Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An average hotel with great access to the ocean

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The food and access to the beach
Cons: Don't allow vendors to sell on resort
Was an average hotel. Food was good. resort was clean, staff did not speak much English
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eric

Great Food and Staff

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The food was carefully prepared and tasted great. There was a great selection of different foods to keep everyone happy. The water was crystal clear and the service was prompt. We made a comment to one of the staff members that we would love to try drinking coconut water right out of a coconut and the next day he delivered two fresh coconuts to us with straws. Amazing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Amazing Beach

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: I liked that we were able to book hotel excursions at the hotel.
Cons: The lobby staff and phone operators were very unfriendly. It was difficult to get a hold of anyone. I had to keep calling many times to get help.
Location: The location is about 30 minutes away from Punta Cana Airport.
We stayed at Iberostar Dominicana for 6 days and 5 nights. They had trouble finding my reservation at check-in. The problem was they did not type in my full legal name correctly, even though I showed them my passport as identification. We purchased WiFi for $25 for 5 days, but was not told that only one device can be used at a time. It also required me to keep signing in. That has a major hassle. The reception staff was not very friendly. The room was dated, but clean. The beds were not that comfortable. At one point, our bathroom ceiling was leaking. I tried calling for a maintenance worker, but it was difficult reaching anyone via phone. When the maintenance worker arrived, he only did a quick fix. The bathroom ceiling leaked again a day later. In regards to the food, we never went hungry. It was nice having food available at all times. Although, the buffet selection does not have much variety. The sit down restaurants were nice, but the food was just okay. Overall, I would stay here again. I do feel it is a good value for the price. The bartenders and wait staff are very friendly. I appreciated their hospitality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard Cranium from usa

Nice hotel at a great location

Posted Jun 21, 2014
I was surprised that an older hotel was kept up so well. The staff was very efficient and courteous most of the time. I liked that the rooms had tile and were mopped daily with a sanitizer. The food was pretty good but the ala carte restaurant were not very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keli from Atlanta

Nice hotel, staff was great!!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
My family of 7 arrived at the Iberostar and we all enjoyed our vacation. After staying in the Riviera Maya at Iberostar, I felt comfortable booking there again. The property is a bit older but we didnt spend a ton of time in the room. The staff, food choices, and beach location were excellent. My entire family ranging from 20-26 all had a really good time..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hig from Tampa, FL

Second Visit to an Iberostar

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Very, very clean and spacious.
Cons: More bottled water that has been bottled in the USA.
Location: Location is great and there is plenty to do.
I previously stayed at the Iberostar in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic and my expectations were high for this visit to Punta Cana. All of my expectations were met or exceeded by the entire experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M. Vasquez from California

Food Is Better than other Resort in Punta Cana

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Bahia 4 days and the Iberostar Dominicana 4 days. The food at the Bahia was horrible. The food at Iberostar was way better. Pools at Bahia were better and you have access to all of the Bahia pools. At Iberostar you only have access to the pool for the one you are staying at. Rooms at Bahia were slightly nicer, bathroom was bigger and included a spa tub. Bahia allows you to book dinner reservations every night (the dinner at Bahia was okay. Buffets were not good at all). Iberostar only lets you book dinner 2 nights for a 4 night stay, but they have one american restuarant that you do not have to have reservations for and the food was good and the buffet food was also pretty good. All in all, I recoommend Iberostar over Bahia. Just my 2 cents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family vacation for 3 generations

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The resort is on a fanastic beach and everything is so clean and comfortable
Cons: nothing, everything was great
We brought 3 generations of our family and everyone enjoyed. this was our third trip and second stay at Iberostar resort. Staff is so friendly and service is excellent !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S from Canada

Great Time

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Staff, service, cleanliness...there isn't much to complain with this hotel.
Cons: The night that they let the local vendors set up near the lobby bar. Way too aggressive!
Location: There were a lot of day trips that you can do at additional cost with independent operators. The service was always on time and great activities.
Great service...great staff...great room (junior suite)...great set-up considering how huge this resort is...nothing seemed too far away and that was nice. The beach was nice as well. Never went to the pool though. Efficient staff...they solved everything fast and were always willing to help out or accommodate. The only complaint was the night when the local vendors were allowed to set up tables to sell local crafts. Great idea, however, the men were way too aggressive and were too touchy as well. They never shut up for one second to allow anyone to look at the stuff. My friend and I went out of our way to avoid walking through the lobby or the bar that night...way too aggressive for such a nice hotel. They need to learn to let people look in peace.