Ratings based on 723 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to the beach

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Clean and various entertainment nightly.
Cons: I wish the staff can speak English better
Location: I took the Safari tour and really enjoyed it.
We stayed at Amber 2 for 1 week. The room is beautiful and clean. During my stay, there were seaweed on the beach for 2 days. I think that was out of their control, but staff worked very hard to clean them. Food at the buffet was good, fresh fish every day. I made the reservation for dinner at 5 different restaurants on the first day. I like them all except the Italian one.. Overall, I enjoyed my vacation at this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

nice getaway

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Very nice accomodations, friendly and helpful hotel staff and the food was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Terre Haute, IN

Adults only section is wonderful!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Adults only; food; private beach area
Cons: The beds and pillows are hard. I'm not one to really complain about this sort of thing, but my back was hurting after the first night.
Location: The location is great as long as you stay in the adults only section. We didn't know there was a snack bar for adults only until the 3rd day...
The staff, the food, and the experience was great! The Bavario is by far our favorite of the 3 restaurants offered. The resort is huge and we, at first, thought that the resort wasn't separated from the other parts of the resort that allowed kids. There is a private adults only section at the beach and an adults only pool. As long as you stay in this area, the experience is great! We loved this hotel and will end up going back in the future :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, perfect for relaxing

Posted Jul 27, 2015
This place is excellent if you want to relax which is exactly what I was looking for. Close to the beach, amazing service, food is excellent, very clean, and everything looks new. My only complain would be the A/C. They have a set temperature inside the room and you can't go lower than that, and it got a little bit hot for my taste especially at night. They don't have A/C anywhere in the hotel except for the rooms and the restaurants. All other public places are very hot, including the lobby and the night club. This can be very uncomfortable, but I think almost all hotels are the same.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from middletown, NJ

the resort is huge

Posted Jul 27, 2015
You need to take a tram to go to the front where casino is. Our section was close to beach and pool. Employees did not make you feel welcomed or important. The was a sewer smell everywhere. Food was the same in almost every restaurant and not great either. Toilets didn't always flush. I would not return or recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Sick the entire time- don't drink the water, don't eat meat or seafood unless it's WELL done! Minibar wasn't restocked every day, as promised. Many of the staff were rude. You will be acosted by people trying to sell you things- be ready for their pushy/ rude reactions if you don't buy from them. Overall, we were very disappointed by our experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Jersey

Awesome time!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: I loved the restaurants. The Gourmet restaurant and the hibachi restaurant were amazing. The beach was beautiful and the staff was great.
Cons: The air conditioning in our room was horrible. It was so hot. We asked for it to be repaired a few times, but it never got better.
Location: The airport is about fifteen minutes away from the hotel, which was convenient. Visiting the other connecting Bahia resorts is a must!
My boyfriend and I stayed at Ambar for 6 nights. We loved the "adults-only" concept about the resort. It was also awesome that we were able to go to the other connecting Bahia resorts. All the restaurants, bars and pools were available to us. It was great! We liked how we had the options of doing whatever we wanted. We went to the beach, then took a short walk to the pool. The food was excellent, even at the buffets. The breakfast buffet was the best, we thought. There were plenty of cocktail servers around at all times to get you a drink, even at the beach! We did two excursions while we were there. Make sure if you are going to book an excursion, go through the expedia director at the hotel. The excursions the hotel offers at the kiosk at the pool seemed to be a little pricey. Make sure you try the mojitos and make restaurant reservations for the week as soon as you get there. We also loved that at any moment, you can get on a shuttle to go to the different parts of the resort. Overall, we were very pleased with this resort!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh,PA

Nice hotel but not enough air conditioned area's.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The buffet.Was not that impressed by the fancy resurants.
Cons: More air conditioned areas.
Location: Went on excursion to Sana Island was great.
Being that the lobby's and most resturant areas being un air conditioned made the heat rather overwhelming.The staff and buffet was great.The beach had a lot of sea weed.The Expedia representive,Wander, was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Week at Ambar

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Beautiful!!!! The grounds, buildings, lobbies, very friendly waitstaff in Ambar 2 and beach staff.
Cons: Check in! Give guest their white forms as soon as they arrive, when filled out, bring to front desk, and wristbands given. Not herded around.
Location: Location was great. Buggy Adventure lots of fun. Catalina Island snorkel excursion very good.
First day not impressed, but after that everything was wonderful. Checking in was a nightmare. Lots of people arrived at the same time and it was very unorganized. Herded from one place to another and nothing getting done. Finally a lady at the front desk was helpful, gave us white registration forms to fill out, we returned them, and got our wristbands, so we could go have lunch. Came back at 3:00 and went to our room. We were in Ambar 2 which is beautiful and not crowded. Unfortunately our room was on the backside not facing the pool and had a terrible view of a dirt pile and warehouse roof. Went to lobby, complained, and was moved the next day. After that Everything was terrific! Don Pablo's was very good, but felt like the buffet was just as good as the other restaurants. Loved the staff in the buffet at Ambar 2. They work very hard, long hours, but all of them have big smiles on their faces and seem to enjoy their jobs. Alejandro at the beach brings you fantastic drinks and Franklin always finds you a great place in the shade. Was very glad we chose Ambar, adult only. When we had to go to other parts of the resort, they were very crowded and hot. Would definitely recommend Staying in Ambar 2, room facing the pool. Thanks for a lovely vacation!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Worth, FL

Ambar Adults Only

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness and accommodating staff.
Cons: As mentioned above the lack of air conditioning, and somehow cooler water in the pools.
Location: We didn't venture out of the complex except to visit the Hard Rock Resort which is highly overrated.
My husband and I just arrived back home yesterday from a seven-day stay at the Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only. We traveled with another couple. Overall we had a great time. Our stay was made more pleasurable by the Dominican staff who will stop at nothing to insure everyone has a wonderful time. The hotel as a whole is beautiful and immaculate, where it lacks is in the locations lacking air conditioning. The lobby is open air, which would be fine if there were adequate ceiling fans to circulate the air, instead there are several 52" fans attached to very high ceilings that do nothing to cool the lobby. The same goes for the open air restaurants (we don't enjoy sweating while have our meals. The air conditioning is kept so high in the indoor restaurants that we were again sweating during our meals. The poor wait staff was continuously wiping their faces to dry the sweat pouring down their face and neck. Just on excusable. We complaint to the front desk, which did nothing to correct the situation and spoke with the wait staff and lobby personal who encouraged us to complain about the poor conditions they were endured to work in because of the lack of air conditioning and their polyester uniforms. Our rating would have been 4's and 5's if not for the air conditioning. The other couple who traveled with us are our cousins and from day one they had problems with the air conditioning in their room, daily complaints did nothing to resolve the problem.