Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great all-inclusive resort!!!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The serving staff being extremely focused on insuring that clients' expectations were being exceeded at all levels.
Cons: The frozen and mixed drinks taste good, but are lacking in alcohol. If you like strong drinks, you will definitely need to watch the bartenders!!!
Location: We did not participate in any of the offered excursions. We simply laid on the beach and enjoyed the resort's peace & tranquility.
My wife and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro. This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic, but not our first experience with all-inclusive resorts. In the past we have stayed at all-inclusive resorts that had very nice facilities, adequate service, friendly people and mediocre food. As such, prior to our arrival on July 11 our expectations for the Grand Hotel Bavaro resort were not not exceptionally high. Much to our surprise, the Grand Hotel Bavaro's staff and facilities exceeded our expectations in every way. From the moment we walked through the resort's front entrance, the staff treated us like royalty and did everything possible to exceed our expectations. At every corner we were met by serving staff who continually met us with smiles, friendly greetings, and genuine inquiries related to insuring that we had everything we needed and that our expectations were being met. We found our room to be large, clean and very comfortable. The restaurants had exceptional food that significantly exceeded our expectations. The one exception is the lunch buffet in the restaurant by the pool. We found this facility's food to be mediocre, so we just loaded up on the wonderful buffet breakfast and spent the entire day soaking up sun on the large, private beach that had plenty of cabanas, beautiful sand, tranquil blue water and very few people. Overall, great resort with exceptional service, fantastic food and wonderful people!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Exceptional Hotel, Service, Staff and Amenities

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly hotel staff, exceptional floor butler service, the spacious and beautiful hotel/property. Lobby bar was first rate with top-shelf calls.
Cons: Install door bells. Butler/maid service went out of their way to call and assist, however knocks were often unanswered due to A/C and time on balcony
Location: The best. Absolutely no reason to leave the property unless going on some excursion. Beach was wonderful, clean and clear. Pool/amenities outstanding
Totally enjoyed our stay. This is a must place for couples (especially honeymooners) to relax and be pampered without any care. The butler service is an exceptional amenity versus having to call or visit the lobby concierge. They are right there at a moments notice and took care of everything from any additional special needs to including restaurant reservations and activities. The restaurants were of exceptional quality, albeit all the main/basic selections were similar across the board, but with different preparations and flavors. Ask for the wine menu that has some very nice selections included. The Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner buffets were sumptous and could easily satisfy most palates. Grill to order seafood and meats made it very nice. We enjoyed visiting the three other properties (including the casino) throughout the whole Iberostar complex that are adjacent to each other along a lengthy and beautiful beachfront. All were brief visits as they appeared to be slightly lesser in surroundings and more crowded with guests with children or young adults. We could not wait to get back and relax at the Grand. Staying at the Grand (gold band) allows guests to move down and utilize the amenities at the other three. Guests there cannot move up. Met lots of new friends and enjoyed the time at the pool/lobby bars. Discussion with fellow travellers at the airport, on departure, clearly makes Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro the best and only choice; and well worth the little extra cost
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut USA

Best resort!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Very pleased! Our butler Henry was awesome. The staff was top notch. Our room was perfect. I was very surprised at the Vegas quality entertainment. I never expected such awesome shows. The daily activities were a blast. Food excellent. I love the fact the dining experience is formal and elegant after being in a bathing suit all day every day. It's nice to dress formal in the evenings and be served an elegant dining. The morning buffets were plentiful with a huge selection of items. My boyfriend is fussy with food and service and he is so excited about our experience. He can't wait to return either!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chatt

Beautiful hotel, wonderful people, OK food

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: People & facilities were great!
Cons: Food was inconsistent. Options were great, but final product was often poor.
Location: Really enjoyed Jellyfish restaurant! $25 taxi each way. Stay away from beach cigar shops! All fakes!!!
We've been several places throughout the Caribbean and Iberostar Grand Bavarro was one of the nicest. The wonderful staff is what makes this place great! Easy access to the beach, beautiful pools, great weather, this place has it all! Special thanks to Alejandro, Juan, Misael, Felina, Juana, Yuseila and many others, who made our visit special! All the butlers were especially helpful! While the food was very plentiful, the evening dinners seemed to be just outside of the chefs' capabilities, at least to a large degree. The best dining places were the Italian, Japanese, & Surf & Turf, but perhaps not in that order. The first night, my steak was a perfect medium-rare at surf & turf, but the lobster was inedible (overcooked & pasty). Be prepared to supervise the cooking of beef & lobster, or it will all be overcooked! Lunch of steak & lobster (all you can eat!) sounds wonderful, and is, but when it comes out ruined, it is such a waste! Overall, the food rated a 7 for for quality of ingredients, which is certainly not bad for all-you-eat, and final preparation and flavor was a notch or 2 below that. Desserts were outstanding! We had a wonderful visit & would definitely recommend to friends and plan to go again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GapeachinMD from Maryland

Another Impeccable Iberostar Experience!!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The property's immaculate grounds and pristine amenities!! This is a must for ANY all inclusive travel that I experience.
Cons: I believe the resort is undergoing some room renovations as they are a tad bit older....BUT...they are very clean and well appointed.
Location: We didn't venture off of the property, but stayed there to experience spa services and other daily activities offered by the pool/resort staff.
My mother and I recently, vacationed in Punta Canta at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro All Inclusive Resort and it was AMAZING!! This is our 2nd Iberostar holiday...the first being at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall in Montego Bay, Jamaica last year (which I also highly recommend). The Dominican Republic property is immaculate and the staff is willing and ready to be at your every beck and call. Customer Service magnifico!! SERVICES We enjoyed the spa services and recommend that you indulge in at least one treatment if you're able to do so. Be sure to touch base with the Public Relations representative upon booking your trip to become acclimated with the restaurants, book spa treatments, and to make other arrangements offsite if that's your wish. Doing so ahead of time will be helpful to you and eliminate the need for you to do so upon arrival. HOTEL ACCOMODATIONS Although I do not know the exact age, it appears that the DR resort is a tad bit older than the Montego Bay property and you'll notice worn carpets and dated rooms, but this should not deter you from selecting this resort. I believe that they are slowly in the process of renovating the rooms. Again, it is not a dealbreaker, just something that a consummate All Inclusive traveller couldn't help but notice. :-)) Enjoy your vacation at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro...I guarantee that your holiday will leave you relaxed and ready for your next DR excursion!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GapeachinMD from Maryland

Another Impeccable Iberostar Experience!!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The property's immaculate grounds and pristine amenities!! This is a must for ANY all inclusive travel that I experience.
Cons: I believe the resort is undergoing some room renovations as they are a tad bit older....BUT...they are very clean and well appointed.
Location: We didn't venture off of the property, but stayed there to experience spa services and other daily activities offered by the pool/resort staff.
My mother and I recently, vacationed in Punta Canta at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro All Inclusive Resort and it was AMAZING!! This is our 2nd Iberostar holiday...the first being at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall in Montego Bay, Jamaica last year (which I also highly recommend). The Dominican Republic property is immaculate and the staff is willing and ready to be at your every beck and call. Customer Service magnifico!! SERVICES We enjoyed the spa services and recommend that you indulge in at least one treatment if you're able to do so. Be sure to touch base with the Public Relations representative upon booking your trip to become acclimated with the restaurants, book spa treatments, and to make other arrangements offsite if that's your wish. Doing so ahead of time will be helpful to you and eliminate the need for you to do so upon arrival. HOTEL ACCOMODATIONS Although I do not know the exact age, it appears that the DR resort is a tad bit older than the Montego Bay property and you'll notice worn carpets and dated rooms, but this should not deter you from selecting this resort. I believe that they are slowly in the process of renovating the rooms. Again, it is not a dealbreaker, just something that a consummate All Inclusive traveller couldn't help but notice. :-)) Enjoy your vacation at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro...I guarantee that your holiday will leave you relaxed and ready for your next DR excursion!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GapeachinMD from Hanover, MD

Another Impeccable Iberostar Experience!!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The property's immaculate grounds and pristine amenities!! This is a must for ANY all inclusive travel that I experience.
Cons: I believe the resort is undergoing some room renovations as they are a tad bit older....BUT...they are very clean and well appointed.
Location: We didn't venture off of the property, but stayed there to experience spa services and other daily activities offered by the pool/resort staff.
My mother and I recently, vacationed in Punta Canta at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro All Inclusive Resort and it was AMAZING!! This is our 2nd Iberostar holiday...the first being at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall in Montego Bay, Jamaica last year (which I also highly recommend). The Dominican Republic property is immaculate and the staff is willing and ready to be at your every beck and call. Customer Service magnifico!! SERVICES We enjoyed the spa services and recommend that you indulge in at least one treatment if you're able to do so. Be sure to touch base with the Public Relations representative upon booking your trip to become acclimated with the restaurants, book spa treatments, and to make other arrangements offsite if that's your wish. Doing so ahead of time will be helpful to you and eliminate the need for you to do so upon arrival. HOTEL ACCOMODATIONS Although I do not know the exact age, it appears that the DR resort is a tad bit older than the Montego Bay property and you'll notice worn carpets and dated rooms, but this should not deter you from selecting this resort. I believe that they are slowly in the process of renovating the rooms. Again, it is not a dealbreaker, just something that a consummate All Inclusive traveller couldn't help but notice. :-)) Enjoy your vacation at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro...I guarantee that your holiday will leave you relaxed and ready for your next DR excursion!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cassie from kentucky

Beautiful Resort!!

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Had a wonderful experience at this resort! Everything was top notch and beach was breath taking! The grounds are beautiful and everyone was very friendly! Would definitely return in a heart beat :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jersey girl from New Jersey

Sheer luxury w tons of fun.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Best vacation ever. Top notch dining, entertainment, rooms. Staff was more than accommodating and helped make it so much fun. Activities all day every day. Would highly recommend this location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2014 by Edward, Hotel Management
We thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bavaro to spend our vacations and for taking time to post a review about your experience in Expedia. We want to express how satisfied we are to read that the friendliness of our entire team and our exquisite gastronomy made you feel as a “Star” or as we aim in IBEROSTAR, we are committed to ensure our beloved guests to “enjoy being a Star”. We will be honored to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your visit. With regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience!

Posted Jun 5, 2014
I had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend this hotel