Ratings based on 1,334 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleve, oh

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Beautiful location and attractions at the resort. Plenty of restaurant options and food choices. The room was great with everything needed. The only thing I would suggest to the staff is to have better quality of bed (ours was too firm). Entertainment was planned for each day which was fantastic! The staff really made you feel welcome and made every effort to accommodate needs. Beautiful pool and beach areas. Everything you needed and then some.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun vacation

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Beautiful hotel grounds. Staff is overall very nice, some more than others. Food isn't the best but you won't go hungry. Beach/ocean is pretty but not somewhere you will spend a lot of time. Overall very good vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City Missouri

Posted Oct 16, 2014
great hotel excellent staff very friendly it was a dream vacationand the activities staff was excellence Julio very good Spanish teacher a very fun time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Stay away

Posted Oct 16, 2014
All of the pictures and advertising were misleading. This place needed a lot of maintainence. No private beach for the excellence club. Food was hit or miss, mostly miss and service was slow. Will not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Livermore,CA

10 day stay at Excellence Punta Cana

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Everything at my own pace, no reservations required
Cons: Beds, make them more comfortable
Location: Wasn't able to venture out due to a knee replacement
Just returned from a 9 night stay. Hotel was a beautiful resort on the beach. Location: Surf is rough and is not suited for swimming. Pool areas are very nice and clean. You do have to get up early to 'save a spot' even though they say this is not allowed. If you don't, you will not have a place with shade. Beds at the pools along with loungers go very fast. Food: several restaraunts to choose from each day with NO reservations required. This makes it very easy to vacation at your own pace. We enjoyed the French restaraunt the best. They have pate', steak tartare and escargot! Portions are very small but you may order as much as you would like. We didn't try the Mexican as the menu just didn't appeal to us. Lobster house serves warm water lobsters several ways. Some people didn't like them but they are not used to warm water lobster. We enjoyed them. A group of 4 guys next to us ordered 5 lobsters each. Once again, all you want! I cannot speak to breakfast outside of the room service menu. We are not big breakfast eaters. What we did have brought up was just fine. Mostly cereals and eggs. Service: staff was incredibly friendly and you felt that they wanted you to enjoy yourself. Not one rude server our entire time. We are tippers, many people who stayed at the resort were not and I noticed they received the same pleasant service. We simply chose to tip. Gift shop: $42 for a tube of sunblock!!! Avoid gift shop at all costs. And the end of the shopping row on the resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Amboy, New Jersey

This experience has been incredible.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Fun layout with pools and swim up pool. Gorgeous view of the ocean and beach.
Cons: More comfortable beds.
Location: Horseback riding was a fun excursion.
Friendly staff and fun activities set in paradise sets the foundation for a relaxing and fun vacation. We also met so many great people at the resort. I went with my two single female friends and we had a blast. This resort was predominately couples at the times we were there, but we had a great time, nevertheless. I wished the bed was more comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and convenient hotel.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Liked having everything at my fingertips and not having to leave the resort if I didn't want to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Punta Cana Excellence

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The "Excellence" was more beautiful than the pictures on the website! The staff was attentive, friendly, and fun. The facilities were beautiful and well maintained. A large variety of restaurants to please everyone. The evening entertainment was lively and adult oriented. We were sad to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Perfect honeymoon resort!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The resort was perfect for our honeymoon! We were given a romantic dinner, champagne breakfast and free horseback riding on the beach because it was our honeymoon! The resort was gorgeous and very well cared for and the staff were beyond accommodating. The food was excellent and the service was amazing. I would recommend this resort to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Honeymoon excellence

Posted Oct 13, 2014
My husband and I had a wonderful experience staying at Excellence Punta Cana! From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with smiling faces and a cold beverage. The staff took care of everything we needed in addition to making us feel special with the typical honeymoon perks. We chose Excellence after talking to many friends who have honeymooned in the Dominican at other resorts but chose Excellence because it was adults only, many options for free entertainment, and all the other positive reviews we had read. Our travel agent helped us set up excursions but even if you dont want to leave the resort, there is plenty to do or just laying in the pool or on the beach was great too! Friends had told us the food at all-inclusive resorts gets old but not here. There is so much tasty food options we were sad we didnt get a chance to try them all. Now that we are back, we are already exploring the idea of trying other Excellence resorts. I would definitely recommend this resort to others.