Ratings based on 2,053 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Staten Island,NY

Nice hotel,terrible food

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: The property was great.rooms were always perfect.beaches always clean and plenty of lounge chairs and the pools were excellent.
Cons: This hotel was recommended by Expedia.WE wanted to stay at The Grand Palladium as we had before.WE won't listen to Expedia again.
Location: there is nothing in the area.you are pretty much confined to the property.
we recently stayed at the Majestic Colonial-Colonial Club(adults only).Our room wasn't ready for 3PM check in so they sent us for lunch and told to come back in 25 minutes.We had lunch at the buffet and not once were we asked if we wanted drinks or if they could get us anything.this should have told us something.When we went back to check-in we waited another half hour before anything was done.Finally we were taken to our room.The room was excellent,the beach was beautiful with plenty of lounges and the pools were great.The bartenders were excellent and very accommodating and friendly.The food was downright awful.The breakfast buffets were terrible.the bacon was always overcooked everyday and when they ran out,it took forever to replenish it.The lines for eggs took forever and there never seemed to be enough cooks for the number of guests.the toaster didn't work all week and when we told the staff about it they seemed to ignore our requests.Lunch was average but the service staff basicley ignored your request.we always had to ask twice for something.Dinners forget about.The buffet was very unappealing and was almost the same as lunch.everything looked overcooked and dried out.The other restaurants were not much better.The steak and seafood restaurants had almost the same menus and were attached to each other.The staff all seemed to be standing around and would shout at each other.if you asked for something,you never knew what you were going to get or else they ignored you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bronx ny

Friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Great experience, better than other resorts I've stayed at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2015
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Vacation 2015

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: We liked the entertainment, the pool, the beach and of course the drinks selection.
Cons: The room maintenance is something that needs improvement. There were a few things broken like closet door handles, our phone was not working, etc.
Location: There is a lot of activities to do in the area, just go to the lobby to book it.
We had a great.time at this hotel. The beach was beautiful, the food and the staff was very good. We had nothing to complain about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom port chester, new york

hotel is perfectly good

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: employees services, very kind all of then.... they are there quickly if you call to the front desk
Cons: please improved the food, please get more variety food more seafood, food have to be more warms all the time please ....
Location: really close to the beach. pool 24/7 i completamente recommend the hotel .
the hotel is completely good, service, cleaniness, comfort, facilities and condition.. the only problem is been a caribbean area is really difficult to get seafood how is suppose to be, i think the hotel should alternate the food or get more combination, the food is a little cold, same food every day... beside that all the service from the hotel was wonderful......
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NH

enjoyable stay, disappointed with Majestic

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Beach and ocean was fantastic, staff was friendly overall.
Cons: Thorough cleaning of the rooms.
Fun times in the DR. Booked online and about a week later we decided to upgrade to adults only, called the hotel and we were told no problem, just tell them when you check in...well we should've known better. " We're sorry, we are booked full" is the response we got upon check in. Benjamin at the Colonial was very eager to help us..."you take care of me,, and i'll take care of you, no? Let me talk to my manager...We were then "upgraded" to the Elegance side...newer construction and better food we were told..well, it wasn't an upgrade, dirty room, overall condition was poor and our room keys didn't work. Bell hop told us to just go to front desk and they will take care of it, no interest in helping us out. after he left us, i had said to my wife this just isn't going to work. We ventured to the front desk of the Elegance side and were met with a completely different approach to customer service . We were upgraded to a pool side room (at a cost..) Again, room wasn't up to standard..dirty, some mold in shower, a/c was leaking water on floor. Found clumps of hair in jacuzzi..square toilets, yes i said square toilets, very odd and uncomfortable. beach and ocean were amazing..we met many nice people and overall enjoyed our stay. Definately not a five or four star resort, that said if you can't enjoy yourself here, you probably have no pulse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Troy, New York

Beautiful swim up room close to Beach

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We stayed at the Majestic Colonial from 3/19-3/23. It was absolutely beautiful. The swim up room was spacious and the outdoor jet tub was a wonderful feature. The entertainment staff who put on the daily activities were an absolute blast and really knew how to show a great time! Ramon at the swim up bar was an great bartender and had drinks ready for us without even having to ask!! Pedro at the Japanese Hibachi was outstanding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Nice, very clean resort

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We stayed at the Colonial for five nights in March. The resort is very well maintained and staff are very welcoming and helpful. Definitely worth the upgrade to the Club level. The only complaint: not enough signs that point you towards the lobby, beach, etc. luckily not a huge resort, but I got turned around a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Family Spring Break Trip

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Cons: Paddle boards for beach would be nice and place to check out rafts for pool would be welcome.
Location: We enjoyed zip lining and deep sea fishing along with boogie excursion.. All were fabulous!
We had a great time at the resort. The staff were very friendly and worked hard to entertain with daily activities and nightly shows. The food was fine for an all inclusive. The weather was great during our stay and we spent lots of time on beach and in pool area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifull

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Facilities were very nice. Staff was awesome and friendly. Beach was well kept and beautiful. Food in the Lobby resteraunts was excellent. Daily buffets and lunches were standard. Very relaxing atmosphere.