Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia beach, virginia

Not what I expected from a 5 star

Posted Jul 23, 2014
First the fitness center was the worst I've seen in all the resorts I have visited, I have seen better at a regular hotel. Second is the lack of variety at the buffet, the menu stayed the same every day, after the second I could pretty much recite what was on the menu for breakfast and lunch, the coffee was instant, not fresh brewed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Food could be better and service as well. Disappointed by the welcome. A red carpet is not necessary but a welcome and a brief introduction to the resort (where to eat, etc) would be nice. Room service was limited to sandwiches. Minibar was limited and fridge wasn't working well. Majestic Elegance is superior in service and food for a similar price and location. Get the priviledge club at Majestic for even better service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Fantastic Vacation!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
We just returned from our 4th vacation to the Dominican Republic but our 1st trip staying at Bahia Principe Ambar. This resort was far superior to others that we have stayed at. The staff was friendly and attentive. The rooms were very nice and the bed was comfortable. The a la carte restarants and buffets were great. The Ambar part of the resort is easily walkable and well maintained. The total resort is large but has a trolley to help get around. It was very nice to have the adults only pool and beach area at Ambar. We are already planning our next trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not an All Adult Resort

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Cons: Make it a secluded all adult resort. with entertainment on site that does not close early. we had to go all the way to the family resort for that.
Location: Snuba was great
My wife and I chose this Adult only resort after taking into considering what things would be most important to us on our vacation for our anniversary. At the top of this list was to be in an Adult only atmosphere. To our surprise the resort had us mingling with children most of the time. There were children on the beach, near the pool, and when we had to get on the trolly to get around the resort, which I will get into later in my review. Most of the restaurants where we ate also had children. When we first got to the resort the original room should not have been given to anyone. The tub had a crack and stains in it. The toilet area had someone's name written on the wall and although the woman at guest services apologized the next day no effort was made when we arrived to find another room for us to stay in. We were told we had to wait till the next day to get a different room. To my wifes horror we found out the last night that we were there that ther had been ants in the new room after careful observation by my wife to figure out what had been making a meal out of her legs every night while we were there. Also, 24hour room service was far from the truth. We tried to order food late one night and went to sleep hungry after an hour of trying. I feel like some of the reviews on this resort that contained this information were not shown. I do mind elderly people but that is what was mostly there. Mostly everything on the adult side closed around 6 on the adult only si
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OK

Best vacation!

Posted Jul 18, 2014
It was amazing! The staff was great and always made sure you had a great time. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodstock, MD

Adult getaway

Posted Jul 17, 2014
We had a great time at luxury Bahia Principe I would definitely go back for another visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Beautiful well maintained hotel, close to beach

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Clean, great staff, closes to beech easy to get around via tram or walking
Cons: Food, would love to see local items, fresh prepared food not buffet and they need to refrigerate items much better!
Location: the resort offers something for everyone, athletic activities, water activities, tours, dancing, gambling
This hotel is adults only, must be over 18 and an amazing, relaxing experience whether you are honeymooning, anniversary celebrating or just want a stress free vacation. Ambar is part of the greater Bahia complex of resorts, the others allow children and are well suited to families. Ambar has amazing staff, very friendly, helpful and glad you are there. Experience the spa, we had an amazing massage! Everything is included, lots of sugary drinks but wine and beer are not too bad. They are very free with the pour size just ask. They have music every-night at the lobby, and an amazing dance party on the beach on Saturdays. The biggest draw back is the food its is so-so, fruit is local and great, but restaurants are geared to Western appetites so nothing local, and its all precooked-buffet style. The excursions are great, I recommend Blue or VIP to book with, get out and see the country not just the beautiful beach!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Overall experience at the hotel was nice. I was there celebrating my birthday and the the hotel emailed me to notify me that I would have a gift waiting for me at the hotel however I never received the gift and I was only notified about it shortly before my flight. Thus, I did not know until I got back from my vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Honeymoon in the DR

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Great a la carte restaurants. Wonderful pool and beach set up
Cons: The AC in the rooms and restaurants left a lot to be desired. We had to switch rooms after the first 2 nights and even then it was not cold enough.
Location: Beautiful location with extensive beach to walk and ocean to play in. However, there is very little colorful ocean life forms visible near the resort
Excellent resort. Very much appreciated the adults only aspect. Don't get suckered in by the coconut guys on the 2nd resort to the north. It is a timeshare pitch and even though they say you can get your money back in 5 days they will stick you for a $400 closing fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well done.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Beautiful grounds; very close to the beach and a very comfortable room.
Cons: Train the staff on common questions to expect from guests.
This hotel and location met my expectations. We had beautiful, hot weather the entire 5 days. The beach couldn't have been more perfect, but I would rather not have had the topless english woman (seemingly) always in the picture. If the hotel strives for improvement, perhaps execution could be improved upon: i.e., knowledge/ demeanor of staff, replacing room amenities, toilet paper, bug treatment. But, all in all, it was very nice. Don't forget to protect your lips! The sun was very hot.