Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Huge disappointment

Posted Mar 1, 2015
I have never left a review but the stay here was bad enough that I feel I need to warn others. My husband and I just got back from celebrating our one year wedding anniversary at Grand Palladium Bavaro. We travel often and I can honestly say this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Everything from the service and food to the room cleanliness/comfort were terrible. We strongly regret staying in this hotel and we're counting down to checkout. I could give countless examples of why our experience was so poor, but would rather not waste anymore time thinking about this resort except to tell those who are thinking of staying here... think twice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Pleasant yet average stay at the Grand Palladium

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Beach, pools, facilities
Cons: Front desk service and organization. No ants in rooms!
Location: Drinkpoint down the street - local spot.
Mostly average experience. Beach, grounds and pools were very nice. Resort facilities were very nice. Service was OK - for such a large place it's tough to have a very personal or catered feeling. Food was mediocre at best. A la carte restaurants way better than buffets. One major disappointment was our last night. Found ants all over the room - on the night table, floor by the beds and on the beds. Requested a room change which we eventually received after a painful process. New room A/C was broken. Not very pleased about that, but won't let it but a damper on the entire trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Room very close to beach and pool

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Good experience with staff. Very relaxing. The food is good.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom miami

You get what you pay for .

Posted Feb 22, 2015
I'm not one to write reviews but from the checkin to the service food n drinks the management needs to be more in tune with the customers experience. Even the sheets n blankets are Sub Par . Pay the extra and go to casa campo .
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom tampa

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Beach is excellent. Lounge chairs are new and confortable. Nice beach towels
Cons: Service is terrible. From the guys at the grill to the servers. Feels like they are doing you a favor serving you. Food is really bad.
You get what you pay but never imagine this 4 star hotel was so bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Not what it appears.

Posted Dec 31, 2014
No hot water for first 2 days, took 5 phone calls and 2 in person visit to front desk for the hotel staff to finally act on complaint. Food (buffet) is terrible, you can never get a table at their "a la carte" restaurant, told us time and time again "no need for reservation". The beach is piled with seaweed that hotel never cleans up. Their cafe con leche is excellent, booked a massage appointment, great job but expensive! Will not be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santo Domingo

Great Hotel, great attention!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Our stay was excellent!!! They give us a free upgrade. The rooms was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Cons: Would be better if waiters and staff could speak and understand English.
Good time rooms were clean staff were friendly. Service could have been better in the Mexican restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC Canada

Great Stay

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Was here for a friends wedding. We received an upgrade when we got there to the "Royal Suites" which was nice, but didn't really use It as we were there with friends. Hotel staff were friendly and did not encounter any that were otherwise. Room was nice, not amazing-our AC leaked water onto the floor but we were only there to sleep, so not a big deal. Room was kept nice and clean and stocked up. Ate at mostOf the buffets, typical food... Not Bad but not great. The beach was crowded but nice, lots of Places to lay down and easy access food and beverages. Overal what I expected!! Would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota, MN USA

Just OK

Posted Dec 3, 2014
We stayed for 10 days over Thanksgiving in Building 17 in a Luxury Suite which has a large bedroom and a second floor balcony with a hot tub and sun bed. There is no view of the ocean from this building (as is shown in the room example on-line). The Good: Beautiful grounds Great housekeeping in rooms Do not have to make reservations for speciality restaurants Wait service around pool The Bad: The beach and the ocean has tons of sea weed in it. Ocean was very rough. Hit or miss as far as service in bars and restaurants. No beach drink service at palapas. Food not very good in speciality restaurants. Much better food at buffets. Resort is very spread out The wait to get in a specialty restaurant was between 30-90 minutes each night Check-in was a nighmare