Ratings based on 1,140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: The staff was nice especially Johanna & Jose at the front desk. Odris in guest services and Graciela and Santos at the hotel bar.
Cons: Unless you were able to eat at the reserved restaurants, the buffet food was horrible. There were no food options at the pools. The rooms had an odor.
Location: From the ride to the resort, it didn't look safe so we did not leave the resort
The resort was resort was mostly for older adults and people with kids. If you are travel as singles, I wouln't recommend. You get certain privileges based on your wrist band color. The first night we had to change our rooms because of a horrible odor. They changed our room with no problem but it was an inconvenience. There were limited restaurants and you had to have a reservation made on your first night or you couldn't get into them. The buffet food was horrible. We had to get up early to save a place at the beach and pools. But, if you want to simply enjoy the sun and layout at the beach or pool, this is the place for you. It was overpriced and overall the place underdelivered.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Food and evening show.
Cons: Need to treat mosquitos.
Location: Golf
Pros. - Food was very good - Drink was good - Evening shows were good - Convenient trolley service Cons. - The beach was too crowded and couldn't get the chair - We had a lot of mosquito bites at the theatre and outdoor restaurant (Dominicano) - Bathroom towel service was not good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More like a town than a hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Overall a very nice place but was so big you almost feel lost. The shuttles take you back and forth to the beach but just not very convenient especially if you forgot something in your room...... Food was not great. Booze was watered down. The beach and pools were beautiful but there was massive amounts of seaweed that washed up on shore daily and workers spent most of the day raking and bagging it up leaving most of the bags laying on the beach until the large truck road passed to load it up...... Would not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel. Some rooms smelled moldy.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
We got upgraded to the Esmarelda Hotel because the Punta Cana was overbooked. It was beatiful and luxurious. My only complain is the smell in some of the rooms. There was mildew smell in the first room we were in so we asked to move out of the room. We were switched to another room that had a mild smell of mildew. Not sure if the smell is because we were really close to the ocean. Our friends who were staying in a different room did not have any issues with the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Big resort, overcrowded, beach area cannot fit all

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: main restaurant, food variety and food quality
Cons: Reduce guest rooms number.
Location: Tennis courts are in very bad condition
I’m very disappointed. Instead of relaxing beach vacation, we had problems every day. Beach is overcrowded, no privacy, sunbeds (beach chairs) are next to each other. People reserve sunbeds starting 7:00 a.m. – this is prohibited by hotel policy but not forced. If you are not on the beach by 9:00 a.m., you are out for a day. The same rules apply to the pool areas. We had got beach towels on the third day, they always not available. They built too many houses, too many rooms and not enough facilities. Tennis courts are in very bad condition, “tennis professional” is entry level player. Only one thing was good, main restaurant, food variety and food quality. We had no complains. Of cause, sun, ocean is pleasant, weather was good and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Much nicer places for the $

Posted Jan 21, 2015
All was ok when I arrived. I got in around 9p and I still received a great reception with a frozen cocktail. The rooms were ok. The food was edible but nothing write home about. stayed at Paradisus in PUJ before and the food was better quality. The daily entertainment and shows helped us forget about the Salty food in the specialty restaurants or the bland food in the main dining hall. This could have occurred at any all inclusive. It is really the luck of the draw. The reason I was upset with our overall stay was because I, on numerous occasions called to request to add someone to my reservation. I called directly and through Expedia and was never able to have this done. When I reached the hotel they said they thoThey daiwas told I would have to speak with someone on Friday when my husband arrivess but the rate should be $70per night in line with what Expedia said. Next night the rate went to $169 per night. My husband was on a plane and there was nothing I could do. I was strong armed into paying and management wouldn't speak with me. When I said I called before comin they said reservation dept wasn't answering the phone because they were booked. I paid more for my husband to join me than I did for my stay for the same room. They even advised me it would be cheaper to pay for a separate room. When I said let's book a separate room instead, they then came back and said there was no availability. I felt their practices were totally dishonest. Btw, towels were gross.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta, ga

Nice hotel, awsome staff.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: Mediterranean restaurant needs improve on food and service
Location: Liked stay on villa 38. Everything close by except for the beach.
Just complAin about Mosquitos in the room. The staff was incredible nice everywhere you go Make you feel in paradise. Smiles everywhere and in a good mood all the time.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom b

disappointed by the way they treated our guests

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Great experience but was very disappointed that they won't allow members of our bachelor party living in another resort to visit us for a couple of hours unless we pay $75 per person. The whole incident was totally embarrassing and disrespectful to my group. Security had to follow us all the way to the main lobby and stood there while we spent time enjoying our own drinks because they won't allow our guests to follow us to our hotel room to get ready and go hangout outside the resort. If you have a large party and have some of the group staying at other resorts, they will not be able to come visit you. The funny thing is We did not have any problems when we visited them at presidential suites. The good part? The bell hop guys were the best. Front desk staff and almost every employee were great and very pleasant. I give every category 4.5 stars. As for the manager and security staff? I give them zero stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Everything was beautiful. The service was excellent and very helpful. It was very clean and neat. We didn't have to worry about a thing, expedia took care of everything for us. It was a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Fairly new hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2015
We stayed for 7 days and like it a lot, the complains I will have will be the blanket in the room smell really bad and I could not use it. Other than that, it's not a bad experience