Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Everything too far, the bathrooms are not confortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down and not a good value for your money

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Old run down room that smell like humidity. The pool bar area smells as well. Bottom line, if this was $100 a night tops it would be a good deal. Otherwise I would not recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PR

Good Hotel very close to the beach

Posted Jul 6, 2015
I had a great vacation, I enjoyed the Hotel food and activities
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Mediocre resort, ok for first time

Posted Jul 6, 2015
This is my 6th time in punta cana but first time at the grand palladium resort & spa and I was not at all impressed by the facility or its staff. The main reasons for my dissappointment is 1) a lot of the staff is not very helpful, welcoming or accomodating (especially the female staff) 2) there were a few a la carte restaurants but, unless youre a royal turquesa, you cant make reservations which makes for a LONG WAIT and CHAOS. You wait 1-2 hours only to be served food that tastes the same as buffet and be rushed out 3) the pools and are nothing to write home about 4) dont be surprised if you ordered something and didnt get it at all or got something completely different. You might aswell just take it because who knows when you'll get their attention again If youre interested in going to Punta Cana I recommend Sol Melia, which I've been to many times.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york NY

Food: not taste at all Shows: same people performi

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Food was really bad The hotel did not invest on shows The Internet service sycked
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by Alberto M, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Sorry really not fulfilling their travel expectations, both with food with the internet, we offer various buffets and a la carte restaurants for guests to enjoy different food choices. On the subject of Internet, commenting that this week we have expanded our bandwidth to improve the fluidity of downloads We would like to grant us another opportunity to compensate their impressions about the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with the worst staff ever

Posted Jul 5, 2015
This was the first time in Dominican Republic. And the last time too. I will never come back. This resort is part of a big complex. The whole place is huge. Even if they have many a la carte restaurants we were not able to eat but at one; there are huge lines(1-2 hours waiting ) every evening to get a table reserved. So we ended up to eat for a whole week only at the buffet restaurants where nobody greets you or helps you find a table and be seated at. The waiters very rude and not polite, we had to wait so many times for them to bring us some water or something else to drink. On the other hand, even if the rooms were pretty cleaned, we had a sewer smell in our rooms for a couple of days. The beach was very dirty because of the plants that the waves were bringing and nobody was cleaning them. It was gross. The chairs were laid pretty chaotic, in general a pretty chaotic beach. The water not great either. We have been in Mexico so many times( Riviera Maya, Cancun, Puerto Vallarta) but we were never disappointed. I believe that Mexicans are very hard workers and they do deserve their tips. We did tip the Dominican staff at this resort but honestly they do not deserve it. For the first time I couldn't wait to go back home. My big disappointment is that I spent 2,500 $ for an all inclusive relaxing vacation that was a big lie. Maybe other resorts in this country are different and a lot nicer but we will not bite it next time. Good luck for other tourists!!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

It's a beautiful place but they have a big problem

Posted Jul 4, 2015
I work in the hospitality field and believe me a have a very good eye for service. This company has a big problem with the staff... The servers looks very unhappy, overworked, with attidude i would say 80% of the employees hate their job and that negative energy is reflected . It makes me feel like what I seeing is a big concentration of slaves... When i ask them about their attitude they start telling about the long hours they work and the low pay they get, most of the employees i talked to they told me the same issues, the company provide housing for them and they get to see their families once a month. It makes me feel so sad and sorry for them ... No motivation for the employees and this is not what a want to see or feel on my expensive vaction time because it was not cheap. The food was good in the buffets but you are lucky if you get to be seated at one of the ala carte restaurants big waiting list that by the time you get seated you don't want to eat, the famous mini bar in the room is a small refrigerator with 2 waters, 3 sodas and 3 beers The alcohol beverages are with the cheapes brands ... Brands i never hear of and they give you headache. Algae along the beach is another big problem, all the beautiful white sand beach is completely covered by algae you can't even swing I don't understand why this big hotel companies don't clean the beaches And to close i can say pay $100 dollars more and go somewhere else
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, wa

Nice resort with perfect location!

Posted Jul 2, 2015
We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly at this resort. Gorgeous location on the beach. Very clean and hospitable. Great for families - lots of pools and activities to choose from. All inclusive restaurants are ok; several have spectacular view of the Caribbean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Close to beach, clean rooms, nicely landscaped!

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Enjoyed every minute of it! All inclusive was wonderful! Beautiful beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Overall review of the resort

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: Staff was very friendly, buffet was good, and the overall atmosphere was good
Cons: Food in two of the restaurants mentioned above, the entertainment should be changed up a little more
Location: Location was good, near the eastern end of the beach strip was ok for going to the shopping huts at the end of the beach
The Hotel staff on the first day were very helpful providing us with a room prior to check in time with not additional expenses. The room was clean, the air-conditioner on full only keep the room at 25 deg C., OK compared to the outside temperature but would of like a little cooler. The staff was always friendly and willing to go out of their way to help. The buffets were good with several selection for each meal, overall the buffets were average compared to other resorts in the DR. There were no requires to make reservations at the other restaurants which ended up being a problems, it was a first come first serve policy and at times you would have to wait in the heat while dressed up for dinner up to an hour and half to be seated. The steak house and Japanese restaurants were very good and the food was above average for a resort. The Brazilian and Italian restaurants were well below average, the service was good, the mood was good but the food was awful, all the meals were under cooked, there was little to no taste to the pasta and sauces and even though they are expected to service average western standard food, the food itself was not very good and these two restaurants are not recommended....again the staff were very good and the layout and over condition of the restaurants were very good.............the food was not. I would have to say compared to other resorts that were have stayed at, this one was average and would rate this one a 3 our of 5 overall.