Ratings based on 1,919 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H, Texas

Overall pretty good hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
The stay overall was pretty good! The Elegance Club ("EC") privilenges were great. The overall amenities were good not great. We had a reservation for a jr suite with a pool view on the EC side. However, when we arrived a little after 4pm, the room was not ready so they upgraded our room to a full suite on the regular side. I wouldn't do that again. It was too far from the EC lounges. The air conditioning was not the best it would not go lower than 20.5C which was not very cool when it was 98F or hotter daily. The wifi was very spotty and not reliable in most areas. I thought being a 4 star hotel that at least the wifi would be up to speed. The food was ok. Dinner and lunch buffet was not the best. Breakfast buffet the best buffet meal you could get. Several restaurants to choose from but the best tasting resturant was the 9 Doors Japanese the food was GREAT. I wish we would of found it on the 1st night. You need reservations for this one and the Limited Gourmet. Hector and Alberto with Expedia travel were Awesome!!! They helped us get all of our fun excursions planned and booked. We enjoyed horseback riding on the beach and buggie ATV riding in the muddy trails of the Dominican. Defiently visit the Expedia booth whether you booked your travel through Expedia or not their English, professionalism, service and attention to detail is great!! They can also set up your transportation to and from the airport and to local market for gifts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good resort

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Stayed in the Majestic elegance. At check in I wasn't told about certain area that are only for "elegance club" only, kind of gave the place a bit of a segagration feel to it. Since you're limited to the area your able to go to... I was able to then get those "elegance club" braceletes which allowed me full access to the complete resort. And all the amenities like the private pool area, private beach area, 24hrs room service and the private cafe area where they have mini food bars with some sweets also computer (incase you need to connect with the outside world). The rooms are good. The room cleaning personal are friendly( sorry for my lack of knowing the correct titles).The wifi in the resorts is horrible. The resort it self is beautiful, very tropical feel to it, well kept. In the lower section of the main lobby there is a 360 bar with a great personel specially the main man 'Manuel' great attitude, great drinks. You can tell he enjoys what he does. Took very good care of my groups of friend and my self. On the elegance side "elegance club" pool areas bar there is a young lady named Daritza great attitude great with the drinks. Food is good, they have buffets open at different times to accommodate peoples needs. Did wish be buffets had more authentic food dominican food, but I kind of understand why they don't (many different cultures they are trying to accommodate them all). At the entrance to the buffets they have one particular lady that greets you with a great sm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Beware

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The pools were great and the beach was close by.
Cons: Everything!
Waited 2 hours in a hot lobby to check in. Booked 3 months in advance for 3 rooms and proceeded to get the run around by Edward at front desk. Wanted to put us in 2 rooms on the same floor and charge an extra $250.00 for the 3rd room on the next floor which he said was "bigger and cleaner." After 2 hours of trying to find the 3 rooms booked months in advance, we started getting extremely annoyed. Edward thought he had a right to get nasty when we had enough of his games. Although the cleaning staff was pleasant, we had to wear flip flops in the room the whole time due to a filthy floor. Took 4 days before I could get a wash clothe. The rooms had a mildew smell. Met 3 other groups of people who also received the run around when trying to check in. Seems this happened to anyone who booked more than 1 room. Very unorganized and unprofessional. They should really train the check in staff on how to do their job. Sorry we picked the Majestic Elegance, definitely not "Luxury" as they claim.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great relaxation

Posted Aug 27, 2014
We wanted a hotel where we didn't have to worry about anything. All we wanted was a good looking hotel with a great swimming pool and excellent beach. That is exactly what you get at the Majestic Elegance. On top of that if you get the Elegance Club Package you will be set with even more amenities like concierge, the best coffee and snack bar in the hotel, private beach and constant attention from the staff. Worth every penny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Spacious rooms

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: I I thought the shows were the best
Cons: I feel that the cleaning staff should make sure the rooms are well cleaned and stocked before guest arrive. The food could stand a little less cookin
Location: The hotel is very close to the beach nothing to do nearby
The rooms are very spacious,pleasant staff and terrific shows!I thought the shows were the best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very Pleased!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: I loved the grounds, lobby area, and Elegance Club amenities
Cons: The lunch options were a bit repetitive but nothing that we couldn't deal with.
Location: We visited the hardrock casino and club
We just returned from my stay at the Majestic Elegance and overall we were very pleased with the overall experience. The hotel is beautiful and what makes it even better is the greeting we received upon arrival. The staff is amazing and definitely goes out of their way to make you feel welcomed and well taken care of. I would definitely recommend upgrading to the Elegance Club as it does offer quite a bit that the regular ammenities does not. (ie. 24 hour room service, beverages refilled in the mini fridge daily, personal concierge etc)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Cons: Some of the restaurant and quality of food could have been improved.
my experience at this hotel was great, the staff and hotel was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

average resort with no "wow" factor

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Location: Location is on the beach but the beach is small and not pristine
overall just an average resort, no "wow" factor. Staff was friendly however service was very slow. Buffets during the day are below average and the a la carte restaurants during dinner time were pleasing but nothing extraordinary. Casino is very small with horrible staff that just stare at you. I would not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice landscaping. Adult side, great.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The view was awesome. The food was ok. The staff was good. The cleanliness could have been better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice resort, bland service.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Rooms are large, organized shows and events are good.
Cons: Service, there is plenty of staff around, but none will create a friendly atmosphere. Focus on the Quality of service, not the Quantity of staff.
Location: ATV, Zipline, Horseback riding.
This was my first all-inclusive resort experience. I have been to two cruises before. The service at this resort is not comparable to the service you get on a cruise ship. At Majestic, there are plenty of staff around the resort, but most of them are not very helpful or approachable. Perhaps the language barrier may be a factor (English vs. Spanish), but I definitely expected a lot more service from a "5 star" resort. I was disappointed with how lazy the staff was, I feel like they are just there to do their job, and they will not do anything extra to create a better experience for you. We had a party of 8 for buffet, when we asked if they could add a 2 person table to the end of the 6 person table they were reluctant to do so, we had to insist that they accommodate our larger group. They ended up adding two chairs to either side of the 6 person table without adding the table setting, we had to grab the cutlery and place mats from the table next to us.That was just one example of how unaccommodating their staff was. As well, the staff will not try to create an enjoyable environment. Of the 7 days I was at the resort, only one waiter bothered to ask my how my meal went, the rest just bring you food and take your plates. The rooms are large, and the pool and fitness facilities are good. But the beach was disappointing with the amount of prickly seaweed washing up to the shore. All in all, I did not think that this is worth the "5 star" rating (and cost) for a resort.