Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Amazing Beach

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: I liked that we were able to book hotel excursions at the hotel.
Cons: The lobby staff and phone operators were very unfriendly. It was difficult to get a hold of anyone. I had to keep calling many times to get help.
Location: The location is about 30 minutes away from Punta Cana Airport.
We stayed at Iberostar Dominicana for 6 days and 5 nights. They had trouble finding my reservation at check-in. The problem was they did not type in my full legal name correctly, even though I showed them my passport as identification. We purchased WiFi for $25 for 5 days, but was not told that only one device can be used at a time. It also required me to keep signing in. That has a major hassle. The reception staff was not very friendly. The room was dated, but clean. The beds were not that comfortable. At one point, our bathroom ceiling was leaking. I tried calling for a maintenance worker, but it was difficult reaching anyone via phone. When the maintenance worker arrived, he only did a quick fix. The bathroom ceiling leaked again a day later. In regards to the food, we never went hungry. It was nice having food available at all times. Although, the buffet selection does not have much variety. The sit down restaurants were nice, but the food was just okay. Overall, I would stay here again. I do feel it is a good value for the price. The bartenders and wait staff are very friendly. I appreciated their hospitality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard Cranium from usa

Nice hotel at a great location

Posted Jun 21, 2014
I was surprised that an older hotel was kept up so well. The staff was very efficient and courteous most of the time. I liked that the rooms had tile and were mopped daily with a sanitizer. The food was pretty good but the ala carte restaurant were not very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keli from Atlanta

Nice hotel, staff was great!!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
My family of 7 arrived at the Iberostar and we all enjoyed our vacation. After staying in the Riviera Maya at Iberostar, I felt comfortable booking there again. The property is a bit older but we didnt spend a ton of time in the room. The staff, food choices, and beach location were excellent. My entire family ranging from 20-26 all had a really good time..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hig from Tampa, FL

Second Visit to an Iberostar

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Very, very clean and spacious.
Cons: More bottled water that has been bottled in the USA.
Location: Location is great and there is plenty to do.
I previously stayed at the Iberostar in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic and my expectations were high for this visit to Punta Cana. All of my expectations were met or exceeded by the entire experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family vacation for 3 generations

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The resort is on a fanastic beach and everything is so clean and comfortable
Cons: nothing, everything was great
We brought 3 generations of our family and everyone enjoyed. this was our third trip and second stay at Iberostar resort. Staff is so friendly and service is excellent !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S from Canada

Great Time

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Staff, service, cleanliness...there isn't much to complain with this hotel.
Cons: The night that they let the local vendors set up near the lobby bar. Way too aggressive!
Location: There were a lot of day trips that you can do at additional cost with independent operators. The service was always on time and great activities.
Great service...great staff...great room (junior suite)...great set-up considering how huge this resort is...nothing seemed too far away and that was nice. The beach was nice as well. Never went to the pool though. Efficient staff...they solved everything fast and were always willing to help out or accommodate. The only complaint was the night when the local vendors were allowed to set up tables to sell local crafts. Great idea, however, the men were way too aggressive and were too touchy as well. They never shut up for one second to allow anyone to look at the stuff. My friend and I went out of our way to avoid walking through the lobby or the bar that night...way too aggressive for such a nice hotel. They need to learn to let people look in peace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel, beautiful beach!

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: large rooms, nice staff, beautiful beach and water.
Cons: food, food, food! Drink quality, and don't put scents in rooms- awful!
Location: Beautiful location and was able to use the facilities at hotel adjacent to us- we were at Iberostar Dominicana, and the other was Iberostar Punta Cana
If you want a hotel that is close to the beach with Palapas to sit under(for the most part), this one is it. The water is gorgeous, temperature around 80-85, and this was the nicest beach out of all the hotels along this stretch.. And several of the other hotels didn't provide anything to sit under, and the beaches were shorter. Our room(4032) was on the 1st.flr. and not far from the beach-it was roomy. The rooms on the higher floors near the beach may have a beach view, but we weren't in our rooms except for late at night, so it didn't matter to us. Great shows, pretty friendly staff(we didn't speak Spanish, so it was a little difficult for us). Cappuccino was delicious! Some cons- they shouldn't use any potpourri to scent the rooms- I had to get rid of it since it was so strong. They may be trying to mask a slight musty smell that we noticed, but it made things worse. I would also change the headboard because it made the room look dated, even though it wasn't. Food was at the bottom of the list for us- Just didn't enjoy it. We ate a lot of taco chips and salsa to fill ourselves up! Drinks were just okay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Western MA from Massachusetts

Excellent and fun staff, awesome beach

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Staff, beach, room, grounds, pools all around excellent
Cons: Better liquor choices at the pool and beach bars.
Location: Walked to tents--Ziggy's "bar" on the water. Coronas for $4--this place is a hoot.
5 couples stayed week of March 22-29. Our 2nd time to Iberostar 5th time to PC. Excellent experience overall. Wonderful staff that were genuinely happy, not faking it like some of the other resorts. Food was plentiful and very good. something for even the fussiest. the Star entertainers are truly awesome--professional. Always something to do if you wanted to or just chill. the lobby had the best liquors so if I had anything negative it was that it was difficult to get decent vodka, etc... at the pool and beach bars. Sometimes they had Smirnoff, but usually ran out. their vodka is pretty bad. Stoli at the lobby bar so that was good. Shout out to three outstanding bartenders: Lori, Francis and last but certainly not least, Maldonato. Also, I must thank Jiovanni at the front desk for his incredible assistance and for being so accommodating. After the first day, he knew every night at 6:30 he'd be pouring a few Stoli martinis. We will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Our trip was really wonderful. We traveled with 2 kids 8 and 3 and they had such a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel closed to the beach

Posted Mar 18, 2014
I had an awesome experience there. The staffs are very friendly and the food is good. There are lots of food selections. The beach is very beautiful with white sand, and the water is very clean. I highly recommended it.