Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Excellent staff

Posted Aug 6, 2014
We were pampered during our stay. Juan Pablo was extremely helpful and wanted to make sure our stay was everything we wanted!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebeca from LA

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Everyone at this hotel was really friendly and always made sure that I had all my needs met and that I felt comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patricia

Great customer service

Posted May 28, 2014
I had a great experience at this hotel because it has great customer service, hotel was clean, it was near the beach and the hotel is very spacious. Great if you are looking for a calm and peaceful environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great non-all inclusive Hotel with exzellent room

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Beautiful beach (Paradise) Food especially the fresh fruit Huge Room Quite hotel
Cons: Variable transfers to the beach!Each hours there is a beach shuttle service! It would be great to have the shuttle more flexible and later than 5pm
Location: We relaxed most of the time on the beautifulmbeach and in the hotel which has been or primarily goal! One time we drove to a nice shopping center!
We were impressed by the beautiful beach which has been a little bit to far from the hotel! The huge apartments were really nice and we loved the food!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jorge from Santo Domingo, R.D.

Beautiful and spacious room

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The kitchenette, washer and dryer and dishwasher. You can travel to Punta Cana on a modest budget without lowering the quality of the stay
Cons: Punctuality in the Check In
Location: Beautiful beach and White Sand´s Golf Course in front the hotel
A very nice place that I personally recommend for families of more than three members. An excellent choice for travel with little luggage and eager to know the area, for kitchenette, washer and dryer and dishwasher.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by stephen parker

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay!!!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
It was all that we expected, we will continue visiting this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Iqaluit

Nice Aparthotel

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Large sized rooms/condo units with comfortable beds and full kitchens. Cable television, jet tub on the deck, friendly staff.
Cons: Food service is very limited. While I was there, the entire menu was printed on 4x6 card left on the tables. The coffee was weak.
Location: It is a 10-15 minute walk or 4-500 peso taxi ride to Plaza Bavaro or Steve's Bar. Mangu Club is not much further than those two.
Karibo is not on the beach and is a ways away. The hotel has shuttles to the beach but i never used them; I never went to the beach at all. I was in DR to read books, visit friends and have a few drinks. I expect for many, this hotel may be too far from the beach or night life. I will return next winter. It will make a good base to stay for a week or more, rent a car and explore the countryside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linny from Winnipeg, Canada

Spacious apartments, good for low key vacation

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet, no need to fight for chairs by the pool! Large, clean, comfortable apartments
Cons: As noted above, the services could be explained better when checking in, and the kitchen could be better stocked.
Location: The beach was a 5-10 min golf buggy ride away. There were several small shops and grocery stores about a 10min walk away. Some vendors very pushy.
We booked a 2 bedroom apartment since we have two teenagers and don't like all-inclusive resorts. I'm not sure if it was the language barrier, but when we checked in, we were not told anything about what to expect and what not to expect. For example, they could have explained how the beach shuttle worked, that housekeeping would come daily to make the beds and empty the garbage and wash the dishes, etc. The staff were all very friendly, but had limited English. We had to ask for beach towels because they weren't in our room. The kitchen could have been better "stocked": There was one small, very dull, paring knife in the kitchen; the handles on the pots were falling off; we had to ask for some dish soap and a cloth in order to do some of our own dishes - again, we weren't told that housekeeping would do our dishes, and while they did them one day, they didn't do them another day, so it was easier to do our own. While we were told the restaurant was separate from the hotel, I think it's worthy to note that it had a limited offering (we were told it was "in transition") and very skimpy servings. Having said all that, the apartment was huge and very clean! The main room and both bedrooms had air conditioners, and we were very comfortable. The pool area was clean and well maintained. The staff responded to our requests quickly and graciously, so the above are only minor complaints, and more to let the hotel know how to improve. I would recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by R from Virginia

Away from the crowds

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Spacious room, modern and stylish furnishings, friendly staff, free wifi, no hidden fees.
Cons: The on-site restaurant has a very limited menu - expand it! Include paper towels, dishwasher fluid, aluminum foil or baking pan in rooms for cooking.
Location: It seemed pretty safe in the area. We walked to shops/restaurants (1 mile est). Not too far from airport. Not a lot to do, but that fit our needs.
I travelled with my young son and husband. Overall, we had a great experience at Karibo. The goal of this vacation was to relax and get in much needed rest and relaxation, and this hotel fit the bill. We wanted to spend time at the beach and hotel - no excursions, tours, etc. Traveling with a young child, we needed lots of space to spread out and a full kitchen. Having two bathrooms was great. The furnishings are nice, though slight wear and tear is peeking through. We typically prefer staying oceanfront, but the reviews swayed us to take the chance. It is a quick shuttle ride to the beach, and it wasn't inconvenient at all. The staff is friendly. It wasn't crowded during our trip, so pool time was enjoyable - no issues getting beach chairs. All in all, a good experience. The selection in the nearby grocery store was somewhat limited, and combined with the limited offerings of the hotel restaurant, I might consider an all-inclusive if I returned to D.R. knowing what I know now. The plus is that we didn't gain any weight on vacation. It perplexed me that the hotel didn't include a baking type of pan for the oven, no paper towels for the kitchen, & no dish detergent or dishwasher fluid. The cleaning staff will take care of this chore daily, but it seemed odd not to give guests an option to clean dishes since there aren't a ton of dishes. The room had a hot tub on one of the two full sized patios, but only cold water comes out. Still good overall.