Ratings based on 476 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Would recommend this hotel The only disaster was check in The room took 1 hour and 30 min to be ready Make dinner reservations on line before you go on trip Hotel has an app other wise you are out of luck Staff polite but spoke little English Overall great time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Great adult-only hotel experience!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Cons: More beach chairs.
This was our first time to the DR and it was great. The adult only part of the resort is part of a much larger overall resort. Even with thousands of guests between all the connected resorts, there were never any issues getting drinks at the pool or eating at the buffet. The staff keeps the place very clean and most speak some English. The only issue we had was getting a chair at the beach or pool a few times. The seats are all taken by 9am some days and we liked to sleep in. Overall we would go back to this resort in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Nice Resort with great pools

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Everything outside
Cons: Room - The save, one light in the bathroom and the vent in the bathroom didn't work at all. Besides we had Problems with the door lock.
Location: We stayed in the Resort for the whole week.
Overall we enjoyed our vacation in the Grand Bahia Principe Ambar and would recommend this Resort. Especially the pools, the beach and the Restaurants were very good. Unfortunately there are some maintenance issues, especially with the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Decent hotel with beautiful beach

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The service at the restaurants/bars and by the cleaning staff was excellent. The resort also had very good food/drinks. The beaches were beautiful.
Cons: The rooms were outdated and run down in our section. No door on the toilet. Standing water in the bottom of the fridge when we arrived.
Location: We did a couple of excursions including a Pirates of the Caribbean dinner cruise that was great.
Checking in was a nightmare because their computer system crashed just prior to our arrival. The desk staff did not know how to handle the manual check-in process at all. It took about an hour to actually check in. My wife and I also reserved a King bed, or so we had thought. We actually got a room with two beds that were called Queen beds but were actually double beds, and when we complained we were told that our reservation only said "Requests a King" and that they would not have any King rooms available until tomorrow. We went back the next morning, and then they said they still did not have any King rooms available until the following day. We ultimately stuck with our original room because we gave up. The buffet in the Ambar 1 section was excellent, as were all of the special restaurants. Plenty of variety and everything well prepared. The buffet in the main lobby smelled terrible, however, so we walked out instead of eating there. The beaches had very soft sand and were well-maintained. The facility could have used more beach chairs, as there were several times we could not find any open due to people reserving them with towels even though they were not using them.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Posted Nov 18, 2014
This was our third stay at this resort. I can tell you we will not be back. The hotel has gotten too large. You added rooms however didn't increase restaurants, or beach or pool areas. My husband woke up at 6:15 and still had a hard time finding a spot on the beach. Before you couldn't reserve any spots! The simple room repairs like an alarm clock and remote control that we reported on day one never got taken care of. Wifi used to be free in the lobby. Now you get one hour a day. Disappointing. The food was below the standard we were used too. Restaurants and buffets too crowded. People were fighting over seats in restaurants, pool and beach. Time to find a new resort in Punta Cana
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Syracuse, NY

Relaxing stay at a beautiful beach.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
The resort was really beautiful and well cared for. We always saw the staff cleaning something, whether it was the gleaming floors in the lobby or scrubbing the walkways. Unfortunately, maintenance in our room was really lacking. We stayed in Building 72 which was just added to Ambar and is not really ready for guests yet. Our phone didnt work, the shower leaked, we had a broken lamp, missing bulbs, no robes. All problems were reported to the staff and nothing was fixed. Fortunately, we weren't in our room that much so it didnt effect our overall enjoyment of the rest of the resort but it did frustrate us that none of our complaints were resolved. Housekeeping in our room did a good job although they never replaced the water which is really vital in a country with water that isn't potable. I had to track it down from the housekeeping closets every day. But, the real reason for going to the resort is the beach and pool. Both are beautiful, clean and well maintained. Our server Nelson took great care of us on the beach. Overal, it was a very relaxing trip which was eexactly the experience we were looking for.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

They haven't ruined the beach yet

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Nice beach
Cons: Everything
Appalling 3 hour delay in check in, housekeepers don't clean rooms until 5:30, computers don't work at new site, restaurant reservations have be made by waiting for guest services for 40 minutes. Unconcerned staff and managers who don't respond. Inadequate numbers of beach chairs. Food, so so Plenty of other places to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2014
We stayed for our honeymoon, and were very impressed with the service, the grounds, and the experience overall. The dinners (in restaurants that require reservations) were much better than the buffet options. The staff was amazingly friendly and seemed to truly care about the guest experience. Bring plenty of $1's for tips!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bakersfield, CA

Third time at this hotel! Great! Very Relaxing!

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Great entertainment, service, food, drinks, music, beaches. Cannot be better. Adults only!
Cons: The Hotel is great, nothing to be improved. Service was better than any place I have ever been.
Location: I recommend booking a private catamaran tour. Do this online before you trip directly to the tour operator.
We have stayed at this resort three times. We are already planning our next trip back! The staff is great! You cannot beat the treatment. We love the food, beach, service, bars, night club, shows, pool, etc. The room was very clean, cool, comfortable, and quiet. We cannot think of another place we would rather spend our once per year vacation. The price is great and all-inclusive is the only way to go. Warning: Not the hotel's fault: The transfer company through Expedia named "Blue" is very disappointing. This is the company who you pay Expedia to transfer you via bus from the Airport to the hotel and they sell you excursions. They were very disorganized on this last trip and the representative of Blue lied about an excursion, overcharged us, and failed to provide us a return voucher, causing us to be berated by the bus driver before finally taking us to the airport. We will for sure go back, except we will not use "Blue".
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Disappointment

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Staff does not know where anything is or what's going on. They only know about the little section they work in. Mini bar was not refilled for 3 days. I called to have them fill it and the person was very rude and said they only do that during the day. I explained that it had not been done and he said he would get us drinks but they never came. The food is horrible the only restaurant with good tasting food was las olas. The buffet in the lobby is not good. It is very hot in there, I don't enjoy sweating while eating in a restaurant. We went to reserve dinners at 8am and were told all the restaurants we had chosen were full for the next 4 days. The lobby is open so it is very hot, not relaxing at all. Called room service one night and no one ever answered. The pool bar closes at 6pm, that is way too early for an adult hotel. The beds are stiff as a board. The pros.. The pool is nice the beach is clean the grounds are kept clean, lots of Palm trees. The drinks in the lobby bar are good.