Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mason

Great hotel...didn't want to leave.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Oh my gosh! We had an amazing time at Grand Palladium! The people are so nice. Our only problem was that it took them 3 hours to get our room ready. It was supposed to be ready at 3pm. Instead, we sat in the lobby--which by the way Punta Cana can get very hot--until 6pm!! However, the staff tried very hard to makeup for it during the entire stay. The second issue we had was Paul for Expedia Blue. We were scheduled to meet him the day after our arrival to discuss our return trip and excursions. We missed the 9am meeting time (hey it's vacation, we were tired and we overslept). We called Paul back to see if we could reschedule, he gave us a time but didn't show up. When we finally saw him, he had such a nasty attitude!!! We finally met him and schedule the return trip but we found all of our own excursions. We had such a lovely time that all of this seemed like nothing after.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county, california

Not What We Expected!!!

Posted Jul 26, 2014
The overall experience was awful! The food was mostly a problem! The a la carte restaurants were impossible to book! We were told by the hostess that they were for VIP guests only! Most hotel info was misleading. The customer service was horrible! Bartenders and waitresses were unfriendly. If you have a question you are better off going on goggle to get your answer. People there don't know anything which is every frustrating. We are fluent in Spanish and it was still difficult to communicate and often times we felt ignored. Everything looks great on website but completely different upon arrival . I would NEVER recommend this to anyone ! Again the experience was not what we expected!!!!! ;(
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx,Ny

My Stay!!!

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Did a upgrade from Punta Cana to Bavaro and they put my wife and I in a room with two full size beds!!!!!! In which they couldn't put together One bed was hard as hell.. The shower water kept rising even after maintenance came. And don't let me start with the food.(imma just say bad). But I will say I was 50ft. from the beach, which was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tom H. from Bangor, ME

Changes in latitudes

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel complex and grounds were immaculately kept. The beaches were exquisite. The water was turquoise and very warm. Overall, we're very happy with our trip. We were very disappointed with the food. When you make changes in your latitude to have to make changes in your attitudes. For breakfast and lunch, the only options at this resort are a buffet/cafeteria style restaurant. The buffet was full of wonderful fresh fruit and vegetables. The baked goods were excellent. However, if you wanted to eat something hot, whatever it was, it was cooked to death. Hamburgers were so charred that no amount of catsup or mayonnaise could compensate. Chicken and other meats were similarly cooked to the consistency of shoe leather. Get to your restaurant choice by 6pm as seating preference goes to suite/timeshare guests first. Get to the beach as early as possible to stake out your spot under one of the many grass thatched huts available. These spots fill up very quickly and there are few other places to get change from the very hot sun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonathan from New York, NY

Very nice beach, very so so food.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Great location and very clean.
Cons: The food could be a lot better.
Location: The beach was very clean and a lot of fun.
We definitely enjoyed our time at the resort but there are two things not so enjoyable worth sharing. On the very good side, the beaches are wonderful and the staff is incredibly nice. We had a lot of fun relaxing and were incredibly pleased with the service. On the negative side, the food wasn't great and although we just tried two of the restaurants, the buffet was still the best bet. Also, you always get asked to buy something on the beach or even in the hotel. For example, we got a call our first morning saying something happened with our flight and we needed to go to the lobby. Once there, we realized everything was fine but according to the staff, we should go parasailing for a cheap price they could offer. So if you can get by these two things, I definitely recommend the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob & Andrea Litchfield from BOS

Absolutely WONDERFUL Resort!!!

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice, comfortable, clean, staff were so polite & accomodating. The management should know that the staff are just wonderful!! Very large property!! My husband & I went with another couple & we had the best time ever!!! We are already talking about going back there!!
1 out of 5
by Ju from NY

Awful stay!!!

Posted May 27, 2014
Our bathroom had leaks from the ceiling, the drain stopper was broken in the sink, the door to the varanda had no working lock, so we were very exposed, specially being the first floor! The food was poor. The only good a la carte that we had was the hibachi one. For breakfast, the Las Torres had the best options. The lobbies had good hard working people, like Maria, Mabel, etc, and they definitely made the difference. A couple bucks go a long way there, so people should make sure they tip them!! I can't complain about the trip, because we were in a group of 7, so we decided that all the downfalls wouldn't bother us!! But I wouldn't recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob & Andrea Litchfield from Boston, MA, USA

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Several activities e.g. snorkeling, party boats, etc. began at Grand Palladium Beach. Other activities had buses or small vans to pick you up at the hotel lobby. There were games & raffles at the pools everyday (they had many pools...it was like a small gated city). Not only was there always a wide selection of different foods at the main buffet, there were also different restaurants, on the property, that were included in the all-inclusive! The staff were wonderful, they were always neat & in pressed uniforms, they couldn't do enough for you, and they were all very happy!!! The hotel grounds & gardens are so beautifully groomed! The management is doing something right, because you can see it in each & every employee.......when you have happy employees, it does reflect on how efficient the property truly is. The casino could make some improvements, which would make it busier. My husband & I went with another couple & we are already trying to make a plan to go back in the near future!!
2 out of 5
by Gary

The Not So Grand Palladium

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Pool and beach areas. Louise, one of the reception managers was very nice and tried to help us all the time.
Cons: Room decor including TV's. Gym facilities VERY OLD, Better internet/Wifi/calling facilities. The map of the facilities, which is awful.
Location: Location neutral. Didn't venture out of compound.
Changed rooms 3 times. Originally booked room with king-size bed. Nobody told us they weren't available and we were stuck in a room with,broken air conditioning ad TV. Moved to 2nd room --still not king-size bed. Better AC, but, broken safe,broken door lock. Finally on 2nd day was moved to a better room (which we had originally booked) with king-sized bed. No room had modern features. Old TV's. Had to put key card into slot to activate electricity. Member of staff said we were booked at a VIP Sunday breakfast. I was suspicious and confronted him to discover that there was a 1/2 hour real estate seminar/indoctrination. We didn't go and the man looked down everytime we passed him.Wifi and internet connections spotty. We would never go there again. Also took 12 hrs to get home because of inefficiency and weather delays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by The Williams from Syracuse, NY

The Great Escape

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely week at this complex. Our goal was to get away from the snow and cold, which e certainly did. The weather was absolutely gorgeous; 80 -85 all week!! The restaurants are all good and you dine at your leisure, which is great. The grounds are well maintained and add to the scenic environment. You have the option of just chillin' out or engaging in the various day or night time activities and events. Loved it...