Ratings based on 1,473 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice Hotel!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The rooms are nice!
Cons: The food!
Had a good stay, nice staff, good service. Thought they should have better food though!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great pool & beach access

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the seating in the piano bar area, nice breeze; drinks good, pool enjoyable,
Cons: Food and how to prepare for it to be under the lamps. Maybe more cook stations to cook per guest and less mass cooking for steamer trays.
Location: The trip to the capitol was great, very informative; the Jungle Rally enclosed suv jeep was great; good personal service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

Wouldn't go back

Posted Jul 26, 2014
I really wanted to make sure I wrote an honest review as I am a first time visitor to an all inclusive resort. This hotel tries, it really does - you can tell the workers care about making you happy. The swim up rooms on the child-free side (Club) are the only way to go. In spite of this, you cannot avoid the fact that you are vacationing in a 3rd world, impoverished country. You don't dare leave the resort for a walk (every resort is walled in) and all there is along the road is filth and squalor. The food is at best cafeteria quality. The room smelled moldy and by our 5th day we couldn't handle the stickiness of the sheets. On 4 different occasions I caught different bartenders making my blended drinks & not putting in alcohol. You won't read a sentence anywhere that doesn't have gross misspellings and the whole resort is about 5 yrs from needing a serious, serious renovation. It's an outstanding hotel for the Domimican. For an American visiting there, it is a one timer and a sharp reality check to vacation where your daily standards are the norm and not a specialty. If i pay this much and want to feel I'm at a resort, there just has to be higher standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Awesome service

Posted Jul 25, 2014
I loved it!!! Comfortable rooms, amazing service, great food and entertainment was very enjoyable. Hope to return very soon. The entire atmosphere is just grand. Would recommend it to everyone. The employees really made the experience that much better!!! Loved every single one we came in contact with!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Vacation ( 2nd time here)

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Everything especially the staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beach front property on Bavaro Beach. We rode Mabel and went to Dolphin Island to swim with dolphins, sharks and stingrays.
Stayed on the Colonial Club side. There was nothing else we could have asked for. We were spoiled for the whole 10 days!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

It could had been better.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The food was great.
Cons: The curfew for the pool should be change, and room service should be more prompt.
Location: The room was far from the front desk but close to the beach, but it didn't have a beach view.
It is a very nice hotel but it could be better. The shower head was broken, housekeeping took for ever to come clean the room. Long walks to get to places in the hotel and pool closes to early.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Resort can be 5 star

Posted Jul 23, 2014
The resort has a lot of potential. You can tell it's an older resort but with some renovations it will be much better. For the most part the staff were very friendly and helpful (some weren't). The food was very bland, but they had a few restaurants that were okay (you just had to make reservations). The beach was very nice (clear and clean). The pools were great very clean. The staff made you feel right at home and I will be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Excellent staff. Food uneven in specialty restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach. Amazing pool esp for kids 5 plus!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Great staff, food and facilities. The pool was great and if you have youngish kids spring for the pool room on the Main level! Shallow all the way across! Food was really good. Not excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Don't eat the food

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Everything at the Resort was wonderful except for the food. Everyone on the resort got incredibly sick off the food. It didn't matter what restaurant you went to, the food went right through you. Because of this, everything else was ruined for me. The entire stay I could not drink a sip of alcohol or do any fun activities. Stay somewhere else that has good food!!