Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Generally a good value for the money

Posted Aug 2, 2015
We had a good time overall but a few concerns: the intermittent smell of used waters is something that should be addressed, and the absence of lifeguard on duty during the day hours is a big concern. We spent a week in the hotel, overall the staff was very friendly, the food was overall of good quality, the animation team is comitted to make the guest comfortable. Regarding the themed restaurants there was not a significant difference between them and the main restaurant. For example a Mexican restaurant without Mexican music.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CALIFORNIA

Disappointing

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: the palm trees
Cons: PLEASE DO SOMETHING WITH YOUR SERVICE IS VERY POOR, FOOD WAS VERY POOR
Location: SAONA ISLAND VERY NICE TOUR AND WILD TIGER BOGGYS WE HAVE TO DO THIS TOURS TO HAVE FUN THE HOTEL IS NOT FUN EMPLOYEES ARE VERY RUDE.
All your staff need to be retrain, They have NO idea what service means too much seaweed in the beach Non-enjoyable. Your buffet is always the same nothing change from one day to another. very poor experience No happy I Don't recommend this Hotel at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Horrible experience

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Here's my review that I sent to Expedia. I cannot find a place on Riu's website to review it... "This hotel was billed as a 5 star hotel but is nowhere close. The rooms are old, dirty and beds are uncomfortable. Room Towels all smell like mildew- intensely. The resort is on an Atlantic beach so the ocean drops off sharply is not turquoise and beautiful as billed on the website. When we were there late June the beaches were filled stinky seaweed and unusable. We paid for additional wifi which only occasionally worked. Upon arrival there Bathroom had mild in the toilet and hair on the floor and toilet. One of the Asst managers was beyond rude and condescending when I addressed these issues and did absolutely nothing to compensate. We had cash stolen from our room on two occasions and debit card was hacked. The workout room is not on property and a joke. Not enough chairs at pool for the property. The only positives were friendly staff and fun pool activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorado, P.R.

Hotel bueno fascilidades comodas

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Muy bueno fascilidades comodas y muchas actividades, limpio muy buenas atenciones, le faltaria unos carritos para poder moverse dentro de las instalaciones y para llegar a la calle caribeña
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Secaucus ,NJ

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Roaches in the room male hotel staff were very disrespectful . My teenage daughters did not feel safe. Food was horrible , silverware plates and cups were dirty...and smelled Pools were filthy!! Disgusting total waste of money !!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was okay beautiful beaches

Posted Jun 27, 2015
People at the hotel was nice rooms very clean that room service was good but beds very uncomfortablemake sure to take plenty of snacks food was not the best there was no variety of food was the same every day.if you have to deal Blue travel forget it they say to meet at certain time and never show I wasted two mornings waiting around
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Utah

Hotel needs an update!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Front desk stuff, their manager, restaurant stuff
Cons: Hotel rooms!!!! The activity for kids - older (pre-teens) and little ones!!
Location: The location is awesome. The beach is so beautiful, the palm trees are giving a shade - just lovely.
The location of this hotel is excellent! We absolutely love the Bavaro Beach where we were spending most of the time of our 2 weeks stay with two kids. I was a little bit disappointed of the quality of the hotel rooms. The "regular ones" really need to be renovated. They smell terribly!! Old, dusty furniture, even older mattresses, and stinky drawers are depressing. We were lucky to get an upgrade, which was more comfortable, light with nice bathroom clean mattress and nice closet. But even that room was worn out. The front desk stuff was doing their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible, always professional and extra nice. Food was really good. I can point only one incident when my 2 year daughter pointed on a HUGE cockroach sitting on the door frame from the main restaurant serving breakfast ("Colonial") asking "what is it daddy?". The activities for adults were organized and coordinated very well, opposite to the activities for kids. We were traveling with 8 year old who got excited about reading the schedule for kids activities on the board at the lobby. The board was not accurate, they were sending us from place to place to Chavo who was in charge of the activities for older kids. The problem was that it was not easy to find him and when we finally were able to get a hold of him he was not sure himself if the kids will play basketball or soccer, or if it is going to be at 10:30 AM or 3:30 PM. In overall we had good time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Tips

Posted Jun 10, 2015
I didn't like the fact that there is no pictures of hotel rooms. It a surprise when you get there, the way they are distributed....no my favorite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Nice place

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Great food and the restaurants our very good .. My second time here... Something for everyone to eat and u can even go the riu naiboa and eat to ... Great place to stay and u can walk the other 4 resorts as well .. Maybe the beds could be a king and have flatscreen tvs to make it better but other then that had a great time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2015
Very relaxing, staff was always polite and helpful. Clean and entertainment was great.