Ratings based on 654 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Staff friendliness!!
Was a great vacation place for couples who want to unwind and relax....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: The grounds lovely. Room comfortable and great. Food was the very best. Beach had lots of shade and was great.
Cons: Probably not allow people to make reservations for restaurants on line. Should be first come first serve. I think alot of people were disappointed.
Location: The location is remote. We did take a taxi over to the Hard Rock Cafe to gamble several times however taxis was expensive.
We checked in and were given a nice room on the first floor. The third night of our stay the guests above us moved furniture and made noise all night long. My friend was very upset. She went to reception the next day and asked to be moved to third floor because of the noise level. The receptionist was super pleasant and helpful. She upgraded us to a much nicer room in a way better location. We were very grateful. That was the kind of service we got all the time. The place is big but once you get the hang of it you couldn't stay at a nicer place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Very nice hotel, the Ambar 2 is very luxurious

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The best thing the resort have to offer is their customer service and Ambar 2 is a new building, with very fancy rooms.
Cons: Their activities, zumba and water aerobics were ok, but I have had better experiences at other hotels. Better shows and activities for guest.
Great customer services, one of the best. The food was ok, hard to make reservations for dinner. The buffet has better food than the restaurants. I wish the resort had activities that make you feel like you were in D.R. Either food, or more activities. We went to the sport bar because they had Karaoke night, but their projector was broken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom yonkers, ny

Very nice

Posted May 18, 2015
Love the resort, everybody nice and helpful, the food over the top, all the buffets were excellent, take some time to go to the other resorts buffet everyone of them serve different kind of food, don't book excursions thru Blue, they are very disorganized, do it thru the activity people at the resort, they are always by the pool or at the beach, people from the privilege club are a pain, always trying to sell you something tell them were to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Posted May 18, 2015
Cons: American music around the pool, not constant spanish music.
Very enjoyable. Beautifull clean resort. Buffet's are better than the theme restaurants that need reservations. Food was good nad drinks were good, may have to ask for more liquore if it's strong drings you like. Very friendly and accomadating staff. We stayed at Ambar 1, which is the adults only and closest to the beach, with the most pool activity if that's what you prefer. Ambar 2 is new and opened in November. Ambar 2 is beautifull, but rather quiet. The compound has about 5-6 different areas, and a good transportation system to get around if you prefer not to walk. I has some stomach problems (cramps) which started the 4th day, but my wife was fine, and she ate a lot of friut.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort once issues were resolved

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Attentiveness/professionalism of staff, Ambar 2 room & pool area (quiet), quality and variety of food.
Cons: Check in process was awful!
Location: Punta Cana is a very busy area.
When we arrived at the resort, we were immediately approached by concierge to provide us with "preferential" check-in and were taken to a seating area in the main lobby. 1.5 hours later, we were still waiting for our rooms! After about an hour, we were given a complimentary drink. Avoid the personal check-in process. People who went straight to the front desk were checked in within 5-10 minutes. Eventually, we were transported to our rooms. Despite asking for Ambar 2, we were placed in Ambar. As noted in other reviews, Ambar 1 rooms are not as modern as Ambar 2 but we could have lived with that had we not encountered multiple issues. The safes in both rooms did not work, the door to our kid's room didn't lock when you closed the door, the bathtub in our room had holes in it, the hairdryer didn't work, housekeeping showed up to replace the coffee maker and when it was plugged in, we lost all power. Needless to say, this is not what we expected from a luxury resort. We were moved the following day to Ambar 2 and things improved significantly. Food at the resort was above expectations. Beach is gorgeous. Staff are very helpful and genuinely seem to enjoy their work. Shuttles run around the resort continually, however, we chose to walk everywhere and didn't find it prohibitive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom d

Nice beach. Very large hotel. Rude staff.

Posted May 14, 2015
The hotel has several "hotels" inside of this facility. So it's very difficult to move around. Most things will require a golf cart ride if you want to explore anything outside of your basic hotel area. everybody is trying to sell you something in this hotel its ridiculous. We traveled to Mexico before and it was nothing compared to how many times a day you have to tell the staff working you are not interested in buying time shares. They sell them right in the lobby areas of the hotel and will not leave you alone. as well as trying to schedule your shuttle transfer. Over all the food was nothing to special it was pretty much the same meals served every day. Dinners we're the only meals that were different and don't bother asking your servers about teams on the menu as they have no idea and do not speak English. The rooms were large but old. The beach I would say was the best part very warm water the weather was perfect 89 degrees we stayed for 9 days. It rained 1 time for 1 hour out of nice days that's very good. Next time I would probably pay a little more to get a little more. If your on a budget this may be a good option.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Z

Nice atmosphere but poor customer service

Posted May 14, 2015
Air conditioning was very warm, did not cool the room or fuction properly. Our shower overflowed each night due to being clogged. Besides Felix in the Buffet, the other staff weren't too friendly. Buffet foods were exactly the same for six days in a row. The grounds were kept very clean though! Due to our inconvience with our shower overflowing, we were "gifted" a $50 credit that we could use at the hotel lobby shop. I purchased a $13 dollar fish decoration but wanted to return it and purchase a more expensive one that was $45 but apparently Dominican Republic doesn't accept returns. With that being said overall horrible customer service and won't be returning! Should have listened to my friends and family and stayed at Majestical Colonial!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom raleigh, nc

Best staff ever! Great getaway

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: The staff, the facilities, the all inclusive! The care they put in to make our stay great!
Cons: The food. The presentation of the food is beautiful, but most of the food tasted basic and bland.
Location: Excursions.. Reef explorer was awesome! Seeing the sting rays and sharks close up. Tropicana theatre, beach is awesome! Beach vendors to barter with.
So we have kids but got the grandparents to watch our kids so we could have some peace and do the adults only thing! The staff treated us like family. The facilities are kept up so well. The ocean was amazing. We did four excursions. If you decide to do excursions, pay in CASH...because if not they may tell you it's a certain price, but charge you In pesos more than the price they tell you!We did the reef explorer ( my favorite). We did the dune buggies...my husbands favorite, we did the surf lesson excursion...through coast riders...giovanni took care of us and even took pictures for free and sent them to me. We also did the canopy yours which is the one where you zip line and do a free fall type swing off a cliff. That was breathtaking. Everything was awesome at this place. The only thing that was a bit average was the food. Some things were decent, other things were just ok...a lot of bland food...but the fruit was amazing...I would rate the food a 6 out of 10. That didn't stop us from having a blast. Maria at guest services was the most amazing woman. She went above and beyond! Thank you luxury Bahia principe! You made our experience amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brunswick, ME

Excellent All-Inclusive

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: The service was great, whether it be your room, meals or around the pool and beach. The resort was very clean.
Cons: We were not aware of the ability to make reservations for restaurants by internet. Got to eat at signature restaurants only 3 of 6 nights.
Location: Took a catamaran boat tour to Saona Isle. Great day trip. Will check out boat trip to Catalina Isle next trip.
This was our second time staying at this resort. We were very happy with our first visit in Feb 2013 and were not disappointed with our stay in April 2015. The resort has great service, is very clean and has one of the best beaches I have seen.