Ratings based on 590 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Most of the food is buffet. Better to make a reservation at one of the restaurants. Ask for a room near the beach if you prefer being closer, there are a couple of pool areas, one by the beach and a quieter one at the other end of the resort which is closer to the other complex activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Beautiful vacation!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, service and beauty of resort
Cons: Softer mattresses, accommodate guests at all restaurants without a reservation if restaurant is partially empty and do not try to sell vacation time..
Location: Perfect place to relax, unwind , many excursions available, swimming with dolphins, boat rides, yoga, snorkeling, zip lining, etc
I have only mainly positive things to stay about our vacation, the resort is immaculate, the service was wonderful, the pools and beach are beautiful, there are a variety of restaurants to have dinner but like other reviewers stated, if you don't make a reservation at check in, you're not getting in, it's very strange that with so many open tables, they would not give their guests an opportunity to dine there, we were turned away from one restaurant with at least 20 open tables because we didn't switch our reservation by 2pm, we tried at 3 pm, these are the little idiosyncrasies that make your stay just a bit less than perfect, that and the hard mattress!! The only drawback to this wonderful resort, where they even sweep the sand off your beach chair is the sharks in the lobby that try to sell you vacation time at their many resorts, learn from us, if you have no desire to buy just politely walk away they don't chase after you. but unfortunately, we tried to be nice and had a half hour talk and when they said we were going on a hour tour and then more talk, we politely said we were not interested, they then became politely irate and felt we wasted their time, imagine that, our vacation and a waste of their time, we were then escorted out the door swiftly, we felt like we were treated like mischievous kids..Learn from our experience, other than that the place was wonderful, if they could just work out these few kinks, it would be sheer perfection
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ormond Beach,Florida

Nice hotel near the beach.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness,room,food,staff,food.
Cons: Staff should understand and speak more english.
Location: Did not leave resort,everything we wanted and needed was on resort.
Our experience at the Bahia Ambar was excellent.Our room was great,only complaint was not enough wall sockets for everyone to charge ipads etc. More of the staff should speak more english since hotel caters to so many english speaking clientele. Staff very courteous and helpful.Grounds and beaches awesome,food was pretty good with lots of variety.We are definitely going back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Nice stay at the Ambar

Posted Mar 23, 2015
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Absolutely amazing time. This was our second time there and can't wait for the third!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

A fabulous first time all inclusive experience!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Clean and just beautiful!
Cons: They did list that there were bike rentals available but when we checked, we were told there were none. They were trying to remedy that.
Location: Location was great, easy to get to the beach. We did not leave the resort
From the time we checked in until our checkout, we can't say enough about the helpfulness and courteousness of the staff! We were greeted with a refreshing tropical drink, our bags taken to our rooms, which were large, clean and tastefully decorated. The food at the buffets had a large variety, was presented beautifully and delicious! We booked our restaurants for all 4 nights on the first night we were there and had very little trouble getting the times that we wanted. The beach was pristine. We were a little dismayed that some guests did "claim" chairs early but did not show up till hours later when there were many available. We just moved chairs around to suit our needs. The pools were great and the service at the bars and the restaurants prompt. We had no trouble getting from place to place with the use of the golf carts. Just a great vacation spot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom e

Great resort

Posted Mar 20, 2015
The pool entertainment staff were my favorite! So fun! The beach and pool drink servers were great. Overall a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Belford, NJ

Great hotel that has earned my repeat business...

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Everything. Service, location, staff, food, drinks, beach - you name it. There was not one thing that disappointed us.
Cons: Not much - maybe remind the maids to stock the mini-bar each night instead of having to be reminded.
Location: 20-25 minutes from airport and plenty of excursions available through the hotel if you happen to be the wandering type.
This was our 4th trip to the beautiful Dominican Republic and 3rd stay at a Bahia property. What a way to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Flew United out of Newark to Punta Cana airport without a hitch. Transfer from Expedia (Blue Travel) waiting and prompt drop off at Bahia Bavaro for quick cart ride to Ambar lobby. Check-in an absolute breeze and was on the beach within 30 minutes. The pool has a swim up bar and entertainment from 11am to 5pm. The beach is one of the top rated in the Caribbean and one look tells you why. Endless from left to right with powdery white sand and a small beach bar on the other side of the volleyball net. Water is crystal clean and by the early afternoon provides a welcome respite from the heat. The restaurants are fantastic but the Don Pablo is an absolute must. We went twice with our all-inclusive plan and it actually got better the second time, if that's even possible. Caribbean lobster and filet mingon cooked perfectly. Rodizio is a fun choice as well in Brazilian steakhouse style. The bar in the lobby is a nice way to unwind at night and the service at every inch of this hotel is flawless. Friendly and very hard working. They deserve to be tipped. Don't get fooled into thinking an all-inclusive means they aren't deserving of recognition for a job very well done. We didn't see nearly enough of this during the week. There is not any hassle from vendors on the beach or by the pool. A polite 'no thank you' goes a long way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful resort and amazing trip!

Posted Mar 15, 2015
we stayed at the luxury Bahia principe Ambar for a week and had an amazing time. The staff was great and always happy to help, the rooms were always clean and the beach and pools were unbelievably well kept. Definitely an older crowd and mostly couples but still tons of fun. The only complaint we had was the food at the buffet. But overall it was a perfect vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C.

Amazing staff. Amazing views. Amazing adventures.

Posted Mar 14, 2015
This place is incredible. The food was unbelievable. Every single person in the service position was fantastic. Excursions were amazing. Take bandanna and sunglasses for the dune buggy's. Zip lines had 12 platforms. Incredible views. Make reservations the first night you get there for the restaurants in the neighboring resorts. They are worth it!. Highly recommended!