Ratings based on 666 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas tx

Amazing all inclusive!

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Own stretch of private beach, multiple pools, 5 star restaurants, nightly entertainment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Location: Did not avail myself.
Lovely facilities, great food/drink. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I downgraded the facility because we had two instances where we went without hot water for several hours each.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Pushy sales people on site

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: The staff members were very friendly especially our butlers, Oscar, Henry, and Mendy. Also the grounds were nice, but the pool needs much renovation.
Cons: They need to get rid of the pushy sales group that hounds you and should renovate the pool sides and areas of the bottom.
Location: We did not leave the resort as there was a transportation strike and for a couple of days were told not to leave.
My wife and I have been to Iberostar hotels six different times and have always been very happy, until this trip. The concierges have been asked to try to get vacationers involved in the new "Iberostar Club" for returning vacationers. We were told that this would be no more than 60 minutes and that it is a way for you to get upgrades on your room for future visits and some other perks. We were also told that some people are afraid it may be something similar to a time share presentation, but they assured us it is nothing at all like that and that you can just tell them at any point you are not interested and leave. They said there is also no pressure applied and that its just a short meeting to show what benefits you qualify for when you come back. Well, NONE of that is true at all. It is essentially just like a time share type presentation. After 1 hr and 40 minutes we realized that it was much more than we were told and asked for the bottom line. After asking many more times they threw out the "its only $49,000 to join". We were floored and said that's not possible for us. They refused to accept that and kept going. We told them repeatedly "No" but they always keep going until we got up and walked away. Another couple that was nearby ended up with the same experience. We are very disappointed with Iberostar in being willing to go to any length to make a big sale and apparently not caring at all about their patrons and will not return in the future !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, On behalf our hotel manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we would like to thank you choosing our hotel IBEROSTAR Grand Bavaro for your deserved vacations and for reaching out to us posting a review. Please accept our apologies for the mishap with the Club sales staff, as per your words about it, it looks like the people that were trying to offer you the Membership did not do it in accordance with our standard, we will check this in order to make corrections and we thank you for bringing it to our attention. Rest assured that our intention with the club is nothing more than to providing a more exclusive and personalized service, we are sorry that we could not be able to show it that way. The entire team is looking forward to welcome you, please, contact us should you need any assistance for your next visit. Best Regards, Quality Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Great location near airport. Tons of activities.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Had an awesome time. Great food and drinks. Friendly staff. Very clean facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your experience at Iberostar Grand Bavaro. We are always very grateful for our guest’s feedback and are particularly pleased that you were able to enjoy your vacations. Thank you for saying that our staff is friendly and our facility is very clean. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to have the honor to host you again. Best Regards, Quality Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful All inclusive!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Swim out suites are elegantly decorated. Bed was comfortable, and linens soft and cozy. Big, well design bathroom and super clean. A pleasure!
Cons: The hotel should have a machine raking the sea weed every morning before 7 am. Too much algae on the shore. This is the only unkept area.
The jewel of all inclusive in Dominican Republic! Elegant, well kept and the best service around. Quiet and peaceful. We did not encounter any crazy drunken crowds. Food was excellent. The service is outstanding. Everyone starting with the cleaning crew, bell boys, waiters, butlers, you encounter has a smile and say hello. The hotel has a genuine intention to make you forget about the miseries of every day life. Very happy also with Expedia and JetBlue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying at IBEROSTAR Grand Bavaro and for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and facilities, it encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again. Best Regards, Quality Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2015
We had an excellent time! I highly recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your experience at Iberostar Grand Bavaro. We are so happy to read you had an excellent time and that you highly recommend our hotel. We are looking forward to host you back. Best Regards, Quality Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Beautiful stay with someone you love.

Posted Jul 1, 2015
This place takes the cake ! Great staff - great fun - great views. Can't wait to come back for my honeymoon !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the IBEROSTAR Grand Bavaro and for providing your positive comments following your recent stay. On behalf our hotel manager Mr. Stefano Baratelli and the hotel staff, we wish to extend our thankfulness for choosing us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to acknowledge that you were satisfied with the level of service provided by our staff. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Best Regards, Quality Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful resort and exceptional staff!!!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The food and especially the Top Shelf Liquor! I enjoyed drinking Grey Goose all weekend!
Cons: The security regarding the room safe. To have money stolen out of my wallet was horrible. I have never had that happen to me at any hotel.
Location: Not much to do near by. We did venture to a local Dominical club about 15 minutes away by taxi, $15.00. Well worth it.
This is by far the best all inclusive I have been to. Don't look any further, just book! My sister and I stayed 4 night at this resort. From arrival we knew we had mad the right choice! Food was excellent, just make sure you make your reservations before you trib. The best restaurants were, Hibachi and Beach Club. Also, be sure to request the wine list at dinner which features over 30 complimentary wines. The staff were so caring and full of excitement! They knew our names by day two. The beach is beautiful, a little seaweed but just swim out and you won't have any. The room was breathtaking, stay on the 4th floor facing the ocean, beautiful! My only complaint is the money that was stolen out of our wallets which were in the safe on day one. We went back to the room after dinner, the room had been cleaned and there was a note on our safe stating we did not lock in correctly and to call the front desk to reset the password. We did not check our wallets until the next evening as I would have never thought that staff at the hotel would steal. Low and below I was missing $30 and my sister $20. I did not like how the staff kept asking us if we misplaced our money. I knew exactly how much money I came with. They did an investigation and of course said they could not find that anyone stole the money. We were offered a 25minute massage each, which I basically paid for with the money stolen from our wallets, an hour would have been nice. Lock up your safe correctly! overall good reso
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Loved this vacation!!! All of the staff provided amazing service and made us feel at home. My 80 minute therapeutic massage was fabulous but didn't love the facial. The dinner selection at all of the a la carte restaurants were simply amazing and very elegant! However the quality of the food at the buffets was suboptimal and that was the only option for breakfast/lunch. Would definitely return to iberostar grand hotel the next time we go to Punta Cana.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Hartford, CT

Perfect Honeymoon Destination!

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: We had a fantastic time, and we would DEFINITELY go back!
Cons: Go to the concierge to redeem your $400 worth of coupons.We weren't told to do this and thought we had $400 to spend. That was a surprise at checkout.
Location: There were a bunch of excursions offered, but we just stayed on the beautiful resort since we only had 5 days there! There is a Coco Bongo nearby.
We had an INCREDIBLE honeymoon! The grounds are absolutely breathtaking. They are incredibly clean, and you can tell they work very hard to maintain them. We had no trouble getting cabanas by the pool or on the beach despite us being late risers. The food is great! There is one buffet open for all meals until 11pm, and we usually ate there for breakfast and late-night snacks. There is another buffet by the pool where we at lunch every day. The spreads were incredible. There was something for everyone! The fruits and salads were always fresh and clean, the seafood was super tasty and fresh, and the variety was wonderful! My favorite was the freshly grilled lobster, and their burgers were shockingly good! The a la cart restaurants ARE included in the all-inclusive pricing. They were all phenomenal. Only food disclaimer: we were shocked at how bad the room service food was. I would avoid it. The butlers and wait staff are all amazing. They really want to make sure you have a great experience. We always tipped ($1-2 for breakfast/lunch, $5 for dinner), and the waiters remember you and treat you even better the next day! The shows at night were really entertaining, and the boat bar was super fun late-night. Most people there are couples looking for a getaway, so it's not really a party resort, but there is still a night life. The spa was BEAUTIFUL. We had 2 afternoons of couples spa treatments, and those women are super talented! They really helped us escape!