Ratings based on 659 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Beautiful stay with someone you love.

Posted Jul 1, 2015
This place takes the cake ! Great staff - great fun - great views. Can't wait to come back for my honeymoon !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful resort and exceptional staff!!!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The food and especially the Top Shelf Liquor! I enjoyed drinking Grey Goose all weekend!
Cons: The security regarding the room safe. To have money stolen out of my wallet was horrible. I have never had that happen to me at any hotel.
Location: Not much to do near by. We did venture to a local Dominical club about 15 minutes away by taxi, $15.00. Well worth it.
This is by far the best all inclusive I have been to. Don't look any further, just book! My sister and I stayed 4 night at this resort. From arrival we knew we had mad the right choice! Food was excellent, just make sure you make your reservations before you trib. The best restaurants were, Hibachi and Beach Club. Also, be sure to request the wine list at dinner which features over 30 complimentary wines. The staff were so caring and full of excitement! They knew our names by day two. The beach is beautiful, a little seaweed but just swim out and you won't have any. The room was breathtaking, stay on the 4th floor facing the ocean, beautiful! My only complaint is the money that was stolen out of our wallets which were in the safe on day one. We went back to the room after dinner, the room had been cleaned and there was a note on our safe stating we did not lock in correctly and to call the front desk to reset the password. We did not check our wallets until the next evening as I would have never thought that staff at the hotel would steal. Low and below I was missing $30 and my sister $20. I did not like how the staff kept asking us if we misplaced our money. I knew exactly how much money I came with. They did an investigation and of course said they could not find that anyone stole the money. We were offered a 25minute massage each, which I basically paid for with the money stolen from our wallets, an hour would have been nice. Lock up your safe correctly! overall good reso
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Loved this vacation!!! All of the staff provided amazing service and made us feel at home. My 80 minute therapeutic massage was fabulous but didn't love the facial. The dinner selection at all of the a la carte restaurants were simply amazing and very elegant! However the quality of the food at the buffets was suboptimal and that was the only option for breakfast/lunch. Would definitely return to iberostar grand hotel the next time we go to Punta Cana.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Hartford, CT

Perfect Honeymoon Destination!

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: We had a fantastic time, and we would DEFINITELY go back!
Cons: Go to the concierge to redeem your $400 worth of coupons.We weren't told to do this and thought we had $400 to spend. That was a surprise at checkout.
Location: There were a bunch of excursions offered, but we just stayed on the beautiful resort since we only had 5 days there! There is a Coco Bongo nearby.
We had an INCREDIBLE honeymoon! The grounds are absolutely breathtaking. They are incredibly clean, and you can tell they work very hard to maintain them. We had no trouble getting cabanas by the pool or on the beach despite us being late risers. The food is great! There is one buffet open for all meals until 11pm, and we usually ate there for breakfast and late-night snacks. There is another buffet by the pool where we at lunch every day. The spreads were incredible. There was something for everyone! The fruits and salads were always fresh and clean, the seafood was super tasty and fresh, and the variety was wonderful! My favorite was the freshly grilled lobster, and their burgers were shockingly good! The a la cart restaurants ARE included in the all-inclusive pricing. They were all phenomenal. Only food disclaimer: we were shocked at how bad the room service food was. I would avoid it. The butlers and wait staff are all amazing. They really want to make sure you have a great experience. We always tipped ($1-2 for breakfast/lunch, $5 for dinner), and the waiters remember you and treat you even better the next day! The shows at night were really entertaining, and the boat bar was super fun late-night. Most people there are couples looking for a getaway, so it's not really a party resort, but there is still a night life. The spa was BEAUTIFUL. We had 2 afternoons of couples spa treatments, and those women are super talented! They really helped us escape!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Always A Great Vacation!

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: I like to walk the grounds of all 4 of the resorts everyday. Internet is top notch, even under a palapa on the beach I could stream netflix!
Cons: Butlers rotate, so instructions given to one may not be done the next day. A schedule for the live music parties at the adjacent resorts would be nice
Location: I never leave the property. Take Expedia's Blue private car service there, $60, have front desk arrange a cab back to the airport, $40 (plus tips)
We have been to this Iberostar complex 3 times. It actually consists of 4 resorts side by side that flow seamlessly into each other. The Grand is the highest end, best rooms, food, drinks and service, it is adults only and you can also use the resources of all the other resorts there. The mood at the Grand is elegant and fairly quiet, no continuous loud music. There are 5 specialty dinner restaurants at the Grand, all included. When you meet your butler, just tell him to make you reservations, eat at all of them if you want. The entertainment staff will ask if you want to participate in activities during the day but will take a "no" gracefully. There is nightly live musak in the lobby bar and a live show at 10 pm in an indoor air conditioned theater. You spend the day under a palapa at the beach or in a cabana or lounger by the pool. There is waiter service at both. Or belly up to the pool bar. You can have breakfast in bed, 24 hour room service is available and there is a well stocked minibar in the room. Talk to your butler and the restocker and get what you want. We had Champagne daily in the room. The food is great, it is international, not american. We lunched on steak and lobster everyday. Beer selection is small! There are lunch time dance and nightime beach parties at the adjacent resorts as well as a disco, sports bar, and casino. Rooms have multivoltage outlets, jacuzzi tub in wall of glass window in bathroom(with motorized screens), & balcony
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Best Resort Experience We've Had

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Quality of the staff, the type of guests they attracted, the food and drinks were high quality overall.
Cons: The best beach area is limited to those who become members (always empty). Many pool lounge chairs need to be replaced. Golf course is a 3 star.
Location: Rent a car and drive to Higuey and visit the Basilica and the museum there...get out and get a feel for the real culture out of the resort.
The staff makes it at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro. The facilities are beautifully designed, the rooms are large and comfortable, the beach is fantastic, but the staff at most all all levels made our stay stand out as the best resort experience we've had in many years, and we've had many resort experiences in Latin America, Asia Pacific, etc. My wife liked that she didn't feel "processed", that the staff didn't see you as just another guest. They all know your name, learn what activities you like, what you don't like, and the service level is definitely a 5 star, with some exceptions, but they are truly exceptions. When you go, you have to look up Super Armondo...he is phenomenal and leads too many activities to count. You must also look up the gentleman who leads the archery and shooting (BB Gun) competitions...he is equally fantastic. The quality of the people is truly phenomenal, from the team working the pool and beach to keep a cold drink in your hand, the hotel Housekeeping staff who leave flower petals and towel art on your bed every day to the wait staff in the restaurants, they are fantastic. Most of the staff would be snapped up by Disney or other major corporations in the US in a heartbeat because of the quality of the customer focus and daily interaction. This resort is not cheap, but it is a value given the quality of the staff and facilities. The food is very good, the resort did not feel crowded and it was very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience

Posted Jun 24, 2015
This hotel exceeded expectations in all areas. The accommodations and food at all the restaurants were superb. The staff was also very friendly, professional and a great deal of fun. We will definitely be going back based on this trip. So much fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Amazing!

Posted Jun 24, 2015
It cost more, but after staying at the Iberostar Grand I don't know why you'd go somewhere else. Having personal Butlers, 5 amazing restaurants, 2 buffets, live entertainment, an assortment of activities, room service, and on an on it was awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

WOW!

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Everything. The shows each night were a lot of fun.
Cons: Nothing come to mind.
Location: Location not far from Airport. Only left the resort for some excursions and golf at an ocean course.
We had the best experience staying at the Iberostar Grand. Service was outstanding! The grounds, pools, beach, Spa and restaurants were excellent. We are planning to go back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, KS

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Perfect hotel and beach to relax and unwind. Staff was exceptional!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Bavaro for your holidays and for taking time to write a review about your experience among us. We are happy to read that you find our hotel perfect and good to relax at, thank you for saying that our staff is exceptional. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Best Regards,