Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location and clean wlecoming room. Bed

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Beautiful location and clean welcoming room. Bed was too stiff, however. I considered using the pull-out couch to see if that would be more comfortable than the mattress! the shower head seat up was weird as you had to choose between getting water everywhere or holding the shower head handle yourself. The room was great, otherwise. And great service.
1 out of 5
by Bonnir from New York, NY

Stolen items, stomach aches and nice beach

Posted Mar 30, 2014
The beach was nice but the positive ends there. Items were taken from our room. Two bras, sphanx and earrings went missing. Upon reporting to the hotel staff, they insisted we just misplaced them in the room. Security was sent to the room to find the items. Not surprisingly, the items weren't there. Security advised they would investigate by reviewing the card entry and camera. Hotel staff said all those who entered the room denied taking the items. Yet, the items are gone and no one apologized. We were then told we needed to speak to the police but we were checking out. We were never told we had to go to the police until we checked out. We were told we can file a report at the airport. We asked at the airport and were told there was no police station there. The pool was never cleaned. The service was poor. The staff spoke limited English. The hotel is far from 4 star. It may have been built as a 4 star but operates as a 2.5 star. I have travelled all over and never had items stolen by staff before or encountered management that just didn't care. The manager gave me a plastic bracelet for my troubles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie from ottawa

Close to pool and beach!!!!

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Amazing experience with expedia and westjet and hotel Grand Palladium Bavaro and staff!! Will go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kari from Bloomer, WI

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Rooms were quiet and clean, lobby was gorgeous and had free wifi, food was also great.
This hotel and beach were amazing!! We loved every part of it! It would help if there was someone on the hotel staff that was more bi-lingual, there were many visitors, including us, that had a difficult time communicating. Of course, if we knew more Spanish that wouldn't have been an issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Toronto

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Very nice beach, clean and pleasant. Good food, enough variety.
Cons: Restaurants cannot be reserved so you cannot plan for dinner in advance. Need more shuttles inside the resort and umbrellas at the beach.
Location: Hoyo Azul but watch for a three fold rate increase
We paid for an upgrade and stayed in the new luxury rooms. It was definitely worth it. There are plenty of eating options however you must line up for the restaurants. We managed to go to only one a la cart restaurant(Italian) since there is no reservation options. Beach was clean and pleasant. There are not enough spots in shade though. Staff very friendly and overall helpful. At times the resort shuttles appeared insufficient
2 out of 5
by joe from usa

Not sure where to start

Posted Mar 11, 2014
This resort is nice. I hated the walks. Resort is scattered into villas. The walk to the pool or beach is at least 3 mins. Worst part was the front desk. Not enough people for the chaos. I booked a king bed and got a 2 bedroom. Beds are tiny and hard. The couch was comfortable. When ask to change the room , they have you come back at 3 pm for nothing. Still couldn't make the changes. Biggest problem occurred on the last night of my stay. Someone broke into the safe , they hid my passport underneath the sink where the plumbing is. My passport and wallet was showed behind the safe. Nothing was stolen. But hotel security knew where to look. Hummmm all of a sudden. Beware of your personal items. Something is going on there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 hours for dinner

Posted Mar 10, 2014
The hotel is beautiful and very clean but the facility is the size of a small country. There are no maps around the property and the ones they give at the front desk are inaccurate. The staff is friendly but they constantly gave us wrong information for every inquiry we had. They would give a quick answer that was completely wrong just to get you to leave them alone. I typically don't need to ask for much, but the size of the property makes it very time consuming to figure things out on your own. The buffet food wasn't very good but the service is. And the nicer restaurants are good but the reservation system is the most confusing and inconsistent I've ever seen. To summarize, this place is beautiful and the rooms and people are very very nice. But they aren't very organized and it gets a little frustrating. All and all the price is very competitive so its worth it.
1 out of 5
by L from Atlanta

Poor Grand Palladium Bavaro Experience

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Landscaping
Cons: Staff, maintenance, operations, customer service
Location: N/A
Absolutely the worst vacation I have experienced. The attention to "fix" any of the conditions/situations by hotel staff were dismal at best. Please let me outline the issues: Day 1. Initial reserved room was "upgraded" (without requesting a upgrade) to a room with two double beds from the original with a King bed. We were then switched back to our original reserved room. Late in the evening, we discovered the shower drain was plugged with water spilling onto the floor. We requested maintenance come by and clear the blockage in the morning. Day 2. Two separate maintenance crews were dispatched (the initial said the drain was fixed while water was still standing) and a new room and assistance to make the move was offered by the hotel. No assistance ever came after waiting for 1 1/2 hrs.. Moved to the new room w/o hotel staff assistance. The new room contained a non-operating A/C, shower door did not close allowing water to accumulate on the floor and a in-room safe that also did not work. Day 4. During a massage at the Zenotropia Spa, my wallet was emptied of all cash ($130) while locked in a locker using a Spa lock for security. A rudimentary investigation at best determined I was at fault because I didnt know how to use a lock (really?!) and no staff had any knowledge of anything. I spoke with several guests who have experienced the same conditions. PLEASE SPEND YOUR MONEY ELSEWHERE!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ashley from mo

Nice resort and wonderful beach

Posted Mar 1, 2014
My husband and I just returned from our trip. This hotel was very nice with friendly staff. Resort was very clean. Our room was only a minute walk to the beach which was very nice. The only aspect of the resort we were not impressed with was the a la carte restaurants. The one night we were actually able to get into one it was a two hour wait and then another hour to get our food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large resort

Posted Mar 1, 2014
We really enjoyed our time here. Travelled with two friends. First all inclusive for me, so I don't have a great wealth of comparisons, but the food was good, the beach fantastic, and the overall level of service pretty acceptable. Would go back again one day.