Ratings based on 537 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stafford Virginia

Paradise

Posted Jan 25, 2015
The hotel was gorgeous. Staff were outstanding. It's simply paradise. The food was amazing. The best vacation we have ever had! Pools were delightful and the beach was glorious. Unbelievable. Would definitely recommend to anyone
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom illinois

3 stars at best!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Definitely disappointing! The food was horrible, the drinks were average. The rooms in the "recently renovated" Ambar 2 section were dirty, the mini bar was never restocked properly, and the towels and sheets were stained and dingy. We will never go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville, SC

Beautiful spot–lots of walking!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Like the pools, beach, spaciousness of the room, the food, the bathroom, the service. This is adults only–no children under 18 years of age.
Cons: Stop taking the comforter away at turn-down service. Leave air conditioning at 23-25˚C. At times the room was Arctic.
Location: There is parasailing, deep sea fishing, swimming with dolphins, and visiting a cigar factory. The temperature in January is 80-85˚F in the day.
We stayed in Ambar II, which was new last year. The site has golf carts to transport you from one place to another. The beach is about a 10 minute walk or a 3 minute cart ride. Carts run every 5-10 minutes from the lobby. Breakfast and lunch is always at the buffet restaurant. Food is excellent, with plenty of cheese, fruit, and lovely deserts. There are two roasted entrees each night, one is fish (grouper, red snapper, salmon) and one is meat (pork, ham, lamb). There are always chicken dishes, fried and grilled fish, some beef, and a variety of vegetables. You can get omelets cooked to order, stir-fry fish and vegetables, pasta bar, fresh squeezed juices, and homemade ice cream. The facility itself is lovely—gorgeous pools. Our only problem was turn-down service. The rooms are well air-conditioned, and we slept with the comforter on. Turn-down service took the comforter off–we put it on. If we took a nap in the afternoon, we'd come back and the bed was made again–without the comforter. The bathrooms are marble and spacious. Room service is included in the all-inclusive price. Wait staff is always pleasant, smiling, and willing to provide what you need. Don't ask for decaf coffee, however, as you get a pot of hot water and a jar of Nescafe. The coffee is strong, so go for cafe con leche. For those who like tea, there is a tea station with teapots, Twinings tea, and fixings. We ate well, relaxed, and enjoyed our trip immensely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Wonderful! Everyone was so friendly and hospitable

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Fantastic. What a beautiful place. Food and service were amazing. The pools are gorgeous, it takes about a day to get the lay of the land as it's such a big complex, and it can be tough to get dinner reservations, so make them early! Hands down, best resort I've stayed at!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio, TX

Honeymoon trip - It was wonderful!!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The staff made our stay special and were so friendly.
Cons: Letting us know at check in exactly what the resort offered.
Location: Location was perfect for the beach and pools. Their spa was nearby also.
Our stay was from 1/06/15 thru 1/10/15 and it was perfect! The resort and all the hotels were beautiful, everything was well manicured and clean. The beach and pools in the Adults only section were walking distance from our rooms. The beach and water were so pretty! We were in the perfect locaction at the resort. Our room was a jr suite and it was the perfect size for two people. Bathroom was huge with a stand up shower and jacuzzi tub. Overall the room was very nice and clean, no complaints. I can't say enough nice things about the staff, the whole staff at the resort. Everyone was so friendly and helpful! If you speak or understand Spanish, its a plus! Food was very good and there are a lot of food choices. Would definitely go back to this resort without a doubt! They made our honeymoon very special and memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami

Beautiful hotel, amazing service

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Great place to spend time, no kids! Very cordial staff. No complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Great experience

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Beautiful resort, great food, I really like all the different events and the restaurants. The best of all, is the all inclusive plan. Something I didn't like but is not a big deal is the way some male staff look or talk to women. it was uncomfortable for my wife and for myself but like I said before, it is not something that will stop us from coming again and recommending it to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Paradise all wrapped up in an awesome resort

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: The staff made it special, they went out of their way to greet you and help you with anything you need. We had no complaints at all! Great vacation.
Cons: I do wish the doors were soundproof in the room as the hotel hallways did echo any little noise.
Location: The resort was about 25 minutes from the airport and we passed a recreation park and a lot of golf courses.
We went as an adult family of five and booked two rooms. My kids (adults) had two full size beds and my husband and I had a king. The rooms were spacious with a sitting from,huge bathroom and a patio. We stayed at the adult resort in the newer buildings. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The staff everywhere were friendly,courteous and professional. The grounds are beautiful and there are many pools to chose from. The one pool near our rooms was quiet and there was no problem ever getting a lounge chair or a drink. Drinks were very good, though I do agree bringing a sports bottle so you don't have to refill the small pool cups so often is a good idea The staff will gladly fill your cups as often as you like. The food was fabulous, we ate at the buffet at breakfast,and lunch. The inside buffet at the smaller restaurants are less crowed but all were fresh and tasty. Dinners we ate at the specialty restaurants, our favorite was the Brazilian restaurant. We also made reservations via email prior to arriving. The place was kept immaculate and the maid staff kept your rooms spotless. Tipping is not required but very appreciated so bring lots of singles and fives.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

Could have been better. . .

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Clean grounds, decent food, very friendly staff.
Cons: Horrible beds. Ridiculous "one extra pillow per client" policy.
Location: Punta Cana was lovely. All we did was swim at the pool and beach. We did no additional excursions.
I want desperately to recommend this hotel. There were two things that really destroyed what should have been a magical experience. I stayed at the Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar (their "Don Pablo" collection, top-of-the-line resort). ONE -- the beds were rock-hard. I have traveled all over the world (Europe, Africa, North and South America). I have slept in many places. The bed in our room was so incredibly uncomfortable that I requested a different suite and they told me that all the beds were the same. I've had friends stay at Iberostar, Majestic and Rui and all said the beds were reasonably comfortable. The beds in Ambar were unacceptable and patently unforgivable. TWO -- I requested more pillows. Specifically I wanted two extra pillows per myself and my partner. I was denied flatly. I was told that I could only have one pillow per hotel guest. How frigging OFFENSIVE. This is supposed to be "luxury" of the Don Pablo collection? Seriously? I didn't give up either. I spoke with the front desk the same day, I spoke with the manager the next day and another manager the day after that. All of them said, flatly, "No." One extra pillow per guest. I will NEVER return. I wish I could rave about the grounds and the service, but it's completely over-shadowed by the horrible bed and the ridiculous "one extra pillow per visitor" policy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ny

5 sunny days in PC!

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Short distance from the airport, very well kept, beautiful beach and friendly staff. Cons: Buffet was better than 'restaurants'. Resort is way too big, you have to take a mini train to get around. Overall experience was good.