Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto Rico

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Awesome place. Awesome staff. Great food! Go on noogie adventure and reef explorer!!! You'll never forget that experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great Vacation

Posted Feb 13, 2015
I had a great time on my 5 nights stay. The resort is very nice and clean, my room was wonderful and huge. Stayed in building 82 at the Ambar. The staff was very nice and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eau Claire, WI

Huge Resort

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Great array of assortments for food and restaurants. Lots of lobbies, pools, bars to choose from
Cons: Stay away from the Mediterrian restaurant it was overall a terrible experience from customer service to the food
Location: The dune buggies were awesome and a lot of fun as well as the zip lining.
This was a great place to stay, plenty of things to do and plenty of places to eat. Had I known how large this resort was I would have probably booked else where. It was a great resort don't get me wrong but you have to get on a trolley to go to any of the other places (you can walk but it is a good 5-15 minute walk to get to the other locations) I didn't like the fact that I couldn't just open my door and walk 100 yards and be at the beach it was a good 5 minute walk. Nice beach and big and great customer service but again a hike to get too. that was the same with the restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom A

Awkward Resort

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: With few exceptions, most all the resort workers were friendly and helpful. There was a good assortment of food options which all tasted good.
Cons: Our check-in was terrible at Ambar 2. We found front desk staff to be disorganized, unprofessional, an generally unpleasant to deal with.
Location: There is nothing near by, you can take a taxi or buy an excursion tour to leave the resort grounds, both will be expensive.
This is a mega resort composed of five separate resorts. When you arrive you will be taken to the lobby of the Bavaro resort regardless of which resort you are staying at. All resorts will refer to it as the "main lobby". There was a lot of people and confusion when we arrived but we managed to get to our resort Ambar 2 fairly quickly. Our check-in was horrible. Our room was not ready even though it was after three in the afternoon. Not one of the four front desk workers could tell us why, they just told us to sit down and wait and they would come get us. As we sat we watched others arrived and go to their rooms. During our hour wait in the lobby I checked three times at the front desk each time the worker went into an office located behind the front desk to speak with a manager but returned with no news. Exhausted from our 12 hour flight we went to our room as soon as it was available. The next morning we returned to the front desk and asked to speak to the manager, again the worker went into the office behind the front desk and returned to tell us that the manager was busy and would speak to us in 20 minutes. We found that simply unacceptable and did not wait because it became obvious that the front desk staff doesn't really care if we visit again or not. But on a positive note, the food and service at the many buffets and restaurants was good. The lobby and pool areas at Ambar 2 were beautiful and well maintained. There was a lot of live shows which we enjoyed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Stayed Feb. 2-9th for a getaway

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Food, Staff, Pool area, Quietness, Beach
Cons: Some mold in the showers. Due to marble/tile floors things echoed in hallways.
Location: Did the reef explorer and enjoyed it. Wander was our Expedia concierge and was wonderful. I strongly recommend meeting with him and booking excursions
My Wife and I stayed here in the first week of February. The price was good compared to other resorts and destinations and was rated much higher then adjacent resorts. We read many many reviews before booking and were confused as to why there were such horrible reviews but the overall rating was 4.6/5. Well we learned that people just like to complain and you usually only write a review if your experience was bad. The hotel and pool grounds are amazing. We were originally placed in ambar one room because of the location to the beach and pool. We asked for a room switch the second day to the new ambar area and the front desk switched with out a hitch. The new Ambar area is further from the beach, but the pool and quietness of it make up for the walk. We ate at five al a cart restaurants.... in order from best to worst; Don Pablo, Bella Italiano, El Olivo, Rodizo, Taiko. All the food al a cart was great and the service was perfect. The buffets had a massive selection and some of the food was bland, but my wife and I always found something that was good on the buffet and it was enough to make us happy. The resort grounds and hotel rooms here are awesome, but the staff is what really makes this place. We thoroughly enjoyed each and every staff member. The people of the Dominican really are some of the nicest people we have ever met, they definitely work hard to make their guests happy I highly recommend this resort for great luxury at a great value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Simpsonville SC

5 star rating but in reality 4 star quality

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Location is beautiful, weather is excellent all year around. Lots off places to walk to.
Cons: General organization. Torn or dirty towels and bed sheets need to be replaced. Explain guests at check in which areas and restaurants they can use.
Location: Great location, nice pools and beach but not enough shairs.
At first the whole resort was overwhelming. We arrived at main lobby but stayed at Amber. No one explaind why we have to wait in main lobby, where we will be transported too and which areas can be used during our stay. Many restaurants were not well organized. Waiters running around all over the place but hardly anyone there to service you. Food was generally good and all outside areas very nicely landscaped.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Going to be honest. Good and Bad

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The price and the pools
Cons: The language barrier and food
Location: Stay at the resort and relaxed
Resort was only a 3 out of 5, but OK for the price. Big language barrier if you don't speak Spanish. Food a 3 out of 5 for the buffet. Specialty restaurants were hit or miss. Not much night life if that is what you like {there is nothing after 1030pm {unless you like a 70s style disco and like to gamble}. Cleaning staff {for your rooms} were, at best a 2 out of 5, but the resort over all was very clean and manicured. Take bug spray with you {its a must for mosquitoes}. Don't complain about your room being cleaned, it will do you no good. If you want to relax for a week, this resort will work for you. Just go with the flow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Much larger hotel than expected.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Over all hotel landscaping was beautiful and clean! Staff was a little push/ rude with expecting tips or gertuity all the time in all areas. Also, staff could have been more helpful with reservations for the higher class restaurants that were included in our package and less rude with the language differences.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Dakota

Relaxing place to stay

Posted Feb 8, 2015
The beach, food, pools, staff were all wonderful. It was a very relaxing stay. I found out that the staff who do the menial jobs are very low in compensation and did feel that tipping of maids, drivers, beach attendants should be encouraged. It seemed that the bar girls got tipped excessively by visitors and the others were ignored. The evening entertainment was either non existent or we just couldn't find any as there were no activity boards visible and staff did not seem to know how to find the activities that were on the paper we were given at check in. Also some of the day activities were not available. There were no bicycles as we were told they were being replaced. It was always too windy so they did not let any kayaks be taken out. You could sign up for plenty of activities that were extra and had to be paid for but the free activities were minimal. I do recommend doing the segway tours. It was great fun riding them but again the staff had a hard time explaining where to go to find them. We enjoyed our stay a lot but would have liked to have more to do in the evening after the beaches close down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Nice hotel to wind down from hectic lifestyle

Posted Feb 8, 2015
It was excellent and since we really enjoyed our stay, we became the VIP privilege members before we left