Ratings based on 1,651 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newark, NJ

Everything was Excellente!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The employees, the pools, and the Grille restaurant.
My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Excellence hotel. From laying at the pool then switching to the beach it was truly a relaxing time. Our room was beautiful but I had to get used to the see through shower (I was glad you could only see from the chest up though :) Lol Maid service was great everything was always restocked and cleaned a few times a day. The jacuzzi in the room was also a bonus. Everything was very laid back so I felt no pressure to do anything strenuous and no one was was pushy or trying to sell me anything. I was asked about excursions once and simply said no thank you and went back to my sipping and lounging. On my last day there I decided to do a little some thing and I have to say Cappacino was the best leading the Zumba aerobics in the pool. I also had him during a bike tour which was also great! Name that Song and Artist had the whole pool was also a great time. And I even had a Spanish and jewelry making class. Their employees are very friendly and enthusiastic when it came to activities. The food was great! We went to the Grille the most but enjoyed the other restaurants too. Stephani impressed us by always remembering us when we switched up in restaurants and she always made sure to speak to us in Espanol so we could learn the language. We would definitely come back here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Excellence

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Welcoming staff, huge rooms, secluded beach, endless food and drink
Cons: Tough to do, but the speed of room service could possibly be improved.
Location: Didn't do much outside the hotel, however, there were plenty of tours and other activties through the hotel or travel company that looked pretty cool.
Spent an entire, amazing week here for our honeymoon, and we absolutely loved it. It was beautiful, the staff was "excellente," the endless food and drink are incredible and diet-inducing, etc. Perfect for couples looking for a getaway. They had fun and interactive shows every night, but your options for entertainment were much more than just that. All in all, if you want a romantic Caribbean island getaway with your S.O., then I highly suggest this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Overall

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location is good. 30ish minutes from airport
Cons: evening shows could be better and consistency with drink quality & availability
Good overall experience. The evening shows leave a little to be desired, but entertaining nonetheless. Would've liked to have not been approached so much about outside excursions. Those guys were pretty relentless unless you were very firm with them. Restaurants were all very good and practically no wait for seating. Drinks were hit & miss depending on which bar you went to. Go find Omar if you want good drinks. The pool bar is where we spent most of our time. It's nice but a little small, but has a great bar keep named Kindri (spelling?)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
My vacation was fantastic - staff was wonderful, activities were fun, and the food was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Excellente

Posted Jun 28, 2015
My new husband and I went for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with glasses of champagne. Everyone at check-in told us "welcome home." The resort is beautiful, clean and constantly manicured but what really made us fall in love with Excellence was how warm and friendly the staff are and the superb 5 star restaurants. We will be returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh pa

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Be careful when going on an excursion, what is explained is not always what you will experience. We were told it was a 4 hour time which turned out to be 3.5 hours. 30 minute ride but with all the stops to pick up everyone at other resorts it took 1.5 hours Massage was to be 20 minutes but was 15 minutes just to give you examples. Activities at resort was great and relaxing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Just what we were looking for in our price bracket

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: We stayed in the mountain view (non-club level) room, it had a hammock that faced a a walkway so very few people walked by when I need to escape.
Cons: The restaurants at night require long pants for men, oops, we forgot, but they provided a pair for my husband. We also spend $25 for sunscreen.
Location: I also want to give a shout out to Gone Fishing Expedition that I booked on EXPEDIA before we left. We caught 8 fish, 6 mahi, 1 bonita, 1 baraccuda
I would just say that I have stayed many resorts so a rating of 4 may be just what you are looking for in this price bracket. It was out 10-year anniversary and it was perfect. I would say the food was about 3.5 rating, the first day we stopped at the outdoor Grill for lunch, very dry & bland. But we soon found out the beach Grill was the way to go for a better option. My opinion is to go to Tuscona for breakfast buffet and venture to the omelet station for a fresher option. Tuscona also does lunch buffet with sushi, that hit the spot for me. For dinner, avoid outside in the early hours because of the bugs, except the beach Dominican dinner, there was enough wind to keep them away. Everyone was raving about Spice and maybe we go the wrong thing, it was ok. Barcelona really did a great job. And the Lobster house was a nice snack after the show. We probably tipped more than we needed to but all the staff was so wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon

Posted Jun 21, 2015
We had our honeymoon here and it was amazing. From the time we stepped out of our cab on arrival to the time we left we were happy with everything the resort had to offer. We will definitely stay at one of their other resorts in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Beach

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Front desk manager tried to charge us 3.5 times more than we quoted originally. This for the upgrade to Excellence Club. We were upset!!!! Left, went to our room. The next day went to the front desk spoke to someone else he upgrade us for the original price. If your a beach person the Excellence Club is worth it. If you just hang around the pool it is not. The hotel is older but well maintained. Excellence side of beach seaweed was removed, non Excellence it was not . Visit the beach before deciding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

"Cant miss" resort

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Rooms were great, mattress was wonderful. Shower had a window to the bed, was great. Our room was always clean and ready. Food was excellent.
Cons: I guess my only complaint would be the solicitations for excursions. There are plenty of spots for booking them on the premises.
Location: Went diving near Catalina Island, great spot. Love Scubavaro.....
We had so much fun, great beach, pool, rooms, bars, & restaurants. Every night I had a new favorite restaurant. We booked the garden view room and we were very please. There's a big Jacuzzi tub in the room, very nice shower, back patio to beautiful little back yard with hammock. The staff is awesome, they kept us on our toes all week. Shout out to Marco, Argenis, Chely, and Werlyn. Entertainment every night. There's a casino on site but I'm not a gambler. Our Expedia agent on site was Jose, he was very helpful with excursions and transports. I can't get back soon enough.