Ratings based on 1,130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tyler from florida

Lives up to the name

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Went for my honey moon and loved every second! Can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff

Posted Apr 13, 2014
I strongly recommend this resort. I loved that it's adults only. The staff go way out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. My only negative comment is that the beds are way too firm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jon from Indianapolis, IN, USA

As advertised, high service level, clean, fun

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Pool, beach and entertainment.
Cons: The transfer process, they just use a taxi service, the driver drove significantly over the speed limit and passed on double yellow line roads.
Location: Stay on the property, plenty of enjoyment to be had there.
Great stay, lots of fun, clean, good food, good service, no high pressure sales for time share or other things. Just a relaxing fun place to be. Beach is clean, beautiful and peaceful, tons of room at the pool. Entertainment in the evenings was outstanding, the Brazil and Circus shows are way better than I expected from entertainment at a resort. Only thing to be prepared for is that it is almost the furthest resort away from the airport so allow plenty of time to get to the airport and through security and customs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Westchester County, NY

Wonderful Resort

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Cons: The food. And the wine was terrible. Even with Excellence Club, there is no wine upgrade. I understand they are working on this.
My husband and I just got back from staying at Excellence, Punta Cana. We had such a nice time and the place is really beautiful and clean. Staff are friendly…give or take a few who you can tell really don’t want to be there. Our room was lovely…room 7601 Excellence Suite with ocean view was fantastic and spacious. My only complaint about the trip and I understand this is the case for anywhere in DR, was the food. It just tastes so strange and different from the States. It’s not bad, it’s just different. We certainly did not go hungry. I’m just saying for my next vacation I’d prefer to spend a few extra dollars for good food. But I think everyone should experience a trip to the DR for themselves and decide as ultimately we had a very nice time. Lastly, don’t bother upgrading to Excellence Club. It is so not worth it. We actually feel a little ripped off in that regard but oh well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great isolated spot for adults

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Beach, drinks, entertainment
Location: Enough excursion nearby to keep you plenty busy including go kart buggies, horse back riding, bicycling, snorkeling, kayaking....
Very relaxing environment with a great beach. Adults only is an excellent choice if you'd like to avoid kids and larger crowds. Food was about average abut that was expected. Staff was great, friendly and put on good entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a honeymoon.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Everything was pretty awesome, 2 downsides: do not go to the "Lobster House", the food is just terrible (there are a lot of other options down there). And - there is a window from the bathroom to the living room :0 BIG window. Oh, despite what Expedia says - they do not have rooms with 2 beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Charlotte, NC

I can't think of one bad thing to say

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: I loved having such a wide variety of restaurants. There were 9 restaurants and I loved each one we visited. staff was outstanding.
Cons: I guess I would say the location but it was only about a 40 minute drive which was no big deal
Location: Golf was not far away. We didn't do anything else outside the resort (didn't care to)
Staff was over the top. All very helpful and friendly. Food was awesome! Bar service by the pool was great. My wifes birthday was during our stay and the staff overheard us talking about it and when we got to our room that evening there were balloons and a cake. Same thing that night at dinner - they prepared a special dinner for us and had another cake at dinner with my wife's name on it. I requested none of this. They just took the initiative. We just loved this place. The resort was beautiful, clean, well maintained and had a great view of the ocean from the pool.
4 out of 5
by Mickie from New England USA

2nd Visit not as Pleasing

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff, the layout of the resort, and the cleanliness.
Cons: The food quality and their presentations. Evening entertainment.
Location: Resort takes about 45 minutes direct by cab from airport. Located on the northwest side of Punta Cana, it is much more private than a lot of resorts.
Cannot top the friendliness of the staff, but then most all people native to the DR are that way in nature. This is my wife's and my second stay at this resort spanning about 6 years from the first visit when the resort was fairly new. Comparing the initial stay to this stay, we noticed the condition of the buildings and facilities are now showing their wear and age. The food is definitely lesser in quality, and what we would rate as only fair. Evening entertainment is also of a lesser caliber than our previous visit. Some shows exhibited talent and others not so much. We did enjoy our stay though. The cleanliness and great attitudes of the people working there make up for a lot. Note for people going to enjoy the ocean for swimming and body surfing. This resorts location may have one of the most inviting and private beaches around, however due to the large surf and huge undertows that exist there, the resort closes the swimming down most of the time. This occurred during both of our visits. Pool side is much hotter due to the reduced sea breeze, but at least you can get refreshed in the pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Youngstown, New York

Fabulous resort. We will be going back.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Absolutely a great experience. Loved every minute of our stay. Great food, people and view. Only complaint was hard bed but found out you can request a pillow top which I would recommend. 5 star......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent resort, you won't be disappointed!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The pool and swim up bar were tons of fun, grounds were immaculate, and the staff went out of their way to be helpful.
Cons: The food could have been better. Nothing was ever bad, but nothing outstanding either. Breakfast/lunch were good, dinner was ok all 4 days.
Location: a bit of a ride from the airport, but not too bad. Left the resort once to play golf but that's it.
Went on a group trip for a few friends all turning 40 this year. The resort went above and beyond in making sure we had a great trip. We were always greeted with smiles and enthusiasm that really made you feel welcome. There were many special things the staff did to help us celebrate including sea side dinner with a special birthday cake, champagne shower at the pool side bar singing happy birthday, and special room decorations for the birthday girl. The resort was beautiful, but the entire staff really helped make our trip awesome.