Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

It is not a 4* hotel

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Exterior, pool, beach
Exterior of the resort is nice, pleasing to look at and the beach is beautiful. We had to change rooms after arrival, because it was dirty, stinky, the AC and some lights did not work, and the bathroom was dirty. The new room was a little better, but not what we expected. Another disappointing fact is the tip. It seems no tip - no service. And the concierge did bother us on our 2nd day with making a tour to the new 5* Iberostar Hotel and become a Club Member. Just annoying when you want to relax. The minibar was only filled half the time and not even water (to brush your teeth) was provided (even if we gave the maid a good tip every day). If you are looking for a 3* hotel - it would be fine for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Best Beach Resort

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: The beach is simply perfect. There were always empty loungers under the little huts. No seaweed. WiFi even worked on the beach!
Cons: The a la carte restaurants were bad. The buffets were much better. I think new head chefs would do wonders to make things taste just a bit better.
Our overall experience was great. There are far more positives than negatives with the resort. To start off, check-in took about 10 minutes even though we came at the same time as several other families. Right away, we were told where to make reservations for the resort restaurants, the WiFi password, and were whisked away in a cart to our room. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Food: We visited the neighboring resorts to check out their buffet and found that the Iberostar Bavaro was the best. When visiting, don't waste your time going to the Iberostar Punta Cana or Dominicana buffets to eat. The breakfast and lunch buffets always had a large selection and the food was never bad. If I could turn back time, I would also skip the a la carte restaurants and go to the buffet for dinner. The specialty restaurants really aren't good. Stick with the buffets, always. Room: They were always perfectly cleaned, but they rarely replenished the toiletries. We only had conditioner the first day. Also, I wish they would of done more with towel decorations. Our "swan" was there upon arrival and was never changed or remade into something new. Otherwise, the grounds are beautiful. Tons of trees and flowers, even an orchid garden. Staff works 24/7 and it definitely shows. The entertainment crew is great. Always tons of energy and makes for a very inclusive atmosphere. Would absolutely recommend the resort to everyone. We had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

4 days in paradise!

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: all inclusive!! Friendly staff. Nice beach
Location: not too much nearby. Seems to be in the country side of the country.
Beautiful facility everyone very accommodating. Crystal blue water. laid back Island feel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Posted Apr 25, 2015
The resort has beautiful villas. The staff is amazingly friendly. The pool area is clean and fun. The food was great and had a large variety to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Beach!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Cons: Our only complaint would be the food. It was so-so. Recommend La Dorada and Jambalaya restaurants.
Great stay. Loved all the daily "Star Friends" activities especially the beach volleyball and water polo. Room was very spacious and comfortable. If you've taken a beach vacation and had to dodge the "hawkers" no worries here. There were none on the beach and only one evening did they have booths within the hotel. Easy to avoid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good staff, needs updates and cleaning

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Everything was good but we did find a huge cockroach in our shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Relaxing and fun

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location right on the beach.
Cons: Use only top shelf alcohol. Most people didn't know to order the "top shelf" stuff. Regular stuff is watered down.
Location: We didn't leave the compound but wished we had done the tour to see how local residents lived.
Facility is located about 15 miles from the Punta Cana airport, but right on the beach. The drive to the hotels is beautiful and well manicured. There are four Iberostar resorts all together and they occupy well over a half mile of pristine beach. We stayed in the Bavaro Suites, and these are comprised of ~100 buildings with 8 rooms each. Even though most of the rooms were filled, the resort was quiet and relaxing. This is an all inclusive so drinks, food and lodging are all included and tips are not expected. Really a plus, but I would recommend visitors stock up on $1 bills for tips. They seem to be much appreciated. There also was not a mad rush in the mornings to reserve chairs or cabanas as there seemed to be enough for everyone. That was really nice! The food was good and varied, and made everyone happy. The resort has to cater to Germans, Americans and folks from South America and even with these varied tastes, the chefs seemed to make everyone happy. For our 5 night stay, we got to select two dinners at one of the specialty restaurants (Mediterranean, Japanese, etc.). That broke up the buffet mentality nicely. There were tons of events scheduled daily (yoga, water aerobics, etc) and you could be as busy or as lazy as you wanted. The evening entertainment was pretty good and involved singing and dancing. Really enjoyed the show that showcased local dances and songs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Skip this one

Posted Apr 19, 2015
If you want to go on vacation where you are treated like an imposition to the staff and the food isn't fresh then definitely stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Great Hotel but staff lacking

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Pool and shows
Cons: staff(customer service)
Location: access to other hotels ...spa, workout room, excursions etc.
Hotel was great - room big & bed quite comfortable. Everything is walking distance so ladies wear comfortable shoes. Food is good and a lot of varieties. French restaurant is great:) This place has several restaurants but all need reservations make sure you do the first day cause everything gets booked. There's always buffet. Drinks are ok not great. This hotel has 4 hotels. This bavaro suites is the 3 hotel so you have ascess to the other 3 but not the 4th hotel which is adults only. Every hotel the status goes up -better food, pools, etc. The worst thing about the hotel is the staff some are better than others. We called room staff for extra towels and it took 5 hours to get them :( give small tips it helps. Pool is amazing! There's a lot of activities during the day and at night a show. For all inclusive: great hotel and price!! P.S. workout room extremey hot!! P.S.S. spa was amazing!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago, il

Nice people. Nice beach. Digestive issues.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
I can't say enough about how friendly the staff are at Bavaro Suites. They really enjoy their jobs and have a great time with each other and the guests. The beach is beautiful. 4 of the 5 of us had some type of stomach issues during our stay (all at different times)- these issues also lingered long after we returned home. We did not drink the tap water so unsure if it was something else we were eating or if they were using tap water for rinsing vegetables, cooking, etc. overall it was a nice trip