Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Excellent maid service and friendly staff.
Cons: Loved the wild birds but noticed lots of people feeding bread to the birds even though there was a sign not to feed them. A feed dispenser might help
Very nice accomodations. i would recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alnello from CT. USA

A touch of Europe with Dominican hospitality!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Everything, except for the difficulty of trying to get out of the water onto the beach. Had it been easier, I would have rated this hotel higher.
Cons: Access to the water from the beach. As stated before, getting in and out of the water can be quite challenging, especially for senior citizens.
Location: Sorry, but I also had to give a shout out to Rudolfo, who meet us upon arriving. He was a huge help to us and and he deserves a big Thank You!
We stayed in building #1 which is furthest from the beach, but closest to the theater and restaurants. The resort design is very European, with a canal running through the center of the main area loaded with ducks, swans, flamingos, peacocks and other fowl native to the region. The animal sounds from this area give you the feeling of being in the jungle while still at the beach.The water and beach are beautiful, but the one drawback is trying to get in and out of the water. There is a steep decline as you enter the water which proves to be quite a challenge when tying to get back out of the water. Many older people will find this quite difficult to navigate. There really needs to be something done to make access to the water more friendly. The pool is spectacular, and besides having the usually ladders and stairs, it also has a paved area that easily allows you to wade into the pool as though you were at the beach. This is exactly the kind of access they need at the beach! We found the buffet to be quite pleasing with many different types of entrees and desserts available every day. The only specialty restaurant we visited was The Colonial, which we were all very pleased with. The steak here could compare to any steakhouse in the US, and that was a huge surprise to us. All in all, the food was well above average for an all inclusive. Novarius was our usual waitress at the buffet and always had our table waiting for us with club soda and wine! She is the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Washington State

Beautiful beach, immaculate property

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Location: The trip to Saona Island is fun; the Chavon River and Altos de Chavon are not far away.
We booked this all-inclusive based on all the positive reviews we read about it, and we agree with all of them. Along with the beach, the accommodations, and the helpful staff, things that really stood out to us were all the different birds to be seen in the gardens, and the fact that it was amazingly quiet for how many people were staying there. Definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach lovely pool great facilities

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Beautiful and clean, very accessible to beach and all facilities
Cons: We enjoyed the buffet but would have liked to have been able to make more than 3 reservations for dinners.
We loved everything about our stay, hope to go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vita from W. Hartford, CT

The great place close to the water

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: The resort is not huge, but offer enough privacy if you want it or you can be as social as you like with plenty of common areas.
Cons: The rooms are a little outdated but it is not an issue at all since you spend your time on a gorgeous beach :)
Location: Right on the beach, 5 minutes walk from the village of Bayahibe with gift shops and local artists, excellent excursions available to buy from hotel
Nice place right on the water. The walk from the reception desk to the beach is literally less then 5 min :) The beach is clean with plenty of shade under palm gazebos. The staff is super friendly and helpful, they make it their business to make sure you have a great experience during your stay. I purchased 3 excursions from the hotel and I had the incredible experience. The tour guides spoke multiple languages- French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish, ets. The historical places we visited, the speed boats, catamaran rides, dives, snorkeling, caves all were amazing.The entertainment staff interact with guests all day long but not to the point when they become a annoying. The food was above my expectations in the buffet and in all of the restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel but food/drink was subpar

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Property and the beach is gorgeous
Cons: Food and drinks should be bettered - simply buying fresh produce and having them prepared in a consistent manner.
We stayed here with our 1.5 year old son - beautiful property, everyone was very friendly but the food and drink made our stay that much less enjoyable. The drinks were watered down; if you asked for frozen drink they gave you the pina colada mix with ice in it. Very cheap with the liquor - I'm no drinker but if I order a drink it would be nice that it had alcohol in it. With all this, drinks was the least of our issues. The food was terrible at the buffet and not that much better at the restaurants. I wonder if there is a head chef because there was no consistency. If there was a few good things the next day was a different story. The meat was tough no matter how you had it prepared, the pasta sauces had no flavor, fruits and vegetables were beyond ripe, etc. The snack bar while convenient housed burgers and hot dogs that were out for hours. Very hard with a toddler who refused to eat. Again, while everything was very nice - the food and drink situation lessened our experience exponentially.
Comment from
Jan 8, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia and for choosing IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus for your vacations. On the one hand, we are pleased to read your positive valuation about our friendly staff and beautiful premises. In IBEROSTAR we want to provide the best service to our valuable costumers. On the other hand, we extend our apologies for the inconveniences related to our selection of drinks. These suggestions as well as those about our international well valued cuisine have been sent to the corresponding departmental heads. Once again thank you for your feedback. With best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to beach

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Nice resort only thing rooms could be updateda little and the food needs to be switched a little kind of same thing every day.
Comment from
Jan 8, 2014
Thank you for having chosen IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus as your holiday’s destination and for having taken time to post a review about your experience on Expedia. We want to express you how much we regret to read that the variety of our exquisite gastronomy could not ensure you a pleasant holiday. We have shared your comments and suggestions with all the corresponding departmental heads so we can take measures to deliver the level of service expected by our “stars” on vacation. In IBEROSTAR we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star in vacation”. We are looking forward to see you again and show you our improvements. Kindest regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jenny from New Jersey

Relaxing vacation with fab food!

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Excellent food; clean, well maintained facilities
Cons: More sunbeds available at peak times
Just returned from a wonderful family vacation at this resort. Be prepared to come home a little heavier than when you left as the food is fabulous. We loved the extensive buffets (breakfast, lunch & dinner) with plenty of options to suit all diets. The speciality restaurants - 3 bookings allowed per week - were also good, and offered a nice change to the buffet. We enjoyed the hotel pools (including swim up bar) and the easy access to the beach and the sea. Only negative here was that occasionally there weren't enough sunbeds by the pool. It was annoying that some guests would spend no more than a couple of hours using a sunbed but would reserve it all day with a towel despite the hotel asking people not to do this. We made good use of the tennis courts, ping pong tables, basketball nets and beach soccer to break up the occasional monotony of lying in the sun. The hotel entertainment team did a fabulous job, not pressuring guests to join in if not their thing but enthusiastically including everyone who was up for a bit of family fun. We were a little disappointed by the small number of pre-teen & teen families - lots of older couples and very young families - but fortunately our trio were happy to entertain each other. Overall this was a very restful, easy vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from NY

The place is great!

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Food was just OK but room and beach are excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014