Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

PERFECT TRIP

Posted Jan 23, 2015
This trip was absolutely PERFECT. The hotel was great and the service is just the best. Leidy and Willy were terrific at the pool and swim up bar and we never waited or wanted for ANYTHING. The hotel was clean and our butlers were great. The food was really good and we just had such an amazing and relaxing trip. We would recommend to a friend and will definitely be back!!!! Thank you for a great trip!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lexington, ky

Great beach and wonderful staff.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Very good restaurants. Incredible beaches. Staff has great enthusiasm. Overall excellent trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Fabulous Luxury Hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: see above - food was generally great - buffet had great presentation and good food - French and Galleon restaurants were A+++ - Italian/Japanese OK
Cons: beach is on the Atlantic, not the Caribbean and is restricted to avoid boats - not the calm, wade in waters I am used to from places like St. Martin
Location: visited casino @ Hard Rock - fun!! not much else to do outside of hotel grounds….
wonderful experience.. outstanding rooms, facilities, restaurants etc. Special mention for all staff members - engaging, charming, fun, good looking and always polite,,,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location of the hotel is great and the property is well taken care and I also like the way it's setup. Overall a relaxing vacation.
Cons: Food!!!
Location: Location of hotel is great close airport, golf courses and other beaches.
Overall we had a great time. The property is beautiful and the beach does not disappoint. The staff is very accommodating.I usually am not judgmental regarding the food at an inclusive because it is what it is. Even though there was good selection I was disappointed in how the hotel keeps the food temperature. Example lunch buffet most items where melting and the specialty restaurants are let down. I think the hotel is a five star hotel but the food brings it down to a 3 star. Iberostar also needs get rid of trying to sell guests on timeshares and wasting our valuable vacation time . Even though it's not presented as time share, if it looks like duck & quacks like duck it's a duck!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Great facility, horrible check in experience

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Good food and service
Cons: The check in process
Location: Very nice golf course on the property
Took two hours to get checked in. They took our passports, Amex Card, and Expedia confirmation and dissapeared behind back wall. During this time, multiple layers of staff approached us trying to sell other services and "The Club". The also all tod us what an extra special room they were putting us in. Finally got to this "extra special" room to find that it was "Ocean View" if you had binoculars, and the patio overlooked the black tar roof of the porch below obscurring even the view of the gargens and pools below. After several phone calls, they finally got us to a real ocean view room. After this horrible start, the rest of the week was great. In retrospect, I got the feeling they were trying to give this Expedia traveler a "hard to sell" room because I didn't book directly through Iberostar or "The Club". I certainly do not want to go through the same next year. So do I go elsewhere with Expedia, or book directly? Any suggestions or advice is welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phila

A beautiful hotel on the Beach in Dominca

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location plus the very good food ( which is not quite as good as it was several years ago)
Cons: Running the spa so the workers know what they are doing Fixing Cabana and beach problem Having access to the hotel itself and not through Expedia
I would have given a 5 for the overall rating except for one issue. The hotel and its surroundings are the best on the island. The staff is unfailingly helpful and the food mostly very good. The butlers really try to give you the best service. The problem is finding a place to sit either in a cabana or on the beach. There are not enough places for all the people and there is a lot of scuffling for cabanas - necessary in windy weather. They need to expand that area instead of taking some of the beach for proposed Club members ( a new program). Also, we were duped into sitting for a whole morning with a pitch to buy a club membership whereby they wanted us to commit to buying before we saw the contract. The only other minor problem is the spa which needs someone to run it. The people who do the services are very good but need direction.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, VA

Nice hotel but not worth the money

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Just a real quick run down. Very nice hotel as far as the grounds, room, and most of the service. We had Kelvin and Victor as our butlers and they were awesome. The food SUCKED!! The best thing that I ate there was the burger and the Kobe steak on the last day. The lobster tasted old like it had been frozen and thawed and frozen 5 times over. The top shelf alcohol was good but you had to ask for it. If you say rum and coke you're getting the junk. The pool was very nice and we liked that you didn't have to walk all the way across the resort to get to anything. We paid 3200+ and was there 1/2-1/6. Definitely NOT worth the money. I went on a Mexico trip for 700 and it was all around better than this one. This place definitely wasn't a 5 star place that is for sure. If you can get the trip for 600-700 a person I would say hit it up. Don't know if it was just because of the time that we went but it was super windy. I'm talking 20mph winds. We couldn't sit on the beach because we were just eating sand and getting sand in our drinks. The low down is that its a nice resort just not worth the money paid and definitely not 5 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Beautiful resort

Posted Jan 5, 2015
We were only here for 3 days but wish we could have stayed longer. The staff got us reservations in the restaurants on short notice (the food in restaurants was delicious!), when they found out it was our honeymoon and my birthday they did extra for us, the nightly shows were great, it was very close to the beach with sufficient seating, and it has a lot of pools with plenty of seating there as well. Our butler Pastor was great, Ricardo with activities was fun and very nice, and George with guest services made sure we were well taken care of!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Virgina

Excellent escape for the x-mas holiday!

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: All inclusive adults only. Food offering is incredible. Really, anything you want!
Cons: Wine offering.
Location: Lots of golf and water sports.
Stayed 12/18 - 12/25. Really need stay about 3 days longer to appreciate the full extent of what this resort has to offer. Excellent accommodations, top-notch service from Staff and Management that go the extra mile for their guests. I would be remiss if I failed to mention that our Butler (assigned to you upon arrival) was nowhere to be found after checking in. Other Butlers catered to their assigned guests every desire. They were always visible and went beyond the call of duty. We obviously had a slacker. Truly the exception. Regardless, will definitely visit again. Be sure to play the golf course. Extremely fair and challenging regardless of handicap. The Hobie Cats are loads of fun and offer a relaxing experience after golf. It would be difficult to find a better all inclusive adults only resort. BOOK IT!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed with the staff and the service.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: The food was really good and the beach was nice but having to get up at 7:00 to reserve a beach or pool chair was i convent and a pain in the neck.
Cons: Everything but the food although the Gourmet restaurant was awful
Location: Nice location but surrounded by more cheesy hotels. Too crowded
Very disappointed with the staff and the service. Arranging dinner, airport shuttles already booked and confirmed was a nightmare. Overall would never go back and find Meico a much better country to visit