Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom al

Rude people

Posted May 27, 2015
The place smell bad everyday , people are very rude.no where to shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel and beautiful beach

Posted May 23, 2015
Cons: Free WiFi at the lobby. The system does not support volume of people.
This was our seventh trip to Domenican Republic. six to Punta Cana and one to la Romana and our third staying at the Iberostar hotels. The Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus is an awesome hotel. My wife and I enjoyed every minute. Staff, rooms, food, entertainment, the beach, the Disco and El Faro Bar at the Beach was very nice. The Theme restaurants were good. They offered free WiFi at the lobby, but the system/router does not support the volume of users all at once so not everyone can access free WiFi. I suggest they can install several routers so people will be able to join in without any problems. Great hotel and we will come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with an amazing beach

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Beautiful beach and hotel grounds, great pool with swim-up bar, great entertainment
Amazing experience overall at this resort. The beach is absolutely beautiful with crystal clear, calm water. The entertainment was nonstop and there was always something to do at the beach or pool. The nightly shows were also very good, especially the Michael Jackson show. The food was very good in the buffet with a variety of choices and the specialty restaurants were excellent (ate at El Colonial and the steakhouse). This is a truly great resort for an affordable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houghton MI

Great stay at a great resort

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The beach and pool were very nice and very similar temperatures. We did a lot of swimming.
Cons: We can't really think of anything other than something minor like it would be nice to have a hook or two in the bathroom.
Location: This resort is in a remote area. We took the local bus into the town of Bayahibe. It cost $1 each way and we caught it right in front of the resort.
We enjoyed our time at this resort in this remote area of the Dominican Republic. We liked taking long walks down the beach. You do need to put out your towels early in the morning (before 7 a.m.) to reserve your lounge chairs especially by the beach. You don't need to, but we did tip many of the bartenders and waitstaff $1 or $2 now and then and it was much appreciated. There were activities occurring around the pool and beach if you wanted to participate. We brought our own snorkel gear, but the water close to the resort was rather cloudy and not good for snorkeling closeby. Did take 1.5 hour snorkel excursion out from the resort, and that was very good. For us, we would prefer that the nightly shows begin thirty minutes earlier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom l

Garden

Posted May 4, 2015
Great stay. I like it But the sea was to wild I think it is the season
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Very quiet room, comfortable. Good food, variety

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Smaller than Punta Cana Iberostar we have stayed at in the past. We felt that the staff was very helpful and thoughtful, did not seem to be so rushed
Cons: Longer stays for us
Location: Location on the Carribean Sea was a must for us. Went hoseback riding to the caves(underground limestone caverns). Swam in the caverns crystal water
Loved the beach and amenities. Treated great by all staff, our housekeeper did ans excellent job daily. Truly, a peaceful vacation. Would go back to this resort again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new hampshire

Wonderful

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We had very relaxing which we needed. My spa experience was amazing. Staff very friendly. The beach was lovely. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom US

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The food (amazing), staff (friendly and always helpful), and property (beautiful grounds with exotic birds).
Cons: 1. Designated smoking areas 2. Guests "reserving" pool/beach chairs - may be more helpful if towels unclaimed for more than 1-2 hours were removed
Location: Great location on the beach; highly recommend the day trip to Santo Domingo to see the Colonial City.
The resort property is absolutely beautiful and very scenic. The food is amazing, the activities and night performances are fun, and the staff is incredibly friendly. The downsides were that most of the adult guests were smokers and hard to avoid at the beach and pool areas, and a lot of guests put down towels early in the morning to reserve beach/pool chairs but wouldn't show up for hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bayern

Super Hotel mit tollem Strand

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Ein super schönes Hotel mit toller Außenanlage. Personal war immer freundlich und zuvorkommend. Die Zimmer wurden immer perfekt gereinigt. Das Essen war reichhaltig mit großer Auswahl. Würde dieses Hotel für meinen nächsten Urlaub in der Dominikanischen Republik wieder buchen.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Nice hotel building and gardens near to the beach.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The position and the Steak House Restaurant where the staff had a good and proper service attitude.
Cons: Their ridiculous rules said we could only eat at the Steak House on 2 of a 4 night stay. The staff attitude in the main restaurant was off hand.
Location: Did not explore the surroundings or things to do although we took a quite expensive snorkelling day trip at £70 per person which did include 'lunch'.
The main downside to this hotel was the failure of the staff generally to be as friendly when serving the guests as they were at the three other hotels where we stayed during our nearly three week business/leisure trip to the Dominican Republic. Sadly the reception desk staff - who say they have to operate 'the rules' - may speak a little English but they do not actually understand the meaning of those rules as written in the documentation that they are applying. 'Rule 8 Please remember that check out time is at noon (12.00 p.m.)' I paraphrase -'The night before one leaves one has to request this service to see if the room is available in which case you may be allowed to get a late check out. This request has to be confirmed again on the day of departure. If one stays beyond 1.00 p.m. then there is USD 10 charge per hour.' Apparently this is an automatic charge generated by computer unless you have actually completed check out procedures. (This probably explained their suggestion that one should be at the check out twenty minutes before time!) When I made the first and second request there was no understanding that I was seeking to register my request as instructed The forcible wearing of plastic bracelets is more usual in hospital and that is where it is best kept. The very noisy outside 'entertainments that can be heard loudly everywhere , along with the human chicken, darthvaders etc. could safely be removed - more usual in well known UK Holiday Camps.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, On behalf of our hotel manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Expedia. We feel more than worried to read that our front desk staff was not able to exceed your expectations, I have shared your cooments with our management team and they will make corrections in order to inform about our late check out procedures more accurate. We hope that you can reconsider your thoughts about your evualuation as this issue with the front desk should not be a desicion factor for not giving us a second chance, rest assure that coorections will be made in order to gain you back as guest in the future We are looking forward to welcoming you. Best Regards, Quality Manager