Ratings based on 2,148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Location: didn't leave the resort
the hotel was beautiful, food was good, my family and I had a good time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great place for family vacation

Posted Jul 31, 2015
We had a wonderful experience the people are very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from baton rouge La

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Over all stay was very pleasant!! Myself and 21 others stayed 6 days and thoroughly enjoyed it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

The resort is too large

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: There was a large variety of food at the buffets. The Level only pool was great! Our server at the pool, Luis was the best!!
Cons: Allow for reservations at the restaurants. Create a few more restaurants.
The resort and grounds are beautiful but it's difficult for them to accomodate the amount of people there. They have a lot of restaurants but because there are so many people, you can expect to wait 2hrs for dinner if you don't get there before 7pm. Our group had to upgrade to the adults only "Level". There, we had select places to eat that only members of the Level could eat at so there was no wait. We also had access to golf carts to get around the facilities and our own private pool which was wonderful. The room service available only to Level guests was not that great. I would only stay there if I could upgrade to the Level....otherwise, no thanks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Not at all what I expected given past reviews

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Beds were comfortable, shower a dream.
Cons: Service especially at checkin and info desks. People are on vacation and desire to be treated with care and promptness.
Location: We did go on a Dunn buggie excursion, it was worth it, we got a history lesson, toured a cave we were able to dive in and travelled to the beach.
Checkin was not very well organized. When we did get attention, we were placed in a nice room near the pool and beach but not in the room we had booked, only to go back to reservations to be told we would not be able to get in a king bed room, my hubby is 6'3, his feet literally dangled from the bed and if he rolled, he'd fall out the bed. Although the resort boasts of 13 restaurants, 2 you have to pay, and the others you can't get into because there's always a waiting list due to too many guests. Don't eat at the beach restaurant unless you want to eat with flies. It's infested with them. Family suites boast of play station being available in room, asked twice didn't get one. Game room- Ha! No top shelf at the bars. And everyone moves and reacts to your request slow, if they acknowledge you at all. TV channels mostly in Spanish. Save yourself some time and check alternatives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

EXCELLENT!

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Beautiful, clean, great food and didn't have to leave the hotel for anything.
Cons: nothing
Location: There were so many things to do on the resort that we did not even have to leave the hotel!
Amazing hotel! Beach on the resort filled with lots of activities, plenty of pools and restaurant options on top of the beautiful hotel itself. Staff was very willing to help at all times and the rooms all seemed upgraded, clean and brand new. Very impressed! Wanted to move closer to my friends room who was in an upgraded room near the beach and they did so complimentary. Didn't even have to leave the resort once! Would definitely recommend this hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT EXACTLY WHAT YOU SEE IN THE PICTURES !!!!!

Posted Jul 29, 2015
I've been to many resorts in Punta Cana and this is the first time I have stayed at a hotel that Expedia has it as a 4 star hotel and it's actually 3 stars. First of all I was very disappointed with the beds they where very small I'm a 6'2'' guy and it was impossible for my wife and I to sleep in the same bed together. The bathroom always had a wired smell it. Most hotels in Punta Cana provide you with these mini-trains to get around within the facility but the melia which is enormous inside seems to be on the short side when providing this service, you really have to wait a while before you can catch a train " GET MORE TRAINS ". The staff and the food was awesome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, tropical but upgrades are needed to facility

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Nice tropical resort, the pond by our rooms smelled after notifying the front desk during our stay it was being drained. It smelled during our entire stay. Air only worked on medium and had a sensor you had to occupy the room for it to be on, not good when you are returning after being out, nice staff, room clean, pools very nice and food ok . Oh, box TV no flat screens and fuzzy pic
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana Rep. Dom.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: instalations
Cons: friendly staff
Location: many things to do
the facility were fine, old and well maintain, but the staff, were bored mainly the bartenders, I guess because the amount of guest, the place were perform live music were CROWDED, too hot to be in a open location, only one ceiling fan. Food was a bad quality, very good presentation but flat on flavor, I am a fan of All inclusive Resorts, but this one is bad, I wouldn't recommend sorry
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Great place

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Loved staying at the hotel! The staff, especially the personnel that cleans the rooms, is fantastic Our housekeeper , Ramona, was so helpful and pleasant We will go back!