’s just different. We certainly did not go hungry. I’m just saying for my next vacation I’d prefer to spend a few extra dollars for good food. But I think everyone should experience a trip to the DR for themselves and decide as ultimately we had a very nice time. Lastly, don’t bother upgrading to Excellence Club. It is so not worth it. We actually feel a little ripped off in that regard but oh well.