Ratings based on 1,944 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Fantastic!!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
This is the 2nd time i've stayed at the ellegance and it never disappoints. It is worth every penny spent. Activities for everyone, wifi throughout, and the food and drinks are fantastic! Everyone is super nice and there is plenty to do whether you enter the tequila contest or just want to relax on the beach or poolside. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Cancun or Dominican hotel?

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Entertainment, foam party, food was exceptional and we never got sick, like in Mexican even luxury hotels!
Cons: SERVICE of waiters and waitresses. In Italian restaurant on site, I had to wait for coffee for 30 munities, I am not kidding.
Location: Great location! 30 minutes from the airport, ON the beautiful beach. 15 minutes from the Don Lucas Cigar factory, chocolate factory and rum tasting
Majestic Elegance hotel beat all Cancun hotels I stayed in by amenities, food, entertainment, beach, room, bars BUT service. The bar and chefs were great, but the waitresses and waiters were not as attentive and friendly as staff in Mexico. Overall this hotel experience was great. I definitely recommend going there! But be prepared that hotel has a weird setting of separating its guests in two classes: premium and low class. If you purchase Elegance club membership the waiters will treat you better, but people who did purchase it said overall it is not worth it! It you tip staff good- they will give you better attention. Rooms in the hotels are luxurious. Bars are great. Lots of swimming pools, but best of all was the beach with bunch of chairs and umbrellas made of palm tree leaves, there were always plenty of chairs and umbrellas for every guest! We really appreciated it! As in some hotels you have got to fight to get a chair. But what really made our experience there special is an entertainment team-they had activities for guests starting 11am non stop to midnight! Great club in the hotel. Michael Jackson show is exceptional. Casino is small, but decent. Great hotel, I talked to people who previously stayed in Hard Rock hotel, they said Majestic hotel is better, it gives you luxury, fun experience with a piece of Dominican culture, which you will not get at Hard Rock. I was glad to hear that, as I was choosing between these two hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston tx

Excellent resort

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Our honeymoon was over our expectations , very clean, food was OK, one day I might have gotten food poisoned, other than that it was the perfect vacation, staff was too friendly, room very clean and lots of security inside resort, me and my wife felt very secured inside, Beach was CLEAR, clean and very very Beautiful, overall I would come back in the future, u won't go wrong with this hotel, just becareful with what u eat there that's all :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa Fl

Real Tropical Vacation Spot

Posted Sep 26, 2014
We always go to the same hotel it's great. Just the rooms smelled a little but that can be fixed with a lititle spray. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r

Majestic elegance

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Had a fabulous time the food was great people were nice and friendly and the entertainment was great the foam Party was insane would come back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel BUT could be better

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Nice beach and friendly staff.
Cons: Pillows, rooms service - one day left room at 9am with "service sign on door" and room was not clean when we returned at 5pm!
Nice hotel with very beautiful beach but lacking in detail. Pillows were awful, not all bars served premium drinks, food was ok (not great), room service non existent at times, pool/beach towel service was horrific ... little stuff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

nice hotel, but not a 5 star for sure

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: the private pools and the beach at the Excellence Club
Cons: Cleanliness!!! everywhere! Detailing of the rooms
Overall it's a really nice Hotel, but I wouldn't put it in the 5 star hotel category. The staff is very friendly, welcoming,very nice attitude. The surroundings are gorgeous, the beach beds are sooo comfortable, the hotel itself is beautiful, BUT they really really need to do some deep cleaning, honestly, in the rooms, in the elevators, those beach bed sheets and pillows really need some cleaning.The rooms need some detailing, and the contractor deep a bad job with the renovation, stuff like chipped tile, water spots on the walls and ceiling. They really need to replace the shower heads, it wasn't functioning well at all, the pillows had a really bad smell, and other details that need a bit more attention if they want to be a 5 star hotel. We were expecting more from a 5 star hotel, more cleanliness and attention to details. Besides that, we had fun, the restaurants are great, the bartenders are great, the shows are fun, we loooved the pools and the Excellence club, definitely worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh pa

Went above and beyond our expectations!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Lively and fun by the pool and relaxing by the ocean. Our room was quiet at all times we never heard anyone. So relaxing!
Cons: The water issue stinks but I know it can't be helped
Location: Great snorkeling on Catalina Island, the crew we went with was amazing, we booked thru the Mariana group at our hotel, roger suggested it to us
Amazing staff and delicious food, great drinks and our butler Antonio was wonderful, this hotel exceeded our expectations in comparison to other all-inclusives this one is top notch! Spend the little extra for the elegance club, it's worth it and for the price it blew us away. We will return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful Hotel But Food Was Mediocre

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The rooms are beautiful and generous in size, the pools were always clean, and staff is friendly
Cons: Quality of food and more staff that speak English
The Majestic Elegance is an absolutely beautiful hotel. The staff keeps the hotel incredibly clean and the grounds are immaculate. The only downside during out trip was that the food was mediocre at best. Nobody got sick from the food, but it was not what we expected from such a nice resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Location and hotel itself was nice. I found some staff to be very rude. Very clean. Food just ok. Overall id give it 3 out of 5