Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Highly recommended

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The private rooms were spacious and well maintained, service was great, all personnel were friendly and always willing to help.
Cons: Need more domestic beer at the resort. I could get a Budweiser at the golf course and not at our hotel, I enjoy beer more then mix drinks.
Location: Location was very good, would like to have taken a tour thru out Punta Canta to better understand culture and surrounding areas,activities were plenty
From check in thru the entire trip everyone working for the complex was friendly and always looking to see if further assistance was needed which included daily follow up telephone calls to the room. The daily food was outstanding with good presentation at all meals, more importantly the food had great taste with a variety of choices. Entertainment was better on some nights, however they constantly involved the guests which makes a more enjoyable evening. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone, it was very clear from the start they were very much engaged with everyone's needs and concerns. Great job to everyone who made this trip one to remember, I will be looking to see where there are other Iberostar resorts. This review is further based on the nine people in our group who absolutely enjoyed the day trips, spa, and the involvement by the personnel who work in the resort................our thanks to everyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from P-au-P

Nice & sympathic hotel for vacations!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: I like everything about it & it was my third time at Iberostar: twice at Bavaro & once at Iberostar Punta Cana
Cons: The Air condition , specially during summer time!
For his birthday, my husband was very pleased with the attention in the room where he received flowers & fruits & later at the Japanese restaurant with balloons, cake & Happy birthday from the restaurant staff. He had a wonderful birthday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful ground, nice pool and good food

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The gardens, Mediterranean restaurant, Beach and pool facilities, Family friendly environment.
Cons: Food quality in room service
Location: Bavaro is a bit away from the main city, but resort itself is quite sufficient. Plus there are tour operators' office, shopping options in the resort.
We stayed 6 days for our honeymoon there and celebrating my wife's birthday. We are both extremely busy professional, so we wanted to relax. The resort was perfect for that. The lush gardens, the birds and long hours for meal; everything was easy going, discreet and smooth. The stuffs are always smiling and warm. Not all stuff speak English, but it was no problem for us, as we stayed to ourselves. The ground is very beautiful, it adds to the sense of tranquility. The buffet is decent, with widespread of sushi, desserts and different cuisines of different weekdays. The food is good. We went to 3 A La Carte restaurants - French, Steak House and Mediterranean; which was included in the all inclusive deal. We loved the Mediterranean most, but the other two was just as good on quality. We once tried the room service, well that was plain disappointing. Our favorite place was the seating area behind the Los Bohios facing the beach, but they don't serve coffee after 6pm. That was a bit sad for me, as I would like to sit there till the midnight. That was one down point for me, as I stayed in other resorts, where I always enjoyed facilities for drinks near the beach till 2 am in the night. The tour desks near the lounge was very convenient. We enjoyed the Santo Domingo tour and Saona Island tour. On Friday, there is like a bazaar for local goods in the hotel, which was a very nice experience. We enjoyed our last day which was Friday. It was quite festive that day in the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2014
The hotel staff was terrible and overall the hotel facilities was a disappointing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jamison, PA, USA

Somewhat disappointing ...

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Beautiful, well-maintained grounds. Beautiful beach.
Cons: More English-speaking staff. Room updating. Mini-bar that IS a mini-bar. Ipod docks. Gift store prices in dollars.
We were mostly satisfied, but the problems with this resort were very irritating. Our suite was musty-smelling and in need of cosmetic repairs (e.g. loose toilet seat, very inadequate air-conditioning, no promised iPod dock). The mini-bar has no alcohol and no snacks; it is replenished only every other day. The resort does not make clear that these are basically 4 small apartments comprising a "bungalow" and you have to climb steps to the second floor. Beds are very comfortable. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and well-maintained. The most repeatedly annoying problem was the inability of the staff to speak even basic English. Such questions as "Where is the beach?" and "May I have a gin and tonic?" and "What is in that dish?" were met with total bewilderment. One night, my wife ordered 4 different cocktails, and was brought the same cocktail 4 times. This was even after we pointed to the name of the cocktail on their own bar menu. The Caribbean Sea at this resort, at least when we were there, was absolutely filty. Enormous amounts of seaweed, and one day, even floating bread. Children are mostly unsupervised, especially at the buffet. I can only describe the buffet as chaotic. Last year, my wife stayed at Iberostar Rose Hall Grand Hotel in Jamaica, and were totally impressed. This year, to sum up: Bavaro Suites has beautiful grounds, rooms in need of repair, good food, insufficient English-speaking staff, a mini-bar that isn't, and a dirty sea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Very nice place

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: helpful staff, cleanness, location, room, food
Cons: Drink only bottled water or you are risking an upset stomach - Dominican Republic is known for water quality issues.
We stayed for 7 nights; first room they gave us was next to the beach but also next to the restaurant and the pool, a bit noisy, and with some strange smell coming out of the air-conditioner. Plus we requested two double beds but the room had just one, king size. After spending a night there we asked for a new room, and were given one on the third day - a nice room, quiet, and no smell. The stuff is friendly and helpful; the rooms are cleaned daily, the minibar is refreshed every other day; they even stop by in the evening to give you extra towels and chocolate for your kids. The beach, the pool, and all other areas are clean, the food is good - one big buffet and a half dozen or so restaurants (we tried one, but frankly the buffet is all you need, you can get pretty much the same food and you do not have to reserve a spot for a specific time and get dressed up). There was a bit of some scratchy seaweed in the ocean, but as soon as you are past the first 10 feet it's clean; you could also find areas without the seaweed. The weather was just fine, some rains at night and sun most of the day. We left the hotel just once to visit a shopping center (they give you a free ride from and back to the hotel, you just have to stamp your ticket in the shopping center), otherwise we spent most of the time on the beach or around the pool area (they have a dedicated pool for younger kids too, with some water fun stuff). Overall it was an enjoyable and very relaxing family vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, NY

Excellent Resort!!!!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The staff....excellent in every respect
Cons: I am sure there are ways to improve.....I just cant think of anything off the top of my head!
Location: We never left the sight other than walking on the beach. There is a casino 2 minutes away (walking) stores on the beach. close to the airport
We stayed at the Iberostar Bávaro Suites for 7 days and 6 nights.....It could not have gone any smoother. The food was above average for an all inclusive( the breakfasts were excellent) with many choices. The staff was fantastic, the lady who took care of the room was good at her job and very caring, she would come at the end of the day to turn the beds down and see if we needed anything. The room was like a small apartment with a sitting room as well as a balcony. The food workers were polite and conscientious, remembered what we had to drink every morning and always saved a nice table. The pool was clean and large, the beach was long and beautiful. The water was clear and the beach set up was very desirable. You could walk for miles in either direction. The safest all inclusive we have every been to. This resort was a mix of families and couples.....probably not for singles looking to party hard. Enough kids to appreciate the laughter and happiness, but not enough kids to notice them!!!!!! I would highly recommend this resort and we will be going back in the future. The Dominican people are very nice.....if you show them respect they will give it back tenfold. Treat them with disrespect and you will receive the same!!!!! In our opinion Punta Cana is much nicer than Puerto Plata (the people are the same in both places) And for the money, this resort was an A find.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Customer service ? None

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Our room wasn't ready at 3 pm as stated in their policy. After almost 2 hours of back in force we were able to get our room . No apologies , very rude stuff. No extras for the wait . Nothing !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA, USA

High price for average place

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The pools were nice.
Cons: The service, most of the time it seemed we were annoying the staff when asking for something (if you could find a server). Reservations.
Location: We went snorkeling and basically stayed on the resort for all activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ft. lauderdale

Right on the beach

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Our first trip to the DR! We enjoyed every moment of our trip. There is always something to do. I would recommend making reservations to dinner each night, instead of eating at the buffet (all included-free of charge). The only thing separating the hotel & the beach is a beautiful pool. The staff was perfect!