Ratings based on 1,931 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
We loved our stay at this resort. The swim up pool was one of the best decisions we made as it was really convenient. The hotel staff and entertaining group was great. The food was good too and the buffet had a different menu every day for dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Isolated Hotel on the Beach

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Rooms, Service, Pools, and Activities are all top notch
Cons: The quality of the food needs to be significantly increased.
Location: The hotel is isolated along the beach. Excursions are 20 minutes away. Best to book excursions through Expedia.
The Elegance is a great all inclusive hotel if you are on a tight budget. The staff and facilities are very good. The food is only mediocre. I would highly recommend upgrading to the elegance club, as this gives you access to private lounges and pool areas that are essential to the best possible experience. Some understanding of Spanish is also highly recommended. This hotel is primarily geared toward couples celebrating engagements/honeymoons/anniversaries/birthdays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

hotel is paradise

Posted Sep 14, 2014
hotel was great, lots of drinking, swimming, relaxing, and activities. only bad part was leaving at the airport and seeing security taking people's belongings and not giving them back without a bribe. they took everything we bought in punta cana.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice!!!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Met all my expectations . Will definitely come back with family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

6 days of magic~

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Location: I would recommend going to HOYO AZUL! SOOOO PRETTY! & if you ever go to a booze pirate cruise beware!! They get you extremely intoxicated.
We loved this hotel and all the workers! My boyfriend and I stayed here for about 6days 5 nights and loved every min of this. The food in the buffets were alright but dinner was always the better meal of the day. We loved all the bartenders and event/ pool coordinators. There was a lot of night life activities and the club was always a good option too! I will add that my boyfriend and I are fluent Spanish speakers so this may have helped the process of getting great service through our stay. Overall the only complaint I have has to do with our bed sheets. Since its humid everywhere I wasn't sure if they didn't change our bed sheets or if they stayed moist because of the weather. But I just felt like they weren't clean and I didn't like that feeling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

very close to the beach, great staff.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: room amenities, soap , shampoo, more towels,
Location: beach was very close to us, also the pool was outside our room.
it was a rough start to the trip, wife lost her luggage at the connecting airport, luckily they delivered it to us the following day. After that, the whole trip was excellent, a lot of activities to do, the wet bar was our favorite with different themes parties every day. food was great, hotel room was fantastic, had the Jacuzzi. overall will definitely visit again. horrible ending though I lost my cell phone at the wet bar. but all well, still great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Excellent stay. Best beach and weather ever!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Have traveled to a few different islands in the past years and the beach and weather in DR was absolutely fantastic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Hotel is showing it's age. We had problems with a sewage smell coming into the room after the second day, they came and sprayed with a freshener but after 24 hours the smell was back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arrunategui

Nice hotel next to the beach

Posted Sep 5, 2014
We had an amazing experience! Everything was better than expected. Staff was especially friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples FL

Great Hotel, Great Food Great Beach Great Service

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about the hotel. However, I was not impressed by the Ill Gourmand restaurant. (not my style). Rooms were well laid out.
Cons: The flies were bad on our balcony, but we were on the ground floor facing the vacant field. Keep the beach peddlers away, except if summoned by guests
Location: Take taxi or bus to nicer shopping centers. We did the shark snorkel and beach booze cruise. It was fun, but get fins in the back bins.
We stayed in the Club section. David our butler was great. All restaurants were good. We tried each of the 4 main ones. Best was Italian, then Sea & See, then steak house, then 9 doors, finally ill Gourmand. For breakfast we only ate at the Italian it was so good. Casino was OK, I only played slots. Sorry Bacardi lovers, no Bacardi served. No real shopping area to walk to, although there was about 20 stores right outside the gate (not affiliated with the hotel). All stores offered the same stuff, and had the typical pushy, bartering sales people. We did the 4 wheeler/dune buggy tour. If you go, prepare to throw the clothes you wore on this away, as they and you will be full of clayed mud, that does not wash out. Also bring money, they stop at a couple of places along the way. I did 2 dives with the hotel dive shop. Took me out to the reef and wreck within site of hotel. Small dive boat, no fish, murky water. I wish I would have went to some other part of the island to dive. I would stay at this hotel again!!!!!