Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pvd

Bahia principe am bar

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Great room wonderful beach good food - the staff are friendly and professional! Beds in room are very firm - this was the only downfall!! Would have liked to be able to get into the a la cart restaurants - ate at 2 and were absolutely wonderful! Hard to get into them while at the resort - have to write ahead. Rooms, service and staff all wonderful - great place to be!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was awesome

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Mosquito are bad make sure to bring some off , otherwise was a awesome place and looking forward to going back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Very pleasant stay

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Nice resort. The manager Carlos Rosario was very available and helpful. Grounds were pretty. Spa was amazing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No longer 4 stars needs lots of work.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Grounds and common areas were beautiful. Food buffets OK. Don't waste your time on the reservation restaurants. Staff very friendly but not always easy to communicate. Beach and pool lovely. Rooms need a lot of work. Air conditioning, plumbing, etc!!!!.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Coffeyville, Kansas

beautiful hotel and close to the beach.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: all the people try to take good care of you. Jose in customer service took great care of us. Miguel the bell man at Ambar 1 very helpful.
Cons: Food could use some help. In all adult section, top shelf liquor could be better quality. Like add Crown Royal Whiskey.
first room had problems , management changed rooms for us second day. Food fair, they need to send chefs to cooking school, so they can teach others how to prepare food with some flavor. Still good place to stay. This was out 3rd stay here, will go back. Hope for some improvement's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south dakota

Wonderful stay.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Fabulous experience. Don't read any other critical reviews. Just read this one and book your stay. Everything was wonderful and we would return in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great adults only

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The staff was extremely accommodating. They provided you with entertainment options, and worked hard to make your experience enjoyable.
Cons: The beds were a bit firm for my personal taste, but were still comfortable.
Location: There are many different tours nearby such as zip line, snorkeling, and safari tour....etc.
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar is a great hotel. The room was clean, the grounds are immaculate, and the staff was extremely accommodating. Everyone worked hard to provide you with a relaxing stay. I highly recommend this hotel for the price point.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Decent hotel. huge property

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Location: Golf at Punta Blanca
This was our second time back to punta cana. Previously we stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro, which was much smaller with a more intimate setting. We opted for the royal Bahia mainly to avoid a setting full of children. All in all it was a good trip. The food is never good but that's to be expected at an all inclusive resort. I do have to say the food was definitely better at the Catalonia royal Bavaro. Also reservations HAD to be made days in advance for dinners. The first night we got there all the decent restaurants were booked, and not just for that night but for the whole week. This resort is large so there are several options at the sister resorts, but to be expected the food was garbage. The adults only resort apparently has some good eating but we were never able to try since they were all booked the whole week we were there which is disappointing especially since we paid extra to be at the Ambar. Needless to say we were on a mostly liquid diet with some junky food thrown in as well. The rooms were fine and it was convenient to have a room so close to the beach. Pool bar was fun we usually went when we werr returning from the beach. A lot of vendors try and sell you stuff, definitely way more than the Catalonia. In all I would probably go back to Catalonia Royal Bavaro before here again. The reservations for dinner was really a bad system. Guest services wasn't very accommodating to getting us into at least one good restaurant before the trip was over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Paradise!! Wonderful staff, weather was amazing! Zumba every day! Wonderful!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Disappointing.

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Beach area was nice.
Cons: See above comments.
This was our first, and last, time at this hotel. The air conditioning in the room was unacceptably week, and our first 24 hours was spent without a glass shower shield so shower spray ended up all over the floor and sink area. There was loose hair from prior tenants on the floor. The gym facilities have to be older than most of the guests, and in serious dis-repair. There were families with children in the "adults only": beach area and security personnel walked by them several times without so much as a look or a comment.