Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2015
It is a really big resort full of activities lots of pools and nightlife.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte

Grand Bahia Bavaro

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Beach, pool, pool bartenders
Cons: Buffet food gets old, towel guy pretty cranky, room slow to be cleaned, HUGE property!
Location: N/A
We went for a 40th birthday celebration as a couple. We enjoyed ourselves, but I would not stay there again. Pro's - the Dominican Republic is pretty and the weather was great for us, clean room, a la carte steakhouse was good (make reservations upon arrival!), common area maintenace is top notch!, Las Olas beach snackbar - location was great and baked chicken was good (this first 4 times we had it) Con's - the place is HUGE, over 7000 guests were there - walking or shuttles, staff doesn't make eye contact, room wasn't cleaned until later in the day if at all (we had to call once just to get towels and water, buffet gets old FAST and the room smells odd. I read the reviews before I booked it, and our stay was consistent with what I had read. Some people have loved it and others were just so, so. I stayed at the Barcelo Bavaro 2 years ago and would book that over the Grand Bahia ANY DAY!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Overall it wasn't bad

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Overall we had a good time and enjoyed the close proximity to the beach. The food was just ok (Barbeque Buffet was the best) but the resort staff was friendly. The bed in our room was hard as a rock which made it very uncomfortable to sleep. Wash clothes must be a hot commodity there because they will not give them to you without asking. The same goes for a floor towel for the shower. The room had a cold feeling and was dark. The irons don't work, we asked for a few. The resort is huge but the shuttle service is great so you don't have to worry about a ton of walking. There is a bit of a language barrier with the staff but you will make due just fine. The next time I visit I will try another resort but we still had a great time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Beautiful hotel, very clean and impressive

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Loved the resort. Very clean and tidy. Employees very friendly and helpful. Nice entertainment in theater and lobby. Welcoming place to socialize
Cons: I did have to ask questions about making dinner reservations and getting a safe. I think they should have offered this information when I checked in
Location: Great location on the beach. Fun excursions available in the area. Otherwise we didn't leave the hotel.
We had a wonderful time. Loved the atmosphere, the resort , and the people. Definitely a relaxing and fun vacation. Hard to leave, definitely recommend going to the resort and I would return again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Nice resort

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: The staff and how friendly and willing they were to help you.
Cons: A little stronger drinks, pool opened a little longer, better food
Location: We did horseback riding and jeep tour. Jeep tour was okay, horseback riding on the beach awesome
Nice resort, can get lost easy enough, needs more night life activities not much to do after 9. Did not like the pushy souvenir shop salespeople, did find one shop that had prices on things and she made us feel welcomed in her store in the Tropican area. Pool closes at 6, been nice if opened a little longer. Food was average especially the buffets, not sure what kind of bacon but hard to chew and food was always warm if not cold. The Dominican restraunt was awesome, I didn't care for there food so Julio took me to the buffet and brought my plate back so I could eat with my spouse and friends who enjoyed there food. They kept the beach nice and clean, didn't check any of the water activities. All in all nice resort, friendly staff easy to understand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

A decent stay - I would give it a 3.5 overall

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Beach, pools, staff
Cons: Buffet, drinks, bed/pillows, cleanliness of room
Location: I didn't really leave the resort except to go to some shops down the beach. Pushiest salespeople EVER. I don't recommend it.
I stayed here in January 2015. First, the pros... The hotel staff were very friendly. They initiated conversation in Spanish, but I never had any trouble communicating with them in English (though I did use some Spanish). The beach at this hotel was very nice. However, when I walked down the beach, I noticed large accumulations of seaweed on the beach and in the water near other resorts further down. So that made me very glad I stayed here! The pools were also very nice. The chairs at the beach and pools fill up very quickly in the mornings so try to reserve chairs by 9am. The spa was very nice and relaxing, but nothing special (and prices comparable to spas in US). We were able to get reservations at 2 restaurants since we stayed 5 days. I definitely recommend this. We ate at the Dominican and Mediterranean restaurants. I wouldn't say the food was exceptional, but it was much better than the buffet. You need to make these reservations the first day you're there though - they fill up quickly! Now the cons... The buffet food was mediocre at best. It took me a day to even really be able to eat any of it. By then I figured out what to avoid. It just tasted "off." Although the drinks were all included, they must water them down in the bottle because I barely got a buzz and I drank a LOT. And I'm a small girl...I get buzzed after 2 drinks usually. The bed/pillows weren't very comfortable and I don't think they did a very good job cleaning the floors in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit, Michigan

Great resort, don't listen to the negative reviews

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Location: The trip to Sanona Island trip is a must! The most beautiful beach I have ever been to.
This was my first trip to Punta Cana. I have traveled to Mexico numerous times and stayed at all inclusive. This resort is huge but in a good way. The resort always has shuttles running and are always available. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. There are bars everywhere and the bartenders are always friendly. The food at the buffet is good but gets old after a while. The Japanese restaurant is very good and the Mexican restaurant is very good. The beach is beautiful and clean. The pools are nice and clean and the pool bars are fun during the day. Overall, I have nothing negative to say about the Bahia Principe Bavaro. I read a lot of negative reviews about the resort, and really don't understand how anyone could complain about this resort for the price. Very enjoyable week in Punta Cana!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

All Inclusive First Timers

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The lobby was impressive. The "boogie nights" entertainment on the patio was fun, guys did a great job. Grounds were beautifully maintained.
The weather, beach and magnificent pools made this a trip well worth it. The hotel, as mentioned previously in other posts, is dated but you pay for what you get but all in all they did a great job. The grounds are immaculate and the numerous pools are amazing. We brought our 6 year old daughter and had a blast at the kids water park on site. Mini golf is outdated and weather worn but something fun for the kids out of the sun if necessary. The shuttle service was super and fun and helpful as the resort is very big. The beach cafes for lunch were predictable but again, the weather made it all worth it. This resort is full of every nationality and they seem to represent that with their food selection. It is buffet. If you book, shoot off an email before hand making reservations at their restaurants. We would not recommend the Mediterranean (fish) but the hibachi Japanese place was great and the Santa Fe was also very good! Beach was awesome, clean and pristine! Warm water, sandy bottom. Wind was a factor the first two days...we brought a kite! Rooms were clean but the facilities are dated and worn but the cleaning staff did a great job. (Ameida was awesome!) We brought $100 in dollar bills to tip and it worked really well. I think the staff work really hard to make the experience personal and friendly...there were some, like the pasta bar chef, he was intimidating and not very friendly but everyone else was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, VA

Excellent

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The exercise room, the gymn. the number of machines and the space needs to increase.
Location: The hotel locatio is very good for relaxing -- we did not explore outside the hotel.
The hotel is excellent. My family has enjoyed the stay and would not like to return home. we loved it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Beautiful Area

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: All inclusive.
Cons: Food quality and more variety of entertainment
Location: We didn't go out of the hotel. Everything was there for us.
My wife and I only spend five days. Inside transportation was good. Everybody in the stuff very friendly. We enjoy the beach & the pool area.