Ratings based on 624 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Barbara, CA

Fantastic Hotel, inconsistent service

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Just about everything besides the general staff: Wedding staff, Pools, A La Carte Restaurants, Beach, our maid, landscaping.
Cons: Most of the staff, "Guest Services" (have fun with that phone call), layout (needs to provide more guidance)
Location: Nothing much to do near by besides hang out on the beach and do water sports. It's not a cultural or nightclub type of spot.
We loved most things about the hotel including location, amenities, pools, drinks, beach, room, nightly meals, but the overall service by the staff could be described as inconsistent at best. One minute, we couldnt get ice to save our lives in our room (seriously 4 phone calls), the next minute we were being treated like the royal family at dinner, the next day though our restaurant lost our reservation and refused to let us in until they realized we were "VIPs" since it was our wedding week. Shout out to
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grabd Rapids, MI

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Bathrooms on the Hotel Loby
Great Food, friendly and helpful staff. Great Entertainment. Very Clean facility. Beach was well maintained. Definitely will go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom northen va

The place was awesome

Posted Apr 29, 2015
We just love this place. Everyone was so wonderful and kind and smiling and friendly. The place is immaculate. There was always workers working on the grounds to keep it clean. Initially our room was far from the beach but we were able to get it closer without a problem. All we all Allah cart restaurants were really good. I would come here again with my family. Huge complex with many things to do. Only downfall is the pool bar closes at six Pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great getaway!

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness was outstanding. All of the grounds were very well taken care of. The vast majority of the staff were great.
Cons: In some ways, it's too big.
We had a group of 12 that came to the resort together. Everyone left rested and very satisfied with the resort. We especially enjoyed some of the staff at the Ambar. Yolanda, a waitress in the lobby was absolutely wonderful. Joselito, who served many roles, including entertainment in the evening, was a lot of fun. Invergeli, behind the front desk at the lobby was also very helpful. We all had a great week. There is much to do and the weather was perfect the entire week.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom punta cana

Very large resort. There are 5 connected

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Resort is huge, hard to find evening entertainment. Cigarettes stolen from our room. Food was all very good and rooms very clean. Very disappointed about the theft. There was absolutely no reason for any staff member to be in our closet where our safe was. Proof I guess that they look through a persons belongings. Upset and disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CLEVELAND, OH

I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS RESORT

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: THE BED WAS A LITTLE ON THE HARD SIDE, BUT NOBODY LIKES A BED UNLESS IT IS THEIR OWN BED.
I WANT TO START BY SAYING PEOPLE ALWAYS HAVE SOMETHING BAD TO SAY AND I WAS CONCERNED WHEN BOOKING MY FIRST VACATION TO PUNTA CANA. I BOOKED THIS RESORT AND I WAS NOTHING BUT PLEASED ABOUT MY STAY AT THIS HOTEL. THE STAFF WAS EXTREMELY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL WITH ANYTHING I NEEDED AND WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO MAKE MY STAY BETTER. THE FOOD AT ALL OF THE RESTAURANTS WAS VERY GOOD AND THEY WERE ALOS LENIENT IF I COULDNT MAKE THE EXACT TIME OF MY RESERVATION. THE RESORT WAS ALSO VERY CLEAN IF I HAD ANY ISSUE LIKE WHEN MY SINK STARTED LEAKING THEY FIXED IT IMMEDIATELY. THEY ALSO HAD VERY NICE ENTERTAINMENT AND NIGHT, AND THE ADULT SECTION WAS VERY ENJOYABLE. I HAVE NOTHING BAD TO SAY ABOUT THIS PLACE EXCEPT THAT IF I GO BACK TO PUNTA CANA I WILL DEFINITELY BE STAYING HERE AGAIN.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Luxury on the beach

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Beautiful hotel & grounds. Very clean. Room was spacious. Staff friendly. Food was delicious. Only trouble we experienced was making dinner reservations. There weren't any openings for a few of the restaurants during the time we were there. Amazingly an opening became available 20 minutes after we were told there weren't any at the Don Pablo, ( after my husband gave the man at guest services $20).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vermont

beautiful large resort

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Ambar is the adults only section of the large resort. The grounds and facilities are kept superbly. Beach area is lovely. An Improvement would be to add help at the guest services desks throughout the resort. There seemed to be waiting lines every time . The bed was very firm which adversly affected our sleep. The food was great with lots of restaurant options throughout the whole resort. If walking is an issue you should consider a smaller resort. They do have carts-but not always when you need a ride. The people are friendly and only occasionally is the language barrier a problem. I have traveled a bit & would recommend this very nice resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Two concerns Beds were hard did not enjoy sleeping.Other complaints from guests.buffet food was not good,speciality restaurant were much better but were hard to get into
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Relaxing vacation

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: How attentive the staff was and how clean it was kept. Love how peaceful it was with no kids around.
Cons: I am a runner and I found it very difficult to follow your jogging path. I wish that clearer markers or a green painted line could be on the path.
Location: We went to some of the other resorts on the same compound. We wish we had know about some of the entertainment there.
I stayed at the Ambar with my husband and another couple. When we first arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with specialty drinks. Everyone was very attentive. The bartenders Murphy and Carlos were awesome. I loved having mangos with my breakfast and the last three days they were not out, but all I had to do was ask someone (Isabella helped one day), and they would get me a plate. The room was fine, had a few issues, remote and ac didn't work, but they were prompt with fixing the issues. I loved how it was right next to the beach and that there was security there to keep people from other resorts from coming and using our pool. plenty of chairs by the pool and very attentive staff there as well. Francisco(?) the pool towel guy was very helpful. I wish that Wi-Fi was available for free by the pool, but we purchased the 7 day internet package. Food was very good and I LOVED that we could make our reservations all on the first day, whereas in other resorts they only take them the morning of. The