Ratings based on 1,716 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Keith from West Chester, PA

Stay in Punta Cana

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Pool and beach. The size of the suite was perfect for a family of 4.
Cons: resort needs updating, the staff.
Our stay was just OK. The pool and beach were great. The food was decent. The resort needs some updating but overall it was fine. The staff was disappointing - a few were unfriendly, unaccommodating and rude. We had much better service during our past trips to Mexico. I would not return to this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Baton Rouge, La.

Beautiful resort

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: I love the people & the service.
Cons: They need to be more orginized when it comes to reservations. I would not advise the shuttle, you have to wait for it to fill before the leave.
We just got back from Punta Cana & had a great time!! We really enjoyed the Majestic Ellagance Resort. Its the best beach of the island & in a good loacation, only 30 minutes form the airport. The resort is well maintained & very clean. The rooms are nice but they have the AC set where you can not get it any colder than 70 degrees. That is fine but when we sleap we like it colder than that & when you open the patio door it kicks the air off completely.The beds are nice but need better pillows. Thats the reason we rated the room a 3 because of the AC issue. The restuarants that we went to where all good, they just dont season the food very well. I really enjoyed the steak restuarant, steaks where cook to you liking and had good flavor. I also enjoyed the seafood restuarant because all you can eat lobster!!! The workers there are fantastic!!! They will go out of the way to make sure you are having a good time, as they say "happy happy". Want to shout out to our favorite bartender Blas, he is a young man (20) that really took great care of us, by the way ladies he wanted me to tell all he is single. Antonio our butler is a great guy but he did mess up on having the tub run with a bottle of champange waiting for my wife on her birthday. They are not very orginized there so if you have something scheduled I would advice doulbe checking everything.
2 out of 5
by Angel from New York, NY

Horrible stay at Majestic Elegance hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: The food was great, the pool and the beach was nice. The night time entertainment was okay.
Cons: The staff attitude could be better. The rooms also need a lot of repairs.
Location: There is nothing to do nearby.
As a home improvement contractor I noticed a lot of repairs that need to be made. Broken and stained walls in rooms. Water leaking from AC units onto floor. Dirty linen and bedspreads. No internet in our room. Broken drain on floor of shower. Broken door to electric fuse panel. Water leaking from shower area to the toilet floor. Staff was very bothered by my complaints. Smell of mold and mildew in rooms. I did not unpack, kept everything in the luggage and spoke to the manager at the front desk. Nothing was done and I was told that the hotel was fully booked and that there was nothing they could do for the remainder of my stay. The furniture was dirty, the outdoor furniture was filthy and the staff was rude because I kept complaining. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. I tried to check out to another hotel and I was told that I couldn't because I would lose all of the money I paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mary from Texas

Beautiful, Relaxing Honeymoon

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The Resort had beautiful beaches, rooms, and pools. There were plenty of activities throughout the day and night. LOVED the shows and massages.
Cons: FOOD! Don't expect five star food. Actually, don't go to this resort if you are any sort of "foodie" or "food snob".
Location: Go zip-ling! It's an hour-long, bumpy ride to the lines, but well-worth it. You get to do 12 different lines and the longest is over 1,000 feet long!
The resort was BEAUTIFUL and CLEAN! This was our Honeymoon trip :) We booked the Elegance Club Majestic Junior Swim Up Suite with Jacuzzi. The Elegance Club is Well-Worth the extra money! You have several, pools, bars, lounges, restaurants and beach areas that are reserved for "elegance club members only". No screaming babies or rowdy teens. Plus, you get your own butler. Thanks, Rudy! There were plenty of activities going on throughout the day, and the staff were friendly and entertaining. We enjoyed the shows at night and quiet pools and beaches. The Elegance Club lounges were great for an afternoon/late night snack or making reservations. We also got couples massages and they were EXCELLENT. We did NOT enjoy the food. There were 2 breakfast and lunch buffets at the Seafood and "Flavors" buffet restaurant. The options were plentiful, but the quality was sub-par. Don't bother going to the French restaurant. We gave 2 thumbs up for the Japanese and Italian restaurants. Steakhouse was OK. They used the same bread baskets at all the restaurants, which were stale every day. Don't get the salads; they are full of watery dressings. The bars have one type each of beer and red, white, and pink wines. Beer was ok, but don't touch the wines. They sell better wine in the restaurants. They do have top brand liquors. My husband and I are "foodies" and were extremely disappointed with the food. The resort was fantastic, relaxing and beautiful, but don't come for the food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chan ruben from new york

It could be better

Posted Apr 21, 2014
I was excepted more for my money The area is beautiful The stuff should put more efforts The room was not clean at 2pm Som days until 5 pm All include should b
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chan ruben from new york

It could be better

Posted Apr 21, 2014
I was excepted more for my money The area is beautiful The stuff should put more efforts The room was not clean at 2pm Som days until 5 pm All include should b
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vic from Arizona

Great Vacation!!! Going again soon.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The Staff and Food
Cons: Fit and Finish of the Rooms, The Body sprayers did not work and there were a few cracks, but all minimal.
Location: There is a snack bar and Seafood restaurant right on the ocean which make this hotel just awesome.
Just a wonderful vacation, I have never been to an All-Inclusive resort before and this resort is among the best on the island. A few things were out of sorts like the fit & finish of the room was not all the great but the overall quality is good. The Staff is very helpful and hard workers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Everyone was extremely friendly and thoughtful. We really enjoyed ourselves at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Everyone was extremely friendly and thoughtful. We really enjoyed ourselves at the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by s from chicago, il

Great location

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Hotel was kept clean. The staff is up early sweeping up the poolside from any sand. There are bars and places to eat everywhere.
Cons: I understand we are in another country but a vast majority of the guests spoke English. Bridging the gap in the language barrier would help.
Location: Gorgeous. The ocean is beautiful. Did not venture off the resort
If I were to stay there again I would definitely only get the private poolside room. The exact same room for a higher cost was just above us because it was considered an ocean view. The food was mediocre. We found the service staff - bar tenders, poolside service and private club suite staff to be very friendly. The concierges were across the board rude and seemed to hate their jobs. I likened them to DMV employees. Some of the wait staff in the restaurants were also put out to have to help you, but others were very nice. The maids were all very good and polite and nice. So it was a mixed experience. The Dominican time table is a very slow pace. Nothing is done quickly and most of the staff spoke very little English. Often things that were requested never came because they really didn't know what you asked for. There is plenty of food and drink to go around. But keep your expectations low on quality.