Ratings based on 1,518 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chile

Nice hotel, excellent care of staff

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Nice hotel, excellent care of staff. Could improve the room amenities, like TV, separation between bathroom and bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Honeymooners at the Majestic

Posted Aug 18, 2014
All in all, can't really fault the hotel if you want a place to relax and enjoy the best of nature and Punta Cana. However as honeymooners we did find a few things that could and should be improved. We were supposed to be entitled to a special "package" which we had to ask hotel services several times for before getting the promised extras. At this stage the surprise factor no longer applies so you can imagine that it wasn't the same. But apart from that, we had a really great time helped by the super friendly staff who work long hours and for more than two weeks straight before enjoying a three day break, but never stopped smiling and greeting us!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Beach side resort with great views, terrible food

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The beach was wonderful. The pool area was great. The swim up bar was a great perk. The entertainment at night was usually pretty decent.
Cons: FOOD quality and cooking, drinks need to be made better, bigger bathrooms, TV channels should be listed and movie options would be nice.
Location: Would not recommend leaving resort, I don't think you're even allowed to. Hang by the beach and do the included water stuff, attend nighttime shows
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Uncaring Staff

Posted Aug 17, 2014
I have been to a few resorts where English was not the primary language and yet most of them try very hard to speak the language of their guests. The Majestic Colonial staff spoke very little English and didn't seem to care if they understood you or not. Also the food was sub par even for the DR. Their "best" restaurant is French and the food was terrible, not even as good as the buffet. They also have a small retail market set up outside their main building with very aggressive vendors. A guy tried to sell us a wooden toy guitar for $145. My wife bargained him down to $12 but someone not quite as savvy as we are could be taken advantage of. One last thing, they had a circus and magic show in their theater which didn't begin until 10pm which was too late for our Grandkids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Loved Majestic Colonial!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Great spacious room with the direct pool access, great closets (wonderful and clean storage space), lovely beach, great people...
Cons: Restaurant reservation process...scheduling a day or two in advance would work better to avoid waiting in line for an hour to make a reservation...
Location: Property is near Hard Rock hotel and if you continue to walk a bit further, you can reach the beautiful Macao beach (walk left once on the beach)
We stayed at Majestic Colonial for a week in the beginning of the August. It was our second time in Punta Cana and I wanted it to be a memorable experience. I researched multiple properties and zoomed in on this resort based upon many positive reviews Majestic Colonial generated within travel communities. It did not disappoint. Majestic lived up to its name and delivered superb level of service. Property is beautifully designed, staff are attentive, beach is lovely...There are seven restaurants to enjoy, two of which require a reservation (reservation process in my opinion should be improved, but it isn't a deal breaker)...The Majestic, their signature drink, is a must try tropical drink that became my personal favorite...If you are traveling to Punta Cana, I would highly recommend staying at Majestic Colonial...I will be back...I've posted more detailed review of the property on Trip Advisor ("Majestic" state of mind"), please feel free to check it out...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Huge resort with something for everyone!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Pool was amazing!
Cons: Pool is only open until 6:00 - could be later!
Location: Snorkeling & water sports were readily available and reasonably priced or free from the resort. Went dune buggy riding but too commercialized.
Beautiful resort with spacious room & plenty for everyone to do. Pool is expansive with lots of quiet spots or room to be in the midst of all the activities. Beach seating offers warm waters & a constant breeze. Staff is mostly friendly and willing to help. Food was varied, tasty & plentiful with a variety of restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Good. I would return for a second getaways as well as recommend to friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newyork

One of the best vacations.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This hotel should be a five star hotel not a four. Its amazing the staff the food the room oh my god!! The best pool i have seen in my life. I highly recommend this hotel. Im planning another trip Before the end of the year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: It was close to the beach, Expedia representatives were located in the hotel to help book excursions, room was nice with a jacuzzi and balcony.
Cons: Restaurant service and the pool should have cooler water (water was pretty warm and not refreshing).
Upon entering the hotel, we were instantly upgraded to stay at the Elegance portion of the hotel which we were told was reserved for adults only. We arrived around 5:30 pm and were completely clueless were anything was located. We didn't see much people out and the environment seemed kind of dead. Our first night, we ate at a resturaunt on the colonial side which the food tasted very plain and without any flavor. However, the following day we ate on the Elegance side and there was definitely a difference in the food. The service was OK...very slow to bring us our drinks!! There was plenty of entertainment provided at the pool (games, dancing classes, drinking games, water sports such as beach volleyball), a theater which we screened movies outdoors and shows such as a live performance of Michael Jackson and a magic show, and a beach party with food and a live band. There is also a club which was prettty cool! The room was beautiful with a separate toilet and shower, 2 sinks, 2 couches with a table, a small flat screen, AC, a jacuzzi, and a balcony. Room service was included in our package but took like an hour to get out food. We were not satisfied with our Cesar salad with chicken...very soggy and watery!!! Overall, we enjoyed our visit once we figured out which restaurants we liked and where everything was located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Enjoyable and Reasonably Priced

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: In room jacuzzi; beautiful beach and pool; quality accommodations; beautiful grounds; kind staff; food was okay
Cons: Deserts; some of the meat at the grill was a little tough; the fountains' unsightly PVC pipes could be covered with something decorative
Location: There are plenty of excursions; water sports: para-sailing, tubing, catamarans, kayaks, on site shows, on site games
I visited the Majestic Colonial last year with my in-laws and had a great time. The beach was naturally beautiful and the grounds crew kept it looking great, along with the pool by realigning the chairs and picking up the trash in the evenings. All of the employees are very kind, attentive, and deserving of tips. The rooms are great and there's plenty to do between the games, shows, and excursions. The animators give the place energy, but don't nag you too much to participate if you're just wanting to enjoy the beach or the pool. The food was good, but I wouldn't recommend this resort if you're looking for really great meals. We actually looked forward to meal times because we had some of our go-to items we enjoyed, but most of it is buffet style and loses quality after sitting over the burners/under the heat lamps for a while. Deserts definitely weren't fantastic, but they got the job done when we were looking for something sweet after lunch and dinner. We were never hungry. We liked it so much, so we decided to go again for a quick getaway this year and had an even better time!