Ratings based on 456 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marietta, GA

Great resort, needs a better location

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The place is beautiful! It is also extremely large, so if you want to explore the other resorts on the property take the shuttle.
Cons: Police the "saving" of seats at the beach and pool. Get fresh seafood and learn how to cook it!
We just returned from Ambar yesterday. The resort is fabulous, and the staff does everything to make your stay special. Don't go for the food! I would think that fish is readily available, but we didn't get a single plate that was anywhere close to fresh (some was downright nasty) and changed to beef! The buffet is the best choice even for dinner. The beach and water are O.K. But, I was expecting much clearer & cleaner water that we get at other caribbean shores. Seaweed was in the water constantly, but that was not an issue with us as the resort staff was cleaning the beach constantly - that's all they could do. It's true that you have to "reserve" a palapa early in the morning - we were never later than 6:45am in putting out our towels and the 3rd row was already full. You must get a place by the 4th row or you won't get any breeze! Drinks are good - my wife especially enjoyed the "chocolate monkey". The bed was rock hard, but only I had a problem with that (that was the reason for "Room Comfort" grade less that 5).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from detroit, mi

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
This hotel was great. We picked this because of the beach and we were glad we did. All the chairs were covered under a huge coconut shell like roof made of straw that kept all the sun out if you are a little white like me from living in MI and most had little tables around them to so you didn't have to put your stuff in sand. The only negative, which for some reason I did not notice when doing my research, there are NO ocean front or ocean view rooms. The Bahia Esmeralda and Bavaro do not have them as well. Staff was super nice and friendly. The food at the a la carte restaurants was really good and the buffet was good as well. The adult section of the three is separated very well and you never notice kids unless you sat right next to the Esmeralda's side of the beach, but even then it was minimal. Bring a thermos or other type of container that will keep drinks cold because they will put your favorite drink in these instead of the small plastic cups and then it keeps it colder instead of trying to drink it is three seconds before it melts.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Food needs work, and guest services sucked

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Clean, room service, pool and beach
Cons: Food and drinks, drinks had little alcohol
Location: Nothing to say
Food all tasted the same and guest services was not efficient. Disappointed in planning of our meals
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St.Louis, Mo

We had a great Vacation

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Nice Hotel Complex , pretty good Food , very nice and helpful Staff, nice and big Room , Bathroom need some maintenence , nice beach, awesome Restaurants and all drinks were included even on the Pool bar and the Beach overall experience: great relaxing vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: there is a lot of entertainment and the food is very good
Cons: there is always room for improovement
we had a lot of fun, and we really enjoyed our stay there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Everyone was friendly and helpful. Loved the atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Husband and wife getaway

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Friendliness and ease of getting around.
Cons: Room service - not food.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This was our first introduction to an all inclusive offering. We had a fantastic time and would return. The staff was very nice and upbeat. Our room was nice. The food was great. Our only complaint would be the in room. Our coffee wasn't replenished and we had to hunt down our own. Our towels were not folded neatly and our turn down service was inconsistent; not every night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

The perfect location for everyone. .

Posted Oct 6, 2014
We had such a great time, nothing negative to say. Everything was great and above excellence. Location, service, food, entertainment was the best. We also want to thanks Expedia for goin the extra step and getting us the room we requested.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great week at ambar

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: food,close to the beach,friendly staff,high quality drinks,pool size and swim up bar,large and comfortable rooms,Hotel grounds.
Cons: wine quality,Portofino Restaurant,s service ,internet speed, lobby bar should not close that early at night
Location: right at Bavaro beach.
Me and my Wife just spent a week at this Hotel .We travelled with 2 more couples .This is our 3 trip to Punta Cana and we have never been disappointed.This Hotel is the adults only section of 4 different other hotels that belong to Bahia Principe .No cars are allowed to this location so you are dropped in the lobby by golf carts or trolleys.Your luggage is taken by the staff to your room.The hotel is right at the beach.Pool is big with a large swim up bar.Drinks have very high quality even the ones from the machines at the pool except the house wine which we did not like at all .We expected something better considering that the owners are from Spain.Staff is extremely friendly and willing to serve you.They are very proud of their country and culture.Food was very good and there was good variety.You are offered an hour of free internet everyday which was enough for us but the service is slow.There is entertainment at the lobby bar every night but it is over at 11 pm ,so your choice is to go to the night club which is located far from there and you need to take a trolley.The club has very poor air conditioning and has a musty smell.We found also that the air conditioning is not strong at the Restaurants either which becomes uncomfortable specially after a day under the sun.Our room had a good temperature but one couple complained that theirs was warm.We ate at 3 a la carte restaurants we liked El pescador and Graden Grill.We had a great time overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york

Beautiful Well kept Resort

Posted Oct 3, 2014
We went to celebrate my 40th birthday. The hotel is beautiful, rooms spacious and clean. Friendly helpful staff. We can't wait to visit again