Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by The Bishop's from Maine

Beautiful, extremely well kept resort!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
We loved our stay at the Ambar. The grounds were beautifully manicured, the food was excellent, and the resort exceeded our expectations. We will definitely return and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Punta Cana.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT TIME GREAT PLACE

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: place was very good
Cons: food not to good, tough getting chair close to water
Location: great snorkeling, speed boats were a riot
had a great time ,very clean , staff were very frendly, close to beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleasant atmosphere

Posted Apr 9, 2014
We stayed at the adults only / Ambar portion of the property. The facilities and grounds were very pleasant, and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to relax

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The weather, beaches, pools, and very friendly staff!
Amazing hotel! This is our second time in six months. Ambar is the way to go. Make sure to eat at Don Pablo, best steak I have ever had.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Beach, pools and lobby is very nice
Cons: Employees have poor attitudes, spray for bugs! Food was fair at best. Ask for bed choice. Put ice cream on buffet. Use larger cups.
Location: Lots of activities on the grounds,
This place is enormous, my review is only for the Ambar adults only section. Check in was fast but I made the mistake not requesting a king so make sure you request the bed of choice. The room was ok, had 1 cockroach encounter the first night and saw one in the hallway. The fridge came with a couple beers in it and the first can I pulled out was already empty. The beach is vast and kept up very well, it was very busy and if you wanted lounge chairs under any shae you need o bring down a towel very early and reserve them. The buffet food was fair at best. l was extremely disappointed with the fish which is my normal diet when visiting the sea. The alcohol is served in 6 oz cups so bring as big a insulated mug as you can carry otherwise your drinks will be warm amd far between while waiting in line. The signature restaurants were hard to get reservations for so make them the day you check in or you will be eating late. I wont be going back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colin from Washington DC

Great resort overall, some minor issues.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Beach, bar, food, drinks, cleanliness, comfort.
Cons: GYM! Staff cleaning at the crack of dawn.
Location: Beach.
I stayed here with my girlfriend for 5 nights and we had a blast. We described as Disney World for adults. The bars were great as you could get a drink in seconds with no problem. A big thing here is to bring a thermos to store your drinks to bring on the beach. They will make any drink you want. The food is also great. Many restaurant choices that are all around the complex. We enjoyed the Portofino the best. The steaks at Garden Grill and Don Pablo were a little disappointing. The resort overall was not as complicated to navigate as most people claim. There are 3 main roads that run perpendicular to the beach and there are maps everywhere. The Ambar to the main Bavaro lobby is about 10 minutes give or take. The staff was extremely courteous and nice except for a few of the security guards that creeped us out a bit. The biggest issue we had was the noise that the cleaning staff made in the morning. We had a room on the bottom floor and I swear every morning at 7-8am staff members would sweep or get things out of the cleaning room. They would also talk to each other in spanish constantly. The hallways echo so it was extremely noisy. On the plus side of this everything was extremely clean all of the time. Pristine condition. The beach was absolutely gorgeous. Perfect. The pool was extremely nice, but lacked a hot tub which was not. The gym is pathetic and antiquated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy from Maine

Loved Punta Cana!

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: The grounds and the beach at the Ambar are meticulously maintained and add to the overall beauty of the resort. Wait staff is overall very attentive.
Cons: 1. Customer service 2. Comfort level of beds and room furnishings 3. Better beach chairs
My husband and I stayed at the Bahia Principe Ambar from Feb. 26-March 11, 2014 and overall we had a wonderful time. The hotel itself has some issues that need to be addressed, but for the overall cost of our vacation for two weeks, we weren't expecting five star amenities. I have to say if you are used to five star amenities and require that type of service to be content, then you should stay at a different resort, as you will find a significant difference in the level of service and comfort that you are used to. Having stayed at other five star resorts in the past, I had to adjust my expectations considerably, which took me a couple of days. Then I had to remind myself that it would have cost us several thousand more dollars for our trip to have stayed at the five star resort we've stayed at in the past. So there is definitely a trade-off and you'll have to ask yourself which is more important. One of the biggest issues we had with the Ambar was the relatively poor customer service. The staff is very good at telling you to come back later or call later if you have an issue of any sort. You have to be extremely persistent if you expect to get an issue addressed, which is frustrating. The beds are extremely hard and uncomfortable, as is all of the furniture in the room. Some of the issues we had were getting the king size bed we'd requested months in advance, room keys wouldn't work, maid wouldn't leave facecloths or toilet paper, issues with satellite tv, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Vacation!

Posted Mar 21, 2014
I want to pass along a few things that might be helpful if you stay at the Ambar... First of all, it's difficult to communicate with the staff. There are only a few staff members that speak English. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with a warm smile and our room was ready - definite BONUS! The check in process was fairly quick for us. They will not explain where anything is so you will have to figure it out on your own. The beach and pool areas were beautiful. You will not receive a towel card upon check in. The beach towels are in your room closet. We were not told this so we did not have towels the first day. The buffet food is not the best but you learn to live with it. We ate at 3 restaurants... Don Pablo, the Japanese restaurant and the Italian restaurant - all exceptional. You will want to make your reservations as soon as you check in or prior to arrival, if possible. Our reservations were all after 8:30pm. All in all it was a great vacation and I would go back! Enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yasmin from New Jersey

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2014
I arrived at the hotel not knowing what to expect. The lobby is beautiful. It was very hot and the gave us a cold towel and a refreshing drink. The employees are very helpful and friendly. Franci took our luggage up to our room, he was such a great guy that we always looked for him for assistance. Every time we had any questions about activities the guest services was there to help. We loved talking to Albania she was always genuine and willing to help with a smile. The whole staff goes above and beyond for all the guest. I would Definitely recommend this hotel. You would not be disappointed. The beach is clean and beautiful. 100% excellent :)
3 out of 5
by Jane from NY NY

It was OK

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The adults only is a nice feature and it is strictly enforced. The beach is beautiful and clean.
Cons: The service, the service , the service. My husband is actually Cuban and fluent in Spanish so there was no language barrier.
Location: The location is quite nice but we were unable to find things to do.
We have been to Punta Cana many times over the past 15 years. This property was Ok compared to others we have been to. We arrived on Sunday afternoon at about 3pm, this property is quite large. We did not get any kind of orientation to the property, this made it a bit confusing for us to get around. We stayed in the Amber which is the adults only area. When our room was ready we walked from the lobby to the building we were on the third floor, we found out there are NO elevators, the bell hop took the bags up to the room he didn't explain anything in the room, we couldn't use our safe for a few days until we asked and found out the instructions posted were for the new safe. Also they are very strict about the beach towels, we had our 19 year old daughter with us but they only gave us two beach towels in the room. The gentleman at the towel service poolside would not give us another towel, so my husband(who by the way is a cancer patient) walked back to the room (up the stairs NO elevator) who still wouldn't give him an additional towel. We didn't get another towel unitl the following day. Also there is no posting of other activities at the Amber, we asked multiple desk attendants where the shows were and we kept getting a run around we were lucky to find the evening show on the last night of our stay?? There are no poolside activites, we have stayed at other resorts where they have bingo or chess or pingpong--something to break up the day